Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18336 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Himalayan scenary - minus the walking but penguins, seals & whales included

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife is amazing as it hasn't learned to fear people.  The scenary is sublime, it's like the Himalayas chopped off at the snowline and parked in the sea.  The sea itself is unforgettable and a rough crossing adds to the adventure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader and expedition staff are excellent.  Very knowledgeable in the field and highly entertaining in the bar.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's obvious - go if you are turned on by either wildlife or scenary, both of which are incredible.  Don't go if your scene is cultural tourism or (in the case of this trip at least) you need physical challenges to get a kick.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go before it melts
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    My first holiday with Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    That we got to visit places that I could never got to on my own - and I never felt 'alone' just because I had booked on my own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent local knowledge and motivated; approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    don't hesitate booking a holiday by yourself - i was made to feel so welcome.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Could not stop raving about what a fantastic time i had on my return; and the things that remain are:- where can i go next with Exodus?! (am still trying to prioritise where to go next)- it is the only holiday where i put on weight despite walking each day - because the food was superb- have bought recipe book from the place and still cook dishes- am pleased that the company gives some regard to environmental matters - please continue to build on this - as sustainable travel is no longer a 'nice to do' but essential, as well as a competitive business issue. Can Exodus provide a mechanism whereby customers can offset their flights as part of the holiday cost? i.e. easy to do on your website or indeed include in the holiday cost as a matter of course (for those who are flying with Exodus completely) with an option to opt out  - and invest that in projects overseas to e.g. install solar lighting in developing countries, - if Exodus does not indeed do so already.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Iceland - AWESOME !!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning scenery / Wonderful waterfalls / and Great Glaciers and Glacier walking

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly / funny and felt safe under his expert guidance

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take more layers than you think you will need - it's cold in February :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try everything ..... if you don't like it just don't try it again !!!!Go in the winter so that you have a chance to see the Northern Lights ......... breathtaking and awesome just don't do it justice.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Amazing landscape - and fantastic exercise!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say. It was all wonderful, but the first walk, which began at 5p.m. on Day One, was fantastic. A tough walk up a mountain, and breathtaking views all round, with no sign of habitation anywhere. Walking for over 2 days without seeing another person. The vastness, rawness and otherworldliness of the landscape, and the incredible colours of the rocks at Landmannalaugar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petur was superb. A very good guide on the walks - pushing us along but making sure everyone was OK. He told us lots about the geology of Iceland, and he cooked amazing meals for us. He had clear rules for us untidy and messy hikers, and his vigilance when clearing out the first mountain hut ensured that I had a jacket for the rest of the hike! He was delightful, with a wickedly dry sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take rubber shoes (e.g. windsurfing shoes) for those river crossings! And get fit - the mountains are very steep! And take some alcohol with you - at Landmannalaugur is it very pleasant to drink gin and Sprite in the naturally hot spring! Sprite can be bought there, but not gin.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A better picture in the brochure would give a flavour of the trek and the landscape. The current one shows people in front of a lava flow, but unless you look closely it could be taken for a forest, and it doesn't give any sense of the mountainous terrain we walked in. or the fact that we were on the move all day every day. It would be good to indicate the approximate distance and height of each day's walk  so that people are more aware of the walking conditions and how fit they therefore need to be. This was a fantastic and hugely memorable holiday. 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Peace and Quiet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Peaceful countrysidehardly any traffic,  good company, excellent guides, we were lucky with the weather being clear, otherwise some of the walks could not have been undertaken

    What did you think of your group leader?

    both of them were excellent
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The Holiday that we sacked out Tour Leader

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On our final evening we discussed what were the three best memories that we would take home from an utterly amazing holiday.  Mine, in no particular order, were: Seeing  tigers in the wild.The architecture and especially the Taj Mahal.The children. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A holiday of two halves.  Our initial leader was a nightmare, he would have preferred to have been a Bollywood film star than escorting a group round Rajasthan - alternatively he would have been happy to have been born a Maharajah.  He was loud,  inefficient beyond belief, was unctious to his group, late for everything and rude to all the Indians that we had contact with - in short a total embarassment.  His replacement was fantastic.  Everything one could want from a group leader and more.  Charming, informative, relaxed but completely organized, liked by everyone and fun to be with.  A total contrast.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    India in many areas uses small 3 pin round plugs.  With the amount of re-charging now necessary for cameras it is worth investing in an adaptor of this type (also works in South Africa and New Zealand)Perhaps I am getting old but the journeys were long and the seats hard.  Some sort of cushion to sit on was a necessity.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic holiday in a vibrant country.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A short trip, but a wonderful experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Emerging from my tent in the early morning. The desert was silent all around, the sun just appearing above the horizon and there was a wonderful, clear, soft light all around - a photographers dream come true.Reaching the top of the first area of dunes (mid-afternoon on the second full day's walk) Layer after layer of sand dunes as far as the eye could see, in all directions - real "picture book" desert scenery.Sitting around the fire in the evenings, sharing meals with the camel drivers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic - friendly, supportive and helpful. He had a real love of his country and the desert and this came across very well. The "lessons" after breakfast on Tunisian culture, history, language, etc, were fascinating without being "heavy"

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip - you will not regret it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trip with Exodus (February 2007), but definitely not my last - I will be in Morocco on an Exodus trip in October 2007
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I fell in love with the dogs - Loved my Lemky!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After being so focussed on work, it was ab fab to be totally alive again and being at one with nature. The sun shining off the snow, the beautiful dogs loving running and pulling the sledge, rushing along feeling there was just me, the snow, the dogs and the landscape - totally awesome!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it now!!!  Also got hooked on cross-country skiing after my lesson - love to do a week with Exodus learning more.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    A splendid time is guaranteed for all

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     Sledging from Oeschinen back to Kandersteg. Ice climbing on flood-lit frozen waterfall ( even tho I was pants at it!). Food was delicious. Seeing avalanche on Mount Blumisalp. Stunning Mountain scenery.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Couldn't have been better.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Still smiling after 5580km in a truck!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A selection: Wild camping beside glacial streams, zip lining across a river, kayaking in pucon, sliding down snow-covered volcano on backside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She had endless energy and enthusiasm, a sound knowledge of the area and great organisational skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose this sector if you can ... it was fantastic and one of the better sections in S America as far as I can gather from friends who did more than one sector. Make sure you have a good sleeping bag. Think about learning some Spanish before you go. Opportunities for charging battteries can be few and far between so taking spares for camera batteries is helpful. Do as many of the available excursions as you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I understand that Exodus are considering removing overland trips from their itineries. This is a real shame as the trip appeared to be of a higher quality than some of the other companies doing the same route.