Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

77 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Anne Schofield

    Bucket list trip

    Since a child, my imagination has been full of the stories of Pompeii, Vesuvius and the Roman Gods; as I grew older, the romantic delights of Italian food and scenery also inspired me. Finally to have the chance to see it all without the stress of planning a complicated itinerary, having just returned from out first amazing holiday with Exodus, I booked this holiday as soon as I read about it. An impulse never to be regretted!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the cobbled streets of Ravello during a spectacular thunderstorm and diving into a delightful pizzeria for lunch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A seasoned professional, who knew his surroundings intimately and was able to forecast and nullify any potential problems, before they occurred. He also had the greatest dry sense of humour!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even during the spring and autumn, be prepared for crowds; this part of Italy is busy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is suitable for all ages of adults. However, we wish we had known that the more energetic walking Exodus holidays run in tandem from the same hotel- as a couple, my husband would have been able to walk miles in the mountains and met up with me in the evenings.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Sharon Toop

    Wonderful holiday!

    The varied itinerary, stunning scenery, and friendly and comfortable base at the Hotel Due Torri in Bomerano (with lovely poolside bar and excellent four-course dinners!) all made for a memorable holiday that exceeded my (already high) expectations. We packed a lot into the week, but the pace was not overly rushed with plenty of free time both in the places we visited and at the hotel in the late afternoons/early evenings. The small, friendly group (18 including people from Canada, the USA and Australia) and our brilliant guide, Eduardo, also contributed greatly to my enjoyment of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not necessarily ‘inspirational’, but so many unforgettable memories for different reasons! Herculaneum, Pompeii, and Vesuvius (optional trip on the free day) had long been on my wishlist; the walk on The Path of the Gods was amazing and not as difficult as I’d feared (and our delicious lunch was a totally unexpected delight!); medieval Ravello was my favourite of the towns we visited (not overly touristy - don’t miss the duomo and its museum); the chairlift ride up Monte Solaro on Capri (so peaceful and awesome views at the top); the two cookery demos in the hotel kitchen; the visit to the cheese maker in Bomerano before the walk on ‘The Path of the Gods’; ....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo is one of the best! We were a good group in terms of timekeeping but his organizational skills are excellent and his friendliness, humour, and sense of fun all helped to make the trip extra-special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The optional trip to Vesuvius (with delicious wine tasting and lunch afterwards) was great despite the fact that the rim and crater were shrouded in mist. Do make sure you get a guide when you reach the rim - ours was a mine of helpful information. Only 6 of our group did this option - Eduardo had told us that Sorrento was even more touristy than Amalfi and Positano, so we were happy to give it a miss. The paper mill/museum (optional) in Amalfi is well worth a visit if you have an interest in the history of fine papermaking. Even if it looks a bit scary, the chairlift (single seats) on Capri is amazing (15 min up, 15 min down with as long at the top as you want. Do try a limoncello spritz at the hotel bar - it’s very refreshing and also addictive!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you, Exodus, for yet another fab trip - my fourth with you so far - and I hope to travel with you again before too long.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Linda Goodare

    Walking the Amalfi coast

    An excellent week's walking along the Amalfi coast. There were some challenging steps down to the coast- over 2000 at one point but the views were spectacular. Staying in a village away from the hustle and bustle of the coastal towns was a bonus and the hotel was excellent. The food demonstrations were great fun and very interesting. The staff were very friendly and helpful even providing some rice to put our wet phone in! We paid for a room upgrade as it was a special occasion and we had a lovely balcony and beautiful bathroom. We found a walking pole was useful on some of the walks to give extra stability on descent and on the slightly rocky parts. The Walk of the Gods was stunning and we enjoyed the fruit drinks at the end!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk of the Gods with the amazing views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was excellent and very informative on the area. All the group completed all of the walks thanks to his encouragement and allowing us to pace the walks so everyone kept up.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a walking pole and a sun hat or cap as the sun reflects off the limestone. You need to have a reasonable level of fitness to enjoy the walks. The food is outstanding so don't snack too much during the day as the packed lunches are substantial

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An excellent week's holiday with an opportunity to swim in the sea at Amalfi
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Liz Gaynor

    Beautiful Amalfi

    Fabulous part of the world, fabulous company, beautiful food. Well organised by Eduardo our guide, and well looked after by the staff at the Hotel Due Torri.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The endless opportunities for picture taking as a result of encountering some of the most spectacular coastline in the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was an absolute pleasure, clear, amusing, organised and his main focus was ensuring that or trip was the best it could be. Mille grazie Eduardo.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will definitely looking to Exodus again ... I am feeling China and Greece finding its way into my calendar.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    BELLA RICHARD

    Acg

    Good mix of people Excellent team leader Good food Bad internet No warning that hotel does not have a lift

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Capri trip

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent Caring Mature attitude

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully especially about the walk

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Include sorrento and half day on the beach
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Tony Bees

    Exactly what we wanted

    Good group dynamic with a friendly knowledgeable leader

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The lunch in an old hut overlooking the sea after a good walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Virginia was great, attentive and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the hotel should put a room at the disposal of departing guests for showering, given the late afternoon departure. This is common practice in some other hotels. Having said that the staff were truly excellent and really friendly, particularly when offering us a drink and a piece of Giovanna's birthday cake.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Lisa K

    Amazing !

    I loved everything about this trip. It was my first solo trip out of the country so I was a little nervous but it far exceeded all of my expectations and I was worried for nothing. Eduardo, our tour leader was wonderful and I made life long friends in our group. The itinerary was perfect taking you to all the amazing sights around the Amalfi coast. You return to the hotel late in the day with a couple hours to shower, relax, have a drink or two by the pool before dinner. Each day is a combination of guided tour and a little bit of free time to wander around on your own or with others. Transportation is completely taken care of even on the free day but some of it is an additional cost you pay that day or the night before. Well worth it to not have to deal with bus and ferry schedules and have it all taken care of for you. Driving is crazy there as are the lines so this was really convenient. The sights were breath taking, each place being more beautiful than the last. The food at the hotel is literally to die for. Each meal is delicious as is the wine. The rooms are comfortable, the service is excellent and I cannot say enough good things about our guide Eduardo who is so proud to show off his country, is charming, fun, funny and beyond welcoming. He knows everybody ! Our group had a blast together and Eduardo made sure everyone had fun. On the last day 5 of us went on a bus to the Naples train station, 2 to get on a bus, myself to board a train and 2 others to get to a hotel in Naples. Upon arriving in the parking lot we were confused about where to go and all of a sudden out of the crowd, Eduardo appeared running toward us, having just dropped others off at the airport, he wanted to find us to make sure all of us knew exactly where to go like a super hero appearing out of the chaos just to help us and say goodbye again ! There were amazing things to see at each place and then a little bit of time to enjoy a drink, gelato or wander in and out of the shops.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved everything. the quiet beauty of Ravello, taking the cable car up to the top of Capri, the sapphire blue water everywhere, the amazing lunch while hiking the Path of the Gods. I do not think I can pick a favorite out of everything I saw and did. This area of Italy is truly spectacular. Pompeii and Herculean are very interesting, the color of the water along the coast is breath taking, Positano and Sorrento are utterly charming...it goes on and on. The beauty of the entire region was completely inspiring

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was fantastic. So knowledgeable, fun, funny and engaging. He had terrific energy and made sure everyone had fun. He talked and laughed with each person individually as well as with the entire group. It was a fabulous experience and he made it all the more special. I can't say enough great comments about him and the entire experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Italy is very hot at the end of June/beginning of July plus the heat wave this year. Bring cool clothing and sunscreen. A day pack to carry water and sunscreen was helpful and a hat Most everyone changed for dinner because you wind up back at the hotel, also bring something for the final night which is a farewell dinner Bring extra money for the additional items not included in the tour. ATMs are everywhere Bring a bathing suit if you want to enjoy the pool at the hotel Exodus caters to the group from England so the bus doesn't leave until the end of the day on the last day because of the flight back to England. If you choose to leave sooner to go somewhere else ( I took a one hour train back to Rome) you will have to pay for it on your own or share the cost with others in group. Exodus transportation is only for this exact time. It was not a problem to ask Eduardo to arrange transportation and 5 of us shared but I felt it was a bit unfair Exodus charges anyway. The path of the Gods is not easy but it is doable. The hotel has walking sticks. I thought it was helpful because some of the rocks are high to climb up and down. Eduardo was also there to lend a hand. In the heat a lot of people were huffing and puffing but the scenery and the lunch were well worth the effort. I'm so happy I did it ! Try a limoncello spritzer, eat everything, stop for gelato and try a new flavor every day. Take tons of pictures!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was an amazing trip of a lifetime
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Mel M

    Fabulous! Great value for money!

    I absolutely loved this tour! Got to see all the gorgeous towns and beautiful views of the Amalfi Coast. Our guide Eduardo was a real gem! So were the drivers and the hotel staff. The hotel food was great! The location of the hotel was pretty too, and the town itself was a gem.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sorrento and Ravello were my favourites...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was amazing!!!! Can't fault him at all!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The roads are very windy. I didn't mind, but thought to mention it for anyone who suffers from motion sickness. A reminder to anyone who does this tour during one of the hot months; remember to stay hydrated and wear loose clothing as we do a decent amount of walking. Do try to have a lemon sorbet in Positano

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did work out the cost of touring the Amalfi Coast on your own, before booking this tour, and this tour turned out to be much more cost effective and the only tour I found online that sees so much of the Amalfi Coast!! It's worth it! ;)
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Greta Hughes

    Amazing!

    One of my top 3 holidays for sure. A brilliant blend of seeing the beautiful sights of Italy and some relaxing time thrown in. Met a brilliant bunch of people in our group along with my friend I travelled with. Our hotel was perfect too, could not really fault anything! Apart from some scary heights on the Italian roads and viewpoints!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I thought Ravello was gorgeous, so peaceful and tranquil and breathtaking!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was a top guide, funny, knowledgeable, helpful and so proud of his country. He really helped make the week the best it could be.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sit on the side of the coaches away from the scarily high views if you’ve a fear of heights!! I have a little bit so it turns out but still loved the whole trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy the trip, it’s fabulous!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sarah Dallinger

    The perfect trip!👌

    This was a great trip! It was very well organised and we had a great tour leader in Edvardo. He was personable and very funny.it was a good mixture of leisure and walking. I would thoroughly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Pompei as I learnt a lot and found it very eye opening

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edvardo was a fabulous group leader. He was funny, down to earth and personable. He was very helpful when organising the free day too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take lots of summer clothes if you go in June!! It was so warm! Make sure you get Edvardo as your leader! Chose the highlights trip, it is just the right balance between walking and leisure Bring extra spending money for transport costs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It might be worth adding in the cost of transport for Capri into the overall cost and aldi giving everyone an idea of what transport to Sorrento will cost I.e 45 Euros so they bring extra money for that Overall I loved the trip, we had had such a lovely group of people and now we have a I-lights - posh and lazy whataspp group. 🤗😊