Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Faith Morgan

    Everest Expedition

    I'd dreamed of seeing Everest for as long as I can remember, but somehow managed to arrive in my 40's having never quite got there. As soon as I saw this Exodus trip which encompassed two nights camping AT ACTUAL BASE CAMP I knew this was the trip for me and pressed 'book now' there and then! I wasn't disappointed and the whole trip was organised faultlessly from the moment I pressed the enter key on the laptop, to the moment I landed back in the UK. If you've read the books and watched the films and dreamed of walking in the footsteps of legends this is the trip for you. It hasn't only achieved a dream for me - it's inspired me to do more!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to spend two nights camping at Everest Base Camp amid the buzz of teams setting up their camps in preparation for summit attempts. Waking up under a frosty yellow canvas, pitched impossibly on boulders and unzipping the tent to reveal spectacular mountain views in every direction,. Watching the final rays of sun go down behind Everest! Getting to walk on the Khumbu Icefall was also something I never dreamed possible!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie Parkinson is a vastly experienced and inspirational leader. What she doesn't know about the Himalayas isn't worth knowing, and she kept the group engaged with her in depth knowledge of the area, and enthralling stories of her incredible achievements. Nothing was too much trouble for her or the local guides, and she ensured the whole trip ran smoothly from the moment we arrived. I would book a trip with Valerie as leader again without hesitation!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you've got Everest Base Camp on your bucket list this is the trip for you. Don't just visit the rock -spend 2 nights there.......Book now!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was the first I'd travelled with Exodus, but definitely won't be my last......Can't wait to book my next adventure with you! Thanks for a great experience.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Kathy Stockton

    Basking in the afterglow

    What's not to like about this trip? Loved it all- the itinerary, the people, the culture, the food- and surprise bonuses like cherry blossoms, bullet trains, robots, and electronic toilets.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved every moment of my trip. Two aspects of Japanese culture stood out for me. First, on Miyajima where I visited a temple dedicated to children and babies who had been lost. This temple insured that these children would not be forgotten and always looked after. It featured different statues of babies in various activities. Someone had knitted caps and scarves for each of them. I found it very sweet and touching that the Japanese love children so much. Secondly, I loved the stay at the roykan in Takayama. Our hostess, Sazuko, was so sweet and hospitable. I absolutely fell in love with her.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kazu was wonderful. He led a large diverse group through a very demanding itinerary without ever loosing his cool. Because he was very detail oriented, things always ran very smoothly. On our free activity days, he told us about places of interest and gave detailed instruction on how to get there on our own.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip covers a lot in two short weeks. You will be constantly on the go and at a fast pace. Be prepared. My I-phone app. showed I walked an average of 25,000 steps a day while on the trip. Do take comfortable walking shoes- preferably hiking boots or sandals- non-skid, waterproof, and warm. Comfort trumps ease of slipping shoes on and off as we actually, visited very few sights where we actually needed to take off our shoes.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Wendy Tomes

    What a fabulous way to explore these countries

    This was our first Exodus trip and I have to say we had a few reservations before we left . We have been on many of our own cycling holidays but never on an organised one . We were worried there might not be enough cycling or that we might have to wait ages for others or hold others up. However Roberto our leader was brilliant . We all cycled at our own pace but he kept us all together at regroup points and everyone was happy . What I loved about the holiday was the opportunity to do something we like -the cycling but also to do sightseeing and explore places I know we would not have seen if we were on our own . Everything was so well organised even down to our lunch being booked in advance and we pay at end of the week . I liked being in a group we had such a laugh it was like a two week party and those on their own were looked after well. I wish we had started looking at Exodus holidays before , I will certainly go on another

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along the lake and seeing all the wildlife The views were amazing Also staying on a Caribbean island in Panama

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant He made the holiday special and created the team ethos

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can go a day earlier and stay a day later it is worth it so you see more of Panama and Grenada
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Helen Rogers

    A beautiful island

    Walking is a great way to see Madeira. The paths were in generally good condition, and the drops were not as daunting as I had expected - although you definitely need to look where you are going! The weather in Madeira is much more localised than I had realised - if it's important to you, make sure you look at the forecast for specific places. The mountains were rainy, and colder than expected - be prepared for anything! Most of the group went whalewatching in Funchal - this wasn't mentioned in the trip notes, but was great fun. No whales, but several dolphins - also a great way to get a view of Funchal from the water.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed all of the walking. The cherry blossom above Funchal was superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Add me to the Andre fan club. Very sociable, generous with his time and knowledge. He had to substitute a couple of walks due to weather and rockslides, and we were not disappointed, even though we had been looking forward to the published itinerary. He's an excellent walking guide, well aware of everyone in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most of us used trekking poles, and were glad of them. Be prepared for anything - the weather is the boss of the itinerary. Most of the hotels were very pleasant, one was slightly disappointing - but the obvious place to stay given the itinerary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a beautiful place, well worth the visit.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Glynis Howe

    Bhutan March 2018

    Bhutan is a beautiful country, the air is very fresh and the in the main is very clean - an antidote to Kathmandu! This is a trip that takes in the cultural highlights of Bhutan as well as letting you see and walk in the beautiful countryside. The people are friendly and welcoming - browsing the shops and markets is easy -if you have been to India you will know what I mean ! There is no hard sell! There is a fair ammount of travel but this is quite relaxing and there are plenty of stops. Food is always buffet style and becomes very monotonous - you could try asking for an a la carte menu and pay extra, otherwise it is noodles, rice, veg and, if you are not vegetarian some rather poor quality meat dishes - and you get this twice a day! My food highlight was a large bowl of scrambled eggs at the Tigers Nest! Take snacks!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to name one, I loved the festival, the climb to Tigers Nest Monastery and being blessed by the head Lama there, discussions with our guide Kunzang who was so knowledgable and informative about his country, the walks in the countryside, all of the Dzongs, nunnery......too much!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kunzang was the most amazing guide I have had on an Exodus trip, he was a very gentle man, caring, considerate and very knowledgable. If we made a request he would try his best to ensure it was achieved, for example he managed to get the hotels to make dhal for the vegetarians amongst the group! Also he just looked after everyone so well. I must also say that our driver, Yeshay was excellent, and also joined in with the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As I said, take snacks, also, the weather was in the main bright and sunny and I know some people had taken lots of warm clothing - however it did get cold in Gantey and so you will need something...maybe layer up. Also do not forget something with long sleeves for the monasterys. In Kathmandu our guide took us to a cultural show with food on the 1st night and this was very poor value and to be avoided - he also took us to a place called the Ship on our last night and this was not brilliant! The food in the hotel is much better if you do not want to go out and there are lots of places in Thamel - research it and make a suggestion to the group!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bhutan is amazing and I would recommend a vist - the flight into the airport is not for the feint hearted!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Daphne Partridge

    Amazing people and architecture

    This holiday gives a great overview of the country and it's history visiting cities along the Great Silk Road, each with their own amazing buildings and stories

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had been to many squares, mosques and madrassas but Registan Square in Samarkand topped them all and one of the final highlights of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dilshod was excellent - friendly, extremely helpful and incredibly knowledgeable of his country and it's history and also adaptable to our requests.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Everything was incredibly cheap and we struggled to spend $200 on food and drink and trinkets in the twelve days! Take dollars which can easily be exchanged for Som. Women travellers wear sleeved tops and crop trousers/trousers or skirts., and have a scarf handy for the couple of mosques. Don't worry about the night in the yurt - very pleasant with proper framed beds and and an electric light! To avoid disappointment, if you see something you like then buy it.... some items are only local to that city and you won't see them again. The food was good with salads, soups and meat dishes, some almost European style, but also plenty of local cuisine to try.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared for quite a lot of long journeys - the tour bus was fairly basic and the roads bumpy (1600 km travelled in total). Tourists are still quite a novelty in Uzbekistan and everywhere we went people wanted to have their photos taken with you or to talk to you and practise their English. Everyone was so friendly and we were treated like VIPs.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jane Von Ruhland

    Darjeeling , Sikkim & the Singalila Ridge

    This trip is wonderfully varied with each day having something different to the last. The accommodation throughout is very comfortable especially if you love an adventure. There are highlights such as heritage and eco hotels and lodges , and full service camping with roomy tents . In March and the beginning of April the weather included sunny days in the cities of Delhi and Calcutta , contrasting with cold fresh nights on camp , with a hail shower . The hotel in Delhi has a pool and relaxation facilities , and for anyone arriving earlier , there is time for city tours to see the sights . The drives from the plains to the Himalayan hill stations revealed beautiful rivers , terraced tea plantations and habitations on high and steep slopes . We visited colorful Buddhist temples and the Unesco World Heritage site of the Toy Train at Darjeeling .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being woken at 0500 and being lead by Rajeev our leader , to the top of the ridge near the Kalijar campsite to see the sunrise lighting up Kachenjunga , the 3rd highest mountain in the World , and seeing the whole range of the Himalayan snow capped mountains in front of us , which included Mount Everest in the distance . Rajeev was tremendous in pointing out and naming each individual summit . The team took the trouble to ensure we even had cups of tea and had lots of time to savour the amazing view and take photographs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rajeev was excellent in leading our group which had walkers with varied experience , and walking pace . He gave detailed information about the region , farming methods , his country and the mountain ranges , and answered our many questions . He is a very capable leader .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come prepared to try out different food , and with fitness preparation for walking to summits on fairly steep slopes. Bring a camera too !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the highlights wee often the optional parts of the trip like walking to the summit of Singalila , and seeing the Everest range on a clear day so make the most of these . The 16 Zoe's , a cross between a Yak and a cow , were the fantastic animals that carried our camping gear for us , and the team of herdsman and cooks provided an amazing service during our camping trek .
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Alice Bzowska

    Vietnam is outstanding

    Vietnam is a beautiful country full of friendly people, stunning landscapes, delicious food and hectic cities, and this trip encompasses it all along with some activity thrown in the mix!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved hanging out with the children at the homestay, even if we couldn't communicate properly with each other! They were all so sweet. I also loved weaving through the crazy Hanoi streets and cycling in the Mekong Delta. Hoi An was also excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Small bags are needed for some of the stops, so maybe pack light! Learn hello (xin chao) and thank you (cam on) in Vietnamese as it is always nice to say to the locals. Take a tote bag with you for souvenirs and a reusable plastic bottle as you can fill it up on the bus. Go with an open mind as things can sometimes change due to weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit Vietnam before it becomes too touristy! It is an amazing country with so much to see and so much variation.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Katy Smith

    Fat biking in Finland

    This was a really great trip and quite challenging even for hardy mountain bikers! The snow conditions made a huge difference the ease of the ride! Cycling in deep fresh snow was exhausting but when it was very cold and the snow was hard and compressed it was much easier! Each day was different and it was wonderful to have a couple of days in complete wilderness. The equipment provided was excellent so no need to buy kit if you don’t already have it - we did bring our own but it wasn’t essential. Some of the bikes were brand new for our trip and were top quality but even the older ones were good and very well maintained. Vesku our guide and his assistant Niila couldn’t have worked harder to make sure our holiday was comfortable and enjoyable and the food was excellent and plentiful. Vegetarians and vegans were well catered for too. We were lucky enough to see the Northern lights on 3 consecutive nights which just added to the magic!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was different and great fun so it’s hard to pick out an individual special moment. But cycling on really hard snow at -25 degrees in perfect sunshine was a real treat!! We saw the Northern lights 4 times on 3 nights so of course that has to be at the top of the list!! The first time we saw them whilst at the Wilderness hut will be a moment I’ll remember for ever! Words and photos just don’t do the experience justice!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vesku and his assistant Niila were wonderful! They were caring and very knowledgable about the region. They worked tirelessly to ensure we all had a great holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This really can be quite challenging depending on the snow conditions! But it’s well worth booking if you enjoy cycling and don’t mind a bit of hard work! But be prepared to fall off from time to time - it’s not painful as the snow is soft and deep!! The kit provided and bikes are great quality so it’s not necessary to buy kit specifically for this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is so different and magical - I’d thoroughly recommend it!!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Kerry Daly

    Dramatic trekking in the mountains of Madeira

    First time Exodus traveller and I was not disappointed. Madeira was every bit as beautiful as I had hoped: sea vistas (with huge waves on our Day 2 coastal walk), exotic flora and fauna, and at times, dizzying mountain heights that take your breath away. People in our group of 12 were delightfully friendly and supportive. Excellent leadership on this trip. Overall, a very satisfying travel experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walking the cliffs on the northern coast with a raging sea below

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre, our leader, is a native of Madeira and he was very generous with his knowledge of the history, culture and nature of his beloved homeland. As others have commented, he has a wonderful sense of humour, is very effective in bringing the group together, and went out of his way to check in with each member of the group to ensure that they were safe and content.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Given the heights and some the slippery conditions (we had several days of rain), trekking poles indispensable. Need to be prepared for changes in itinerary (we had two days that were changed) as the weather in the mountains can be unpredictable (ie. cold, wet, fog). Fortunately our leader had good back up plans.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation was comfortable. Breakfasts however, were very uneven - some excellent with hot buffets, others really on the skimpy side which wasn't ideal when you had many hours of hiking ahead.
Call us on 020 8772 3936