Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18336 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Fantastic break - great place people and unforgettable scenery

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Guided walks were the best way to sample the variety of countryside surrounding the area of Tuscany we visited.  Good food and family environment made for a very relaxed break.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rupert did a great job

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some strenuous ascents, short but intense, definitely worth it though
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    This holiday did everything it said it more and more!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Maria's cooking... (trust me!)The walks -of course and Guy as a guideThe bars...The friends

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fun, and the right mixture of involvement and detachment - very knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Diet before you come - in spite of all the walking we still put on weight (aAria's cooking)
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Chateau & Wines of the Loire

    Chateau & Wines of the Loire

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Chateau's, spotting Red Deer and Red Squirrels.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.Charming, knowledgable and very good company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take something warm to wear!!There were a couple of very cold days even in September.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More leader led holidays in France.Ramblers Holidays are stealing the country!!!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Paradise at the Top of the World

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing the awe-inspiring scenery. Being within feet of a magnificent polar bear (It was on land, we were on water.) which spent as much time watching us as we did watching it.  Sitting in a zodiac with the engine turned off just listening to the ice crackle and pop around us. Enjoying the sensation of splendid isolation. Watching a young humpback whale breach. Seeing, and smelling, walrus enjoying the afternoon sun. Watching a glacier calve.Having the "birders" in the group rhapsodise at the sight of a pair of ivory gulls. Sunbathing on deck in the midnight sun. Celebrating crossing 80 degrees North with hot chocolate on deck. Being colder than I`ve ever been in my life before. I could go on.......

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All of our guides were brilliant. Their range of knowledge was superb and all were willing to share their expertise and passion for the area with us. Naturally, being in polar bear territory, safety was a huge issue and of paramount importance. We always felt safe and in control of events going on around us.   

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not under-estimate how cold it can be, particularly when sitting for several hours at a time in the zodiacs. Layering is certainly the key.  Walking boots are not vital. The ship provides wellies which you need for the wet landings and we found that they were perfectly fine for walking on the tundra. I didn`t wear my boots once. Although the airline SAS delivered us safely to Longyearbyen it failed to deliver our luggage and that of several others on our trip. It seems this was not an isolated incident. The airline did pay for some replacement gear for us but it made for an upsetting start. Be prepared to become an "ice-bore" trying to communicate to your friends and family just how beautiful this place is.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our ship the "Vavilov" was most comfortable and we were very well looked after by all concerned throughout.  Be aware...the ice is addictive and I guarantee you will be back.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Phritse La Pass was worth every leaden step to the top - awesome

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip was so varied it is far too difficult to highlight any one thing.. The journey to the start of the trek was an experience all of its own. Phuktal monastary was fabulous; passing the villagers in the valleys highly thought provoking; and the mountain scenery speaks fpr itself. The trip was spiritually refreshing and highly rewarding both in terms of physical endeavour and emotional well being.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dibs was laid back in his approach which helped to put the group at ease. He was incredibly helpful and always diligent to the well being of the group. It would be a pleasure to trek with him again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the full range of weather conditions. I took wet suit boots for the river crossings and they proved to be invaluable especially before 6am in glacial rivers!! Take a few scooby snacks with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip has great and varied scenery. You will see so many different things that your trip will feel a lot longer than the 16 trekking days. It was a very rewarding and informative trip, I thoroughly loved it. Make sure that you take a ride in a rickshaw in Delhi!! The Kwality restaurant in Delhi was good food, and nobody was sick afterwards... always a bonus!!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    To be "in the presence" of Mt Kailas was the most fantastic experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being "in the presence" of Mt Kailash sitting at our campsite gazing at the mountainLooking across Lake Manasarovar to the Gurla Mandhata with prayer flags fluttering in the foregroundThe huge, empty, barren but staggeringly beautiful landscape as we travelled back to Saga and over the HimalayaThe whole trip was fantastic but I particularly remember the sense of space, subtle colours in the landscape, clarity of light which meant you could see incredible distances and of course the mountains.The Tibetan people who are so ready to smile and are incredibly interested and welcoming in spite of all their problems.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Val is a fantastic leader and I look forward to going to Ladakh with her in February.  Trips like our one in Tibet need someone with the kind of experience Val has and she inspired complete confidence that whatever happened she would deal with it in a competent and sensible way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with a sense of humour and be prepared to accept the unexpected because nothing every goes 100% to plan.  The changes can be the most wonderful part of the trip.The camping was a challenge for me (only my 2nd ever camping trip) especially with the high altitude, wind and cold. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't find the high altitude easy but I would deal with everything again tomorrow because once you get back the difficulties recede and what you are left with are unequalled memories.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Over the plateau and higher yet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up a pathway away from our camping site, I heard the deep gong of an evening  bell and wound my way towards a distant monastery.  Greeting an old nun who came out to greet me with a bow, she took me up the steps to the shrine and taught me the ritual of paying homage of the bodhisattva. Then she tied about my neck a wall hanging and blessed me. Camping beneath Ganden monastery in Tibet we clambered up the hill side to sit on the wall of an enclosed courtyard and watched, by the light of the moon , the monks debating  in bright red-clothed groups.Scrambling out our frost-coated tent, before us were snow-covered mountains. The air was fresh and the sky a brilliant blue. There was silence and stillness. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick Fulford was the quintessential leader. There was nothing he couldn't do and little he didn't know. From mending the truck to easing a passenger's panic attack, you could rely on him absolutely. He gave us the freedom to do what we wanted but adviced and guided as he saw fit. He was always there - in the background and foreground - but never an oppressive or authoritarian presence. At the end of the trip we all agreed we'd travel anywhere under his leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on an overland trip and don't worry about the money or time. You will never regret it.  Don't fear being caught in a group that you can't get away from but you have a lot of time to yourself to wander about small towns, markets and villages on your own, and alone you meet the most extraordinary people. 'Adventure' holidays are fun but nothing compares, culturally or personally, to the overland trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is tragedy that Exodus is down-sizing the overland trips. From having done a number of 'adventure' holidays with other companies, nothing compares to the experience of the extended overland journey. I am convinced that with proper marketing they would be very popular and that poeple would be willing to set aside the money and time to do them. I would recommend anyone to do such a trip once in their life time.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Had a good time - despite the weather!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I wasn't expecting it to be an inspirational holiday - compared with other trips I've done. It was what I wanted though - a gentle week's walking with good company and a fairly relaxing time.The staff at the Conrtijo Rosario were great - and the food was fantastic

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Nice relaxed attitude and she got on well with all the clients.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't necessarily expect it to be warm! The Cortijo is quite high up so cooler that at the coast.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would recommend the trip to anyone wanting a nice relaxing week with gentle walking
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Slovakia-beautiful, tranquil countryside bordered by snow capped mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved cycling through the unspoilt open countyside of Slovakia on the back roads, past meadows of wild flowers, buzzerds flying above us, snow capped mountains in the distance, through the small villages-just  peace and tranquility-pure bliss!We had a great group of interesting people with age ranges between 30+ to 60+ who all got along very well and we had plenty of laughs and good fun. Our tour leader also integrated well with our group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Polish group leader was very good and went out of her way to try to make the holiday run smoothly and satisfy everyone's demands even though we had big problems with poor quality bikes which took several attempts to eventually sort out.My friend and I decided not to cycle one day so she went out of her way to take us to a nearby town to look around, drove us to our lunch spot and to the castle excursion so we had an enjoyable day.Our Slovakian group leader who led the cycling part of the trip was lovely and integrated well with the group and supported those of us who struggled up the steep hills.  She was good fun and very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The brochure grading was A/B for the cycling but although I have been on a previous cycling holiday, this trip harder than I expected with many long steep hills and cycling on some busy roads. There were several single travellers in our group but everyone mixed very well so they did not feel left out at all.The food and beer was very cheap and filling, we ate very well and I actually came home with some money which I didn't spend.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    bittersweet!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Iguassu Falls

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I travelled from Quito to Lima then La Paz all the way to Rio (but not quite!) on the overland truck with Ant & Tubbs. They were great fun & got us through some hairy moments due to the extreme conditions during a Patagonian winter.  Unfortunely I fractured my back in 2 places when we were kayaking in the Pantanal, I was lucky I had Ant with me who ensured I was looked after in what was a very frightening situation for me. At times during the trip we had some challenging characters join us & they handled themselves very well & managed potential clashes of personalities!Thanks guys for a great trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get good insurance!! ...luckily I did!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Even though my trip came to a painful end, I had a great time & as usual, Exodus & its staff have been great...I am sad to learn Exodus are stopping overlanding, that seems a shame.