Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18128 Reviews

  • Reviewed April 2022

    Petra and Wadi Rum Trek

    This was a wonderful trip. Beautiful scenery, a lovely country and of course Petra.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I just liked being in the desert. The colours were more beautiful than I had imagined, and at times it was very still and quiet. It was lovely sitting round the camp fire in the evening and the stars were fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader, Abdulla, couldn't have been better. He was very knowledgeable, and supportive of the group. He had a great sense of humour and he paced the overall trip and each day very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It really does get cold in the desert at night. Take plenty of clothes and a good sleeping bag!
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Fantastic trip

    This is fantastic holiday, don't hesitate to book it, this trip has varied landscapes, with the deserts in the south and national parks, with its varied wildlife in the north. There is a lot of long drives involved with this trip, up to 6 hours on some days, but that is part of the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are a number of highlights in this trip, climbing the large sand dunes, feeding ostriches, seeing springboks bounding across the Etosha NP and other animals including Rhino, Zebra, Giraffe, Elephants, because of the rain in the park before we arrived we didn't see many animals around the water holes,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was a great group leader, he was very informative, funny and well organised, he looked after us very well, nothing was to much trouble for for him, this was my 15th trip with exodus, and I think he was the best guide I have had, I would also like to thank Jonas, our cook for the week, he served up some great dishes during our trip, him and Shane worked well together, we had a big downpour of rain while they were packing up the tents, and they did it with a smile and a joke.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long drives and early starts, but it is worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    book it ..... its a fantastic place to see!
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Children of the revolution!

    Great trip, crew worked tirelessly for us, fascinating place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery in SE hills was especially good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, could not be faulted

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Change your money on the street!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No it was brilliant
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Highly Recommended

    Busy holiday that introduces you to the delights of Namibia from the sand dunes to the Skeleton Coast and game drives in the national parks. We saw loads of wildlife but due to an extended rainy season the waterholes at the campsites were not remotely busy or active, and the big cats were not seen at all. However, the tour guide was fabulous, and I loved every minute of the trip. My only wish was that we had more time there!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are too many: climbing the sand dunes, seeing Deadvlei, flight from Swakopmund, Dune explore and sand boarding, sky dive, getting up close to ostrich, cheetah, zebra, giraffe, rhino, warthog, dikdik and many more. I also had a great time chatting to the stall holders at the craft market.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was fabulous. Tireless in keeping everything running smoothly and constantly cheerful. His knowledge of his country and of the flora and fauna is excellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a fabulous country to visit. The people are very friendly and happy to have a chat, or to sell you their crafts and all speak English. Sense of humour essential!
  • Reviewed April 2022

    It's a must do!

    This was an amazing week filled with first time experiences. Finland is such a beautiful place. We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights on 2 nights- which was my main reason for going on this trip as well as the husky sledding. The day trip to Ruka was a great day, where I went snowmobiling which was great fun and watched people on the ski slopes. We visited a reindeer farm, where we got to feed the young reindeer. An added bonus was crossing the Arctic Circle on the way to the airport at the end of the week. This was unexpected and ended the holiday wonderfully!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have never skied of any type before but I gave it a go after Martti (our group leader) showed us how it was done. I was going down little hills without falling over by the end of the week. Watching the Northern Lights appear and move in the sky was fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martti was a brilliant group leader. He was always around when we needed him. He has a great sense of humour and made us laugh throughout the week. Nothing is too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Give everything a go. The quinzee building was great fun and people on our tour stayed in them all night- I wish I had now. You don't need much cash, as everywhere takes card. Take your own flash so you can fill up with tea or coffee to take on your outings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was delicious and catered for vegetarian and gluten free diets. The people on our tour were lovely and we all shared our photos of each other.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    A

    On our second night in Costa Rica I had a huge wave of emotion hit me... I was sleeping in the rainforest during a tropical thunderstorm with frogs croaking and insects chirping.. it was AMAZING!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick out a defining part but I do have a little bit of love for whales and seeing humpbacks and drakes bay will stay with me forever. Tortoguero and Drakes Bay are by far the highlights of the trip. Everyday there was a chance to see new wildlife that you hadn't seen before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Jorge (our guide) and Carlos (our driver) were exceptional throughout the entirety of the trip. Jorge was always on the lookout with his eagle eyes for anything moving in the bushes. His passion to make sure we got to see the best Costa Rica had to offer was only outshon by his helpfulness and that everyone in the group was well looked after. Carlos was always there with a smile on his face to greet us in the morning and to make sure all our luggage was safe and secure on the minibus. Again, always going that extra mile to make sure the experience you had was 5+.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although most reviews say to take dollars I actually had no issues with mainly using the local currency, and you will always get them in change so why bother taking multipe currancies. Drake's Bay is very hot! In the jungle its a constant sweatbox, occasionally we stepped outside onto the beach and whilst the humidity went the sun was just unrelentless. Also with Drakes Bay the "wilderness" is non exisntant. Mulitple boats doing the same thing all wanting to get the best for their customers - just somthing to be wary about. Most hotels had AC, those that didn't had ceiling fans which most of the time did the job, one hotel the fan wasn't working, but we were only their for one night. On previous trips there were optional extras suggested for free time - but I found I had to arrange some of this myself. Double check trip notes with those of the guide as the "optional (included) second boat ride at Tortuguero" was not an option.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    A Hidden Gem!

    We have just returned from a fantastic week hiking in the Sierra de Aitana with Jose Garcia as our guide. It is amazing that this relatively quiet mountain area is so near to Benidorm yet a millions miles away in terms of scenery, history and culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had a fantastic final days walk up to Pico Serella with views for miles up and down the coast. We stopped to eat our lunch in the sun -incredible sandwiches made by our guide Jose, full of fresh local ingredients - before descending through a hidden valley. We finished in a small village square at a bar in the sun - perfect!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jose was an excellent leader. He knows the area and it's history very well. He constantly changed the itinerary to fit the weather conditions and make the most of the sunnier days. He looked after the whole group whilst we were walking, providing extra kit if needed, but also in the evening taking us out for a group meal or driving us back from a local bar at the end of the walk. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, we felt very well looked after.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You may not have heard of Sierra de Aitana before but this is a great area with stunning views, an interesting history and quiet way of life. The walking is challenging in places - there are some long descents, the paths are narrow or occasionally just scree slopes - so you need to be a confident walker. But Jose is a good guide and will help if needed -so book it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation is clean, comfortable and basic. The staff are very welcoming and the food is plentiful if rustic (meat eaters be prepared for rabbit!).
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Fabrizio is amazing

    Just a wonderful trip. Our tour leader Fabrizio was a bundle of joy, information, nothing was too much trouble.....a gem.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in Matera , going down the canyon across the suspension bridge to the other side of the valley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Just brilliant , he had such a pride in his work. Loved the tea and coffee breaks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy this is a wonderful trip. Nice mix of walking , information, delicious food.
  • All the sights with a good group, though bit rushed

    I found the trip did exactly what it said on the tin - go and see all the main sights in 9 days, visiting the Pyramids, and the major temples. The group was nice, and being a 30s-40s trip they were all around my age which was good. The hotels were good quality, which others like, though I felt that using 5-star hotels took Exodus away from the good mid-range hotels I’m used to, and was a largely unnecessary expense in a country where most of the accommodation is much better value. The main negatives for me were being bussed everywhere to a timetable - which made it feel less like adventure travel, and the fact that a lot of the sights felt quite rushed, with relatively little time to do independent sightseeing - the worst example of this being the Philae temple visit. This was an optional extra that we paid more for, but (partially due to the sleeper getting in late, which admittedly was beyond their control) we ended up being there for only 90 min, with no unguided time. But apart from this the trip was a good introduction to Egypt and its history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids for the first time. The amazing carvings in so many of the temples. Nice group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmet was pretty much always an enthusiastic, knowledgeable leader, even when things weren’t going quite right (for example when the sleeper train arrived significantly late). Nothing was generally too much trouble, and he made the tour much more than it would have been without him. By the end of the trip he was still the same as at the start, ready to explain how great Egypt is, and how ‘everything started in Egypt’! Only issues I noticed were a couple of times where we could have used time better (once we did a 40 min coach trip, that Google maps confirmed was actually only to drive less than 2 miles - I think we were killing time without being told, which annoyed me - we just drove one way and then the other through Luxor town!), and a delay in getting alternative flight info that caused me issues and cost on the return flight.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t expect to do everything in depth, and consider adding more time after the trip - I spent an extra day in Luxor, and 2 days in Cairo, and would recommend that. I went back to Karnak temple and spent another half day on my own, in addition to the quick trip with the group. I also hired a taxi in Cairo and went to the ‘other’ pyramids at Darshur/Saqqarah - which I felt was one of the best days of the whole trip, less tourists, more time to see, and almost better than the Giza pyramids in my view. The sunrise at Abu Simbel wasn’t really worth it - we didn’t really see anything additional - though going to Abu Simbel is worth it. The sound & light show at Karnak (which I did independently) wasn’t really worth it).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The issue with flights back (as I ‘missed’ the one from Luxor to Cairo, due to wanting to stay an additional day in Luxor and ending up having to buy another flight after the options weren’t given to me in time) cost me over £100 to pay a random ‘fee’ that Egyptair charged, to allow me to travel back to the UK (on a flight I had already paid for) and nearly led to me missing that flight. To date Exodus haven’t been very helpful in trying to sort this, or apologising for not making it clear this ‘fee’ was a possibility, which has been disappointing, especially given I’ve used Exodus on multiple occasions and always had good service.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Simply Superb

    Visiting Jordan has been on my bucket list for years. I have been on many trips with Exodus and this has got to be up there with the best ones! There is so much included in the one week, I just wish it had been a little bit longer. Well organised, no overly long travels, brilliant itinerary and amazing local team and leader. It would be very hard to organise a better trip than this. :) The country and the sights we saw were just beautiful, the people we met were the friendliest you could ever meet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The itinerary is very well planned, the most important sights one would want to visit are covered. There is something for everyone: extra walking option for those that want to do more exercise, free time for those that want to do more walking or shopping, option to swim and snorkel. Spending one night at the bedouin camp is also a unique and unforgettable experience. And I have not even mentioned just submerging yourself in the fantastically rich history of Jordan every day of the trip. Superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Muayad is a true professional, we could not have asked for a better tour leader. He is knowledgeable, kind and very welcoming. He is very proud of his country and his enthusiasm for the job and for his country is just unrivalled. His sense of humour helped gel the members of our fairly large group (20) together very quickly. He always offered us amazing lunch and dinner options and even brought a very delicious apple pie made by his Mum! He broke up the travel with coffee breaks, that was important to me. :) He went out of his way to make sure that we all had a fantastic trip and I am very grateful for that. Thank you so much, Muayad!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was colder than expected, so the down jacket I brought along with the gloves was the best decision. Also, bring a silk liner for extra warmth for the night in the bedouin tent. Book an extra day in Amman as there is just so much more to do there!