Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

575 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2020

    Amazing experience

    From start to finish, I cannot fault this trip. The temples and Ancient Egyptian remains speak for themselves and are stunning. I had no idea that they were so well preserved. But the trip was made especially enjoyable by our super efficient and friendly guide, Sayed. His commentary covered both ancient and modern Egypt, and I have been reading books about Egypt ever since!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sun going down, while sailing down the Nile is quite magical. In the valley of the kings, being able to explore with very few other tourists, brought home the splendour of the tombs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed managed all the logistics to perfection, and at the same time shared his passion for Egyptology. He struck exactly the right balance between serious, informative guide and being friendly and approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cost of the optional trips does mount up - but most are really great experiences - so I would advise factoring them into the overall cost of the holiday before you go.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Excellent trip and guide

    Booked very late and was lucky enough to have single room option still available. The trip is superb. More than Petra. So much in one week and very well organised. We had every season going including snow on our week, and still had a dip in Dead Sea at the end of our holiday. Pack layers for jan feb trips, and a warm jacket! Our guide, Ibrahim was superb. Great knowledge, good fun, and helpful with useful advice. Pick your choice of walks in Petra as it is massive. My highlight was the walk to high sacrifice in Petra, stunning ,even with my dislike of open heights on one spot. I would recommend Jordan for it’s friendliness, people, culture and it’s a short haul flight to a completely different landscape/culture. Brilliant trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra high sacrifice walk. Jerash? So unexpected.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim is a real credit to exodus. His passion for his country and history is authentic. He loves his job. Something to be envious of. He is really knowledgeable about all the sites we saw. He knew how to bring the best out in the group. One of the best guides I’ve had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plan for four seasons in winter. I thought I was ridiculous taking a padded jacket to Jordan. Nope. I needed it for three days . Feb tour 2020. Lightweight walking shoes are a must.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Amanda Johnson

    Beautiful. Fascinating. Enjoyable.

    Excellent trip that covered the major sites in a short amount of time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was always going to be the highlight for obvious reasons and it is everything I thought it would be and more but I was surprised at how big a site Jerash was and how little I knew about it. It was really surprising and fascinating. The mosaics in the churches dotted throughout Jordan are just breathtakingly beautiful. Wadi Rum was always going to be special too and the stars at night are amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a true gentleman. He was funny, passionate about his country, caring and patient. He was always concerned that everyone was ok and enjoying the experience. He tried to ensure everyone's needs were catered for in quite a diverse group. He was always available to listen and help and ensured that any problems were resolved quickly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To be honest the trip notes cover it and other travellers comments too help ensure you are prepared. I wouldn't be put off by others experiences of optional trips - I decided I was only here once (I would go back but too many other countries I need to visit) so did the camel ride at sunset at Wadi Rum and also the Petra at night and thoroughly enjoyed both. Basically you get out of them what you put into them - enjoy it! Also did the hike up the monastery at Petra and the hike behind the tombs to look down on the Treasury from above - both were worth it and a good workout!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is a beautiful country with beautiful, friendly people. The landscape can be starkly beautiful and the historical sites are amazing. The first few days are a bit full on but if you are of an average fitness they are not hard going at all and you can take it at your own pace. It is nice to relax at the end and do a bit of snorkelling or floating the dead sea.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Linda Pearce

    Unforgettable

    The week exceeded my expectations. I had thought a week would give me just a glimpse of Egypt but there was so much more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing alone in the tomb of Rameses V and VI (kv9) surrounded by huge walls and pillars covered with pristine hieroglyphics of such vibrant colors it took your breath away. It is well worth the extra EP 100 to go inside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot praise Tefa highly enough. His organization, empathy, knowledge of Egyptology and attention to every detail of our experience was exceptional. Extra unscheduled mini trips were arranged in free time for anyone who mentioned something they would like to do. Health issues were dealt with including pushing a wheelchair round a temple! Tefa really made sure we all had a wonderful experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When I read the trip notes I was concerned about how the extra trips fitted in with the basic plan. My concerns were unfounded. It is all very well arranged. I would say.... do as much as possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The four nights on the boat make a good base for the visits to temples and tombs. Without the continuity of the boat it could have felt very hectic.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Sandra Taylor

    fine

    This was an excellent holiday - well organised, a good mixed variety of activities and sights, not overly much travelling, good hotels and the leader took us to nice restaurants. And in particular I liked the 'free time' element given at the actual sights not provided as these lame ' a free afternoon in your hotel' business when it's difficult to access the places you want to see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and Wadi Rum

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding group leader. Ibrahim had that prefect combination of being highly organised but appearing laid back and relaxed. I recommend him to any group. He dealt with any issues that arose from group members well so they never became 'issues'. He was a so knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Jordan but never 'over- informed'. We didn't have to listen to lengthy lectures standing looking at endless Roman and other remains - instead he gave us the outlines and left us to explore or ask questions as we wanted. And above he was fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Heed well the advice given in the comprehensive notes

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks Exodus - I'll be back! BUT please Exodus get your act together regards feedback - it took you a week to send me the feedback email by which time I'd lost interest in feedback.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Stephanie Scollard

    Jordan loves you!

    This was a fantastic trip. I loved Jordan. Ibrahim, the Guide, was excellent and had everything perfectly organised. The food was amazing, and hotels were nice. Petra was unforgettable. Hiking boots are a good idea. The weather was hot in the middle of the day and quite cold at the beginning and end of the day. (T-shirts, with lots of layers, and a coat required, for December trips.) I have done several trips with Exodus and would thoroughly recommend this one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim is lovely.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take hiking boots.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Bryan Mason

    Fabulous sights from the Ancient World and a chance to glimpse modern Egypt

    Brilliant glimpses into the ancient world with access to many fantastic sights. As with most Exodus trips it is often full on with some early starts, but these do pay dividends. The tour party, at 20. was probably too big as you travel as fast as the slowest person on the trip. Accommodation was mostly good with a couple of more modest places, but locations were always excellent. I personally could have done without the trip to Alexandria which didn't compare to having had more time in the amazing Cairo museum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Ancient world with amazing sights and fantastic art from a former civilisation. The wonder grew with each sight, culminating in Luxor with the Valley of the Kings and then the jaw dropping Karnak Temple. However, the food walk tour through modern Cairo was exciting and allowed us to see real life in this incredibly huge and vibrant city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrew was excellent and maintained a high level of excitement and provided expert knowledge on the world of Ancient Egypt as well as more modern developments. He was fun and always available. We felt safe and supported throughout the whole trip, whether that was around provision of water and hygenic food to how to behave in public.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Forget any fears about safety and embrace the culture of modern Egypt . You will be rewarded with sights that are out of this world, ranging from the Pyriamids at Giza to the Rameses temple at Abu Simbel to the magnificence of the tombs in the Valley of the Kings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The leisurely ride around the Nile by felucca on arrival at Aswan was magical, and enhanced by fabulous food. The cruise up the Nile was extremely comfortable and allowed us all to really relax while watching the world go by and waiting for the next ancient site to appear.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Andrew Davies

    Outstanding Experience

    Too many superlatives. Exceeded expectations in so many ways. The archaeology the food and comfort and Sayed our fantastic guide with a lovely group of fellow travellers. Bucket list well and truly ticked for Egypt.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving early at the market in Aswan with a real local insight into life. Stumbling in on a coptic Christian festival at the monastery. Hanging on to a camel for dear life! The felucca trip. Aswan was the best bit for me. Watching river life on the Nile and the friendly people waving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed was outstanding. He was incredibly well organised and genuinely kind and so enthusiastic about the sites and his country. We loved hearing him bring both ancient and modern Egypt to life. He was inspiring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the excursions. They are undersold in the trip notes and at the monestary at Aswan and the tombs of the workers we were privileged to be the only tourists in sight. Leave any shopping for Aswan where the people are more relaxed and give less hassle. Take binoculars for the amazing bird life. Very early starts but a price worth paying to see the sites with fewer people around.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Douglas Robertson

    A week in Jordan ........ if Carlsberg made a week anywhere ..this would be it!

    I knew all about Petra before travelling but Jordan is about so much more than that as I discovered. A fantastic week with history, culture, food and experiences that I will never forget. People queried how safe Jordan was before I left for the trip and I can honestly say I haven't felt safer on any trip I've been on before. The people were the kindest, friendliest and most open people you could hope to meet. The trip can be as active as you want with plenty of free time in Petra to trek around or just take it easy. Our guide Ibrahim was a brilliant leader who typified the hospitality of Jordan and spoke knowledgeably about history and culture. I would happily return again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Petra up close was amazing but spending a night in the desert was a surprising highlight for me - the stars and the peace and tranquillity were amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was brilliant!!!! He was knowledgeable, kind, attentive and fun. He shared Jordan past and present with us opening up about history and culture - past and present. He was always there for us and made sure we knew where to be and when and what to make sure we saw or tried. A true ambassador for both his country and Exodus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont think twice just go there!!! if you go later in the year it is cooler at night so do bring layers ..... and dont forget water shoes for the beaches!
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Joe Doucet

    Outstanding trip

    This was a full packed trip , informative trip led by Mohammed Tefa whose in depth knowledge, and leadership style made the trip a wonderful experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Abu Simbel