Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18279 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I fell in love with the dogs - Loved my Lemky!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After being so focussed on work, it was ab fab to be totally alive again and being at one with nature. The sun shining off the snow, the beautiful dogs loving running and pulling the sledge, rushing along feeling there was just me, the snow, the dogs and the landscape - totally awesome!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it now!!!  Also got hooked on cross-country skiing after my lesson - love to do a week with Exodus learning more.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    A splendid time is guaranteed for all

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     Sledging from Oeschinen back to Kandersteg. Ice climbing on flood-lit frozen waterfall ( even tho I was pants at it!). Food was delicious. Seeing avalanche on Mount Blumisalp. Stunning Mountain scenery.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Couldn't have been better.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Still smiling after 5580km in a truck!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A selection: Wild camping beside glacial streams, zip lining across a river, kayaking in pucon, sliding down snow-covered volcano on backside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She had endless energy and enthusiasm, a sound knowledge of the area and great organisational skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose this sector if you can ... it was fantastic and one of the better sections in S America as far as I can gather from friends who did more than one sector. Make sure you have a good sleeping bag. Think about learning some Spanish before you go. Opportunities for charging battteries can be few and far between so taking spares for camera batteries is helpful. Do as many of the available excursions as you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I understand that Exodus are considering removing overland trips from their itineries. This is a real shame as the trip appeared to be of a higher quality than some of the other companies doing the same route.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    the highlight of the trip was the estancia, the journey through the andes was amazing too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the camarardary of the group, through the tougher parts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    they were very organised and knew their stuff

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    la paz is a difficult place to start with high altitude and thin oxegen so take it slowly at the begining!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    a wonderful adventure, to experience culture, lifestyle and meet lots of people
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Beyond my expectations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My dream has been to mush a team of Huskies across wild expanses of virgin snow. This holiday saw me realising my dream.  The whole experience was wonderful and indeed exceded my expectations. Friendly leaders were there to give instructions and a helping hand if needed. The scenery was just like that shown in the brochure and it went on for miles. Out of this world! 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have a group leader.  We were instructed by locals who all spoke English and were very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear your thermal underwear!  Take your own kettle and tea bags if you can't live without your cuppa as there were no drinks making facilities in rooms.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As well as the adventures, I enjoyed the peace and quiet and sense of space in this unspoilt area. There were no crowds, queues or traffic jams! I felt as though I had truly escaped from the hassle of modern life.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Breath talking sights!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think most people go on the trip for The Grand Canyon, but Bryce Canyon was also superb and dramatic. We were so lucky with Bryce as it snowed overnight and so returned the next morning to see where we'd been hiking the day before but covered in snow, the snow against the red rocks was so dramatic. Monument Valley was also one of the highlights, which was made even better by the Navajo Indian who took us round. He really loves his job and showing people around.Grand Canyon was also superb, seeing the sunrise and also the helicopter ride. The week went far too quickly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jen was superb, made all the group very welcome and was very organised. Nothing was too much trouble and was very flexible about what we did each day and remembered it was our holiday and was flexible to our needs. Very knowledgeable about the area.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some very rewarding walking.  Take the longer helicopter ride at the Grand Canyon as it's well worth it. If you want to see Vegas then recommend you book an extra day or 2 at the end of the holiday to explore at your own pace as so much to see there. .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus holiday but it was very well organised (mainly due to tour leader).Would have liked to have spent more time at Grand Canyon and Las Vegas. 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Tubing was fantastic

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of opportunities to do a range of snow activities that we would never have the opportunity to do otherwise, each activity had its own merits: the beauty of walking in new snow; the exhilliration of tubing and sledging; the enjoyment and achievement of cross-country skiing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really caring for all members of the group, knowledgebale and well trained for all the activities, willing to be involved with the group and didn't think of his job as 'work' he was brill

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really understand the grading of the holiday as snowshoeing can be exhausting, suitable for the young and not so young - at least 1/2 our group were 50+; you wont need as many clothes as you thinkyou do!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bled is a beautiful place with lots of facilities in the small town, everyone was so welcoming and the walk round the lake is so relaxing.  Would love to do it again but there are so many other places to go, things to see and do!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A breath of fresh air at Christmas

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was just great to be cycling in the sunshine at Christmas, out in the fresh Andalucian air

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was really helpful and good fun

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your clipless pedals if you have them and they can be fitted when you arrive
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Good food, good company and gentle walking in Tuscany - what could be better?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching Tracy, my girlfriend, get fitter and more relaxed as the week progressed and really enjoy the walks even the odd steep bit. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good.  Can't remember his name withou looking it up.  He did everything you would expect of a group leader and was very informative, especially in providing options for the free day and enabled us to catch some time at the Leaning Tower in Pisa on the return airport transfer, even though this wasn't strictly in the itinery.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel with an open mind and enjoy the moments when things don't run quite to plan - it's all part of the adventure. Always take a spare pair of pants and something to wash/brush teeth with in hand luggage.  If you're on a walking holiday always try and travel with your boots on.  Sometimes difficult these days with the airport security restrictions but I have seen many problems on trips due to essential items of kit lost in the airport system.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have travelled with Exodus on several trips and they have always delivered exactly what was required.  Very good trips that are very well organised and thoroughly enjoyable.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Fabulous experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Temple at Sigirya - climbing up to the top of the palace on Christmas Day - cooling breezes, wonderful views and such an amazing experience of Sri Lankan culture

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not a lot - he was very enthusiastic and knowledgable.  Full of information, but absolutely bombarded us with in depth information which was perhaps unnecessary.  Also felt a certain sense of injustice as he was a Tamil trying to work in a non-Tamil part of the country.  He was very conscious that we were travelling through a war torn area and concerned for our safety, but did not really take into effect the fact that we were a very well travelled and experienced group.  After a while we couldn't wait to get away from him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do go to Sri Lanka - its a wonderful country and absolutely desperate for tourists.  Everyone we met went out of their way to be helpful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great holiday, and wonderful to spend the last few days in the Maldives.  What a paradise.