Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Louis Victor

    Glorious walking and an excellent itinerary

    This was our first Exodus guided walking holiday and the whole experience was an excellent one. The Amalfi Coast is beautiful and this itinerary showcases the highlights superbly, with a varied selection of walks and a host of beautiful sights. I would say that the level is more 'moderate' than easy as all walks included some trickier sections and there are many, many steps but the rewards for effort are wonderful with amazing views following each other in quick succession every day. The balance of the week was great, with good chances to recover between the walks, and the Hotel due Torri was a very good base, with lovely staff, large, cool rooms and excellent food. Finally a word for our leader/guide Vania - she was an absolute delight and a real highlight of the trip! We are already looking at the Exodus site to plan future holidays but I would say that this is a great one for Exodus newbies to start with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around the crater of Vesuvius was sensational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was terrific - so genuine, friendly, knowledgeable and engaged. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she really helped the group to gel, contributing to a fabulous week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully, they are very comprehensive and honest but some people in our parallel group managed to be surprised by the walking levels, etc. Also remember to bring your proof of holiday insurance... you can't take the walks without it!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Roly Grant

    Wonders of the Mont Blanc Circuit

    The trek around Mont Blanc must be on everyone's bucket list. Whether using hotels or camping, this clock-wise trek is divided into sensible chunks with well planned rest days. The Alps provide such wonderful views on a scale that does not overwhelm like the Himalayas or the Rockies. We were blessed with 9 days of wonderful weather, which undoubtedly enhanced the experience. The camping option provides a much more intimate and 'real' experience as long as you can cope with 'bad weather' camping! Our leader and 'chef' were first class and together with the sound organisation made for a fulfilling trip. A great trek and great memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Col above the Valley Val Ferret

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. She knew how to deal with the different characters in the group. Highly experienced and clearly enjoyed leading the trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be very aware of the dangers of sunburn at the height one treks in the mountains.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Helen Hamilton

    High Inca

    Really enjoyed the trip. I just found it hard to cope with the extreme cold. The views made up for that but it would definitely put me off going again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Sun gate was awesome. The high passes were stunning and it was very spiritual performing our wee ritual to mother earth. I was so cold on the High Inca that it was hard to camp again for the Rainbow mountains and I did hope that I wasn't disappointed. Bobby and I loved them and it was up there with the Sun gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rolando was excellent. I would highly recommend him to anyone. Willie the cook was the best I've ever had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of layers and a zinc bottle for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think that the guides or the emergency horse should have carried some snacks as it was a long day having had breakfast at 6. We then sometimes didn't get lunch until 1.30/2pm. Also it would have been good to get them to carry some water for refills. 2 litres it a lot of weight to carry.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Marion Neale

    A beautiful country

    Bosnia & Herzegovina is a really beautiful country with stunning mountain scenery. Although I'm not usually a fan of cities, all 3 cities visited on this trip were well worth a visit. The mountains were also lovely and quiet, no hoards of tourists everywhere, in fact we hardly met another person on any of the walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many but the highlights were the ascent of Maglic Mountain and the river rafting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our leaders, Kenan and Branko, were excellent. They were happy to share their extensive knowledge of the areas we visited. They were both humorous and engaged brilliantly with the whole group. They were very well organised, very safety conscious and always put in the effort to make sure the trip was thoroughly enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for quite a few hours in the minibus as the transfers are often quite long and the roads can be winding. The ascent of Maglic Mountain is a long day with some steepish sections of scrambling/via ferrata but well worth the effort as it is a very rewarding hike. The steep sections were not difficult but if anyone has not experienced this type of terrain before they'll find it more challenging than a regular mountain path. Take insect repellent, a couple of sections of walking had quite a few midges/mozzies! You can easily change up Bosnian currency once you arrive - there was an ATM and a currency exchange very close to the first night's hotel in Trebinje. There is a lot to fit in to 9 days but you do get to see a lot of Bosnia in that time and it is well worth visiting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was very moving to see so many cemeteries, a poignant reminder of the war in the early '90's but this is a beautiful country that deserves to be visited.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mike Brooks

    Sri Lanka

    We had a great holiday and were very well looked after by our tour Guide: Ruwan Balasuriya

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the elephants swam across the lake and came ashore. They were within a few metres of the hotel. Absolutely wonderful!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. He took great care of us and was a wonderful source of information about all aspects of Sri Lanka
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Helen de Wolf

    A fabulous week!

    A fantastic combination of a very friendly group, wonderful guide and the culinary delights of Chalet Chamonix. Quite a jackpot! We enjoyed it all and the mountains and breathtaking views lived up to all expectations. We also benefited from a tremendous work out each day for legs more accustomed to the flat lands of The Netherlands! It was a great experience. The unassuming superstars of Chalet Chamonix are Sarah and Rich whose hospitality and delicious food exceeded our expectations; I think they must set a new culinary standard for Exodus trips! The teatime cakes and international cuisine at dinner created a welcome and unexpected element to the trip which was quite a talking point. Our group had quite a discussion about the activity grading of this trip, most felt that parts of it felt more strenuous than the indicated 'Moderate 3' might suggest. However, you do feel like you have had a very full and enjoyable week at the end.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are many on this trip! The day in Italy was a good contrast to the higher walks on the French side; wonderful wild flowers everywhere and delicious hot chocolate and ice cream.... The trip up to the Aiguille du Midi on the free day is really worth doing; it's impressive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark is great! A real, no-nonsense, mountain man with huge experience. Our group included those with different levels of experience, including a fell runner, but I felt he made us all feel comfortable, also ensuring we knew the programme for the day, so we could enjoy the holiday as part of a group.... I feel I learned a lot about the area too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, read the trip notes carefully and then read them again! You do need to be fit and have some hill walking experience (and gear) to enjoy this trip properly. The trip is listed 'Moderate 3' but it is certainly more demanding, because of the ascents and descents, than other trips we have experienced at this level. However, we enjoyed it very much. The views and landscape are worth all the effort.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Russell Tullo

    Excellent tour of the Alpine highlights

    A thiroughly enjoyable, challenging and stunningly beautiful trip across the French and Swiss Alps.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s hard to distill all the best bits of the trip into one, but the combination of stunning scenery, personal challenge and top quality leadership and support makes the trip a jewel in the Exodus crown.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John Briggs was a top rate leader. Hugely knowledgable, impressively fit, patient and kind and an all round great guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is challenging in parts but that should not deter you from experiencing some of the best views in the Alps, and spending time with a great bunch of fellow travellers. It’s hugely enjoyable and well worth it.
  • breathtaking scenery

    I really enjoyed this trip. Both the guide (Kenan) and the assistant guide (Branko) contributed a lot to this and ensured everything was going smoothly and were listening to the group as well as the individual's requests and tried to accommodate to those requests as much as possible. In summary, excellent guides, very good group as well as good weather. What else could I ask for?! ;) Good weather is important since on a rainy day the climb to the various summits would not be possible as the terrain would be too slippery and quite dangerous. Bosnia & Herzegovina is a beautiful country with breathtaking scenery. The image of walking through the green meadows covered with variety of wild flowers and surrounded by high mountains will always stay with me and just the thought of it will give me positive energy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    - Hiking through the beautiful meadows covered with varieties of wild flowers surrounded by high mountains. - Having homemade cheese and potato pie and coffee in Lukomir village made by a local lady. - Arriving at Maglic summit and looking at the breathtaking scenery all around us. - Our guide (Kenan) showing us a personal family album and telling us about his family's contribution towards preserving the national park. - The assistant guide (Branko) explaining about various plants and flowers and mushrooms.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kenan was an excellent guide in spite of being so young. He was full of energy and passionate about his country as well as the nature. His family was in Sarajevo during the siege and he shared with us their experience during that time which provided me a deeper understanding of the history of this beautiful country. The day after the summit he showed us the old family album and how his family specially his grandfather contributed to the Sutjeska national park and the summit. Hearing all these and looking at those old photos was very touching. Branko, the assistant guide was as good as Kenan. They were both lively and energetic and were good friends and both were passionate about hiking/nature/history/etc. Even though Branko is a very adventurous person and does quite dangerous activities in his personal time, when it came to us, he was very caring and considerate and was always alert and aware of our safety. What I enjoyed most about Branko was his passion for nature and the desire to share his knowledge with us. Walking alongside him, you could see his eyes were looking around and then he would point out a unique flower or plant or mushroom and tell you all about it. :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The summit day can be demanding so ensure you are fit enough before the trip. Also there are sections where you have to use both hands and feet ;) , so once again make sure you are aware of this before you sign up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Alison Kalus

    Perfect Week

    An excellent week of good weather, good walking, excellent guiding and excellent company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the summit of Monte Piana and exploring all the WW1 trenches and battlefields

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was an excellent leader. Friendly, knowledgeable and inspiring. The whole trip went like clockwork.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's worth getting a bit fit before you go so that you can enjoy the walks without too much struggle. There were some steep ascents and descents to tackle.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Denise Prime

    A truly excellent adventure

    It's understandable that people want to say they've climbed the highest mountain somewhere - but having climbed both Kilimanjaro and Mount Kenya in the past year, I strongly recommend anyone considering the former to seriously think about Mount Kenya instead. No, it's not as high and summit night is not as long - but if anything, the overall trek is more challenging, given consecutive days of steep ascents and a far more difficult descent. The scenery is truly stunning and, best of all, crowds are non-existent. A fantastic local team ensured that everyone reached the summit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Admiring the glorious landscapes throughout. Reaching the summit after a tough, slow climb on a dazzling morning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was friendly and low-key, and set a "pole pole" pace that kept the group close together until summit night, when slower walkers like myself were guided separately to ensure we all succeeded. He was well assisted by Cyrus, who has been climbing Mount Kenya for over 30 years. The chefs deserve a special mention for the excellent meals they produced throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My group was a highly experienced one, with most having done Kilimanjaro, Everest base camp or both, and we conceded we may have been a little complacent about Mount Kenya. It's a shorter trek, but in no way an easier one, so if you are looking for a good challenge, do consider this. Mount Kenya deserves to be far more popular than it is.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Because of the small matter of a World Cup semi-final, our group opted to complete the trek on summit day. This added 5-6 hours of walking after a short break at Shipton, making for quite a long day. The benefit, however, was hot showers and comfortable beds on our last night in Kenya, followed by an extremely pleasant, lazy half-day at Mountain Rock Lodge before the long drive to the airport. In my view, this worked really well; perhaps future itineraries should also consider this option.
Call us on 020 8772 3936