Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Leslie Polidoro

    Love Sri Lanka!

    Hotels, meals all very good. You can tell the country is still developing their tourism business, but they are doing a great job. Unfortunately the bombings will have put a stop on travel there, however I have fallen in love with this country and will be quick to recommend it. Excursions and tours were excellent, I felt like I had a good overall visit to Sri Lanka, yet not enough so I am keen to return.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lion Rock Fortress

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowledgeable, however I found that he tended to poke "fun" at certain people a little more than was necessary. I felt a bit more history and explanations of sites could have been provided "on-site". Most tours were a bit rushed, fine for those in excellent physical condition, difficult for those who were not. I would have rather it was a bit more leisurely when out on site.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a battery pack/charger -- you will want to take alot of pictures and sometimes your camera/phone will not make it through the day. Tip well to all those that help with your journey.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Condon Corbett

    Amazing Sri Lanka!

    From the private pick up at the airport in Colombo to drop off at the airport things could not have gone more smoothly. The pace of the tour was excellent given its short duration. Accommodations were very good-clean, comfortable and well located. Sri Lanka is a stunning country with friendly people, beautiful scenery and an abundance of wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to the top of Lion Rock (Sigiriya) to view the remnants of the ruined palace and the spectacular views of the surrounding countryside from 200 metres above. Magical!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Suresh was excellent. Very well organised, knowledgeable of his home country, it's history and different cultures which he imparted to us in an interesting and fun manner. I appreciated his somewhat sarcastic sense of humor as well. Schedules were well kept and adjusted as necessary based on the group consensus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take part in all of the included sightseeing and activities, especially the bike tour through the villages where you will be warmly greeted by the local children as you cycle by.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a trip of a lifetime!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Penelope Hansen

    Sri Lanka fam

    The trip was great. Short, but a good introduction to the country. I look forward to going back and seeing more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the day we spent cycling through local villages and meeting locals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was great. He was diligent in assisting passengers whatever hour of the day/night and adjusted our itinerary to adapt to changing circumstances like weather and traffic. Taking hundreds of photos and sharing them with the group (even if some were shockingly unflattering) was a nice touch.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    ANITA MICHALCZEWSKI

    SRI LANKA - A SMALL COUNTRY THAT HAS SO MUCH TO OFFER.

    GREAT HOTELS, SIGHTSEEING, FOOD, PEOPLE. SRI LANKA HAS ALL OF THIS. OUR TRIP WITH EXODUS TRAVELS WAS GREAT. WE HAVE SEEN SO MANY GREAT TEMPLES, CLIMBED THAT AMAZING SIGURIYA ROCK, OBSERVED MONKEYS AND ELEPHANTS IN THEIR NATURAL ENVIRONMENTS, TASTED SO MANY YUMMY DISHES. OUR BUS DRIVER DARMAN WAS A VERY SKILLED DRIVER (THAT YOU NEED SO MUCH IN SRI LANKA). HIS HELPER SAMAN WAS ALWAYS READY TO GREAT US WITH A SMILE AND ALWAYS MADE SURE THAT WE WERE WELL HYDRATED, AS HE SUPPLIED US WITH WATER THRUOUT OUR JOURNEY. THE HOTELS WERE ALL OF A VERY GOOD STANDARD AND SOME OF THEM DID OFFER A BREATHTAKING VISTAS. MY FAV. WAS THE HOTEL GIRITALE IN GIRITALE AND ALSO THE HOTEL TILANKA IN KANDY, AS THEY HAVE OFFERED MOST AMAZING VIEWS.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    VISITIG A BUDDHIST TEMPLE ON THE BUDDHIST NEW YEAR AND GETTING A SPECIAL BLESSING FROM A MONK WITH A THREAD TIED ONTO MY WRIST. AND ALSO STANDING ON TOP OF THE MIGHTY SIGURIYA ROCK AND FEELING PROUD THAT I WAS ABLE TO GET THERE, AS NOT EVERYONE WAS ABLE TO CLIMB IT.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    SURESH WAS OUR AMAZING WISH MASTER! NOTHING WAS IMPOSSIBLE FOR HIM TO DO FOR US. I WISH EVERYONE TO ENCOUNTER SUCH A GREAT TOUR GUIDE. HE WAS VERY PASSIONATE AND PROUD OF HIS COUNTRY. HE MADE OUR JOURNEY A VERY PLEASANT ONE. HE ALSO SHOWED US HOW ONE SHOULD STAY IN SHAPE, AS HE WOULD TAKE US FOR MORNING WALKS AND WE COULD SEE HIM EXERCISING EVERY MORNING. HE ALSO HAS GIVEN US A HONEST ADVICE WHEN IT CAME TO SOME GREAT SHOPPING PLACES. I HOPE TO STAY FRIENDS WITH SURESH IN THE FUTURE AND ALSO HOPE THAT HE CAN VISIT US IN CANADA, NEXT YEAR, AS HE LOVES TO TRAVEL.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I WOULD SAY: LIVE YOU LIFE AND DO NOT GET SCARED OF SOME POTENTIAL TROUBLE IN ONE COUNTRY, OR THE OTHER. UNFORTUNATELY BAD PEOPLE ARE EVERYWHERE AND I REFUSE TO STOP TRAVELING, BECAUSE OF THEM. SRI LANK IS STILL A RELATIVELY SAFE DESTINATION AND IF YOU FEEL NERVOUS - JUST STICK TO THE SMALLER PLACES AND AWAY FROM THE BIG CITIES - AND YOU WILL BE OK. THERE ARE PLENTY OF THEM IN SRI LANKA.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    THANKS EXODUS TRAVELS FOR ORGANISING SUCH AN UNFORGETABLE TRIP!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kathryn Walker

    Fantastic way to get a taste!

    This 8 Day journey gives you a very quick taste of Sri Lanka. There is so much more you will want to explore. Definitely an experience to remember. There is a reason that Sri Lanka is called ' The Pearl of the Indian Ocean' Full of Biodiversity! Breathtaking truly! The people are amazing, kind & full of pride for their country! I can not wait to go back and explore what else this hidden gem has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting the Dambulla Cave Temples... Really any temple in general. But the Cave temples were so beautiful and the detail was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was great! He had the information everyone needed and he took care of us. he always made sure everyone was happy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only thing that wasn't up to the standards of the trip was the Cultural Evening in Kandy. I found it difficult to see some of the performances and we weren't sure which one was what based off the brochure we received. not sure If there is an alternative to the location we were at but it was very hot and uncomfortable. other then that! it was fantastic
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rhonda Struthers

    Sri Lankan Highlights April 2019

    Exodus does an excellent job in showcasing this jewel off the tip of India. This tour gives you the highlights of Sri Lanka in a short amount of time. The itinerary is varied with sightseeing, hiking, biking with a little down time thrown in. You do need a basic level of fitness even though this trip is rated 1. Accomodations are mostly 3.5*. Super clean, friendly and unique accomodations. The food at the hotels were plentiful and very good. Focus is on Curry and Rice dishes with many vegetarian options. Our guide Suresh directed. The Elephant Safari, Lion Rock and biking were some of my favourite activities. Sri Lanka is suited for all including families.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I am not sure there was a moment. But the people of Sri Lanka are beautiful people. They are a kind and gentle people. It was lovely seeing the families including several babies at the temple. Families enjoying the beach together. The children running out to say hello to us when biking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Suresh was A-One! He was well organized but laid back. He imparted much information. A lovely man who is approachable, kind and funny. He truly made our trip wonderful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great stepping stone before visiting India. You will have some of the influences without the craziness. Some level of fitness is required if you would like to bike, hike etc.. January and February are peak seasons. The off season of April was a wonderful time to travel. Not as many people and weather still pleasant. Sri Lanka has it all: Beaches, Temples, Elephants, Monkeys, Lion Rock, beautiful Scenery.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go to Sri Lanka!. Please do not take this destination off your list because of recent events.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Aggie Johansson Hartley

    Sri Lanka a dream holiday

    A fantastic holiday. Well organised our guide Roshan was informative, helpful and very calm and he together with his team looked after us exceptionally well. A busy holiday but still well paced, amazing sights and I can’t wait to go back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The manicured hills of the tea plantations and Horton plain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As I said above Roshan was very good and exceptionally calm

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book a trip to Sri Lanka don’t wait!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    jill clark

    Wonderful Holiday

    Although classed as level 1 adventure you do need to be fit. One day cycled 15kms, another climbed all 1100 steps up Lion Rock. You did not have to do these things but would have missed interesting fun experiences. I travelled with my sister. We are both in our early 70's and managed all the included activities. Enjoyed the age group varying from late teens upward.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Its hard to decide what was the most inspirational event on the trip as we saw so many special things. Wild elephants, ruins, temples in use and the beautiful countryside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dileepa stepped in at last minute and did a superb job guiding us all. He knew so much history and other information about his country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had independent flights and enjoyed a few days relaxing before the trip which meant I was not 'jet lagged'. If this is possible I do recommend this.
Call us on 020 8772 3936