Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18336 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Polar Bears!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing mother polar bear with 18 month old cubs and then, after a very rushed bite of breakfast, another with 8 month old cubs.  It was and will remain the ultimate wildlife experience - possibly even better than the Rwanda Gorillas!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was outstanding - as were all his team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It may not be as good as it was for us!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unusually, words have failed me - we were so lucky and the close encounters of the polar bear kind were unforgettable.   The "professional" DVD is a wonderful reminder - many thanks to Andy Chastney for producing it. 
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Fantastic cultural experience in Rural China

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved meeting people in Villages and experiencing life well off the beaten track

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really good, his first trip to China too but very open minded about our wish to deviate from the route

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy it , highly recommended, some hills so practice on the bike.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    challenge achieved

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    my objective was to get a close up of Everest. What better time to do it as a celebration on reaching 80 yrs old . The trip was scheduled to be at Everest view hotel on NEW YEARS EVE 06/07 . The last bit was tough for me from Nnamche Bazzaar but we did it and the view was magnificent -the photo will be used for my Xmas cards . The rest of my group had an age profile of 34 and they encouraged me all the way to the top -great people now all good friends

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A GREAT GUY -SPOKE GOOD ENGLISH AND MOST HELPUL .THE GUIDE WAS MY INSPIRATION TO KEEP GOING EVEN ACROSS THE HIGH SUSPENSION BRIDGES

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GET FIT -GET FIT .  i CYCLED 20 MILES A WEEK FOR 1 YEAR TO BUILD UP MY STAMINA . BUY THE BEST GEAR YOU CAN AFFORD -HALF PRICE IN KATHMANDU . BUT DO BUY YOUR BOOTS AND BREAK THEM IN WELL BEFORE YOU GO

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    BECAUSE OF MY AGE I CONSULTED MY DOCTOR FOR BLOOD PRESURE ETC ETC AND HE DECLARED ME FIT FOR INSURANCE PURPOSES . i WAS ALSO CAREFUL TO GO SLOWLY ON REACHING ALTITUDE AND DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEMS .I HAVE BOOKED ANOTHER TRIP FOR DEC 7TH TO FIND THE MOUNTAIN GORILLAS IN RWANDA
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Unforgettable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the view from Kala Pattharthe view from Gokyo Rithe view of Ama Dablamthe view of Cho Lhatsethe view of Tawoche...too many superb views to mention 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lhakpa (and the whole support team) were very well organised.He went out of his way to make the trek a success.  The highlight was the visit to his parents in Namche. His father is one of the last two surviving high-altitude sherpas from the 1952 expedition.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your camera! Make sure you have enough batteries etc. You'll want to capture every moment. Visit the Bakery in Namche for great cakes.Visit the bookshop in Gokyo (a real gem)Great views of Kathmandu from Swayambunath.Most goods can be bought at Namche but watch out - I bought a well known brand sun cream that I' m convinced was a fake copy ( it was great for cooking chips but did nothing for my sun tan).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't skimp on the bonus for the porters - they deserve every penny.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    better do it yourself

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the scenery was excellent

    What did you think of your group leader?

    she was an inspiration. she was knowledgeable, capable and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    it's much, much cheaper do organize this trip by yourself. a wide choice of mountain huts are located at appropriate intervals and there is no terrain that a confidant trekker could not cope with. also, exodus use several cable cars to ascend in the early morning leading to awful descents in  the afternoon, (1900M) on one occasion.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Back for more!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the 'Long Day', skiing up and over the mountain pass behind Rondablikk with the wind on our backs, and through the rocky outcrops on the top had a real expedition feel to it, but we were never far from safety.Stopping for lunch in the forest round a fire lit by our guide.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We did the beginners' week here last year and Ingrid was the main reason we were back at Rondablikk.  She has the rare ability to pass on her skills and knowledge to everyone in the group from the natural to the uncoordinated, from beginner to the more experienced.  Ingrid clearly loves what she does and her passion for cross-country skiing is infectious - you are warned!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Alcohol in Norway is not cheap!  Exodus have negotiated special beer rates at the hotel, but don't plan to have a party!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The end of the world

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Torres del Paine NP - awesome and beautiful, glacier trekking to Cerro Torre, climbing Villarica Volcanoe and sliding back down, and of course, the microbrewery in El Chalten...........

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic - understanding, knowledgable, and great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a warm coat, don't expect too many (or any) home comforts, but this just makes the wilderness experience even more dramatic
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Great gorilla experience, shame about our group leader

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hour with the gorillas was simply outstanding. Highly recommended.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Poor. Lacked enthusiasm, changed our itinerary without proper debate, seemed tired and fed up with being in Africa. She was ultimately a real let down and sours the better memories of the trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect luxury. If you want to do the gorilla safari and have the available funds I would fly direct to Kigali and organise a trip to Ruhengeri with one of the hotel operators. Be aware that the Exodus gorilla safari is a huge round trip which means long days on the road; often getting up at 4.30 or 5am. The flip side is that you get to see a lot of Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda. However this is almost always from within the truck which is pretty uncomfortable and bumps and bounces its way over predictably bumpy roads.   

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Despite the issues with our tour leader and the length of drives it was worthwhile. However on the basis of my experience I would not do another overland trip with Exodus.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A mix of active fun including cycling, white water rafting, hiking in amazing scenery combined with

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a nearby volcano gently erupt whilst relaxing with a cocktail in the spa hotel's swim up pool bar after a day's cycling through beautiful scenery is a memory i will keep forever.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared that the standard of hotels in Panama is not on par with those of Costa Rica.  Also the crossing from Costa Rica to Panama involves walking along quite a long rickety bridge across the border.  This is a fun adventure but can be a bit of a pain if your luggage is heavy - you can't really wheel it along the bridge.   Consequently, its worthwhile bringing a medium sized bag with you.  That way you can take just the few beach essentials needed for the couple of days spent in Panama and leave your main luggage with the coach in Costa Rica.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I 'll never forget hearing a lion roar from my tent in the Serengeti

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think seeing wild African animals in their natural habitat was truly unforgettable especially this group of Giraffes we spotted at sunset when we were heading back to camp in the Masai MaraLearning about the culture of the Masai warriors and visiting a village near the game reserve.     

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought she was great. Organised, responsible, Informative and fun and also adaptable as necesary to the groups needs and wishes. If there were any problems they were sorted out straight away.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    make sure you take your digital camera recharger. Too many great shots to miss

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like seeing animals in their natural habitat, enjoying different cultures and taking it easy on the beach you can not go wrong with this mix of holiday. Seeing wild lions hunting zeebras one week, visiting and learning about Masai culture the next week and then relaxing and taking a dip in the crystal blue waters of the Indian Ocean off Zanzibar leads to memories I shall never forget.