Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17711 Reviews

  • Reviewed December 2019
    Heather Ward

    Simply the best!

    This was our first Exodus cycling holiday and it won’t be our last! The scenery was varied and beautiful, the hotels were better that I was expecting and the cycling was challenging but manageable and a great way to see the countryside. We were able to ride at our own pace through out the trip, with one of the guides at the front and one bringing up the rear and breaks every hour or so for water and snacks. Food from the Exodus Mobile Kitchen was excellent - every meal was something different and we were often the lunchtime the envy of other tour groups! The buffet meals in the hotels were also good - a range of options to suit everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the safari in the Kruger - we saw an incredible volume and variety of wildlife, often quite close up - lions 3ft away, elephants crossing the road in front and behind our vehicle. The crowning glory was a leopard spotted by one of our group which just seemed to want to show off for us!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bradley, Skhu and Rea did a fantastic job of looking after us all. From fixing bikes (and the truck) to cooking (including baking a cake on the barbecue!) to sharing their knowledge and love of South Africa and its animals, all three were amazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is worth doing some training ahead of the trip, some days were quite tough - up to 2000m of climbing. But we could all ride at our own pace - there was never any pressure to keep up - so don’t let it put you off. There is always the option to get a lift from the truck!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is no bar or other access to beer or wine on the first night, so if you want a drink (and you might after a long transfer), you will need to buy something either at the airport or at one of the stops on the drive.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Sharon Green

    Fantastic Trip!

    This was our first trek and we we struck gold - the scenery and people of Nepal are beautiful. They have left a lasting impression and a return trip is a must. The porters and guides looked after us - lugging our gear and organising food and accommodation, pointing out wildlife and keeping us safe - always smiling, they created a real family feel to the group. I miss the early morning wake up call of a cheerful Namaste with a cup of tea and a stunning sunrise.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two stand out (& emotional) moments-Looking down on a pair of Golden Eagles gliding on the thermals only 15 feet away & Reaching Annapurna Basecamp - achieving the goal and surrounded by jaw dropping scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Balkrishna Tamang (Milan) was a great leader. I have no experience of others but the bar is now set very high! He was tireless in ensuring everything went to plan and everyone was happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep your bags as light as you can- not an easy task but watching the porters lug 2 kit bags and their own gear is a humbling experience
  • Reviewed December 2019

    Everest Base Camp with 3 high passes ref TNG 1901110

    I wish to give separate feedback for the local guide team and then also for Exodus head office. This is feedback for the local guide team led by Dakman Thapa. I thought Dakman, along with his assistant guides Surja Baraily and Lakpa Tamang were excellent throughout. They were flexible and attentive to the differing group needs during the entire trip. I loved the info regarding the local culture, geography and sights that we saw along the way. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They prioritised safety and well being, enabling everyone to maximise their experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the stunning sunrises and sunsets on different peaks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    as above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    be fit, get altitude experience and experience of multi day treks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will do separate feedback to Exodus head office.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Virginia Morris

    Amazing Rajasthan cycling trip

    We had a fabulous time in Rajasthan and fully recommend this trip. We have now done quite a few cycling holidays, both in groups and self guided, in Europe and in far flung places but I can honestly say that this one was the most enjoyable in every way. Firstly, we had a fantastic leader, Krishna, whose good humour and expertise made us all feel safe and well cared for. His attention to detail was superb as well as his knowledge of the wild life and history. The combination of exquisite forts and palaces and fabulous scenery made for a very varied and exciting trip. The village life that we could ride through and look at was superb. We enjoyed all the hotels except at the beginning and end and despite Delhi and Aggra smog, we were mostly in unspoilt places. Our cultural sightseeing was informative and fun. The food was delicious and fresh everywhere and we loved our daily stops for Chai by the roadside. We stayed healthy throughout and found the cycling very manageable. I did use the bus a couple of times but so did quite a few of the group so that was ok. Our group was very supportive and non-competitive. I love these Exodus holidays and can't wait to book another one. By the way, despite the trip notes at least half the group were in lycra. Thank you to Exodus and to Krishna and his team

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Falling into some dubious mud/dung/pooh and being helped to clean it all up by some very amused villagers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about it. Just go
  • Reviewed December 2019
    David Southall

    The most amazing trip I have ever taken with memories never forgotten.

    If you wish to challenge yourself and witness some of the most amazing views on the face of this planet then this is the trek for you. Yes, you need to train, Yes you need to have a positive mind set, Yes, you will get cold, Yes you will NOT be staying in 5star hotels along your trek. YES, you will find things out about yourself, YES you will do things that you never though possible. YES YES YES you will have the greatest time. Go ahead. Book it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Everest Base Camp as a compete team and seeing the Nepalese culture of how little they have and yet they smile every day are grateful for everything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ha Ha Tenzing Sherpa was the most positive and inspirational leader anyone could ask for. His knowledge and character and laughter was simply infectious. I would request him again to guide any trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont overpack Take enough underwear and socks Limit to a 2/3. base layers/ Mid layers and let the down jacket do the rest. Drink enough water even if you feel you are not thirsty. Avoid meat on the trek.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Ann Irish

    If in doubt ... DO IT!

    Superb trekking - intense but enjoyable, helped by superb weather I must admit. Two days in beautiful El Chalten a welcome addition to the W trek. Stunning scenery for a photographers paradise. Very welcoming hotel staff, guides and drivers. Any questions, feel free to ask.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a wild puma cross our path!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    If you get Tomasz, consider yourself lucky! Great guy, never stops working, and his enthusiasm and passion for his country knows no bounds!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack plenty of warm clothing, even on a hot sunny day the cold wind off the glaciers can whip up within minutes!
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Gary Bradshaw

    AOF191123

    Great Trip. I feel like I saw all of Vietnam.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting mountain tribes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ver energetic and effective.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Busy trip, travel light.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved the trip.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Sue Pemberton

    Pura Vida

    This was a 'special treat' holiday for me, I had been looking forward to it for 9 months and had very high expectations. These were more than met. Costa Rica is a fascinating country which we could learn a lot from. This tour gives you a really good introduction to the country, staying at 6 different locations all completely different. Wildlife was amazing. The journey was shared with a wonderful group of people - so much fun and friendship.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose, there were so many - a wonderful close view of a sloth on our way to Tortuguero, staying at Esqinas Lodge, the monkeys at Manuel Antonio, the scarlet macaws.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It's easy to see why Johnny is an award-winning leader. His knowledge of and passion for his country was impressive and he taught us so much in his gentle way. He knew the best places and times to find wildlife, which always seemed to appear bang on cue! His organisational skills were exemplarary and he always had 'a plan'. We also came home ardent supporters of the Herediano football team!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go prepared for a wide variety of weather and remember to take your camera and binocluars with you wherever you go!
  • Reviewed December 2019

    Brilliant tour which lived up to all my expectations

    This was the only tour I could find that delivered everything I wanted from a tour of Indochina. However, I could not have expected that everything would go so well. The itinerary was comprehensive and covered all the most important sites and sights. The hotels were, overall, the best I have had on an Exodus holiday and the boat trip on the Mekong was excellent. All the guides were great and not only made sure we saw some fabulous sights but were also very caring and concerned for our safety. They all looked after me, with my knee problems, and others who needed help at various times. Their advice on where to eat was spot on and we had some wonderful meals. I would have preferred to have a flight that went direct to Bangkok, rather than having to go via Singapore each way, and would book a land only tour if I did the tour again but that was a minor detail.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The overnight boat trip in Halong Bay and seeing Angkor Wat were the two main reasons for doing the tour and both were absolute highlights but Hoi An was wonderful and the sobering sights in Cambodia such as the Killing Fields and S21 (the torture prison) were important to see to remind us of the evil that people are capable of doing. It was inspiring to see how Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia are coming back from the ravages of war and I was amazed to see the incredible nightlife in Siem Reap after the horrors of the Khmer Rouge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 3 group leaders who were all excellent. They all had great local knowledge and went out of their way to ensure everyone had a good time. Their advice regarding activities, food and other aspects of the trip was always spot on. Their concern for our welfare and enjoyment was first class.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider doing the land only option if the flights included in the all inclusive option don't go direct to Bangkok. Bring insect repellent especially for Cambodia.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Dollars are the only really practical currency to use in Cambodia but the Yip in Lao and Dong in Vietnam and worth having. Currency exchange rates are best in the relevant countries than back home BUT make sure that the money you bring to change into the local currency is in pristine condition, especially in Lao and Cambodia. Every tiny mark, crease or tear will result in the money being rejected. Try to get notes in TOTALLY mint condition from your bank. It's a bit more relaxed in Vietnam where we also got the best rates in our hotels without any quibbles over the notes.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    David and Lesley Knass

    A Great Experience

    This was a very varied trip and we took part in all the activities as did the rest of the party. The overall pace over the 14 days was very good and the only early start was at Periyar which is necessary to catch the wildlife and we were lucky to see an elephant whilst on the walk. We experienced some mist at the peak so that restricted our views but coming from England we're used to that at much lower levels!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is difficult to pick out one thing but seeing the Western Ghats for the first time and the houseboat were up there. Also all our party really enjoyed the visit to the spice plantation and preparing a meal, Kerala style. And seeing some endemic birds species plus tahr, gaur, giant squirrel and elephant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First rate. The 10 of us and Santo James clicked right away. He ensured everything ran smoothly and was likeable, good fun and everything needed from a trip leader. He organised all the activities perfectly and anticipated all our needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trek is the central part of the tour and don't underestimate it. If you are a regular walker at the distances covered it will be fine but otherwise do some preparation. November is the end of the rainy season so don't be surprised if you get the odd shower. Take wet overtrousers with you not just in case it rains but for walking through the Shola grasslands if it has been wet eg on walking down from the peak. One or two walking poles should be used even though we don't always use them ourselves when walking at home. Also leech socks were needed on our walk after it had rained overnight but these are provided and don't be put off by coming across these creatures!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were lucky in that the rest of our party were a delight to be with and everyone was very positive and enjoyed all the activities. The trip met all our expectations.