View our latest travel disruption updates due to Coronavirus here

Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

143 Reviews

  • Reviewed March 2020

    2 weeks in the desert and Etosha

    A 2 week tour to a beautiful country. Everywhere we went we saw spectacular scenery, met interesting and friendly people and stayed in lovely lodges. I won't forget the elephants, pronking springbok, dancing ostriches and roaring lion.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The main reason I went to Namibia was to see the Namib desert and the petrified trees in Dead Vlei and it did not disappoint. We had plenty of time to see and experience the desert environment. I did a 2 hour flight over the area we had driven through the previous day and it brought home to me how huge and empty this desert is. Seeing an elephant at the water hole in Etosha is a close second, followed by the roaring lion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was an excellent group leader. He has a good knowledge of the country, it's natural environment and he animals we saw in Etosha. His communication and organisational skills were very good and he made the whole trip run smoothly. He was also a good driver, making me feel save in the vehicle.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long driving days, but the scenery is beautiful and there are frequent breaks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip to anyone who is interested in different environments and nature. The game drives in Etosha were very good. We were lucky enough to have good sightings of animals and could spend time observing their behaviour.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Therese Killen

    Beautiful Namibia

    Just back from a wonderful trip to Namibia. There was 10 people on the group. We travelled on a truck through this amazing country. Our guides Ronnie and Chef Rueben where amazing. They were so professional and efficient,they actually made the holiday. Long drive days but these were made easier by Ronnie the driver's flexibility. Loo stops and photo stops where never a problem. Fantastic hosts and Reuben is an amazing chef. Thank you....i put on 3 3lbs last 2 weeks haha.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Etosha national park was amazing. I didn't expect to see much widllife in etosha NP compared to other African countries but our joyrney from one end of etosha on a 5 hour drive was just incredible. We saw incredible wildlife .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronnie was amazing. I have already recommended him to some friends. He's friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble. There was a lady on our trip with limited mobility and both Ronnie and Reuben went out of their way to make her comfortable throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long drive days and early rises. Dont pack too much like i did. You are literally living out of a suitcase for the whole trip. Less is more...and defintely easier to carry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food is incredible. I ate some of the best Oryx and Kadu steak ever !!! Yummy!!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Paul Kelly

    Cape Town to vic falls

    A great full on trip seeing loads of animals, meeting many different local people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting townships and meeting locals, especially the children who were genuinely pleased to see us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable and caring, we were invited to a leaders home in a township for dinner, very good evening with singing and dancing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for early starts, don’t pack non essentials, take $US and use atms.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Emma du Haney

    Namibia trip

    Stunning country Trip was very sedentary. More hiking options would have been welcome

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sand dunes and wildlife at the watering holes in Etosha

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was fairly good, but I think Exodus should make more use of local specialists, rather than have the tour leader act as guide the whole time. He needs to give more details to the group about timings, any kit needed for the day, etc

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take audio books for the long bus journeys

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The back up guide who did the cooking was very good. His food was much better than that in some places we stopped at in the day. We were served Oryx as main course 3 nights in a row. Better planning needed with the various lodges
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Joanne McMullan

    Cape Town to Victoria Falls Lodging

    Have just completed this epic journey and can honestly say it’s been one of the most memorable trips I’ve ever taken. It’s really more of an expedition than a holiday, but for that very reason delivers so much. We covered around 5600km in 3 weeks so that involves a lot of early starts and long days spent bumping about on dusty, rocky roads. The diversity of experience however makes it totally worthwhile - from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town to the red sands of Namibia and the quiet majesty of the Okavango Delta.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the most inspirational moment was when our guide Timon organised for us to have dinner with a local family in one of the townships in Swakopmund. I have never been made to feel so welcome by complete strangers in my entire life. The memory of the hospitality, good humour, excellent food and crazy dancing will stay with me to the end of my days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Timon was absolutely superb, demonstrating great patience, empathy and outstanding leadership throughout. Some of my best memories are as a result of the nights we spent listening to his stories from years of experience in the tourism industry - all told with such energy and genuine enthusiasm. He was also an exceptional cook - anyone who can rustle up Chicken A La King from the back of a truck in the dust and heat in the middle of nowhere gets my seal of approval! A real asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please, please come with an open mind and prepare to step out of your comfort zone. You will stay in a variety of places - some very comfortable, some less so .... they’ll all be clean and safe. That’s all you need. Also, take the advice of your guide/s. They are all well trained and know the conditions/circumstances on the ground. You’ll get so much more out of the trip if you just go with the flow and let them lead the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Africa is a huge and diverse continent. There are sights and sounds you’ll never encounter at home, and some traditions and conditions that might make you uncomfortable. The landscape is incredible and the food is top quality, but for me it was the people who made my trip - from fellow travellers to our crew and the local people along the way. If you take the time to listen to their stories, your experience will be even richer. Oh, and finally, take more $$$ than the trip notes suggest - I think the amount recommended somewhat underestimates how expensive the countries visited actually are.
  • Reviewed October 2019

    Oct 19

    The cycling was hard on gravel and sand roads in 35 degree heat with a head wind. If you are not experienced in off road this trip will feel more like a grade 4 . Saying that some of the riding was amazing. Riding on the fat boy cycles over the dunes for nearly 4 hours was amazing and should be on peoples bucket list. The wild life matched expectation , Elephants, lions, white and black Rhino,cheaters. Camp sites were clean but basic, they were lovely sitting in the dessert watching the stars.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling in the game reserve on the last day was brilliant . 3 1/2 hours of off road cycling next to white Rhino , an experience not to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hanz was very good . He changed the cycling when the weather was too bad ( sand storm) . As their was only one cycling guide for a group of 12 he managed to accommodate us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you you go when we did I would take a sheet to put on the mattress as well as a sleeping bag as some nights it was too hot with the sleeping bad Their were very few chances to wash clothes. Head touch was a must . Stock up on snacks when you can as shopping is very limited
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Bridget Bennett

    Exceeded all expectations

    This trip was fantastic from beginning to end. The scenery, particularly in Namibia, is stunning and amazingly varied, and the wildlife viewing (again particularly in Namibia) outstanding. We saw lions mating, black rhinos fighting, several visits by herds of elephants to the waterhole in the Etosha campsite, a cheetah with cubs, and a huge number and variety of other animals. All four boat trips were great, and very different from each other. The desert scenery, en route as well as at the main places we visited, was beautiful. Camping was more comfortable than I'd expected, with camp beds, as was the truck, and we had great food throughout. Also the hotels in Swakopmund and Cape Town were excellent. And of course our guides (Ende, Timon and Tariro) were all excellent - good company and so knowledgeable about not just the wildlife but the culture and history of the countries we passed through. Timon was an excellent and inventive cook, and Ende kept us all safe (and got us to the front for the climb up Dune 45!), while Tariro kept us entertained.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were too many inspirational moments to settle on one, but if I had to choose, seeing herds of elephants on several occasions visiting the waterhole in Etosha was probably the very best.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Michelle Claxton

    So many 'wow' moments

    I returned from this trip having experienced many moments which will last a lifetime, from seeing numerous animals in the wild or at watering holes to seeing the vastness of the Namib desert and the changing colour of the sand dunes. It really is a trip that is a photographers dream as you want to capture each and every moment. We were a group of 12 with ages ranging from early 20s to 70s and we all got on very well. Yes there were lots of long drives but these were broken up well. Accommodation was good and food often excellent. It certainly is a trip of a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a large number of elephants at the watering hole at our lodge in Etosha. Having just finished dinner and thinking 'we'll just see if there are any animals at the watering hole' only to find around 25 elephants of various sizes and ages all drinking water alongside some zebra, springbok and oryx was truly magical. Also, seeing a pride of 12 lions on a game drive. Although not too close to our truck, it was still fascinating to watch them interact with each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was an absolute superstar! Nothing, literally nothing, was too much trouble. He had a fantastic sense of humour and laugh, and went out of his was to ensure each and every person on the trip enjoyed themselves. I never saw Ronney without anything but a smile on his face; he really is a man who loves his job. With a group of 12 with a range of dietary requirements, Ronney made sure that everyone was catered for and happy. Ruben, his assistant was also fantastic, creating amazing and huge lunch selections at the side of the road or BBQs of an evening. They are a great team and anyone getting the Ronney and Ruben combo on a trip will have struck it lucky!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    During the end of July and beginning of August the evenings and mornings get quite chilly - I underestimated how cold it could get - so bring lots of layers to cope with this. Swimming pools are not heated so unless very brave do not count on swimming. Money- Bring SA Rand as this is pegged 1:1 with Namibian Dollars and is easier to change back to Pounds Sterling if needed. Be aware of the cost of the flight over the dunes - many companies quote for this trip but often they outsource your business to another company and then the price goes up. Ensure you decide on optional excursions early so that you get to go on the ones you want. On this note - the quadbiking was excellent! The drives are long and sometimes on unmade roads. The truck does get very bouncy! Similarly on the game drive in the Waterberg Plateau. Female travellers may wish to pack a sports bra for comfort! It also gets quite dusty - a Buff or similar is useful to help keep the dust out of your lungs. When purchasing things from markets etc, listen to the starting price and then begin your offer very low, they trader will eventually meet you at a price that they judge fair, often 25% or the starting price. Don't be afraid to haggle hard.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Jane Wilson

    Wowed by the beauty

    Great trip for wildlife and desert scenery. I was wowed by the beauty of the Namib desert colours and by the wide variety of animal life we saw both in the desert and Etosha further north.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sunrise in the Namib desert seen from the top of Dune 45.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was friendly and enthusiastic and most importantly very knowledgable about the animals and country and a great animal spotter as we drove along!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    July is a good time to go despite the freezing cold nights as the animals come to drink at the waterholes. Do buy souvenirs directly from the Himba and Herrera people when you get the chance as they have the best range of the things they make. You won't be able to get them in regular shops. Useful to have earplugs (for snorers) really warm jackets, and something to protect your face from dust during game drives in open sided vehicles.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    David Preston

    Namibia without camping

    Brilliant scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting a bit too close to an elephant !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the leader and his assistant were very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Pack in anticipation of your luggage being delayed. Ours was. 2. If it is delayed, retrieve the delivery note. 3. Read The Sheltering Desert by Henno Martin.