Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Ashley Foley

    Wonderful trip

    I really had the best time on this trip. The tour guides were amazing. So knowledgable and professional. Everything was perfectly organised and we squeezed a lot into a very short space of time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Angkor Wat was wonderful. Our guide was from the area and spoke very passionately about the temples and about growing up in Cambodia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All three were amazing. Catered to our every need and made sure we had an amazing time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be careful of the water in Cambodia!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation in Sihanoukville was disappointing. It wasn’t the one included on our itinerary and was of a much lower standard than the other hotels on the trip. It was far from the beach and the centre of town and was in the middle of a building site. However, I do now understand that the original hotel cancelled the groups booking and the team was unable to find another suitable place. It certainly didn’t spoil my trip but it would have been better if expectations were managed before we arrived at the hotel. The Exodus team and the group leader were very understanding and accommodating and did everything they could to resolve the situation.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Joy Harrington

    Srilanka

    Great trip. Good balence of culture, wildlife and activities. Our guide Ruwan was fantastic; always smiling and had any problems sorted before they occurred. All hotels were of a high standard and the food was good (although we would have liked to eat at local restaurants) transport was excellent, our coach was clean, comfortable and roomy. We definitely had the best driver in Srilanka. I would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the safaris, elephants and leopards. The cycle ride around the villages was amazing with lovely food at a villages house. The walk in the highlands was also another highlight. Kandy and Galle were fantastic towns and would have loved to spend more time there

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan was brilliant. Professional, fun and informative. Nothing was too much trouble and he went out of his way to look after the people who were poorly. I feel as if I have made a new friend and will definitely vote for him in Exodus guide of the year

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep your purse shut at the Gem factory! Pushy salesman and over priced! Definitely visit ‘Charlie’ at the cemetery in Kandy and listen to his stories. Helga folly is worth a visit for a drink

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would cut 5he gem factory out and maybe the museum. Would like a night or 2 in Galle to experience the lovely town and eat in some of the restaurants
  • Reviewed December 2018
    D A

    Classic Vietnam & Angkor

    Great Trip, some fantastic sights. A lot of early mornings, which means that you will probably feel more tired by the end of this trip, but you see a lot. Local guides were fantastic and very knowledgeable, and food absolutely fantastic both in Vietnam and Cambodia - of which we had plenty of. I was with a much older age group on this trip and it would have been nice to have had some people of similar age group on the trip as well. Perhaps something that Exodus can consider as a suggestion. Over all this was a well worth fantastic trip with the highlights of Vietnam and Cambodia, some more time in Cambodia would have been great however, as only 1 day spent at Angkor Wat in reality.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Angkor Wat Hoi An markets & tailoring

    What did you think of your group leader?

    fantastic group leader in Vietnam

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    check age group you are travelling with, may affect which trip you will attend.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    more details on internal flights on luggage allowance would have been useful, as this is only 20kg for a fairly long two week trip.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Linda Cooper

    Perfect!

    We were lucky enough to have Johnny Villlobos as our guide and he made the whole trip special! His knowledge of eveything to do with Costa Rica was outstanding. Everything ran smoothly from pick up at San Jose to the sad return to the airport at the end of the trip. The quality of the hotels was excellent (I am quite fussy!), Henry our driver was excellent and the bus was always waiting for us. Apart from the hanging bridges at Monteverde everything was included with Exodus, which was not the case with other tour groups. Although of course we must have paid that in the overal trip cost it was so much better not to keep paying extra along the way. Many entrance costs were between $16 and $26 so it would have really added up. The only other thing extra I did was the hot springs at La Fortuna which was a fantastic experience - I would thoroughly recommend that one. Johnny took us on many extra walks that were not on the trip notes but were all fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing all the wildlife - from the turtles hatching at Tortuguero, the monkeys, agoutis, coaties, raccoons, sloths, iguanas, humming birds in other places and very special for me was seeing the scarlet macaws in a little fishing village on the Pacific coast. We saw a wide variety of other birds everywhere - it was amazing! Those members of our group that got up for the 5.00am Quetzal were rewarded with a sighting of 2 birds.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional! He knew all the places to go to see wildlife - places you would never think of on your own.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Temperatures vary so just make sure you have some warm clothes for Monteverde and Savegre. We went from about 35C to about 15C in 4 hours!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just that this trip exceeded my expectations in every way so much so that I would like to go back to Costa Rica at some point in the future to do a different tour. You can't see everything in one trip, even though I thought it would be a one off visit I want to return!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    lindsey gill

    Indian challenging adventure

    From dipping our rear wheels in the Bay of Bengal, travelling through the largely tourist free Tamil Nadu, over the mountains of tea plantations, through fabulous scenery, down into Kerala, and dipping our from wheels into the Arabian Sea, Abi our guide and his team looked after us with cheerfulness and a sense of humour. We ate amazing food often off banana leaves in places you would never venture into as an unaccompanied tourist, and experienced true Indian live at very close quarters. Some demanding cycling, especially on the roads of the crazily busy towns, and some extraordinary sights made an exciting experience. The Indian cookery class and the heritage home stays made the trip even more special.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing how people struggle to scrape a living together but at the same time are happy, smiling and welcoming to visitors, it is very humbling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abi was so lovely caring and happy in his work, he seemed to genuinely enjoy meeting new people interacting and helping them experience his country, and was always happy to adapt to our needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We suffered no ill effects but we were careful about using regular hand wash and avoiding drinking the water. We ate largely Indian style food avoiding western style meals and ate brilliantly.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jessica Rutledge

    Cycling, wine and Food!

    This was a wine and culinary cycling adventure. The landscapes were breathtaking and our guides informative and attentive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the Cape summit. Those views!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was an excellent cyclist who saw to everyone’s needs. He was knowledgeable and taught us about the communities we were visiting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes... some on our trip were surprised by the number of winery stops, cycling distances and meals included (but there were no surprises...)
  • Reviewed December 2018

    Amazing trip - Discover Costa Rica

    Just got back from Costa Rica and I can honestly say as a regular Exodus traveller that this is one of the best trips I have been on. Our guide Johnny was amazing and a real credit to his Country - and no surprise that he has won guide of the year twice. My one wish was to see baby turtles and boy did we see baby turtles - pouring out of the nest and making their way down to the sea. I never appreciated the different climates available in Costa Rica and spending two nights in each place gave us the chance to experience them all. The wildlife was amazing and everywhere. I can highly recommend this trip to anyone that loves seeing birds, animals, flora and fauna.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing baby turtles pouring out of their nest

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing - incredibly knowledgeable about all the wildlife we saw - gave us guidance on how and what to look for - and generally went above and beyond. Very willing to share his knowledge and also told us how Costa Rica as a Country works which gave us a real sense of the whole Country and not just the bits tourists get to see.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy the experiences - even the rain - as it is part of this amazing Country.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Gillian Stott

    A road trip with a difference

    An easily manageable cycling holiday for most moderately fit people full of variety. Through careful, informative and expert guiding we cycled away from main roads through rural Vietnam and into cities. There was time to admire the view and quietly pedal along, past traditional Vietnamese ways of life of rice paddies, children waving, people conveying ambitiously towering loads of produce and shorelines of fishing practices. In contrast the cities were hectic, bustling with motorbikes negotiating around each other, of clothing stalls and fishmarkets, ancient ruins of rich colour and splendour and of people hard at work in an attempt to make a living away from the land. Halong Bay was the northernmost attraction which was spectacular though possiblly too over developed with torusim for my liking. Our group of 15 seemed like minded and we worked well as a team with much supporting of each other.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through rural villages of tradtional housing with children excitedly waving and calling hello - it felt like we were on a Vietnamese sysle Tour de France. This felt humbling, our lives being full of consumerism and clutter. My inspirational moment lasted a long time!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Any review of Linh would find it hard to do him justice. He worked incredibly hard every minute of the time in order to make sure that we enjoyed the trip. I felt pampered by the bikes being maintained to a high standard and snacks laid out after a sensible stretches. Instructions and itineraries for the day were carefully metered out to us - otherwise we forgot! In the evenings Linh found us fabulous places to eat and I think we all loved the food. I felt educated on many aspects of Vietnamese history and life which Linh would entertain us with on some of the longer bus sections. I am new to trips like these so asked others who weren't if they had met any guide who bettered Linh's very high standard but they found it difficult to think of anyone. So I feel incredibly lucky to have booked the week that Linh was on duty. Linh is a cyclist at heart, like us and this made a difference too. His management of his support team was impressive. A guy worth his weight in gold - I hope you reward him well!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Carry a lightweight rainjacket for cycling in rain. Keep a diary of where you took what photos as a minimium, it is amazing how rapidly you forget as all the cycling days begin to merge into one. There is quite a bit of time spent on the bus in order to travel through the country so make sure you have enough to occupy yourself with during these times if you are not happy to gaze out of the window.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A well planned trip - as a newbie I came away impressed. I think, for me, I would have preferred more bike days and less bus travelling. Halong Bay was a long way and was quite over run with tourists.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Be Clough

    Excellent

    A great taylor made trip, maximum of two nights in anyone place, most (2 exceptions) of the guides were absolutely excellent, one driver for all but the first 4 days. Good hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight for me was the Pushkar camel festival and on hindsight I would have had another day here.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had different guides in each location with lots of local knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not a lot to do on an evening once you’ve eaten, take lots of reading
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Be Clough

    Excellent

    A great taylor made trip, maximum of two nights in anyone place, most (2 exceptions) of the guides were absolutely excellent, one driver for all but the first 4 days. Good hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight for me was the Pushkar camel festival and on hindsight I would have had another day here.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had different guides in each location with lots of local knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not a lot to do on an evening once you’ve eaten, take lots of reading
Call us on 020 8772 3936