Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jacqueline Ramplin

    Exceeded all my expectations

    A wonderful week jam packed with sights, activities and wonderful experiences. It started with a fantastic trip to Jerash, an amazing Roman Town, and just kept getting better and better. The two days spent at Petra were outstanding, and the trip to Wadi Rum exciting and so memorable. The last couple of days spent at the Red Sea and then the Dead Sea were the perfect ending to an unforgettable trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the time spent in the desert, learning about the Bedouin way of life, and will never forget the camel ride to watch the sun rise - really worth getting up early for. That first glimpse of the Treasury at Petra as I emerged from the canyon is also one of those moments that will stay with me for ever.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim, our leader was just perfect. He had a huge knowledge and an understandable pride in his country - we all learnt so much from him. Nothing was too much trouble and he always went out of his way to make sure that everything was as perfect as it could be for all of us. He had a fantastic sense of humour and helped to make the trip an unforgettable one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take some warm clothing as it can get cold at night, particularly in the desert. Jordanians are really welcoming and friendly and I felt completely safe travelling throughout the country.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A truly wonderful holiday. My only disappointment was seeing all the rubbish/plastic at the sides of the roads - such a shame in such a beautiful country.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Sue Dean

    Exodus needs to do better

    Overall this was such a disappointing trip. Highlights - Golden temple in Amritsar; Wagah border ceremony; optional excursion to Taj Mahal; Viceroy toy train from Shimla to Kalka. Hotels - four out of the seven we stayed in were below an acceptable standard and were barely acceptable. In particular the Hotel Raj Mahal in Shimla was filthy and cockroach infested. Others were very cold, damp and smelled of drains. The other three hotels and the homestay were satisfactory. I felt that as a single traveller sharing a room I was often given the worst rooms in hotels and asked for room changes on three occasions. Itinerary - uninteresting for the most part although it sounded very interesting on paper. We were unable to visit several places as they were always closed on those particular days. Travel time between hotels was grossly inaccurate and we spent many more hours travelling than was scheduled.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Golden temple at night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Asif was polite and helpful however his diction was sometimes difficult to understand and he did not demonstrate a real passion for the role and his culture.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book this trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did not come to this holiday as a naive Westerner who was expecting Western standards. I have previously travelled in India so knew what to expect. The tour did not offer value for money and is grossly overpriced. The standard of hotels was overall completely unacceptable for the price of the holiday and were more akin to backpacking hostels.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Nicola Jenkins

    Excellent

    A great trip for those interested in the wildlife of the country, with some walking but also boat trips and viewing in the grounds of the lodges.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'm not sure that I can pick a single moment as every day threw up wonderful sights and interesting animals. However the view of a moving sloth in the wild was special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Coped with everything that the group presented him with and very proactive in dealing with any problems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do check that this is the trip for you. It is not hiking but spending time, sometimes in one place looking for the special view.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Amanda Stevenson

    First time snowshoeing

    I'd never actually heard of snowshoeing before so thought I'd give myself a change from my usual hiking/trekking holidays and was so glad I did. The scenery, food, location and walks were fantastic. I thought snowshoes would take a bit of getting used to but you soon master the technique and are able to walk through the most amazing trails. It was a fantastic week, helped by the weather, and a change to the usual walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day's planned walk took you through the most spectacular landscapes. We were blessed with good walking weather which enhanced the experience. Scaling the top of the mountains gained you a great sense of achievement, especially the ones which were quite steep and took some effort. You were rewarded with the most fabulous views at the top and Sara, our tour guide, always ensured there was enough time for photo opportunities and to catch your breath!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull was so full of energy, enthusiasm and her love of the mountains was obvious. She was a wealth of knowledge and her guidance on using our shoes was clear and helpful. Sara made the whole experience so enjoyable and was always on hand for guidance and advice. It seem't that nothing was too much trouble and she's so much fun to be around. She kept the group together and made sure that every day ran smoothly. She's a great tour leader and so committed to her job. I was amazed that she ran a foot clinic each morning prior to the walk to address any issues the group were experiencing as a result of the walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are aware of potential foot problems that may occur through wearing snowshoes. I didn't experience any discomfort but a few of the group suffered blisters and rubbing sores. Sara's advice was to soak your feet in surgical spirit prior to joining the trip to harden the feet up. Some feet were really sore and this could really have spoilt the holiday experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel Adler is a great base. The hotel is friendly and very well equipped. The menu and food choices were delicious. The food is of a very high quality. The breakfast and lunch selection are extensive which all adds to the quality of the holiday. I certainly didn't come back having lost weight! With the spectacular walks, the location of the hotel and the hotel facilities and, of course, the excellent tour guide, this is certainly a memorable holiday experience.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Walker

    A fantastic adventure!

    The trip was great from beginning to end, the cycling was great, the guides were knowledgeable, the support crew looked after us, the other adventurers were class acts and it was an amazing way to see Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the children of Cambodia cycling to school was amazing, in a country that has suffered so much this was heartwarming to see. Cycling through the rural Vietnam and seeing village life was a privilege and put the rest of the country into context.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Seen was outstanding, his knowledge, helpfulness, caring attitude and sense of humour got us all through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some sun sleeves, they’re like arm warmers but just keep the sun and uv off during the heat of the day, they’re like £6 on Amazon. Drink plenty of fluid, there’s always some on offer, don’t take clip on pedals you don’t need them. (IMO) take something to clean your water bottle and do this every night. Enjoy the company of your fellow travellers and don’t pack to much on our trip the lightest packer packed 6kg and the heaviest around 30kg. I came in at 12 and took way too much stuff.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was nervous about booking this trip, but it was the best decision I’ve made in a year, there was no reason to worry. I did no prep and had a fantastic time.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Samantha Cook

    Taj and Tigers!

    If you're short on time but want to see the key 3 of the Taj Mahal, Tigers and Varanasi this is the trip for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two very big highlights - the beautiful Taj Mahal at dawn and being lucky enough to see 7 tigers in Ranthambore NP.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Naveen is an excellent guide and just a genuinely nice person. He dealt admirably with our mixed aged group and it felt like he was one of us and not just the tour leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a fast paced tour! It's not a physically demanding trip but in order to see Varanasi, Agra, Tigers and Delhi in such a short space of time there are many hours spent in a coach and many early starts. However the rewards and sights you see are definitely worth the effort!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Elizabeth Jones

    Spectacular Galápagos

    From snorkelling with sharks, sea turtles and sea horses to watching giant tortoises, swimming iguanas, dancing blue-footed boobies, leaping manta rays, penguins and mating eagle rays, to trekking around a huge caldera and steaming volcanic vents… this island-hopping adventure to explore the Galápagos by land and by sea was a spectacular and unforgettable experience. The range of activities and places visited in this trip allowed us to fully experience and be captivated by the unique biodiversity and landscapes of the region. The wildlife of land, sea and sky is so abundant and diverse and allows for many magical interactions. It is fascinating to learn about the culture and history of the islands to more modern conservation efforts, such as the numerous breeding programmes of the different giant tortoise species. We got the chance to meet local people, taste local food and get off-the-beaten-track to be further immersed in the traditions of the different islands. It was truly an experience of a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inspirational moments were bountiful, but particular highlights were: swimming with many Galapágos sharks and a hammerhead at Kicker Rock (San Cristóbal) seeing Galapágos penguins, manta rays, dancing blue-footed boobies and swimming marine iguanas around Las Tintoreras (Isabela) snorkelling with many Pacific green turtles, sleeping white-tipped reef sharks and a sea horse at Los Túneles (Isabela) trekking up to the rim and around the impressive caldera of Volcán Sierra Negra to see many lava formations, steaming fumaroles and mineral deposits (Isabela)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Tour Leader was Pablo Montalvo from Ecuador. He is a very friendly and caring person and was very passionate about his role as a leader, giving time to everyone in the group. He worked hard to keep the trip running smoothly, coordinating with the numerous local people that assisted us. Pablo's knowledge and passion for Ecuador and the Galápagos Islands was exceptional. He explained in impressive detail about the marine life, plants, geography, history and culture in superb English, whilst joyfully helping a few of us hablar Español! Pablo went above and beyond to make the trip an enriching and unforgettable experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was great to have your own snorkelling gear (mask, snorkel, fins) for comfort in knowing they fit well and how to use them. Snorkel gear was readily available for hire on most islands. A rash vest and/or wet suit was a good idea for sun protection and to be warmer when snorkelling (45+ minutes in the water can be cold at certain times of the year). Cotton scarf/ sarong and secure, wide-brimmed hat were very useful on boats when you might be more exposed to wind and water spray and the sun. Waterproof jacket/ poncho and non-waterproof ‘wet’ shoes were useful in tropical downpours and wet-landings and walking on the islands. Take a good camera and underwater camera, with a lot of memory and rechargeable batteries. Take a good wildlife guide to help identify the many amazing animal and bird species. Take plenty of high factor sun cream as it is expensive to buy locally. Read the book ‘Floreana’ by M. Wittmer before visiting Floreana for the fascinating history of island life.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For the March 2019 trip, the 2-day camping trek to Volcán Sierra Negra on Isabela was modified into two one-day treks due to recent volcanic activity (Exodus had fully informed us of this before the trip). The second day was a longer trek of 24 km and some members of the group chose to do local activities and relax around Puerto Villamil instead. For those of us that joined the trek, it was an exciting chance to see many lava formations, steaming fumaroles and sulphur deposits, and enjoy a good physical challenge! The modified itinerary allowed for an additional snorkelling trip to Los Túneles, a series of interesting lava formations and the chance to see many marine species. Whilst I would have loved the chance to wild camp on the volcano, the alternative activity was a fantastic experience and became one of the highlights of my trip.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Mark Mills

    Cycling across Cambodia and Vietnam

    The trip took us through some rural scenery in the Far East. It was a treat to see the real country as well as the big cities. I was pleasantly surprised by the level of back up from the support team. They seemed to have thought of everything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It had been a bucket list thing for me to visit Angkor Wat. It was a serene moment when we first set eyes on the temples and even more so when a buddhist monk blessed our cycling team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Seen was outstanding. His professionalism, helpful nature and positive attitude was inspirational. Does this man ever have a bad day?!? He handled the situations presented by our group with discretion and efficiency. I give him top marks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My best advice is to pack only the basics. The bikes are suited to normal street shoes/trainers and there’s only a need for one water bottle on the bike as there are plenty of refreshment stops along the way from our snacks kitty. They even supplied electrolyte powder for the water. I took a tumble in Vietnam and destroyed my crash helmet in the process. Thankfully, my skull survived.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’m glad that the Exodus philosophy to responsible travel extends to home stays and stopping for lunch with local families. It’s great to support these communities with our custom. As a bonus, the food was delicious and authentic. I hope that you enjoy the experience as much as I did.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jane Hall

    A wonderful holiday

    Sri Lanka is a beautiful country with very friendly people. We experienced so many different things and visited so many places that gave us an insight into life in Sri Lanka. It was very well organised and it would be hard to see as much as we did without such a tour

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many inspirational moments it is hard to decide. Probably seeing blue whales and dolphins on a boat trip from Mirissa. Seeing the wildlife in Yala National Park including a leopard.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dileepa was a brilliant tour leader, very knowledgeable and approachable with a great sense of humour. There were personal touches that made the holiday extra special including playing traditional games in a village and watching Dileepa and some of the young men in the village play cricket. The driver and assistant were also extremely helpful.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Graham Williams

    A good trip

    An interesting and enjoyable walking tour of Madeira.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dramatic cliff walks and beautiful levadas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andre was excellent. We were all glad that he rearranged the walk on day 5 because of bad weather in the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went in March, when the climate was nice for walking but few flowers were out. Apparently late April, May or early June would be better for flowers but not too hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local tap water is good to drink and most of us had refillable water bottles to save unnecessary plastic waste, but both the hotels who supplied packed lunches included TWO plastic bottles per day, with no option to just have the food. The receptionists were not interested in my comments on this but it might help if Exodus had a word with the hotel managers.
Call us on 020 8772 3936