Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18278 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Slovakia-beautiful, tranquil countryside bordered by snow capped mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved cycling through the unspoilt open countyside of Slovakia on the back roads, past meadows of wild flowers, buzzerds flying above us, snow capped mountains in the distance, through the small villages-just  peace and tranquility-pure bliss!We had a great group of interesting people with age ranges between 30+ to 60+ who all got along very well and we had plenty of laughs and good fun. Our tour leader also integrated well with our group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Polish group leader was very good and went out of her way to try to make the holiday run smoothly and satisfy everyone's demands even though we had big problems with poor quality bikes which took several attempts to eventually sort out.My friend and I decided not to cycle one day so she went out of her way to take us to a nearby town to look around, drove us to our lunch spot and to the castle excursion so we had an enjoyable day.Our Slovakian group leader who led the cycling part of the trip was lovely and integrated well with the group and supported those of us who struggled up the steep hills.  She was good fun and very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The brochure grading was A/B for the cycling but although I have been on a previous cycling holiday, this trip harder than I expected with many long steep hills and cycling on some busy roads. There were several single travellers in our group but everyone mixed very well so they did not feel left out at all.The food and beer was very cheap and filling, we ate very well and I actually came home with some money which I didn't spend.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    bittersweet!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Iguassu Falls

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I travelled from Quito to Lima then La Paz all the way to Rio (but not quite!) on the overland truck with Ant & Tubbs. They were great fun & got us through some hairy moments due to the extreme conditions during a Patagonian winter.  Unfortunely I fractured my back in 2 places when we were kayaking in the Pantanal, I was lucky I had Ant with me who ensured I was looked after in what was a very frightening situation for me. At times during the trip we had some challenging characters join us & they handled themselves very well & managed potential clashes of personalities!Thanks guys for a great trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get good insurance!! ...luckily I did!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Even though my trip came to a painful end, I had a great time & as usual, Exodus & its staff have been great...I am sad to learn Exodus are stopping overlanding, that seems a shame.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    exciting holiday in moving water

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Rafting, paragliding and caving

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders, for whitewater rafting and kayaking, paragliding and canyoning, were reliable and nice. Safety was always top priority.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whitewater kayaking was for me the most exciting activity, but it is demanding and you need to be really fit. You should not be overweigh for caving, as there are some extremely narrow passages. Hydrospeed is difficult and may even be dangerous if you hit a rock. Have dinner at restaurants nearby hotel Alp that have good food and are cheap.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had showers the first days, so it was  tough. The holiday became deflinitely better with fine weather.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The Most Amazing Arctic Adventure

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What can I say about this trip........it took my breath away. The spectacular Glaciers, ice melting sounding like snap crackle and pop, and what about the wildlife. I never dreamt that I would actually see a Polar Bear, but to see over 11 and seeing two swimming was amazing. The other wildlife seen for example Artic Fox, Raindeer, Walrus, seals and numerous types of Whales all added to the adventure, along with the variety of birdlife seen.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Expedition Guides were amazing and full of knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for 24 daylight which can be confusing. Also take plenty of layers as the zodiac trips can get quite cold.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everyone in their lifetime should go on this trip, the spectacular scenery and wildlife are out of this world. Also with global warming the opportunity will not be around forever to see Spitzbergen as it should be ......an Artic Island.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Late night games of trivial pursuit at the Cortijo Rosario

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was inspirational for me because it was the first time I had taken the plunge and gone away on a group holiday by myself. For years I had bemoaned the fact that I didn't travel enough and I just wish I had known how much fun an Exodus holiday could be before the age of 31. I have since been on a second trip and found it equally enjoyable, and would reassure any single people with reservations about travelling alone that you will meet plenty of others in the same situation. One of the benefits of a group holiday is that you have the opportunity to spend time with a diverse range of individuals of all ages and professions who you might not come into contact with in your day to day life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I got on tremendously well with my group leader, Sara King, who could not have done more to make our holiday both enjoyable and educational. People like Sara fill me with admiration - she has spent much of her adult life travelling and working across the world when many of us automatically accept our place in the office rat race without having the courage to do something different. She was bubbly and fun to be around but also extremely professional, putting the interests of the group members first at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are a sociable person who enjoys meeting and interacting with new people, then an Exodus holiday is certainly for you. If you prefer your own company and doing your own thing, then I'd argue it probably isn't. Standards of accomodation and logistical organisation were of a high standard at all times, and I felt the itinerary was well-balanced and comprehensive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've been on a cultural holiday and a walking holiday with Exodus (Lakes and Mountains of Slovenia) and thoroughly enjoyed both. However, what would be really good would be more holidays that balance the two (e.g. 3 days walking, 3 days culture) for those travellers who would like a combination of both.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    5G

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The reason for going on the trip was to go down the Olympic Bobsleigh run in Lillehammer. In the morning of the "big" day, it looked that it was cancelled. Fortunately, a driver was found.We went down the run twice, one practicve run and then the real thing. It was scary!! But it was an experience I would not have missed for the world.As a result of the problems in the morning we had a whole day skiing in Lillehammer the next day as compensation. Great snow, great runs, another fabulous day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was his first trip on his own. lacked leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go down the bobsleigh run. Become a member of the 5G club!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The best trek we've done (so far!)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything about the trip was incredible.Durbar Square, Bodnath Stupa, Bhaktapur - all in Kathmandu, and the 3 day extension in Chitwan are well worth the effort for the beautiful architecture and cultural history, and the flight to Lukla is a big adventure in itself. However the trek to Gokyo takes the big prize for the sights, the views, the monasteries, and last but not least the final early morning climb of Gokyo Ri. The view from the top has to be seen to be believed. The words in the trip notes cannot do justice to the sight of Everest, Nuptse and Lhotse across the glacier. Overall, a brilliant experience, and a 3 week long "WOW" moment of a lifetime. Well done Exodus, - we can't wait to return to Nepal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pasang, our leader was excellent, socially skilled, knowledgeable and supportive. He and his team of sirdar, assistant guides and the world famous yak-man made the trip better than expected. Not averse to pulling a few local strings to get us the best deals and service, and pointing us in the right direction for bargains in Kathmandu, this team could not be faulted. All we had to do was get up in the morning and go!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Research suggests that gingko biloba (available as a herbal extract in most health shops) if taken for a month before and during the trek seems to keep altitude sickness at bay. We used it on the Mt. Toubkal, Kili climb and this trip and didn't suffer at all. Take a big empty bag with you to Kathmandu as the walking kit is available at very low prices.  
  • Reviewed October 2007

    A great walking area

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Excellent walking in great environmentEnjoyable companyVery pleasant accommodation (though room and bed were small and cramped) in beautiful settingIt was the sort of break I wanted.  Normally I prefer to travel independently with my wife, but this time she could not make it, so I was on my own yet still felt I was in good company.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly, gave useful advice, helpful and good knowledge of the area.  Can't ask for much more!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A note for Exodus:  I could have done without the caves!   They all look the same and I don't like being herded through them with commentaries about how stalactites, etc were formed and what they look like.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Truely AMAZING!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing the different culture in Nepal - particularly the Buddism and the way that the Sherpa people live. Such humble, wonderful people! And of course seeing Everest from the top of Gokyo Ri!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was absolutely fanatastic! Pssan was the perfect leader - knowledgable and vey supportive throughout the whole trip. From our arrival in Kathmandu and throughout the whole trek he looked after us over & above whant we expected. He really made our trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are prepared for the change in your diet for 3 weeks - this was the most challenging part of the trip for us.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would just like to thank Exodus for the trip of a life-time! We got engaged on the top of Gokyo Ri - so it really was a life changing trip!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    All aboard the Andreas

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving by water at unknown destinations each dayBeing anchored off shore and diving with my son into the deep clear warm waters of the Agean My son making friends with some lovely children on board

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roger was very competent but more focused on adult holiday activities 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the sleeping accommodation is very restricted and potentially a real issue if you are a 'big' person.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Eating arrangements were generally too rigid for me and the restaurant meals too long and drawn out My son wants to go again!