Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Peter McGuire

    Excellent holiday with a great guide and group of fellow travellers

    We could not have wished for a better holiday. The guide, Stephano, was ideal for our group. He was patient, humorous and concerned for our wellbeing. He also arrange for our weather to be fantastic for the week. The walks had that Goldilocks aspect to them, not too hard yet not too easy. And what fantastic scenery and food. The hotel staff were excellent and made us all feel welcome.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to choose as so much was so good. Loved the Walk of the Gods, Ravello, Vesuvius and Herculaneum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - see above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Amalfi town was a disappointment as it was heaving and a bit of a rip-off but the walk down to is was lovely.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sarah Davey

    Prosecco Hills

    Vania was the most amazing guide by providing us with the most amazing walks, tailored to everyone's needs. She went above and beyond what was expected of her even on her day and week off afterwards. The only reason I didn't give excellent was because the hotel let you down. With it closing for refurbishment, a lot of facilities were not available like the restaurant and the rooms were shabby and some items were not working. IE. The safe and shower in my room.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She is the best. Warm, kind, thoughtful, very social, accommodating, and goes beyond the call if duty. I went specifically on this trip, that week to walk again with Vania. I walked with her in Amalfi last year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose a trip with Vania.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sarah Davey

    Prosecco Hills

    Vania was the most amazing guide by providing us with the most amazing walks, tailored to everyone's needs. She went above and beyond what was expected of her even on her day and week off afterwards. The only reason I didn't give excellent was because the hotel let you down. With it closing for refurbishment, a lot of facilities were not available like the restaurant and the rooms were shabby and some items were not working. IE. The safe and shower in my room.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She is the best. Warm, kind, thoughtful, very social, accommodating, and goes beyond the call if duty. I went specifically on this trip, that week to walk again with Vania. I walked with her in Amalfi last year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose a trip with Vania.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Jillian Hassett

    Highlights of Provence

    Excellent experience of Provence.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk through the Verdon Gorge was scenery unparalleled.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Isabelle was a true gift to us, in our experience of Provence. She had a passion for and great knowledge of the culture ,history, flora and fauna of Provence. She was kind and considerate to each individual,enabling the group to work as one.She provided assistance and guidance as required,both on the walks and afterwards. Additionally she had a great sense of fun and provided welcomed treats along our fabulous journeys.Our Provence dream was realised with Isabelle's guidance,even a swim in the Verdon ! Thank you so very much.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to enjoy ! Some of the rocky/ pebbly terrain may be be a new experience for some but very manageable with trecking poles,good hiking bootsand taking time.The leader will guide you.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Angela Edwards

    Amazing Experience

    This trip was an amazing experience. The guides were excellent and the scenery was like something out of this world. The trip wouldn't be great for someone that surfers from vertigo as there are some steep drops, high mountains, mountain ledges and some mountain ridges. There are some steep ascents and also steep descents however the guides were very patient and gave even the least confident walkers the confidence to tackle the more difficult bits. The guides made this trip one i will remember for ever. Thanks to Albert and Martin. You were great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being given the confidence by the guides to tackle some difficult ledges on some steep mountains. I wouldn't have been able to tackle these with our them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders, Albert and Martin were brilliant. Their positivity, encouragement and sense if humour made this trip an experience i never want to forget.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be confident with steep drops on some very high mountains. If you suffer from vertigo or are afraid of hights you may find this trip mentally challenging however the experienced guides would give you the confidence to tackle things you may never have thought you could. We did this trip the second week of September and there was snow on the higher mountains which added an extra level of difficulty to the walks.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Karen Donnelly

    This is an absolute ‘must do’ trip!

    This is easily one of the best trips I’ve ever done - I had an absolute blast and highly recommend it! The TMB itself is just incredible, words can’t describe how beautiful it is. Every day was different and the hiking was just so much fun. Just make sure you have a good level of fitness or you won’t enjoy it as much as you should! I really enjoyed the group dynamic and was happy with the accommodation - we had two nights in what I’d class as hostel style accommodation (private rooms with shared bathrooms but sink in room which was good!) and the remainder in 2/3* hotels. Rooms were spotlessly clean, beds were comfy and hot showers were plentiful which is exactly what you need after a day on the trail! :) Food was so good throughout - Lunch has never tasted better!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved it all. Every single minute :)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I originally thought about doing this trip self guided but I couldn’t be happier that I didn’t! Our guide, Egle, made this trip for me! She was fantastic, She looked after absolutely everything so all I needed to do was enjoy myself as we wandered around the TMB :) !! Her love for the Alps is infectious and she’s just awesome to be around!
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Ian Kilpatrick

    A great experience

    This trip was with my son before he left for university and we both had a fantastic time. A wonderful group and supported by a really dedicated staff of guides, chef, muleteers (many thanks to Moha & Zuhir). The walking was very good and felt challenging but appropriate- amazing views. Camping was fun, good equipment and quickly transitioned mindset to “trip mode”. I totally underestimated the quality of food and we ate like kings all week - it was amazing to see such meals being prepared in a tent at 3000m !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb up Toubkal was an experience and it was great to have that highlight on day 5.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Moha was group leader and really did an amazing job. From the moment we landed until we got on the airport shuttle he we on everything. He have some insights to Morrocan life that we’re valuable and definitely added to the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    An extra bed mat for “50s frame” was nice. Sterilised water was provided and there was no need to stress about purification etc. We went in 1st half September and the nighttime temp was -2 approx so warm sleep-stuff and clothing is a must

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My first experience of such an expedition and one I hope to repeat soon.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Angela Evans

    A great trip

    First Exodus holiday and a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Last two more challenging walks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really excellent. Great local knowledge of flora and fauna, landscape and history. Relaxed and humorous approach whilst taking very good care of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    First couple of walks are not very long or challenging, might not suit everyone.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Mildred Curr

    Amalfi - 7 to 24 September 2019

    Wonderful holiday! Everything was well organised, comfortable accommodation, delicious food, good company and of course stunning landscape. Thank you to our excellent guide Stefano, you made the excursions fun and stress- free for us. Am just sorry it is over.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Herculaneum was fascinating. It's hard to choose a favourite walk, probably the walk from Rapallo wins by a small margin.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stefano is an excellent tour guide, informative and patient and well- organised. Thank you Stefano!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Practise walking up- and downhill a bit..

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Holiday is good value.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Cynthia Felice

    Solitary hiking in the Balkans

    This was a wonderful exploration of the mountains of Albania, Kosovo and Montenegro with knowledgable guides who led us across hillsides and on established trails. The meadows were lovely and the peaks were stunning. It was hot in Tirana but comfortable in the mountains, with only one afternoon of rain on the trail. Even in mid-August there weren't many other people hiking or at the guesthouses/alpine huts. The proprietors were very hospitable, serving traditional meals with locally grown ingredients such as tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, bread and feta-like cheese. We had a great group of 16, five couples, all experienced hikers who were friendly, considerate and responsible. Given the group size, pace differences, and terrain, it was helpful to have two guides, one who led and the other who stayed at the back of the group. Two members of the group who wanted a rest day were able to catch a ride to the next accommodation with the luggage transport vehicle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hospitality extended by local owners of the guesthouses/alpine huts and the luncheon in Prilep.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    All of the guesthouses provided blankets so bring a sleeping sheet, not a sleeping bag. Some but not all guesthouses provided towels (another useful thing to pack). Fruit is limited and usually not included in packed lunches; bring dried fruit if this matters to you. Herbal tea was the common hot beverage, with Turkish coffee often available on request. There was always hot water if you want to bring your own tea or coffee crystals. Bring medicine for stomach flu and lots of hand sanitizer lotion. Half of our group got a stomach flu on the same day (including one guide) and the next day another person and the other guide got sick. We were unable to determine any specific cause; treating the drinking water didn’t make a difference. Fortunately people only missed a day of hiking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For future trips I suggest that Exodus consider either hiring a professional tour guide for a 2-4 hour tour of Prizren or dropping the side trip and adding another hiking day. The tour of the mosque and museum were interesting, but content was thin and the side trip involved a lot of driving.