Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2018
    Beth S

    Undiscovered Atlas review

    A brilliant trip - the guide ensured we had a great time, even when the route had to be changed for safety reasons - we lost a days walking as the plan had to be changed entirely with our starting point changed because we weren't allowed through by the border patrol. The guide worked so hard and immediately came up with a new plan which meant he had to manage everything to ensure we had food, camping sites and a safe alternative route. He was professional, fun and so kind throughout. The food was great and the organisation by the Moroccan team out there was brilliant. I had such a great time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting having a cup of tea looking at an incredible view of the mountains after 2 full days walking and about to start the 3rd. Beautiful views. Great company. Safe and well looked after. Fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was superb. He adapted and managed things so well - when the route had to change and when I was finding the trek uphill hard on the first day - he paced things so well and was extremely encouraging. He was fun, enthusiastic and worked so hard for the whole trip. He always tried to make things as good as possible. Exodus was lucky he was managing things as he really did ensure we still had a great time regardless!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Take layers - the climate covers all the extremes.. 2. Take your good camera - I didn't - I regret it! 3. I borrowed a walking stick - it was very useful!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The exodus bag situation seems pretty inconsistent- regardless of when they book - some people get them and some don't. I didn't particularly want one - but it was odd to say the least! Pretty gutted to have a full day less walking - meant we only had 3.5 days and no swim at the end....but....the guide did a brilliant job of recovering things in very tricky circumstances and it really was out of his control. The guide should get some kind of bonus - he saved the whole trip!! Rashid and Hassan were brilliant too! Generally very well organised from booking to finish - I will do another trip with exodus.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Claire Howard

    Lovely country, lovely group but disappointing wildlife experience

    Sri Lanka as a country is gorgeous and the people are delightful. My disappointment with the trip relates to how the tour was delivered by the local company and the fact that this should be advertised as a bird watching trip with the odd mammal sighting possible. We did see elephants and the blue whale but 90% of wildlife sightings are birds.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing an adult male elephant with a prostetic limb play in the watering hole at the Udawalawe Transit Home followed closely by spending a couple of hours watching a blue whale.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a delightful young man who was extremely enthusiastic and good fun to be around but he failed to adequately deal with concerns/ complaints raised by the group. The game drives were poorly organised. There was 16 in our group. We were put in 3 trucks which they named AB &C and we were we told we had to stay in the same groups so that we all had access to the nature guide. This didnt happen. As a member of jeep C, for all 4 game drives were we the third jeep in the line with limited sightings and always late to the wildlife party. Concerns were raised but not acted upon by the tour guide even when these become complaints. My wildlife game drive experience was eating my fellow travellers dust, hearing out what they were looking at and often seeing things behind shrubs or flying away when disturbed. I’ve never beed on a trip where the game drives were organised this way. If you were in jeeps A or B which alternated being at the front you had a much better experience than the 6 of us in jeep C

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a bird watching trip. That was the emphasis of our naturalist guide and birds were in ambundance. Mammal sightings were limited. I didnt appreciate this and so was disappointed by the safari experience for this reason as well as how the jeeps were managed. I enjoyed staying in the rain forest and the ecolodge. The converted shipping containers were really cute and one of my hilights. They were hot during the day and cold at night but blankets are provided. We didnt walk along trails but walked up and down the tarmac road to the ecolodge. This limited the opportunity for wildlife sightings or should i more accurately say bird sightings as we were passed quite frequently by motorbikes. You need leech socks. These are provided so no need to bring your own. You need long trousers for this part of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is my eighth trip and i have to say my worst so far by a long way. The group as always were lovely. Some of the accommodation wasnt great. An hour from the reserve on occassion which means if the drivers have set hours you use up precise game drive time getting to and from the national park. If there are 16 in your group make sure you have a spare seat in yhe jeep for a guide otherwise you are at the back of the line. This is a bird watching trip with a whale watching tour thrown in and visit to elephant sanctury.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Christine Holyhead
    Trip:

    La ruta Maya

    Amazing discovery of an ancient culture. Well balanced mix of activities and personal times but long distances for travel were more tiring than the leisurely code implied. Wonderful scenery seen from our little bus as we jolted along. Guide involved us in all decisions but leaving at 6 am before the heat and crowds was clearly the best option on many days. Our hotels and food mostly exceeded our expectations. The itinerary will always attract those who want to know about the social, cultural, political history of such a hidden group of people. Pack your best grip, lightweight walkers and insect repellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tikal needed bigger time allowance

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well at first I thought he was a joker but later saw a man who looked after us EVERY DAY for food activities. Careful in difficult situations. 2 people shot dead in A village we’d been to ten days earlier!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good grip light weight shoes, rubber end stick? Lots insect repellant. Travel sickness tabs for boat and occasional bumpy road.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Guide should remind group of need to drink more. Water was always available but we forget how hot it is. Half of us were sick probably due to heat
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Christine Holyhead

    La ruta Maya

    Amazing discovery of an ancient culture. Well balanced mix of activities and personal times but long distances for travel were more tiring than the leisurely code implied. Wonderful scenery seen from our little bus as we jolted along. Guide involved us in all decisions but leaving at 6 am before the heat and crowds was clearly the best option on many days. Our hotels and food mostly exceeded our expectations. The itinerary will always attract those who want to know about the social, cultural, political history of such a hidden group of people. Pack your best grip, lightweight walkers and insect repellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tikal needed bigger time allowance

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Well at first I thought he was a joker but later saw a man who looked after us EVERY DAY for food activities. Careful in difficult situations. 2 people shot dead in A village we’d been to ten days earlier!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good grip light weight shoes, rubber end stick? Lots insect repellant. Travel sickness tabs for boat and occasional bumpy road.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Guide should remind group of need to drink more. Water was always available but we forget how hot it is. Half of us were sick probably due to heat
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Tony Renfrey

    Excellent trip to Sri Lanka with Exodus

    We have just returned from our first trip with Exodus and must say we were very impressed with all aspects of the holiday. The administration and trip documentation were top class. The tour leader was brilliant....nothing seemed to faze him and he organised day-to-day activities superbly. The coach driver and his helper were also excellent and the tour coach was first class. The itinerary was comprehensive, with a nice blend of iconic and historical sites, cultural and physical activities, and nicely varied transport and accommodation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the white water rafting and cycle ride through the villages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As I said before, he was brilliant! His smiley face and warm and friendly personality will live long in the memory.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring your own re-usable water bottle to reduce the plastic waste from single-use bottles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We can only highly recommend Exodus and we will definitely travel with them again.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Janet Lillicrap

    Highlands of Sri Lanka

    A wonderful experience in a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The welcoming smiles of the Sri Lankan people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujee was excellent - caring, helpful and knowledgeable with a passion for his country. Nothing was too much trouble for him or his team and they were a team who worked really well together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an umbrella as well as a sunhat!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Juliet Nicolson

    Lovely week spent in the Pyrenees

    Excellent week with lots of fresh snow and a stunning final day with bright sunshine, blue skies and panoramic views of the Pyrenees. We enjoyed the lessons with Leah our instructor, who tried her best to upgrade our Classic technique to something more stylish. Every day was different, with the option of more ski-ing independently, or guided snow-shoeing, which was new to us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snow-shoeing through deep snow in the forest with sunshine highlighting all the ice crystals, then emerging on to the plateau to the amazing panorama of the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Francois was great fun (apart from some of his music choices in the minibus!) but well-organised too, and told us a lot about the local area. He kept everyone amused with his jokes about the British- and the French!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Need to be quite fit with plenty of stamina for both activities Also helps to be adaptable- sometimes the plans for the day had to change depending on the road and weather conditions.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Anna Kennedy

    Costa Rica - Coastal Secrets Jan 2018

    We had a great time on this trip. We saw lots of birds and other wildlife. Costa Rica has very diverse ecosystems and we experienced quite a variety. We really liked the limit of 16 travelers. We enjoyed the group and were made very welcome everywhere we went.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on the waterways around Tortuguero and Drake Bay was very special. If we hadn't had the benefit of great guides, we wouldn't have seen so much wildlife. Snorkeling at Cano Island was really amazing too - fantastic to see the colourful fish in the coral reef and also a large black sea turtle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was so knowledgeable and a really nice guy. Very thoughtful in terms of knowing what people were keen about and interested in.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We didn't factor in having to tip so many people (boat drivers, resort staff). Also, we were surprised that traffic all around Costa Rica goes much slower than you expect so time to get to some places is longer than anticipated.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall is was a great trip and would recommend it highly to others. The mini-bus was a little on the tight side for taller people - hard on the knees.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Andrew Bennett

    Outstanding trip in Finland

    Superb trip! loved every minute of it. The activities, accommadation, food and staff were all excellent. Cannot fault a single part of the trip and would really like to do the whole thing again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky dog sledding. Amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, nothing was too much trouble at all. All staff were superb.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are in doubt about the coldness, all clothes were provided and they kept us warm all week. If you needed anything extra you just needed to ask. I am 6 foot 5 and everything fitted me fine.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Tara Jellis

    Incredible South Africa

    All in all a fantastic and diverse trip with a great group of people. South Africa has so much to offer. Beautiful scenery, close up encounters with wildlife (I still can’t believe we came so close to lions), an interesting history, combined with some great walks and a few more thrilling activities. The food was also very good. There really was something for everyone and I would recommend this trip to virtually anyone really.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many. The Tooth and Claw Safari at Schotia Game Reserve, zip lininig at Tsitsikamma and everything about Cape Town. We were lucky enough to get up Table Mountain on our first attempt and the views were amazing. But, my lasting impression from this trip will be of the South African people who all seemed so happy and welcoming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were incredibly lucky to have Justin as our tour leader. He’s friendly, knowledgeable, entertaining and professional. A real credit to Exodus and a pleasure to be with. I would be happy to tour with him again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be put off by tales of violence and crime in South Africa. Everywhere we visited seemed very safe and we were able to wander around after dark without fear. ALthough do make sure you are the right sort of person to join a group tour as if you are a lover of 5 star luxury or find it difficult to fit in then this sort of holiday may not suit. Having said that, the hotels all had their own charms, and the one at De Rust was exceptional as was it’s owners who really welcomed us.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We added a night in Port Elizabeth before the start of the tour and a few extra nights in Camps Bay on the end. This made for a pretty perfect holiday. Where to next?
Call us on 020 8772 3936