Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Stephen Meleady

    China Calling 🇨🇳

    What a great trip ! 6 hiking days and 2 days seeing the sights in Beijing with Pemma our Tibetan guide and our mixed bunch of 16, comprised of couples and solos making for a great trip to China. ( I didn’t book the Xian extension ) the hikes are tough as they are up and down the many ridges that the wall sought to protect and most are on the “Wild Wall” where we had the fantastic views all to ourselves, so expect some tender knees and sore calves as the days progress. Accommodation in the country is in friendly and comfortable homestays and Don Fang in Beijing is about 30 minutes walk to the Forbidden City and Tianenmen square etc. China is a real mix of old and new and the vibrant colours are a treat for the eyes. Ticking the Great Wall box with this Exodus trip was memorable and as is the case on many a trip there were only minor things that could be improved but take it from me, if you’re thinking of booking then take the leap, you’ll love it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Stairs to the Sky near Jiankou are scary, picturesque and a challenge to mind and body, but what a thrill !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pemna is a super guide, ever smiling, friendly but most importantly is putting you as his primary goal.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t underestimate it’s a tough enough hiking trip with more downhill setions than most

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It’s a great trip 😃 so go for it !
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Sarah Robinson

    Great holiday, but communication could have been improved

    The week was very enjoyable and there was a lot to see and it was a very varied itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Petra and seeing the Treasury for the first time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alaa was clearly very knowledgeable about the history of Jordan and the sites that we visited. He was very friendly and helpful if you asked him a question. He gave us the opportunity to see the sites by ourselves once he had given us an overview, which was good and made the holiday feel less rushed. The main issue I had with him was that there were a number of occasions with poor communication. For example: - He said that Dead Sea mud products were expensive at the Dead Sea resort but cheaper at a shop we stopped at later, but this was not the case and the price difference was substantial. - He didn't explain that it was possible to buy Dead Sea mud at the Dead Sea from vendors on the seafront and therefore that we should take money with us down to the sea shore, rather than put it all in the lockers 5 minutes walk away. - There was confusion about whether we needed to pack a separate bag when staying at the Bedouin tent, but our main bags were brought to the camp anyway, despite being told this was not the case. - At the Red Sea resort it was not explained that there were other options for food, rather than just paying the 11JD for the group buffet. It would have been nice to have had the opportunity to try different foods rather than just the standard bread, hummus, meat skewers etc. - We stopped at a shop during one of the drives, and Alaa didn't explain why he got out but we couldn't. However, these were minor issues and the vast majority of the week was very well organised and planned.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have fun - it's a fantastic and fascinating country. Bring some comfy shoes for Petra.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alan Staniforth

    Camels in a sandstorm

    A relaxing and very enjoyable adventure. First day of camel trecking was enhanced by a terrific sandstorm, followed by torrential rain that fell whilst we were sleeping outside in the Sahara desert. The guide said we needed scarfs to protect us if there was sand storms and we needed them (although at first I thought they were making fun of the travellers).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having what some would call bad weather, which made the experience more of an adventure. Spending time gelling with the group. Spiritual drinks. The Haman.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdul the 1st was very knowledgeable and took time to speak to all members of the group. Was also helpful when mine and another member of the groups bags broke.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a scarf at least 2 meters in length.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Denise Hall

    Cycling Drakensberg and Kruger

    This tour is not a race it’s about taking your time and embracing the scenery, culture and everything the trip has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the diversity of the scenery and the wild animals in Kruger.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tallis ably assisted by Vuyo were first rate tending to all our requirements. All the meals prepared by the leaders were excellent considering the facilities available to them, more than enough for everyone and dietary requirements well catered for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long challenging hill climbs but scenery is worth the effort.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Helen Hughes

    Camino De Santiago

    I enjoyed the holiday. The guide and driver were excellent but the cycle was just too much of a relentless grind for me.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Leon Cathedral

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Chose great places to eat and stop for coffee

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I thought it was more like a level 5 cycle rather than 4. Much more challenging than the coast to coast India trip we did earlier in the year even though that is a 4 as well. More off road than I thought there would be.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes were good and we had panniers which was helpful. The food in Spain was mostly excellent. I wouldn't recommend this holiday unless you really like cycle up and down hills. Luckily the weather was cool and sunny. I can't imagine what it would be like in the heat of the summer.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    M B

    Quiet walks in Spanish countryside

    Gentle walks in extremely quiet Spanish countryside with fantastic views from some of the ridges. Mostly flat with occasional climbs that varied between long but gentle or a few minutes ascent and then flat again .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing some of the views from ridges, the flat countryside with no construction for miles ( as far as the eye could see)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Xavier was very helpful and passionate about the birdlife. Always explained various species and also flora and fauna. Personally I like to be advised of distance completed / distance outstanding at breaks/lunch but when asked , Xavier always provided the information .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you choose not to have hotel packed lunch ( and many of us made that choice ) it can be a bit of an adventure finding which shop ( tiny supermarket , bakers ) is open before setting off for the walks daily at 09.45. The cafe/ baker in main square opposite Bar Tiki opens at 08.30 and has a range of empanadas , not obvious when peering through the window , in addition to sweet biscuits and cakes . Their hot chocolates were indulgingly rich and thick .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try to visit the College/seminary near to hotel ( opposite Princess Kristina statue) . Its compact but quite interesting and is comparable to the numerous individual chapels in Burgos cathedral.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Roselle Beard

    Three wonderful countries not to be missed

    Don't wait to visit Armenia, Georgia and Azerbaijan. Now is the time. This very interesting and thorough tour covering a large geographical area gives an in-depth experience into each of these three former Soviet republics. In Armenia, one travels from Yerevan in the centre, then south, back to Lake Sevan and on to the north to the cross the border. In Georgia, from Tbilisi, one radiates out from the capital to the North, West, East and South. In Azerbaijan, which is only for two days only Baku and a small area around can be covered. The only downside was a lot of coach travel albeit extremely comfortable as we had a 51 seater for 14 of us! I loved Armenia the best with Yerevan and its lovely Republic square, the brown dry barren scenic hills to the south, the vast expanse of Lake Sevan and the complete change of scenery to the north where it was green trees and UK type countryside. For me this trip, semi-completed a journey started three years ago. As in 2016, I visited the Baltic countries, Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. Then in 2017, three of the five Stans - Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan. And finally this trip. It is so interesting being able to look back and reflect on the difference between these countries, each one of which appears to be at a different developmental stage. What I notice the most having visited all nine, is the effect of their geographical location, the West to East/Europe to Asia influence on their individual progress, along with their proximity to their friendly or not-so-friendly neighbours. I would definitely recommend visiting these three and some of the other former Soviet republics as the more you see the more one starts to understand their history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In Armenia, the food and wine was amazing and tasted as food should. Each day we stopped for lunch at a small out of the way restaurant in a picturesque location and were experted dined to wonderful fresh salads, BBQ trout or meat along with freshly cooked lavash (flatbread). In Georgia, taking the cable car in Tbilisi just before sunset up to the fort and then having a beer in a small café overlooking the city all lit up.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All three group leaders were amazing. In Armenia, we had Rafik whose command of English was outstanding. As was his ability to impart in-depth knowledge about his beloved country. In Georgia, we had Nino who was equally good at imparting knowledge about her country and its numerous churches along with their saints. Then in Azerbaijan, Rizwan. We only had him for a short time, two days but he also excelled in his knowledge delivery.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For ladies, do take dresses and skirts. In Armenia and Georgia in late September/early October, it was warm, in the late 20C or early 30C with beautiful warm sunny days. I realise that most Exodus travellers wear trousers, but if you like wearing summer frocks, this would be your opportunity. You may be concerned about the churches but as long as your dress/skirt is at least below the knee you will be fine. For quite a few churches in Georgia, ladies without skirts had to don one from a basket at the church door! In fact this statement goes for all nine of the former Soviet republics, where you can wear exactly the same clothes as the UK. I made a big mistake when travelling to the Stans, as I thought ladies would have to cover up, long sleeves, long dresses but it’s not true. Also do think about taking sandals both for ladies and men. Some of the men on the trip were very envious that I had my walking sandals as they mentioned they wished they had brought theirs. If you want some presents, look out for the lovely pale blue moonstone jewellery. You can find these both in Armenia and Georgia. They make lovely presents. Also when visiting Signagi in Georgia, do venture up the main street and over the top, through an arch towards the city walls where there are a couple of shops selling cotton rugs (very similar to kilims) in beautiful colours and designs and ever so cheap. I bought two, one 4’ x 2 1/2’ for £5 and the other 3’ x 2’ for £3. I wish I’d bought more as they make great bedside rugs. Do seriously consider the Azerbaijan extension, which although being very expensive for what turned out to be only two full days touring, was certainly extremely worthwhile as it did complete the story between the three countries.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go now before things change too much. Georgia is on the waiting list to join the EU; Armenia elected a new prime minister in May 2018 who they hope will provide them with a brighter future; Azerbaijan has a massive building programme to increase tourism. They have been advised that oil will run out by the end of the century, and they need to provide the country with an alternative source of income.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Richard Crookes

    A good trip

    Trip started badly as I was unwell and spent the first day recovering. The course leader (Alkan) was helpful and arranged for the bus to take me to meet up with the other members of the group. I was coughing a lot when I started but this got better and i was alright by the end of the walk. Another "patient" was helped in the same way. The group was 17 strong and this took all his resources.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chance to see the underground city.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was always good humoured full of knowledge of all the sites. He was always prepared to come with us to see us ready to take on the system of shopping and other sightseeing. as well as available on the walks and meal times to give the instructions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of tea and coffee with you - the local stuff is undrinkable. Remember to buy some alcohol before the meal times!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Paul Bacon

    Amazing views but hard work

    A great trip through the Simien mountains, with spectacular views

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the baboons in their natural habitat as you walk past, you can watch them for hours they're so fascinating

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Messi and Suzie were great, and kept our spirits up even during the thunderstorms

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you bring waterproof liners for the kitbag. They arent very waterproof and when the rains hit, you know about it. Alot of our kit got soaked on the mules Also if on the group flight then try and fly out the night before and have an extra night before meeting the group. Due to flight times you land around 7am with little sleep on the plane, and the first few days are quite hectic. Alot of our group were tired from the flight. I know i would have appreciated a night before meeting the group to catch up on sleep

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The views are some of the best ive seen anywhere in the world. Its good to go after the rainy season as the fields are green and there is more plant life
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Andrea Stewart

    First trip with Exodus

    First day of walking was straight up. Not a very interesting route. I suggest you rethink this option. Sight-seeing day was fun, informative and well paced. Tiscali was a fabulous day. An alternative hotel would be a significant improvement. The accommodation was simple, but with 4 hours post walk before dinner, the ‘lounge’ was minimal. Meals were simple and far from expectations- dining in Italy should be a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great day going to Tiscali

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous! Energetic and personable. Alexi worked hard to ensure participants were happy and doing well

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A different location for the base of this trip should be considered. Why not reside in the seaside town 20 minutes away? How sad to have 4 hours after walking but to be no where near a beach? There are beautiful areas of Sardinia, but I don’t feel this trip includes them. I feel this itinerary needs a serious over haul.
Call us on 020 8772 3936