Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2017
    Christopher & Alison Bruce

    Absolutely incredible

    Such an amazing expedition. Paul Goldstein moves heaven and earth to ensure that the most is gained from the trip and no time is wasted. We cannot recommend this experience highly enough, and would do it all again in a flash.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sheer majesty of the place and the overwhelming abundance of the wildlife. Being able to get so close to penguins and seals who have no fear of humans is a real privilege.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Inspirational and a human Duracell Bunny!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book well in advance and as soon as possible. You won't be disappointed!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Diana Osmond

    Classic Thailand

    We found Bangkok very busy, horrendous traffic jams, 2hours from the airport etc, so not a good start, but in general it is an easy-paced and varied tour. High points for us were Hellfire Pass (death railway) and feeding bunches of bananas to elephants at the sanctuary. The hotels are all very comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised they all had swimming pools. The cookery class is a great idea, but not if you’ve just stepped off an overnight train....none of our group felt up to it despite having paid for it as part of the tour (should be optional/rescheduled?) The absolute downside was the “relax on the beach” final 3 nights. Hua Hin is a city, not a beach resort and although the hotel wall adjoins the beach it is not the sort of beach for relaxing on at the best of times. Whilst we were there (and according to hotel staff for the whole month) it was high tide during daylight hours so we couldn’t even walk along it, the water was right up to the wall all day. We made the best of it in the adjacent pool, surrounded by workmen and paint fumes as the pool bar etc is unfinished. We would thoroughly recommend the optional trip to the national park and absolutely stunning cave....you need to be quite fit to get up to it, but so worthwhile once there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the Death railway, museum and cemetery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amy (Ae) was very funny, kept us all well entertained!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be careful how you pronounce Kwai....the way we traditionally pronounce it means something very different in Thai. It should be more like Kwhere than Kwhy, but if you want to give the locals a laugh, just carry on!
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Laura Jones

    Captivating Costa Rica

    This trip was varied so provided something for everyone. It was an easy trip - there is excellent infrastructure in Costa Rica, the standard of accommodation was good and the walking was not difficult.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wildlife viewing by boat in Tortuguero Zip lining in Monteverde

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Antonio was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic and organised. He provided an amazing amount of information about the flora and fauna of Costa Rica and his love of the country really shone through. He went above and beyond the call of duty by accompanying us on walks during free time and by always being on hand to answer questions. Antonio's english was exceptional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When it rains it really rains so take a poncho - that way it covers you and your rucksack. It is difficult to dry things out once they get wet so consider taking some 'proper' trekking clothes that are quick dry material.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We thoroughly enjoyed this trip. There is regular moving about but lots of time to relax and take your time to see amazing animals and take in the atmosphere. The trip is very easy.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    steven elliot

    Cycle Kerala an Tropical India

    We loved this. India just hits you in the face - sights, smells,sounds,tastes. Exotic and spicy, just like a good curry. Cycling is such a great way of seeing a country and we traveled deep into rural areas where tourists don't go; we often felt like creatures from another planet and the locals seemed to agree judging by the number of selfies they took with us in them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many: Riding through Mysore in the rush hour - at the same time both exhilarating and bowel loosening. The ride up to Ooty even though we went through rain and mist and didn't see a thing. The ride the next day down through tea plantations and rain forest Walking round Guruvayoor at night during a Hindu festival and realizing we were the only foreigners. The welcome we received from Muslims on the day they celebrated the birth of the Prophet - sweets,food,ice cream,smiles. Sighting a tiger at Bandipur. The food - piled on weight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Safi was a star.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You do need to be confident of cycling in traffic. The route takes you through some busy towns/cities and along some highways. Indians allegedly drive on the left but the evidence for this is weak. Motor cycles seem to routinely travel on the hard shoulder in the wrong direction and tuk tuks and mopeds just do their own thing. Cars and lorries don't so much overtake each other as play chicken. The cycling is pretty easy - once you get to Kerala there is a near total absence of hills. The ride up to Ooty is an aberration - similar to but harder than Alpe d'Huez. The altitude of Ooty is over 7000 feet and we were very cold at the top because of the rain ( we were there at the time of a cyclone which caused flooding and loss of life in southern Kerala). Suggest you take full wet weather gear. Take hand gel and if you you expect a high level of toilet cleanliness then this is not the trip for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were a happy group and mixed well which has not always been our experience on Exodus trips. This sort of holiday is best suited to the sociable.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Julia Stevenson

    Manaslu Circuit

    This is a highly recommended adventure. The Manaslu Circuit is all it says it will be and much more. It is a truly spectacular, isolated circuit around the world's eighth highest mountain but weaves through sub-tropical settlements, before climbing into bamboo and rhododendron forest and ultimately, opens out into moraine, glacial lakes and majestic panoramic views of Manaslu, Naike, Peak 29 et al. If you like your treks remote and rugged, this is for you but don't leave it too long because the Manaslu circuit is already beginning to attract attention and in a few years may be as popular as its neighbour, the Annapurna Circuit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were far too many high points to pick out a single moment. Reaching a Tibetan style village for tea and for the first time, seeing the whole of Manaslu and neighbouring peaks before us. Rapidly escaping the chaotic urgency of a yak on a mission and then, from the safety of a wall, watching it break into a stone courtyard to raid the meal of other young life stock. Fleeing for a second time, as the yak was rudely evicted. Witnessing an elderly woman carefully light and attend to butter lamps in gloom of a monastery. Watching shooting stars from the lofty perch of the camp site at Dharamsala. Getting up at 3am for the climb over Larkya La. Stumbling along into freezing driving sleet, head torch carefully trained on the ankles of the the trekker in front of me, aware of the silent brooding peaks unseen in the darkness. The windy euphoria of reaching the long awaited summit prayer flags and the sublime views looking across and down. The glorious walk to the beautiful glacial Pongkar Lake. The unparalleled views walking down the valley to Burdin Khola.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Unlike others in the group, I had never been on a trek with Valerie Parkinson but found her to be extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about all things Nepali. As noted elsewhere, Valerie was the first British woman to climb Manaslu and has also reached the south summit of Everest. She was encouraged to talk about her experiences over a mug of tea post dinner one evening. This too, was a highlight.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do buy a Steripen. I too was sceptical and drank my first two litres of Steripened water with some trepidation but I survived. Don't eat the spaghetti in tomato (?) sauce at the lodge in Samdo. I did and for some days rather wished I hadn't.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my third Himalayan trek and the one I have enjoyed the most. Thank you to my fellow trekkers for their humour, warmth and camaraderie but the biggest thanks goes to Exodus, Valerie and the boys for a well organised, very memorable adventure.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Andrea Redgers

    Ancient and Modern Japan

    Really interesting and varied trip, an excellent taste of many aspects of Japan.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The contrast between the charms of the ancient castles, gardens and shrines and the modern sky scrapers and bullet trains . The courtesy and warm welcome of Japanese people in all the hotels, restaurants and places we visited.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ayaka was an excellent group leader going above and beyond ensuring we enjoyed and got the most from our time in Japan. She made sure we could find the most interesting things to see and do in our free time and teaching us to negotiate the wonders of the subway independently as well as suggesting good places to eat and shop for all sorts things and an idea of how to fit into the Japanese way of doing things. She also gave us good basic understanding of how the places we visited and the things we saw fitted into the bigger picture of Japanese history and culture. She rearranged our trains after the Typhoon closed some lines to close and made sure we didn't miss any of our itinerary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want an overview of Japan and its varied and fascinating culture book this trip. Remember to check the weather forecast just before you go and pack with this in mind. We encountered Typhoon Lan and were really pleased to have waterproof trousers and tops, Japan is green country and it does rain.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Steven Burris

    Great trip!

    It was a great trip, wonderful to see the animals in their natural habitat. Some long days of driving but well worth it in the end. Erellah was great leader, pointed things out that we would've never seen without his help. Wilson, Sam and Esther were great assets to the trip and made it all the more enjoyable. It was my first trip with Exodus and plan on more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing all the animals!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great and very well informed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect some long days of travel but worth it.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Deborah Terry

    Fabulous Costa Rica

    A great trip with a group of 16 which gelled really well and an inspirational guide and excellent driver. The itinerary was well-planned and we saw some varied parts of the country without endless bus journeys. All the lodges and hotels were good, and some very good, as was the food and of course the coffee. There was an occasional lack of hot water indoors, and too much rain and mud outdoors, but that's the rainy season for you. We saw a simply extraordinary variety of bird, animal and reptile life, often spotted by Chico as he drove the bus. Jorge's knowledge of birds and pride in his country were constantly evident. He arranged far more walks than the itinerary suggested so that we saw as much as possible. Overall a really excellent trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing baby turtles hatch and make their way across the beach into the sea at Tortuguera. Sloths ran them a close second. And then there were the quetzals....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jorge loves his country deeply and made a great job of showing it to us and telling us about it. Among other topics, I came back very well-informed on the education system in Costa Rica! And his knowledge of birds was wonderful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Two of the hotels are at quite high altitude and in late November it was wet and cold. Take warm clothes and bedsocks. A walking pole was useful on muddy walks, and decent boots are essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus - another great trip.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Stephen Lindsay

    A wonderful trip

    This 16 day trip in November 2017 covered much of the Costa Rican countryside and was focused on bird watching. It was very well organised, tour leader (see below) was excellent, accommodation and food were fine. We stayed in 6 lodges close to or within National Parks on both the Caribbean and Pacific coasts. We saw in excess of 250 bird species including the Resplendent Quetzal. It was everything I wanted and more. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several things stand out. 1. Seeing baby turtles hatch and make it to the sea in Tortuguero NP. 2. The variety of birdlife and their stunning colours. 3. The attempts Costa Rica is making to encourage tourism and protect its natural habitat.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Johnny Villalobos. Such a nice guy, hugely knowledgeable, hugely enthusiastic nothing was too much trouble. He could identify the majority of the native birds along with their call. Up every day by 5am to lead the dawn walks and still around at 8pm in the evening.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Weather. It can be very hot and humid: 30C and 92% humidity, to 6C at altitude in the rain forest. So be prepared for both extremes. Consequently in the rain forests it can be damp and your clothes are damp. 2. Photography. If you are a serious photographer you need 400mm zoom for the birds.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is graded as a 1 Leisurely Trip. A number of the activities are really a 2 - 500 steps down and back to the La Fortuna waterfall, Manuel San Antonio NP some of us walked for 8 hours, a good 5/6 miles of varied gradient tracks. But please note there are gentler options if you wish.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    dominique ALHERITIERE

    Annapurna Circuit 12 November - 2 December 2017

    A very good tour with an excellent team which was only fair when it came to the transparency of the costs and to a few below standard accommodations, even in the local context.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Obviously the mountain views and the friendship among tean members and with the staff

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Angeloo Sherpa was simply fabulous, discreet but always present, highly responsible and experienced, caring and competent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to impress on Exodus to see that the accommodations have the basic, minimum comfort. In four occasions, there was not even a nail in the romms to hang clothes. we were lucky that we had superb weather and therefore no wet clothe. Such sloppiness, carelessness is unacceptable.
Call us on 020 8772 3936