Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Kathryn Forrester

    Week in Jordan.

    The perfect introduction to this fascinating and beautiful county. Only put very good due to the hotel choice in Amman, it was not the one we were expecting and not the quality of the one we had originally been booked into. This was down to the local company not exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra, 99% of the group said this was the main reason for going to Jordan, and it certainly lived up to and in most cases exceeded expectations. I loved little Petra a nice little surprise. Floating in the dead sea is an experience not to be missed. We were there around sunset which was beautiful to watch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhair was the perfect ambassador for Jordan. He was passionate about his country, it's culture and history. He was very knowledgeable and keen to share this with us and other who wanted to listen, this was great. Everywhere we went people knew him and spoke highly of him. He gave us good tips on places to eat, places to visit in our free time and took great care of us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Jordan is more expensive than you'd expect. The group meals generally cost around £20 per person. There are other extras that are not so clear in the trip itinerary such as ,camel riding at Wadi Rum, boat trip in Aqaba and 'snacks' on the road trips sections. Although generally less conservative that other middle Eastern countries suitable dress is essential especially in Aqaba, avoid public beaches unless covered suitably. That being said as a single female traveller I had no problems at all, unlike other countries I have travelled in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You need to be fit! Take comfortable shoes for the walking in Petra and a reusable water bottle. Remember its your holiday so don't be afraid to ask the guide for things you want.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Robert Gray

    A Week in Jordan,our 1st trip with Exodus

    I have rated our "Week in Jordan" as Good,rather than Very Good,on the standard of the Hotels we stayed in throughout the trip. We enjoyed the company of our group of 20,and the craik was always good.We had a good guide and an excellent bus driver,not to mention our ever smiling Tourist Policeman. In the space of the week we covered all the main tourist sites and I was delighted to find the Jordanian street sellers accepted my "no thank you" with a"Welcome to Jordan" rather than following me around. The Exodus organisation,from time of booking was excellent,and many of our fellow travellers were Exodus regulars.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'm not sure that inspirational is the correct description, but Jerash and Petra were the highlights of the trip as we expected them to be and our dip in the Dead Sea a photographic must. Kerak Castle a magnificent structure had us comparing with our local Carrickfergus Castle,built in the same era 1180,and how Moses must have felt standing on Mt Nebo looking across to "the Promised Land".............................. the downside, as is the case in many poorer countries,is the total lack of order,the rubbish dumped everywhere,unfinished buildings,enough! enough!.............and Aqaba would have been better left out of the schedule and an extra day in Amaan before returning home included.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No the Web Site covers most of it.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    lucy pollard

    Safe and friendly country

    We have just returned from our week in Jordan with no hesitation in recommending it to others. Its a welcoming, friendly and cultural "must visit" country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I was expecting the night in the desert to be my least favourite part of the trip (desert scenery isn't my thing and I thought the food and facilities would be low standard) but I think it ended up being my favourite and most inspirational day. Sitting around the campfire looking up at the stars (eating really delicious food) and then sleeping in a Bedouin tent was great fun. And the facilities were absolutely fine - I had a lovely hot shower in the morning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wael was incredibly proud and passionate about his country, and extremely well informed. He was skilled at making sure everyone on the trip had a good time and was always available to answer any question - even when we asked him some quite challenging ones on religion and human nature!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a good range of clothing to cover all temperatures and don't forget it rains there. Amman is quite high altitude wise so was far cooler than I expected.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Jordan is a moderate country and although it is very close to Syria it felt peaceful and safe. If you cant go a week without alcohol then take some duty free with you so you can have a nightcap in your room.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Ann Burnett

    A week in Jordan

    Thoroughly great trip!! This was my first Exodus trip and I decided to share a room. I did not regret this once, as my room mate was lovely and this added to the experience and meant there was no quiet time in my room waiting for dinner. There were 20 of us, which was initially worrying, but it all worked out very well, as we all got on brilliantly. There were 10 solos and 5 couples (including friends that had come together).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I am deliberately going to leave out the obvious places because you can read about them in the other reviews. I loved the boat trip on the Red Sea (for the scenery as much as for the snorkelling). I was surprised by the extent of Jerash - 2 large ampitheatres as well as many other sights. The citadel in Amman and the views from there were great. The Jordan people were so friendly at the Citadel and the sound of the call to prayer rising up from the city was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhair was very friendly and he organised us very well. I don't think we quite realised how much work he was putting in behind the scenes as it appeared effortless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As it has been said in other reviews, it was freezing in Wadi Rum in February. Don't hesitate to ask for as many blankets as possible. I was freezing and I was wearing a woolly hat, scarf and many of my clothes. Don't forget to look at the stars in Wadi Rum - only some of our group did this. If possible, do try to walk to the Monastery in Petra and to the High Place of Sacrifice. You can email Exodus beforehand to find out the age of the group and how many solo travellers are in the group. I did not do this but I would on my next trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food is more expensive than I thought, presumably due to the reduction in value of the pound
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Elsbeth Headley

    A week in Jordan

    A busy and hugely varied week in Jordan. Every day we did something and saw something new - I loved the variety of the holiday and the different experiences you can have in such a short time in relatively small country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many - but seeing Petra for the first time really was amazing. And we all loved it despite the freezing weather! Also getting a sense for the dramatic scenery of Jordan in the hills - this was something i wasn't really expecting, but the scenery was absolutely outstanding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zahair was a good leader. He was ill during the middle of our trip, which was unfortunate, but overall his passion for his country and his pride in it shone through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If travelling in the winter months, bring plenty of warm clothes. A sleeping bag for the night at Wadi rum is essential (not optional as the trip notes suggest!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group meals can add up to quite a pricey holiday....local options are always available but it means splitting from the group to eat. But local meals can be a third of the price of where you're taken with the group (ie to more touristy places). Some of the more budget conscious travellers in our group struggled to always eat with the group, which was a shame.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Christine Brookes

    "Welcome in Jordan"

    Was the constant greeting and we were certainly made to feel so (and very safe) "Hello. Look at that! " from our enthusiastic, knowledgeable and extremely accomodating local guide Petra was on most of our minds (made even more special by the fantastic 'reveal' by our guide - so very thoughtful) However our trip included so many other fantastic facets - Roman city of Jerash and peace and vastness of Wadi Rum

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Jordan Valley I had no idea that it extended to Great Rift Valley Quite humbling

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhir was particularly great at knowing what our group would find more interesting

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely come! Exodus travellers are from a variety of backgrounds but have a shared interest in a more authentic way of group travel A Week In Jordan is a great introduction to an extremely unique country, it's people andcustoms

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Aqaba was not particularly to my taste but mainly as I prefer off the beaten track locations Amman is an amazing city Would have been good to have spent a bit more time in local souks etc
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Alan Long

    A week of discovery

    There is nothing I can say about Jordan that others who have travelled to this country have not said before. We were a large group, 20 in all, age ranging from 20`s to 60`s but unusually with a large group we all got on so well together. We started our trip with a visit to Jerash, nothing could have prepared us for the shear volume that was there with even more yet to be uncovered, absolutely fantastic to stand there in the footprints of these ancient people who created these wonders. Onto the Dead sea, I thought it was going to warmer than it was but those of us who went in had a quick float around, a pity we could not see the sites in Israel over the other side of the sea as it was quite misty. Petra was next for us, the Treasury was revealed to by a trick the guide (Zuhair) played on us and what a site, although this is really only a fraction of what is there.We spent 2 days walking around, up and over in awe at the scale and colours, every corner revealing another site or view to take your breath away. Ah camping in the desert hold that thought, how romantic, after a 4x4 ride in the desert we climbed aboard our camels for a ride again into the desert. on our return dinner was prepared but due to a strong wind we ate inside a really smokey large tent. Those of us who brought along a sleeping bag did ok but the the temperature dropped and it was cold, yes it really was. To complete our trip we moved onto Aqaba which was different again, much like many sea ports in the middle east. I found this trip so enlightening and awe inspiring to be the best of the many I have been on with exodus, thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This has to be the 2 days went spent in Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhair, what can I say about this man, He was amazing, funny, a story teller,always there for us as a group. A truly great reason to go on trips like this, Zuhair`s enthusiasm for his country and it`s people comes over so well

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel to Jordan with an open mind and be prepared for a fantastic trip of discovery.
  • Reviewed December 2016
    Peter Healy

    Jordan - the Holiday That Just Keeps Giving!

    The trip ‘A Week in Jordan’ is an experience that can leave even the most literate and verbally gifted (‘gobby’) at a loss for the right words to describe it. I was part of a 20-strong group that seemed to get on unusually well. There were some seriously seasoned travellers amongst us, yet we all came to the same conclusions, the same thoughts: time and again the destinations proved to be far larger and far grander than we had imagined. Jerash (an introductory diversion I believed) turned out to be a wonder in itself. Huge in expanse, so intricately detailed in parts, and as yet still so unexplored. In the West the word ‘Biblical’ is often used to describe something enormously significant – in Jordan ‘Biblical’ sites are dotted all around – like puzzle clues to a hidden image too big for the mind to grasp. The landscape becomes more than background. It becomes a fiery crucible on which you can imagine humans struggling and suffering just to stay alive through key moments in History. This is a land that does not seem ‘tamed’ by humans. I suspect this quality is a factor in why so many of the world religions have had their genesis nearby? But that’s enough of the florid prose. Let us skip to the star of the show: Petra. No images, no movie scenes (and there have been many) could ever capture the mind-blowing scale of this site. The famous ‘Treasury’ (as seen in Indiana Jones, Sinbad, The Mummy etc.) is just a particularly pretty door… that leads into a house of ancient wonders. The two days spent here are a lifetime investment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra viewed from the Hills above.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zuhair is (officially) the 8th Modern Wonder of the World.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1) Bring a sleeping bag ig going late in season to Wadi Rum (I stupidly did not, and died of cold). People cried. 2) Learn a handful of phrases (Thankyou etc.) - Jordanians are much more into politeness than most. 3) Try to convince yourself that you LOVE the 4.30 alarm call. Then go back to bed.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Mary Wild

    A Week in Jordan

    Very interesting week. Gave me a feeling of what the country is all about and a better perspective on the Middle East countries in general.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Snorkelling in the Red Sea. The coral reef and the fish were an unexpected delight. Very good boat trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sami was very informative when he wanted to be. Obviosly very knowledeable but I think sufffreing from tourist fatigue. Some days I felt that he was just giving the blurb as he had done a million times before with no desire to promote a discussion or answer questions

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont go to the 'Dinner at a Bedoin House' - just a nice earner for Sami and his mate.Huge price for a plate of rice and gristly lamb. Also make your own plans instead of the group Turkish bath as you will get individualised service. The facilities are not designed for 15 people at a time . Several of the group dinners were also backhanders to mates I think.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The coach driver did long hours on challenging roads up the mountains . He did a great job
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Julia Downey

    An amazing week in Jordan

    Petra had been on my wish list for years and didn't disappoint. I hadn't done my home work and was a bit surprised by the scale: a twelve mile walk including the Monastery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bizarrely, the night in the desert where we caught the first rain of the year: the idyll of sleeping out under the stars was replaced by the wet dog smell of a Bedouin tent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sami was extremely knowledgeable and very welcoming.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy everything : Jerash, the Dead Sea, mosaics at Madaba, snorkeling in the Red Sea. These were all bonuses on top of Petra. I never felt unsafe in Jordan.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Veggies don't fare well everywhere: I needed my emergency Baby Bels, and bought some almonds too.
Call us on 0208 772 3936