Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18160 Reviews

  • All the sights with a good group, though bit rushed

    I found the trip did exactly what it said on the tin - go and see all the main sights in 9 days, visiting the Pyramids, and the major temples. The group was nice, and being a 30s-40s trip they were all around my age which was good. The hotels were good quality, which others like, though I felt that using 5-star hotels took Exodus away from the good mid-range hotels I’m used to, and was a largely unnecessary expense in a country where most of the accommodation is much better value. The main negatives for me were being bussed everywhere to a timetable - which made it feel less like adventure travel, and the fact that a lot of the sights felt quite rushed, with relatively little time to do independent sightseeing - the worst example of this being the Philae temple visit. This was an optional extra that we paid more for, but (partially due to the sleeper getting in late, which admittedly was beyond their control) we ended up being there for only 90 min, with no unguided time. But apart from this the trip was a good introduction to Egypt and its history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids for the first time. The amazing carvings in so many of the temples. Nice group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmet was pretty much always an enthusiastic, knowledgeable leader, even when things weren’t going quite right (for example when the sleeper train arrived significantly late). Nothing was generally too much trouble, and he made the tour much more than it would have been without him. By the end of the trip he was still the same as at the start, ready to explain how great Egypt is, and how ‘everything started in Egypt’! Only issues I noticed were a couple of times where we could have used time better (once we did a 40 min coach trip, that Google maps confirmed was actually only to drive less than 2 miles - I think we were killing time without being told, which annoyed me - we just drove one way and then the other through Luxor town!), and a delay in getting alternative flight info that caused me issues and cost on the return flight.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t expect to do everything in depth, and consider adding more time after the trip - I spent an extra day in Luxor, and 2 days in Cairo, and would recommend that. I went back to Karnak temple and spent another half day on my own, in addition to the quick trip with the group. I also hired a taxi in Cairo and went to the ‘other’ pyramids at Darshur/Saqqarah - which I felt was one of the best days of the whole trip, less tourists, more time to see, and almost better than the Giza pyramids in my view. The sunrise at Abu Simbel wasn’t really worth it - we didn’t really see anything additional - though going to Abu Simbel is worth it. The sound & light show at Karnak (which I did independently) wasn’t really worth it).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The issue with flights back (as I ‘missed’ the one from Luxor to Cairo, due to wanting to stay an additional day in Luxor and ending up having to buy another flight after the options weren’t given to me in time) cost me over £100 to pay a random ‘fee’ that Egyptair charged, to allow me to travel back to the UK (on a flight I had already paid for) and nearly led to me missing that flight. To date Exodus haven’t been very helpful in trying to sort this, or apologising for not making it clear this ‘fee’ was a possibility, which has been disappointing, especially given I’ve used Exodus on multiple occasions and always had good service.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Simply Superb

    Visiting Jordan has been on my bucket list for years. I have been on many trips with Exodus and this has got to be up there with the best ones! There is so much included in the one week, I just wish it had been a little bit longer. Well organised, no overly long travels, brilliant itinerary and amazing local team and leader. It would be very hard to organise a better trip than this. :) The country and the sights we saw were just beautiful, the people we met were the friendliest you could ever meet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The itinerary is very well planned, the most important sights one would want to visit are covered. There is something for everyone: extra walking option for those that want to do more exercise, free time for those that want to do more walking or shopping, option to swim and snorkel. Spending one night at the bedouin camp is also a unique and unforgettable experience. And I have not even mentioned just submerging yourself in the fantastically rich history of Jordan every day of the trip. Superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Muayad is a true professional, we could not have asked for a better tour leader. He is knowledgeable, kind and very welcoming. He is very proud of his country and his enthusiasm for the job and for his country is just unrivalled. His sense of humour helped gel the members of our fairly large group (20) together very quickly. He always offered us amazing lunch and dinner options and even brought a very delicious apple pie made by his Mum! He broke up the travel with coffee breaks, that was important to me. :) He went out of his way to make sure that we all had a fantastic trip and I am very grateful for that. Thank you so much, Muayad!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was colder than expected, so the down jacket I brought along with the gloves was the best decision. Also, bring a silk liner for extra warmth for the night in the bedouin tent. Book an extra day in Amman as there is just so much more to do there!
  • Reviewed March 2022

    What an amazing adventure!

    From the moment we met our local guide, Pedro Benavides and our excellent driver, Gabriel, we had the most wonderful two weeks visiting many different regions of Costa Rica. From the pounding surf of the Caribbean to the stillness of the lush forests and then from the heat of the Pacific coast to the cool air of the cloud forests and Paramo region at the top of the Continental Divide every National Park we visited had its own character. We were somewhat disappointed at the lack of birdlife visible (or heard) on many of the forest trails, but overall we saw an amazing variety of species and with sloths, iguanas, monkeys and crocodiles adding to the wildlife sightings it was truly magnificent. Accommodation was great - the various wooden lodges varied in character but all provided comfortable beds and in the more remote locations, which were all-inclusive, the food was excellent. The Hotel Presidente in San José for the first and last nights was very comfortable and its central location made it ideal for shopping, interesting museums and visiting the National Theatre and Metropolitan Cathedral. Our group of 14 travellers gelled together easily despite a wide age range and the overall verdict was that this was a trip which could be highly recommended. Thank you, Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional boat excursion on the Rio Tárcoles - Jungle Crocodile Safari - was a highlight for us all. So many birds and other creatures to see at fairly close quarters during the short boat trip - amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pedro was very good. He organised the days very well and without any fuss, giving us options where appropriate and on the whole making it clear to everyone what time and where to meet etc etc. He was quite skilled at finding wildlife for us and knowledgeable about the various species of birds we saw. He had a good command of English and a wonderful sense of humour. He was very proud to tell us about Costa Rica itself and good at pointing out things to see on our journeys. Our driver Gabriel was also good at spotting wildlife and where he could do so safely he would park the coach so we could all disembark for a closer look.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of insect repellant, antihistamines if you are liable to be bitten and lots of cool clothes but also warmer layers for the mountains. Be prepared to live out of your suitcase for 2 weeks. And where it's most humid be prepared for swimsuits taking a long time to dry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip highly. Although described as 'Leisurely' it was quite tiring. Pedro offered 6am wildlife walks most days and with other planned and optional activities there wasn't much time for rest - other than during coach transfers - as long as you didn't mind missing the scenery. It was a case of 'early to bed and early to rise' almost every day to make the most of all the opportunities on offer.
  • Reviewed March 2022

    Fabulous, immersive week

    The activities, landscape and Basecamp were all excellent. I was concerned that the itinerary looked less active in the second half of the week but, in fact, it was cleverly designed so that we were introduced to snowshoeing and cross-country skiing on days 1 & 2, and allowed to retain the equipment so that we could continue with these activities whenever we had free time. Also, quinzee building on Friday was interesting and very active. Our room was spacious enough, with good storage, a comfortable bed, decent shower and even hairdryer - all with a lovely view. And it was warm! Communal areas were also warm, and welcoming at all times of day and evening. Staff always made time for a chat. The forest, lakes (frozen) and rivers are so pretty, it was wonderful to explore them. As a huge bonus, we saw the Northern Lights - twice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dogsledding was thrilling. (Definitely worth upgrading to the 20K route.) It was so exciting to drive and be driven through that lovely scenery, with the most excited dogs we've ever encountered! I loved being able to "hike", using snowshoes, on a variety of trails. These were quiet and magical, but also well resourced with shelters and firepits. My husband enjoyed practising cross-country skiing, and he bravely slept in the quinzee.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martti is a very good leader. He's an excellent instructor, with a fund of stories and a nice quirky sense of humour; also hard-working and really well-planned. His enthusiasm was inspiring. He often went out of his way for us and was generous with equipment to suit individual needs and activities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Basecamp really does provide plenty of kit, as in the Trip Notes, so that you only need baselayers and whatever clothes you want for the evenings. On the free afternoon in Ruka, we decided to snowshoe, and Martti recommended the Valtavaara winter trail. In mild March weather, this was quiet, well-marked and manageable, and the steep climb was rewarded by fabulous panoramic views. It's a really enjoyable option and only costs the price of the gondola.
  • Slothful, but not in that way.

    A trip designed to show the diversity of Costa Rica whilst incorporating many good cycling days, and a range of activities. Busy, but there was a lot to squeeze in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I just love hummingbirds, so an otherwise ordinary lunch stop turned in to a huge photo opportunity as the restaurant had feeders just outside the window to attract dozens of the tweety little things. Other than that, taking a boat to our Tortuguera hotel, relaxing in volcanic hot springs (with a bar), passing and smelling (eeuw) a palm oil factory, learning about tiny honey bees, not running off the road on a ferocious tarmac downhill and meeting a lovely bunch of like minded "cyclists" and crew.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I've been on many guided cycling trips with various companies including several with Exodus, and have always been thankful for the input of the guide. On this trip, our guide, Roberto, surpassed them all. There was nothing which was too much trouble, and no issue which he could not effortlessly resolve. Friendly, understanding and able to keep the group together in such a way that there never seemed to be any element of competition. A sense of humour. Information supplied along the way - tested by a challenging quiz on the last day where everyone won a prize!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can, arrive a few days before as your sleep patterns will need a few days to adjust. Having said that, the few that arrived within hours of the start coped heroically. Better than me in fact, who had 5 days to acclimatise. Expect some early starts. If you have to fit in a boat ride before breakfast, some cycling, a few hours in the transport, lunch, more cycling and still have time to relax in the pool before evening meal, you'll understand.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Must mention the driver, and mechanic/peloton-shepherd. Both outstanding in their roles. Driver combined speed with safety, could guide the vehicle through the tiniest gaps and remain calm when other less careful road users got themselves in very sticky situations. Our mechanic was invisibly keeping all the bikes in perfect order, but on the road, came out of nowhere to offer support or encouragement. He fist-bumped all, even the (ahem) slowest of us.
  • Reviewed March 2022

    Amazing Matera!

    Brilliant trip with pleasant walking, great food and wine, good company, fascinating towns (especially Matera....a real highlight for me), an excellent guide in Fabrizio (knowledgeable, efficient, very patient, making everything great fun.... the best guide I can remember having on any trip!). I enjoyed the hotels in Ostuni and Matera (though in Matera it was a bit 'luck of draw' as to what your room was like - and I felt I was lucky!) First hotel in Alberobello was a bit bland. But overall everything went very smoothly (even the dreaded covid paperwork) - and it was SO good to be out of country, somewhere new. What's not to like!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved coming into Matera

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabrizio was just the best!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In March weather varied from woolly hats at start of week to t shirts on last day. Pack layers for this time of year
  • Reviewed March 2022

    Petra and wadi Rum adventure

    This trip exceeded expectations, particularly the Wadi Rum trek. This part of the week was really well organised and the desert is even more impressive and interesting than anticipated. The combination of a few day's trekking and then a visit to one of the modern seven wonders of the world at Petra makes for a great vacation. You do have to be ready for some wild camping, but the support is excellent and the standard of the food and the regular provision of water and rest stops works very well in the hot desert climate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was walking towards the Treasury at Petra, having read so much about it and seen it in documentaries and films it was fantastic to be there in person and see it for real. In fact the whole site including Petra and Little Petra is quite amazing, is scale is vast and full of impressive carved tombs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Abdullah was excellent, well organised, very friendly with a good sense of humour he very much made the trip such a great experience. I felt you could always rely on him to provide any help, assistance and advice when needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need to pack as much kit as you might think, but make sure to take worm clothing and a good jacket. Its cold ait night in the desert but Petra was particularly cold in March with a strong wind blowing through the canyons.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Climbing the Burdah rock bridge is a great experience but its done without any protection from falls. This is OK for people with some scrambling experience and this part of the trip is definitely optional. However any falls on this route could have drastic or even fatal consequences so it would be good to see some additional precautions taken on the more exposed sections of the route. One member of our group was hauled up the last few meters using a headscarf and a piece of string, a practice which carries considerable risks should anything go wrong.
  • Great walking on a beautiful island

    I had travelled to La Palma with Exodus in March 2020 and sadly the trip was cut short by the Spanish Covid lockdown without any the walks being completed. I've very glad I persevered and returned in March 2022. The walking was excellent with the walk on the rim of the caldera above the clouds, and the walk within the caldera below the clouds being the highlights of the trip. Our tour guide took us to small local restaurants for lunch on a few days, and it felt good to put a little money back into the community after covid and the eruption. The first hotel in Barlovento was excellent with really friendly and helpful staff, while the second on the edge of Santa Cruz was very spacious, but a bit soulless and could do with improved housekeeping. Weather in March was excellent and made for comfortable walking, not too hot and not cold.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the caldera, very unusual.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wim was an excellent leader. The whole trip went completely smoothly without a hint of all the work behind the scenes. He told us so much about all aspects of the island and kept us entertained.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is definitely a grade 4 trip. La Palma has few flat places so the going is normally up or down, with some rough tracks.
  • Reviewed March 2022

    Spectacular

    This is an action-packed trip with so much variety of history, culture, food and landscape to discover. There was always something new and enough time to stroll around the sites.We saw all the highlights mentioned in the guide books! Jordan is not a big country so travel is a reasonable proportion of each day. All journeys are interspersed with visits or sights. We would heartily recommend this trip to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Jerash was an amazingly complete Roman city where it was possible to imagine the shopkeepers in their shops and the theatregoers at the theatre. Covering an enormous site we had plenty of time to explore and also saw the oval forum. Views from the city are exceptional. The flowers in the desert of Wadi Rum were a real surprise. So small and delicate that at first they are unnoticeable, their variety and beauty cannot fail to excite. Set in the stunning landscape they enhance any carefully framed photo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal was outstanding. He combined a thorough knowledge of the sites, their history and significance with a good understanding of British humour and an excellent grasp of the English language! He organised the group well without being officious and was flexible to enable us to see as much as we could of the country. He handled issues in a friendly and appropriate manner and generated the overall respect of the group. He listened and responded well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It can be very cold in March! Bring at least two warmer tops and a warm jacket in case. It was colder than in the UK! Pack essentials in your hand luggage - sometimes baggage arrives late! Western Swimming costumes aren’t easy to buy in Jordan markets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Mohammed Odwan was an exceptional driver. He was kind and caring and always had a spotless bus. Despite very bad weather conditions, he ensured the windows were always cleaned and we could see out and take photographs. He was a real gentleman.
  • Reviewed March 2022

    Lovely Week's Walking Despite the Snow

    Firstly we did not expect snow on this holiday! Nonetheless we had a very enjoyable week and met some lovely people in our group of 16. Some parts of the itinerary had to be adapted and changed due to the weather conditions but this did not affect the overall enjoyment of the holiday. Walking on the first couple of days was a bit tricky due to the snow and ice, meaning walking poles were essential. In normal conditions none of the walks would have been especially challenging. Gizer was a great guide, very knowledgeable and mindful of the group. We appreciated the extra trips to Famagusta (on free day) and Nicosia (departure day). Hotel Pia Bella is a good base with friendly staff and the bonus of heating in the bedrooms. It has a lovely outside pool area (shame it was just too cold to enjoy). Worth noting that if you enjoy wine the house stuff is not good, instead ask the hotel for a bottle (affordable) and keep behind the bar. Organised restaurants were very good, especially the last evening one. The restaurant next to the hotel serves a nice pizza too. All in all a good holiday and so much history in Northern Cyprus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Salamis and Nicosia

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, very knowledgeable on history, culture and flora and fauna

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of warm layers. It does get cold. Also walking poles useful

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take Turkish Lira