Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Janet Peckam

    Hidden Treasures of Jordan

    It was a great trip and I enjoyed every minute of it. However, Jordan was going through a heat wave during the time, which made it very uncomfortable to walk outdoors. Additionally, it was the Ramadan and all cafes, bakeries and many other places were shut during the day. Apart from that everyday of the trip was different and offered us a wide range of amazing experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and Jerash were the most inspirational moments of the trip. It has been on my list to visit Petra for a long time and seeing the Treasury for the first time was sensational. Two full days in Petra was great and gave us enough time to cover a lot of that vast area. Also spending enough time in the Petra museum is a must. Jerash was a great surprise as I did not know anything about it. There is so much to see in Jerash and the time we spent there was well worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge of Jordan and a passion for his country. He was also a very friendly, polite caring person who tirelessly looked after everyone in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Jordan is a peaceful country surrounded by turmoil. I was struck by its closeness in proximity to Israel, Palestine, Syria and Iraq. It is a wonder that Jordan has managed to stay out of wars and retained its sovereignty. Jordanians are very friendly, polite and helpful. We felt very safe in Jordan. Do not travel to Jordan during Ramadan as most places are closed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Group members including myself, thought that the itinerary will be much improved by dropping the dessert loop trip altogether on the second day and instead adding Amman sightseeing on that day and ending the trip in Aqaba. Coming back to Amman on the 11th day and continuing with sightseeing seemed somewhat disjointed. In addition very little time was given to Amman. It would also be great to add the Jordan Museum to the itinerary as most of us wanted to visit it and had no time left. Especially not being able to see the Dead Sea scroll was very upsetting. It would have also been great if a nature reserve such as Wadi al Mujib had been added to the itinerary. That would have made a wonderful change to the dessert landscape that accompanied us during most of the trip. We were not able to see much of the flora and fauna of Jordan unfortunately. It would be better if we had a trailer for the luggage as the mini bus did not have enough space. Also, on some days we could have started earlier, which would have given us more time in some sites.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Kate Stevenson

    Unforgettable

    An unforgettable trip, I read as much as could on Egypt, its history, this tour - and was still blown away by so much about the place and this Exodus trip. A very busy nine days, but still plenty of time in the afternoons to recharge. Can't believe what we packed in to such a small amount of time. Very well organised, and absolutely adored our guide Tefa; and particularly pleased with the dynamics of the group I travelled with. Thoroughly enjoyable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Valley of the Kings. Having an idea of what it would be like, and still not really being ready for the scale of the landscape, the tombs, the timeline and history. Seeing Tutankhamum's mummy just centimetres away was truly humbling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tefa was an absolute legend. Organised, generous, thoughtful, cheeky, funny, and very knowledgable. The guy was built for this job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read read read the trip notes and other reviews. They are honest and helpful. Found trip notes on money and costs helpful for working out what you'd need for extra excursions and in particular photography passes if you want to take photos or video at some of these amazing locations. Was helpful to work out tips too. As many have said, there will be early mornings, and the place is seriously hot (hence the need to get out and about early), but your afternoons are largely free, and by the time you're waiting for sunset by the pool, you're remembering the mindblowing sites you saw more than the alarm, the sweaty seats, or the late-night call to prayer keeping you awake (we were there during Ramadan). This is a travel experience, more than a holiday, but it's one I'll never forget.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Patricia Burritt

    A ‘must do’ trip for anyone who I loves archaeology, history and amazing geography!

    I have wanted to visit Jordan for at least 40 years and finally I made it! The Exodus trip was fantastic and the experience met up to every expectation. I took over 2,000 photos! The journey was so well organised, informative, action packed - we didn’t seem to miss any detail of the ‘treasures’ of this amazing country try!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Petra - the site is incredible and so vast and the Exodus itinerary with 2 full days there is perfect!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Nidal Alateaq, was excellent. He was so well organised, conscientious and informed. Nidal managed every aspect of the trip so smoothly and efficiently. As a tour guide on sites and en route he always gave us a thorough explanation of the culture, history and geography of Jordan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready to undertake a very full itinerary and long days each with an interesting agenda. I visited during Ramadan - which can mean that there is a need to work around closure of some facilities and sites.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel accommodation and meals were of a high standard. Thank you Exodus for another wonderful trip!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Margaret Madgwick

    A glimpse of Ancient Egypt.

    Visits to the Pyramids & Sphinx , Luxor, Edfu, Kom Ombo Temples, Valley of the Kings and Abu Simbel. Cruise down the Nile river.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole tour was special. Visiting the sites of Ancient Egypt. None to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader 'Tefa' was brilliant. His knowledge as a guide was superb. He was reliable, patient and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot in may/june 46c. plus so my advise would be to go at a cooler time if possible. Keep well covered up. Have upset tummy medication with you just in case. Take at least suncream 50. Its easy to change your money when you are there rather than before you go. Have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Understand that tourists are targeted to buy from the locals so you will be hassled, please don't mind or be offended as they need to make a living. Say 'no thank you' if you don't want to buy.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Margaret Madgwick

    A glimpse of Ancient Egypt.

    Visits to the Pyramids & Sphinx , Luxor, Edfu, Kom Ombo Temples, Valley of the Kings and Abu Simbel. Cruise down the Nile river.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole tour was special. Visiting the sites of Ancient Egypt. None to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader 'Tefa' was brilliant. His knowledge as a guide was superb. He was reliable, patient and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot in may/june 46c. plus so my advise would be to go at a cooler time if possible. Keep well covered up. Have upset tummy medication with you just in case. Take at least suncream 50. Its easy to change your money when you are there rather than before you go. Have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Understand that tourists are targeted to buy from the locals so you will be hassled, please don't mind or be offended as they need to make a living. Say 'no thank you' if you don't want to buy.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Joanne White

    Great week packed with fabulous experiences

    All the highlights of Jordan in one week - it is a very busy week with full days and relatively early starts but it is worth the effort. Not a dull moment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the 2 days hiking in Petra, there is so much to see. However, we felt that Wadi Rum was perhaps more inspirational ....if only the dust clouds had behaved and allowed us to have a sunset.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable and really understood how to manage a diverse group without being heavy-handed in any way at all. He struck the right balance of being informative without overloading us with facts. He is a real asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The climb to St Catherine's monastery is pretty daunting at 800 steps in hot weather but don't allow this to put you off the trek on day 2 at Petra, which is easier and spectacular.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is a lot squeezed into this trip and you feel ready for some R&R at the end of the week. It was quite a long drive to get to Aqaba and felt a lot of effort for just a couple of hours on the beach. I would not have been disappointed if Aqaba was not in the itinerary.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Malcolm Mahony

    Fascinating and beautiful country

    The desert landscape and Petra are stunning. The scrambling is exciting. The archaeology is outstanding. The culture is fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah worked hard to make the trip successful and enjoyable. He was totally unflappable!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should be aware that the trekking area is heavily used by 4-wheel drive vehicles taking tourists on day trips. This compromises the wilderness feel. Unfortunately they also leave behind a lot of plastic litter.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very impressed by the generally tolerant and supportive attitude of Jordanians towards the 3 million plus refugees who live there. What a contrast to most other countries! Excellent service by Exodus staff.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Elspeth Bull

    See all of Jordan, whatever the weather.

    This itinerary gave the group the opportunity to see the highlights of Jordan at an easy pace.The cold, wet weather in the north was not anticipated and meant that we did not see some of the sights in their best light. However, the later section of the trip to the Dead Sea Petra and Wadi Rum were up to expectation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to Petra with the anticipation of seeing the Treasury at the end of the siq.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was the weakest part of the trip and the reason for the lower rating. He was inexperienced and did not always communicate clearly what was happening or give much information about what we were seeing. This was not up to the usual standard we have experienced from guides in the past.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The tour flights arrive late in the evening in Amman. This means you do not get much sleep before starting the tour. If you are able to, I would suggest arriving a day or two earlier and seeing Amman in your own time rather than in a rush on the last day. Be prepared for all weather conditions.
  • Reviewed May 2019

    Do it!

    Egypt is beautiful and the temples, pyramids and other sites you will visit are absolutely amazing, its an experience I will never forget!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Abu Simbel Temple was the highlight of the trip for me, incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ahmed was full of knowledge and was a great tour leader, you could tell he loved his job and Egypt and it made every day more interesting and enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you take the optional tour to the Monastery of St. Simeon, be careful when walking into one of the bedrooms, its full of bats!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I always felt safe in Egypt so don't let this deter you from visiting this amazing country.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    sarah strachan

    fine

    Excellent week. Really well organised interesting sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was exceptional as a guide. Really friendly, knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He worked really hard to make our trip run really smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for Ibrahim as a group leader

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was such a good mix of ages in the group everyone got on really well. Thank you
Call us on 020 8772 3936