Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18336 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    A taste of the Middle East

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the turtles on the beach was worth every penny of the trip ...t..o be so close to such a unique activity  was a wonderful experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Highly knowledgeable about Oman which gave a useful insight into a country trying to move into the current century

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Omani people were hospitable and friendly ......in one hotel I met a Judge who had studied in England and chatted for quite a while. .....he insisted in paying for me as 'You are a guest in my country' ...imagine someone in Yorkshire offering to do that to travellers!
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Anyone for a tuna sandwich and Miranda?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The archaeolgical sites were fantastic and there was such a strong sense that we were seeing something that the rest of the world knows hardly anything about.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Somewhat limited in anticipating the group's needs and communicating key information.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some pretty basic accommodation and cuisine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared for a great holiday with hospitable hosts and unique sights and scenery.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    This holiday did everything it said it more and more!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Maria's cooking... (trust me!)The walks -of course and Guy as a guideThe bars...The friends

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fun, and the right mixture of involvement and detachment - very knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Diet before you come - in spite of all the walking we still put on weight (aAria's cooking)
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Awesome

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it!!  Can't single out a single day!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jeff Jennings was totally awesome.  I felt totally looked after and my best interests served in the itinerary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If travelling on camping departure in October, be prepared for cold evenings and nights.  I didn't find that the trip notes prepared me and i didn't have enough cold weather gear.
  • Reviewed November 2007

    Fantastic Honeymoon!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too much to mention - the whole African experience is something that gets in your blood!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was excellent - good sense of humour, patient and knowledgable.  All round star!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're fussy about food, facilities and comfort - don't come!  If you're just a little unsure about whether you can handle it, go along - I had barely camped before I went and I coped! :-)
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Swimming with the elephants was incredible and unexpected!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I found that everyone in Nepal was really friendly. There seemed to be no aggression at all and I felt very safe. I found this particularly inspiring that in such a poor country with so many different religious backgrounds people can still live amicably with each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Prasant was brilliant. He gave us a really personal insight to life in Nepal. He was very attentive when I wasn’t feeling very well and he was very knowledgeful in all the places we went to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It would have been nice to be warned about our arrival into Kathmandu. We were bombarded with people trying to help us with our bags and demanding money. One guy posing as an exodus leader asked us for twenty UK pounds and claimed that everyone else had already paid this. We refused and he persisted in asking for whatever money we had. It did not give us a good or safe first impression at all and we were very wary of anything during our first few days, including our genuine leader, for fear of being ripped off. It would have been nice if we had been warned about these people before our arrival and told not to pay them anything and to just ignore them. We were new to this kind of trip and did not know how to deal with it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The city guide we had on our first day in Kathmandu was brilliant. He really put us at ease and told us exactly what to do and what not to do. He was very informative and really helped us to gain trust in our exodus leaders. We were disappointed with the lack of visibility we had at a lot of the mountain hotels. I realise Exodus can not control the weather but we were told that November was the best time of year to go for this, and perhaps the trip notes were a little optimistic! The standard of accommodation far exceeded our expectations. We were very impressed with the choice of hotels and lodges picked by exodus. I was under the impression that there would be more walking and trekking than there was. This was a bit disappointing but perhaps we just need to pick a higher grade of trip next time. I expected that the overnight trek would involve two full days trekking, but we actually only walked for 3 hours up and then 2 hours down. It may have been a little misleading in the trip notes... By far the highlight of my trip was the visit to Chitwan National Park. This totally exceeded my expectations and in particular the elephants were fantastic. It was a great finale to the holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Perfect combination of walk and talk in Honfleur

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Patrick's teaching

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superbe

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Persuade Exodus to repeat the course

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everyone on the holiday wanted a repeat performance, and we know many people wo would like to do this very holiday in Honfleur or somewhere else in France. Why on earth aren't you doing this during 2008? It isn't too late to set it up.And incidentally, you didn't advertise  the Honfleur holiday sufficiently; many of our friends have asked how we came to hear of it.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Culture Shock, spectacular views and "Spring rolls"

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1.  Mountain views2.  Watching the mountain farmers at work3.  Canoeing with crocodiles4.  Visiting the medieval city of Baktapur at the end of the holiday

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kum Jung is a great guy.  He appeared a little shy at first, but as he got into his stride he opened up and his leadership skills blossomed over the course of the 2 weeks. Always anxious to please, and seemed to instinctively make the "right call" over pace and when and where to stop.  Very pleased to have him around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1.  Relax!2.  Make sure that you have clothes to suit +30 to -5 deg C.  Sub zero eveings do not seem possible when its 18 deg in the veening in Kathmandu.3.  On the free day at the end of the holiday, take a taxi to Baktapur  -  40 mins by taxi (about £12 return and he'll wait 4 hours for your return trip).  Just like Kathmandu was 40 years ago, without the traffic and pollution.  Magical.4.  Resist all offers of help with your baggage on arrival at Kathmandu. Accept help from one and 5 or 6 will want a tip.  This is not representative of Nepal, but can be a shock when arriving very tired and maybe for the 1st time in a 3rd world country.5.  Buy your duty free in Bahrein on the way home rather than at Kathmandu.  Shops open 24/7 and more choice and better prices.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sufficient "Bombay Sapphire and tonic" to last the trek works wonders!We were fearful of insect bites in Chitwan.  They really aren't a problem.  We didn't get a single bite on the whole holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    As always on a vigorous holiday, the greater the effort the greater the rewards

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was excellant, everything worked to plan.  Even the wet days were fun as the leaders made huge efforts to find us somewhere satisfying to walk!  This area of Spain is magnificent and views spectacular.  The group we were with were all very fit and had chosen the grade 4 specifically and so were all eager to GO for everything.  We were challenged but had a fabulous time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brian Fagg, who runs the hotel is a fantastic host, nothing is too much trouble and he has a wealth of expertise and local knowledge.  The 2 walk leaders were also great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are prepared for all weathers, just because it says Spain, it still rains sometimes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel at Quadradonteta is excellant, food good restaurant standards, and they fall over backwards to make sure they accommodate everyones fads and fancies! 
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    My first Exodus holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First glimpse of the Himalayas at Nargokot!  And then every sunrise when we saw the wonderful mountains. But I also loved Chitawan National Park, especially bathing with the elephants and riding the elephants. The ride in the dug out canoe by moonlight was pretty sensational too!  I did the Everest flight as an extra and that was unmissable!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Presant was great! Nothing was too much trouble and he looked after us beautifully.  Half our party were late arriving in Katmandu as we were denied our flight from Bahrain to Kathmandu and had to spend a night at Heathrow. However Presant rearranged things so that we only missed a days' sightseeing in Kathmandu which we were able to do on the way back.  I cannot speak too highly of him. He was always professional and the arrangements worked very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a brilliant introduction to Nepal because it is so varied. If you go in October the weather is warm - take tee shirts, thin trousers or shorts and sun cream.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't know what can be done about the overbooking on Gulf Air.  I arrived in plenty of tiime for my flight (three and a half hours early ) and had been booked on the flight for about six months. As it happened it certainly did not spoil the holiday but it was upsetting for a while when we were stuck in Heathrow!