Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

67 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Adventure Coordinators

    Fantastic holiday

    Loved this trip - it was my first self-guided trip and my first trip with Headwater. They have a great selection of hikes to choose from, right from easy rambles to tough hikes. I did pretty much all moderate and more difficult hikes and the directions and provided maps are excellent. I stayed at Park Hotel Bellevue in Toblach (Dobbiaco) which is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Included transportation passes and time tables easily let you get around to all the trail heads and even to other towns in South Tyrol if you do not feel like hiking or if the weather is inclement.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many - I would say what will always stay with me are the momentous views. I have hiked in many different mountain ranges but the Dolomites are simply spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This was a self-guided hike so there wasn't one

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you travel solo, ask for an upgraded room. The standard singles are a tad small.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Hector Wells

    Taster walking of Amalfi coast

    Tony managed some difficult situations well regarding guests poor fitness and suitability for the trip. We found the wine on the table of very poor quality, and could not drink it. The food was enough but there needs to be more fish for to be able to be pleased with the food. The trip was well supported and organised, so that was good, but I would just say the wine needs to be better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mix of Walking to Positano and the boat ride home. That was good Clearly Pompei was mind blowing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony was able to manage difficult situation well and he supported the weaker members well so he was able to generate a team quickly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you understand the evening menus and your expectations Don’t be over expectant of the wine provided at the table. Ensure you are able to have enough water on the walks Ensure you are ready for a load of steps, so at least have some good fitness and good knee stretches

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nice team Helpful hotel staff Nice venue Nice village Public bus to Amalfi could be full up, so get on at the village square or ever an earlier bus stop if you are desperate to get to Amalfi on time
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Harvey Trop

    Bermuda in Seven Days and One Pair of Shoes

    This was an fantastic trip. If you like sandy beaches, azure waters, history, and good walking/hiking, this is great adventure. In seven days, you will see most of Bermuda and the daily itineraries can be rearranged and adjusted to meet your personal interests. The Bermuda bus system is excellent and makes getting from place to place easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunset on Elbow Beach was one of the highlights. Another was visiting Fort St. Catherine on St. Georges.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Since this was a self-guided trip, I can't talk highly enough about my leadership during this trip. [The arrival briefing provided by the Headwaters staff was excellent.]

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The South Shore hike is the longest and seemed much longer than the distance in the guide. I would recommend using the bus system to bypass some sections of the Railway Trail on this hike. Alternatively, you can choose to forego one or more of the side trips, especially Hog Bay. [Definitely do the Horseshoe Bay section, however.) Carefully read all the daily guide materials before setting out. Some of the directions are dependent upon distances and having a good pedometer is useful. However, you're on an island, so even if you miss a trail marker, you can't get too far afield.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly enjoyed my time spent on Bermuda. The Coco Resort dinner menu never changed. but you can mix and match starters and entrees to provide more variety. Also, the creme brule was disappointing, but most of the other desserts were good!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Barbara Dolynchuk

    HEADWATERS TUSCANY WALKABOUT

    The walkabout was lovely. The agritourismo, food, wine and walking were great. The problem with the walkabout is namely directions. The directions submitted by Headwaters need to be updated. Sometimes, they just DID NOT WORK. This is very frustrating when you're in a country that you are unfamiliar with, are on a walking trail that is already moderately difficult, and unsure if you are on the right trail (and sometimes we were not). In some instances street names which were available would have been useful. In other instances, it would have been nice if the directions had said, continue for 4 km or 3 miles (instead of just continue on until you get _______.). That was the biggest/only "frustration" of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenic views on the walks.....so astounding!!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stephano was fabulous. He is a very thorough and conscientious guy. Even with the language barrier, Stephano was easily able to make his directions or point of what he was discussing clear. He was ALWAYS on time for transfers etc and very easy to chat with from destination to destination.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To do the walks you must be minimally in average shape/conditioning. Some of the hikes are easy but some (especially one) is quite steep and quite physically demanding!! Overall, Tuscany is very hilly so there is no getting around climbing!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall, a trip of my lifetime. I enjoyed it very much. The 4 course meals are fabulous....sometimes too much. For example on one of the days we do a wine-tasting around 5 pm and then headed back to the Agritourismo for our 4 course meal. In retrospect, I would have asked the kitchen not to prepare a meal for me that evening because the wine-tasting we experienced was #1. fabulous #2. lots of meats, cheese and bread was provided to enjoy with the tasting. We were stuffed when we left.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Pam JELLEY

    Fabulous time...

    This holiday was made extra special for us by the professionalism and kindness of the Headwater reps - Tony & Ludmilla. The one day when we got soaked, they came to our rescue and collected us early with no no fuss whatsoever. Apart from that one day the weather was kind and the walks spectacular

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views from the headlands looking at the crashing waves

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your waterproof trousers - I had mine ready to pack and left them in the bedroom!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Alan and Sheila Rugman

    A great cycling holiday

    This was our first cycling holiday with Headwater and hopefully not the last. Everything about it was excellent: the route, the hotels, the bikes, the other riders and the Headwater reps, Tony and Ludmilla. We particularly appreciated the 'rest day' in Lagos after the first day's ride, to allow for exploration, and the shorter ride to the Atlantic coast from the second hotel at Pedralva.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the fantastic cliffs and beaches on the Atlantic coast, with huge waves and dozens of surfers. Another great ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tony and Ludmilla are cut out for the job. They were friendly and helpful, with lots of good advice and always hitting the right note. Top marks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to be reasonably fit for this tour, with preferably some experience of cycling off-road, but no need to be a Lycra merchant.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The above says it all
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Rosemary Gregory

    great gozo

    A great holiday. Ta chenc is a lovely hotel. Single storey buildings with very spacious room and bathroom. A fabulous choice of food at breakfast with plenty of choice for dinner. Staff very friendly and helpful. Gozo is laid back with a very good public transport system to get you to start walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the ancient monuments and magnificent churches along with stunning scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    NA

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not a huge choice for vegetarians at dinner in the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The written instructions for the walks provided by headwater were very clear and easy to understand. The best walk instructions we have come across. We were very impressed by the speed and efficiency of responses to queries to headwater.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mark Walmsley

    Huh?

    This was a very well organized trip that my wife and I greatly enjoyed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from meeting some wonderful people, the walk into Santiago de Compostela was awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Did not have a group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there are some mighty hills to contend with. Also, because on some days the proprietor of the accommodation needed to come and pick you up due to the fact that the accommodation was well away from the Camino, there was often a long wait after completing the days walk/bike. A bit of a drag when all you want is a hot shower and a beer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would definitely used Exodus again. Well organized and good value.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Marjorie Barnes

    SELF GUIDED CAMINO

    A fantastic trip with easy to follow detailed notes. No map really required. The accommodation and transfers arranged by Headwater were first class. Blessed with great weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The second day of walking going to O Cebreiro. The mountain scenery was stunning. Also the most wonderful groups of people met along the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't pay 30 Euros for a taxi from Madrid airport to Charmartin Rail Station. If you have your rail ticket to Leon then just go by free shuttle bus to Terminal 4, use the machines and get a free rail transfer to Charmartin. Staff are at the machines to help if you get stuck.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get to Santiago de Compostela Cathedral early as it becomes very busy. Be prepared to queue a long time in the office for your certificate/Compostela. Self guided was a great experience to be thoroughly recommended.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Annette Dawson

    Fabulous trip!

    The trip was well planned out and so very relaxing and enjoyable. The hotels and especially the food were awesome. Would absolutely take another trip like this.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The canoeing was so relaxing and fun. The scenery was beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trip was self guided which was what we liked.