Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18279 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    All aboard the Andreas

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving by water at unknown destinations each dayBeing anchored off shore and diving with my son into the deep clear warm waters of the Agean My son making friends with some lovely children on board

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roger was very competent but more focused on adult holiday activities 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the sleeping accommodation is very restricted and potentially a real issue if you are a 'big' person.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Eating arrangements were generally too rigid for me and the restaurant meals too long and drawn out My son wants to go again!
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Why on earth are you going there?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Isfahan with its wide river, mighty historic bridges and the beautiful buildings around Maydan Iman, the second largest square in the world, has to be the jewel but the ancient windtowers, towers of silence, the gardens and the people themselves were also magic.   It was not what I had expected.  Their way of life with such strong family groups, the love of eating alfresco and socialising whenever possible had much to admire.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.  His English was very good, his sense of humour close to our own and his knowlege of his country, its history, culture and politics very extensive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As ever, read up as much as possible before you go and when there have an open mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you try the nougat and the ice cream.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Even after 2 weeks we didn't feel templed out

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the elephant conservation centre - topped by seeing a 3 month old baby elephant and buying a painting drawn by an elephant - now framed and up in our house.Hell fire pass - an incredibly informative and moving  experience . A must if visiting this area. Chiang Mai and visit to the doi suthep temple- we loved seeing all the different buddhas and felt that our  guide gave us a real insight into the buddhist traditions associated with various parts of the temple.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader ( Mr Bond) was knowledgeable and was happy to give us information on any aspect of thai society. He chose good restaurants for us .  He distanced himself slightly from the group and when we got to Koh Samui felt he could have made more suggestions of things to do rather than waiting for us to ask about specific sights after having looked in guide books.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take driving license if going to Koh Samui so you can rent a car and get around the island- taxis are actually quite pricey there. We hired a car for the day and saw a lot more of the island than others in our group.The hike to the hilltribe village is not too challenging and did not take the four hours we thought - there is also a much shorter route up the path for those that want to meet up at the village school.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have a fantastic set of photos from the tour that we have shown to all our friends and family. You do get a real flavour of life there whilst staying in comfortable hotels. The Thais were all incredibly polite , helpful and were very proud to show off their country. We met some lovely people just randomly in the streets and they gave us some good tips as to where to go and what to see -this  made the holiday for us.You will not be templed out on this tour as you can visit as many or as few temples as you like. We got really quite into it and even on our last day in Bangkok we visiited another three temples. Some of them you only need to stay 5 minutes at if you want.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Getting to know you, Romania!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many fine moments: the pleasure of getting to the top of Moldoveanu, the highest peak in Romania, with its splendid views over the Fagaras range; the rollicking descent from the ridge of the Piatra Craiului; the cultural visit to the attractive town of Sibiu on one of our rest days... All in all, for me the 'inspirational' part of this trip came from the discovery of a beautiful country that is still lingering a bit in the past.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Just as on other Exodus trips I have done so far, both the leader and the guide we had in Transylvania were very competent and helpful. With a long experience of self-reliance, I hesitate when it comes to placing my trust in someone else's judgment, but all the leaders I have known have preferred to err on the side of prudence, and that is reassuring. I found all our Romanian team very friendly and a pleasure to walk and live with, even when the pace was sometimes unrelenting! Our cooks, too, did a great job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Since the heavier personal luggage is carried by four-wheel truck from one campsite to the next, I think one can afford to carry a reasonably light rucksack each day. If I were to do the trip again, I would reduce the weight to a day-pack, with a two-litre hydration system, and just put in the usual essentials: food, good-quality yet compact protective clothing, personal medical kit, etc. The days can be long, the climbs can be steep, so the less one has to lug around the better.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Distances in the Carpathian mountains cannot really be compared with what we are used to in Britain or Ireland. They are truly long, and longer still when the weather is as hot as we experienced it this summer. Now and then, one has to dig deep. Then again, on the kind of holidays we take, that is hardly surprising and who wants to change it?
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Where is the Matterhorn?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had very good weather so it meant we had some brilliant views of the mountains at all stages of the walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was excellent.  Looked after the group really well. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the accommodation was pretty basic.  Remember to take ear plugs for the dormitories

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great addition to the list of trips available
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A Splendid Walking Holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A really good walking holiday, based in a super little village in a really scenic valley

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A dedicated full-time walk leader with vast local knowledge and an obvious empathy with the area and the local community. He ensured that the group enjoyed the holiday to the full.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The harder walks are taken at a steady pace.. The views are spectacular and the Mountain Hut lunches really special. If you are reasonably fit and used to ten mile walks back home go for it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel and the whole holiday were excellent value
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Holiday of a lifetime- never to be forgotten!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the whole holiday was a complete inspiration!   The variety of activities, means of transport, visiting different cultures and seeing different landscapes, all within one holiday was a complete surprise, and far exceeded my expectations.  I am reliving every minute of it as the weeks go by.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Rob Allen, made this holiday so memorable for me.  His enthusiasm for the country he has chosen to make his home was completely infectious, and his organisational skills cannot be faulted.  He went out of his way to give us the most varied, informative and enjoyable holiday ever.  Faced with a change of itinerary towards the end of our holiday, because of the devastating earthquake on 15th August, he went out of his way to find an alternative venue for our last few days in Peru. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be put off at the thought of the Inca Trail!  I'm a reasonably fit & healthy 50 something year old! and was very nervous at the start of the trail, since I was the only women in a party of 7!  However, I soon found my own pace and thoroughly enjoyed the challenging 4 day trek.  In fact, I can't wait to go on another!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I normally groan when being bombarded with holiday brochures, but can't wait for the next Exodus one to pop through my letterbox!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Just magic!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fantastic views, challenging climbs and terrific company!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like a challenge then you will love this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The uphills are a killer - but worth every minute

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day in the Spanish Pyrenees started with a 4 hour climb in hot sunshine. I have to admit to a bit of a sense of humour failure (and sunburn) at about hour two, but the long sweeping descent through wild flower meadows and across beautifully cool rivers was just stunning, and the mornings pain was soon well forgotten.Every day there was always the promise of a cold beer at the end, enough to keep anyone pedalling!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very down to earth, it felt like he was one of the group, rather than an 'us and him' mentality. I think he found the hills a bit of a struggle too, but showed immense patience with my slow pace both up and downhill! He also didn't seem to mind my abuse at making us climb for FOUR hours!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It will hurt if you're unfit, but don't be worried if you haven't done much mountain biking before - somehow terrain you would never have contemplated back home seems possible. Our group was of varied ability, but we all managed the same routes, if at slightly different paces, and if it got too tough you could always get off and walk that section.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Chalet basic but comfortable, food excellent and lots of it.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    An amazing experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kas, itself

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good fun and familiar with all the routes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of suncream.