Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

389 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2020
    Lucy Hockenhull

    Extraordinary landscapes and fabulous snowshoeing.

    Loved the snowshoeing. Each of the walks held interest and the challenges increased as the week progressed. We enjoyed the opportunity to sled down from Taistner Alm near Lutterkopf. Hotel Adler is wonderful with a lovely spa, fabulous 4 course dinners, picnic packed lunches and extensive breakfast buffet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every walk was unique and had its own appeal, but we especially enjoyed Monte Piano as the weather and views were superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Jenny had extensive mountaineering experience but was new to this area and trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Anyone with reasonable fitness can enjoy the walks but you really do need to be pretty fit to make the most of this trip.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Angela Lawes

    Very good trip

    We both enjoyed this trip which more than lived up to expectations. There was a good balance between activities and leisure time with options available for those who wanted more. Angela did a lantern class in Hoi An, for instance, which did not feature on the itinerary. Excellent and patient instructors - could provide an apron though as glue was involved! The boat trips were good - though wish use of non-plastic straws had prevailed throughout . Great cookery class at Red Bridge restaurant - we hope to reproduce some of the recipes over Christmas. The Halong Bay trip with a boat to ourselves was amazing as was the visit to all the temples in Cambodia especially Ta Promh with its sense of nature taking over. Excellent photographic opportunities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For Roderick the visit to the Ta Prohm temple. For Angela the overnight visit to Halong Bay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nam (Vietnam) was a very good group leader with a fine sense of humour once he got to know us. He had good knowledge of the places visited from historical and cultural aspects to advice on footwear, toilets etc. He added personal touches such as telling us of his family and presenting a rose to a group member who had a birthday. Boray (Cambodia) was similarly a very experienced group leader, who managed to fit in a great deal into our very short visit to Cambodia. Particularly notable was his obtaining return flights for two group members who had a family emergency, for which he is to be commended.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Suitable footwear for climbing steps, uneven ground and slippery conditions. A range of clothing to suit tropical and cooler conditions. Carry a few sheets of toilet paper. Water can be carried onto internal flights in Vietnam.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Possible inclusion of rail journey Hanoi - Da Nang to visit Hue would have been a welcome addition for us and others on this tour.
  • Reviewed December 2019

    Fantastic way to see Nepal

    Booked this as wanted to see Nepal without roughing it. Far exceeded my expectations. A great taster of several regions, the culture, fabulous scenery and wildlife of this incredible country. It may not be heavy trekking, but you still need to have a good fitness level for all the uneven steps and relentless ups and downs. It is pretty full on if you make use of the optional trips in free time, but there is so much to see. Kathmandhu is pretty much as you imagine, and as little time spent there as possible is probably a good plan, it was the least impressive hotel, dirty, crowded and polluted, but still has areas of culture and history worth a look. When the new airport in Pokhara opens, that might mean you can fly there which would reduce the long and 'exciting' road trip. Pokhara was a much nicer place all round and could have spent longer there. Chitwans wildlife was also amazing, we just skimmed the surface on this trip, could have easily spent longer there. The lodges are of a great standard, although unheated, so you need to dress accordingly. The food was far better than I anticipated, and with happy hour, I failed to lose weight or detox on this trip! The trekking was mainly off the main paths and as it was end of season, we saw very few other tourists either on the paths or in the lodges. It was only a group of 7 and felt like a very personal trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many to choose from! 1. The beautiful mountain scenery. We were very lucky to have 3 days of clear blue skies and stunning snow capped peaks. 2. the rural scenery of terracing and little villages with in depth viewing of the culture and local communities 3. The fabulous Nepali food, if you like curry and spicy, this is foodie heaven. There is plenty of it and all great quality, I had no stomach problems at all which was a nice surprise. 4. The lodges were amazing, so hospitable and well catered in stunning locations 5. Rhino viewing in Chitwan, some great encounters and some beautiful bird life plus the gharial breeding programme

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Keshar was a very experienced leader of 20 years. He was calm and competent with an amazing knowledge of everything that Nepal could show us, from the culture, food, restaurant suggestions and paths through the mountains. Couldn't fault him. He is very passionate about his country and supporting a lot of community projects. Would highly recommend him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit for the trekking else you won't enjoy it. Be prepared for all weathers, pack light but need clothes for freezing to sunbathing! We had from 18degrees sunshine, to relentless rain and thunderstorms in Chitwan. Be open minded as things don't always go to plan with travel in Nepal. The roads are rough, the traffic is completely terrifying and whilst distances are short, travel times are long. We had a car accident and had to spent half an hour waiting for negotiations into who's fault and who should pay! As the Dhalai Lama says, cultivating patience and tolerance is the key to happiness...…...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a trip of a lifetime, it's cultural, physical, and spiritual all rolled into one. It opens your eyes, and exercises the body, mind and soul. Highly recommended. Not a softie trip, this is still trekking...…..but be prepared to be blown away.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Lazzaro Amanzio

    Porto to Lisbon bike tour October 2019

    It was a great tour along Atlantic coast with good weather, many good views, excellent guide and driver and great&fun group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day we arrived in Nazarè with beautiful views of the ocean and of the beaches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruben (our guide) was great. Always smiling and having a good word for every person of the group. He supported the all group very efficiently and in a friendly/professional manner.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some bike training is recommended before to start the tour due to some hilly parts and eventually rent an e-bike to have full fun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to mention Tiago (our driver) for taking care of all the logistics and food along the all week in a very professional and friendly manner.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Ron Hunt

    TNX191008

    Great trip fulfilled all our expectations. The trekking was hard work but the scenery made it all worth while. The guide was excellent as were all the porters and local guides. And really appreciated the comfort of the lodges and the good, varied foods they provided.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sunrise views of the Annapurnas from most of the lodges, especially Himalaya Lodge in Ghandruk and Basanta Lodge in Dhampus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Prem Gurung was excellent. Extremely knowledgeable and friendly, he made sure that everyone who needed any sort of help was looked after by himself or one of the other guides/porters. Attentive and professional in everything he did. Nothing asked of him was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't need to take much in the way of protein bars. On the hard trekking days the lodges provided a substantial mid morning snack. And had no problems with runny noses, so brought home lots of packs of tissues.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    4 of the Ker and Downey Lodges didn't provide Wifi, although there was a signal in their village. Should be rectified for luxury lodges.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Paul McGovern

    Stupendous Trekking

    This trip was inspirational. The scenery, the challenge and the group combined to make this one of the top trips provided by Exodus. Our leader was excellent. His knowledge, storytelling and ability to read the group was outstanding. It was an extremely diverse group but the leader pulled it all together admirably. I would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Treks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl was super fit and highly trained. He handled the group so well and had my total confidence.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring poles.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Celia Murray

    Perfection in Portugal

    Fantastic week of cycling, sightseeing, good company and excellent guiding in coastal Portugal.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fantastic sunsets over the breaking waves of the Atlantic Ocean. Great seafood and wine. Boutique accommodation, especially the Literary Man in Obidos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruben is an exemplary ambassador for his country. He is a remarkable and engaging young man. I doubt we have had a better leader in any previous Exodus trips. After a leisurely first day's ride he was able to accurately gauge everybody's level of competency and ensured that each individual had the best experience possible. He was well supported by Rafael who was in charge of transportation and excellent picnics. Between them their calm and friendly nature made our whole experience delightful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book an extra night in Porto at the start of your holiday. It is a smaller city than Lisbon and easier to explore on foot. We ate in Volta e Meia in Figueira da Foz on Ruben's recommendation and it was fantastic. If you want to go as a group be sure to book as it is very small and intimate. The first 2 days of cycling are predominantly flat and easily managed by infrequent cyclists. The following 3 days are more challenging so either get some practice in, hire an e-bike or take up the offer of a ride in the support van for the longer hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't forget the sunscreen, an extra layer for chilly mornings and evenings and padded shorts. A fantastic holiday, our only constructive criticism is that we would have preferred a later transfer to Lisbon to allow us more time to explore Obidos.
  • Reviewed October 2019

    Outstanding Experience

    We altogether delighted in the entire Dolomites experience. The staff were well disposed and productive. Food was in every case crisp and tempting. We were additionally satisfied with the way that we could make up and back our very own snacks from the morning meal buffet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Monte Piana Trekking
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Pete Collins

    As spectacular as hoped!

    Having wanted to hike in the Dolomites for some years, I finally made a point of doing so, and it didn’t fail to impress. If you have an appreciation for spectacular mountain scenery and beautiful lakes, you won’t be disappointed. And when you couple this with exploring fascinating tunnels and trenches dating back to the First World War, explained by the knowledgable tour leader, together with stops to indulge in local delicacies such as apple strudel and kaiserschmarrn and the great hotel accommodation, it all adds up to a fantastic week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking to the top of mountains and cherishing the peace, tranquility and majesty of stunning 360° views... while enjoying a picnic lunch :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Karl was very good. Having been a leader of this trip for many years, he has a wealth of knowledge of the area, mountains and trails and the history that goes with them. With this experience, Karl was aware of timing and watchful of the weather but the pace of the walks was never rushed. He also has a great sense of humour that can be ‘playful’ at times 😀 and is genuinely keen to make sure you are enjoying the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles are always useful for this type of trip but were invaluable for the trickier parts of some of the trails.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the rest day, it’s worth considering getting the train to Bruneck/Brunico and exploring the castle and Messner Museum inside it - this was a fascinating and pleasant surprise.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Janet Hoptroff

    A Very Special Safari

    My first Safari, and every day a new magical experience… photographing wildlife. It really was exciting and a privilege to be in close proximity with so many different animals in this wild beautiful conservancy (and with few other tourists around).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To be allowed to share the home of these incredible animals in the company of Wildlife and Photography experts Paul Goldstein and Chris Packham really was ‘something very special’… and inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein and Chris Packham, our leaders, are Wildlife and Photography experts and inspired us to take brilliant photographs… They gave some great advice on achieving that ‘special’ shot.. They were delightful company, helpful and full of suggestions to help us improve our photographic skills. They made the holiday very special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you love Wildlife and photography, this is the Safari for you! Go and experience this fantastic trip, the magic of the animals (there are so many to see) and the comfort and fantastic food of the Bush Camp.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It really was exciting and a privilege to be in close proximity with so many different animals in this wild beautiful conservancy (and with few other tourists around).