Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jim Callahan

    A terrific cycling holiday

    This is clearly a carefully chosen itinerary made up of backroads through picturesque country side, forests, along rivers, across plains, through sleepy country towns and into the big cities of Vienna and Budapest. There are plenty of opportunities to sample local produce and learn about the history of this part of central Europe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the night in the wine cave sampling local wines with the vigneron himself, a jolly old fellow. Vienna was gorgeous, as was Bratislava and the southern part of Czech Republic, including Cesky Kromlov and Telch were superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guides Dana and Peter were informed, friendly and professional, but the atmosphere was casual and relaxed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The days are generally light-moderate cycling for someone who cycles reasonable regularly and has moderate aerobic fitness and strength. The longest day approx 70km of rolling hills was a solid workout. Recommend this trip without hesitation.
  • Reviewed September 2018

    Cycling Albania

    A really good trip, ticked all the boxes - good cycling, stunning scenary, great weather, good food, great group to travel with and an excellent trip leader

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, it was seeing the group cycle up the Llogora pass, closely followed by the way the way group bonded.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He did a really good job, logistics were superb, route descriptions spot on, very clear on what we could expect, and where the tough bits were! Gave us some good background on the history and politics of Albania. -Thanks Erlis

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some hard cycling in places, read up about Albania and you'll enjoy it more

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly recommend this trip
  • Reviewed September 2018
    JACKIE CASH

    CHALLENGING BUT VERY REWARDING

    We thoroughly enjoyed the whole Dolomites experience. We selected the challenging week and found that it was just the right level for us. The treks took us to different mountain peaks and we were always rewarded with the most fantastic breathtaking views. Alex our guide was friendly and knowledgeable. Hotel Adler was centrally located with shops, bars and cafes nearby. The staff were friendly and efficient. Food was always fresh and appetising. We were also very pleased with the fact that we could make up and back our own lunches from the breakfast buffet. We would recommend this trip for views and excellent value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking to the top of Monte Piana where the Italian and Austrian Fronts were battling during the 1st World War and seeing the trenches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was an excellent and efficient group leader with lots of advice and knowledge to impart.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train well to enjoy the experience and ensure that you have done plenty of hill walking.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Graham Bell

    Corsica is the perfect hiking and holiday destination

    Corsica is an absolute gem. The trip was exactly as described, and it just makes me want to go back!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having been to Corsica before, I chose the trip as a way of introducing my son to hiking holidays and as a way of sharing one of my very favourite places. He loved it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martin is great. Relaxed and somewhat understated. Just right.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes! The notes for this trip are really very good. When it says you should have a reasonable level of fitness and that the paths can be steep and rocky, it means exactly that. It is at the challenging-end of a “moderate” trip.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Bill Cuthbert

    If you want wild .....

    ….then this is the trip for you. Our second trip to Namibia (previously "Discover Namibia" in 2008) this one has the emphasis on wild. Etosha, Okakuejo, Namutoni, some of the best-known destinations are all visited, whilst the jewel in the crown must be the Palmwag Concession: a huge area where, apart from the occasional wildlife ranger, we didn't see another person for two days. We saw no less than six rhino, including one of the dominant males - managing to get (safely) within 100 yds. As well as rhinos, we had a leopard up a tree, which we watched for 1.5 hours before she finally came down to walk past the truck! Giraffes "necking" - in a violent exchange, before trotting off together, several sightings of lions - including a magnificent male in his prime, herds of elephant, and the wealth of wildlife that makes Namibia such a special destination. First class guide in Hans, and an exceptional support crew in driver Simpson, Fritz, and the culinary expertise of Tyrone that never disappointed. (And not to mention a first-class Toyota Land-Cruiser - panoramic windows with no obstructing pillars.)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After spotting the leopard relaxing up the tree mid-morning, returning later that afternoon and waiting patiently for her to come down and slowly walk past the truck... all with the sun in the right place to give that special photo opportunity.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans delivered everything and more: Primarily, his skills in finding the rhinos' tracks, anticipating its movements, consideration for the wind direction etc. and getting us into the right position. Also, a broad range of knowledge covering not only the animals and birds, but the plant-life, the trees, the landscape and the history of the country. Additionally, he always went the extra mile for the photographers in making sure that the sun was behind us wherever possible, and advising on tips to get that extra-special shot. Long days driving in difficult conditions, then back to help the support crew in delivering the evening meal. And every morning - meticulously cleaning and polishing the viewing windows. Quite simply, a first class guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Palmwag is very rough going in places. Its terrain will rattle and shake every bone in your body - be prepared! The Land Cruiser will take you into (and out) of some of seemingly impossible locations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The one thing that marred this trip? The unbelievable chaos of Windhoek Airport. A 1.5 hour queue into immigration, and virtually the same on departure. It's an airport that has expanded hugely over the years in terms of passenger traffic, but is hopelessly under-resourced. Our departure flight to Johannesburg was delayed to the extent that our Heathrow flight was already boarding as we arrived.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Chris Adams

    Brilliant trip in beautiful Greece

    A brilliant trip from start to finish. The cycling is a nice mix of countryside, coastal and a few hills thrown in. You also get to see Greece away from hustle of tourists. The cycling is all on mostly quiet roads and through a couple of towns although you're not on any busy roads for more than a few minutes. The food is also excellent, and you also get some excellent local knowledge on just about everything from Greek mythology to which is the best Olive oil to buy to take home. I highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Acropolis on the final day is very special, but just cycling around the amazing coastline and hills of the Peloponnese and taking in the colourful Greek history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders were outstanding. Dimitris, Dimitris and Niovi. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they worked very well as a team looking after the group. The trip ran smoothly and without a hitch, the food they provided was excellent and they just took care of everything - I could not fault them in any way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take swim wear as most afternoons you'll be able to take a swim in the sea after your day in the saddle.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jo Stevens

    Frizzante Sicilia

    A gastronomic delight!. From the hands on cookery class and wine tasting tasting to sampling Sicilian delicacies in the historical Capo market. Plus a big thank you to the team for arranging gluten free alternatives throughout the tour, from fusilli pasta to wheat free desserts, it truly exceeded all my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Capo market, was a delight, seeing the extensive mosaics at the Roman Villa, the hands-on cookery class, drinking sparkling wine in the square in Ragusa surrounded by beautifully lit architecture and the list goes on...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was very helpful, informative and was keen to ensure we really got the most out of our tour.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Mark Simmons

    Invigorating walks in unspoilt hills & mountains of the beautiful island of Corsica

    Everything came together for this trip - Martin, our excellent leader, a group which gelled, wonderful scenery & walks that were just a bit of a challenge for someone used to walking in the Pennines! If the weather was hot, there was the option of a cooling dip in a mountain stream at the end of most walks. The free day allowed everyone to choose either to visit Ajaccio by train or just have a relaxing day in Bocognano. The hotel Beausejour was basic but provided everything needed after a day of trekking in the hills! Recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say as there were so many highlights. A sense of achievement after climbing the higher trails, being rewarded with outstanding panoramic views. Loved swimming in the mountain streams at the end to cool off!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martin was an experienced leader with detailed knowledge of the trip & the terrain through which we walked & he was calm & patient with everyone, with lots of ideas for those taking a day off fdrom walking or heading off on a trip on the free day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles really do help as some ascents & descents are steep. Large water bottles needed & swimming gear is a must if you want to go for a cooling dip after a long day of hiking!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy Corsica - it's beautiful!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jane Wyndham

    Amazing Long weekend in Slovenia.

    This was a great trip with the perfect balance of walking/climbing and free time to explore the beauty of Lake Bled. The climb is exciting and challenging but not difficult. The scenery is beautiful as you walk towards the mountain hut. Sadly the weather didn’t afford us a summit view. However the ridge walk is spectacular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along the ridge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katarina was a good leader, she spoke excellent English and was good company too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do your best to be in shape before you go. And get used to walking carrying some weight too if possible. Walking poles were a necessity for me. And boots with Ankle support.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope that more long weekends of this type are added to the brochure.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Andy Beaumont

    If you like historical buildings/towns this is a brilliant trip

    The cities, towns etc we visited were amazing. We started in Prague which is a popular resort, so popular I was glad to get away. But then on the first day we arrived at Cesky Krumlov, (didn't he use to play for Chelsea?) which is an amazing Gothic town and a UNESCO site, I'd never previously heard of , but could easily return to and spend a long w/end there imbibing some of the excellent Czech beer. There is an optional walking tour of the town which is well worth going on. The next town we reached , Trebon, was also very interesting, and well worth a walk around. And then came another UNESCO , Telc with yet another fantastic cobbled town square. A couple of days later we arrived in Vienna which just shouts opulence. Do go on the optional bike tour of the city as it gives you a good idea of where to head to when you get free time. A couple of us went to a classical concert (not usually my kind of thing) in one of the large churches where they played classical music's greatest hits (Vivaldi etc) and where the acoustics are simply amazing. Oh, and don't forget the cakes to die for or of ! We then got to Bratislava, another interesting place where the leader takes you on another optional walking tour; worth taking again. Eventually we arrived in Budapest and by this time I was beginning to suffer from cultural overload but managed to squeeze in a visit to the parliament building and the basillica before retiring to the bar. Oh , I nearly forgot the cycling bit of the trip; it's graded as 3 but could easily be a 2 as there were very few hills ; a considerable amount of the time is on cycle-only tracks which is great if you want to natter to your fellow cyclists but does mean there is only a limited amount of vehicle support. The trip notes say there is only 10% without vehicle support but it was considerably more than that . Fortunately, the vehicle war around when we rode through an almighty thunderstorm when the hairs on your head stand up , then curl, and possibly smolder, even for the'follickly challenged' like myself . Also, there was the fact that there was no "tail gunner" mechanic, which meant that if there was a mechanical, the whole group had to stop whilst running repairs took place. The bikes themselves, were more "upright" than I am used to but proved to be very good for my back ; unfortunately they seemed to be prone to the chain coming off and jamming ; couldn't possibly be anything to do with the ability of the cyclists themselves !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to Cesky Krumlov was a total surprise and absolutely stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader , Dana, was good ,giving lots of info on recent and distant history of the various places we visited (which in itself is quite remarkable as we went through 4 different countries) and booked up some good restaurants to eat in at the end of the day. It was hard work for her as there was only her on the cycling bit, and the driver of the bus seemed a bit lacking in motivation although he knew his stuff about the bikes.
Call us on 020 8772 3936