Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Judy Pogson

    An incredible trip

    I have been on a few trips with Exodus but this was by far the best! It had everything packed into it and we saw some beautiful parts of such a diverse country. The trip was amazing from wildlife including elephants and lions in the wild, whale watching, ostrich farms, beautiful and an abundance of birds and oh what stunning scenery. There was a bit of everything and we did all the main attractions in Cape Town and such and interesting and poignant trip to the Township with someone who lived there. There was time to do some fab hikes to see gushing waterfalls and the vineyard was beautiful with some fantastic wines. Every hotel or guest house we stayed in was perfect for the place we were in and food and restaurants we had/went to were chosen carefully by Justin, our amazing Trip leader and his recommendations for food and wine were spot on so we ate like kings! Justin was the perfect Trip leader and made the trip what it was and I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The game reserve we went to was fantastic and we saw the big 5 which was delightful. Afterwards we enjoyed the camp fire and delicious food. I also loved the whale watching when we were lucky enough to see a whale and her calf...it was right at the end of the season so such a treat. I also loved going to Hermanus but it's difficult to choose my most inspirational moment as there were several.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin Barr is an excellent group leader. Not only is he fun, passionate about his country, as well as being very knowledgeable about most things in S.Africa and I learnt so much, he is also good at speaking as well as articulate but interesting as well. He is very well organised and so everything ran smoothly and nothing is too much trouble for him. He just gets on with everyone and is very approachable and personable and I have to say, the best group leader I've had so far. I'm pretty sure he makes the trip what is it and chose some excellent hotels and guest houses, restaurants and always gave good advice. 5 stars for Justin.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to do all the extra trips on offer including any hikes you can. Go to the amazing botanical gardens in Cape Town and if possible stay an extra few days to spend more time in Cape Town. Do the hikes and watch out for all the amazing wildlife. Sample as much of the unusual food on offer such as crocodile and ostrich and the delicious wines.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I feel that the trip should be 14 whole days as it really is only 10.5 as it takes 2 whole days to get there and back. I feel we could have spend 2 more days exploring along the route and maybe another for a game drive plus more time in Cape Town.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Andrew McGregor

    Excellent trip

    What a great trip. A good mixture of scenery, animals, the city and history. In most hotels for two or more nights and the drives were never that long. Difficult to fault it really. The accommodation was all good to excellent. Food was great and relatively cheap. A few 'free days' with optional trips as well adding to flexibility. The accomodation in De Rust (Jan and Theresa) was excellent and they were very welcoming and made amazing food (most of us went away with recipes at the end!). Would definitely advise an extra few days in Cape Town at the end - there's so much to do and see there. I had an extra three days but wouldn't have been bored with an extra five.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learning about the history. Safari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin, our guide, was exceptional. Kept everyone happy and was well organised and efficient whilst appearing completely relaxed (no mean feat!). Explained everything well. Very knowledgeable about the whole country from the history and the wildlife. Can't fault him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most places accept cards so don't need to use cash machines too much. Book a few extra days at the end. All of the additional trips are excellent - suggest budget to go on them all. (the second game reserve drive is a must) The weather is very changeable so worth having a warm jumper and waterproof (November departure) Accept you will put on a few extra pounds during this trip! Check and double check that you need to pick up bags in Jo'Burg prior to Port Elizabeth transfer
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jenny Trotter

    Brilliant holiday

    Have just returned from a truly memorable trip to South Africa from Port Elizabeth through the Garden route/ winelands into Cape Town. The holiday was absolutely wonderful mainly due I'm sure to our wonderful guide Justin Barr.He showed us the true Africa not the touristy one!. He is so passionate about his country you couldn't be anything but inspired by what you experienced. There was such a variation in the itinerary that you came away at the end of the trip with a true understanding of the country. I was nervous before travelling as I was a single traveller of 75 years,but I needn't have worried as Justin made sure I was ok at all times.The other travellers in the group were all like minded and we all gelled really well. I can't praise Exodus enough for putting together such a wonderful itinerary and providing us with such a caring and knowledgeable guide. I look forward to travelling with them again to another far flung country!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing so many animals on our 2game drives and zip wiring over 8 gorges at Storms River,!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely great,knowledgable,careing and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are single go for it you'll be fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure all your guides are as good as Justin Barr!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Deborah Marks

    A hugely varied trip.

    Just returned from this amazing trip. There was so much variety, from stunning landscapes to understanding life in the townships. We watched whales at Hermanos and climbed to see wonderful vistas on table mountain and the Cape of good hope. Our guide Justin was superb. He was able to lend real insight into the troubles and history of his beautiful country. He was so well organised and was a lovely person to be around. The day at Robbin Island, followed by a visit to the Townships was a humbling and emotional day with a lot of feelings to process. Our accommodation was all good. I loved staying in the huts at Wilderness, and dinning with the family at the guest house at De Rust was very special. Would highly recommend this tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved it all! But if I had to pick one thing, it would be swimming in a large rock pool with the sky and craggy peaks above me. Or seeing a whale alongside the boat. No, I cannot choose!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was probably the best tour leader I have had. Loaded with knowledge. He was able to add perspective to all our visits. He really did bring the trip to life with his enthusiasm and love for his country. Superbly organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be to just go! Relax, go with the flow and prepare to love every minute.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Susan Bowers

    Cape Town and The Garden Route

    A fantastic trip with a very varied Itinery that gave a great feel for the beauty of South Africa and what it has to offer. The trip leader Justin Barr had a really positive attitude for his country and added to the enjoyment of the tour by being such a nice person and did his best to please everyone. The accommodation is also varied and I loved it. The wildlife and scenery on this tour are fabulous and I would strongly recommend this trip if you are thinking of visiting this lovely country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick out one thing but the interaction between the different cultures was very heart warming. Also I felt very safe all the time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was the best, a lovely person who bent over backwards to make everyones holiday great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry you'll be safe and well looked after.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Alan and Tessa Hayes

    Cape Town and the Garden Route

    One of the most 'magical' trips we have ever been on. experiencing different locations and cultures, seeing amazing scenery and wildlife and learning about the 'real' S Africa. Travelling with like minded people was a bonus. Our group bonded together well, due in part to our amazing guide Justin Barr, who promoted the 'feel good' factor.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many, but seeing lions and whales close to, and visiting a 'community' were very special moments

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin Barr is simply the best leader you could ever have. He is passionate about the tour and his country and leaves no detail to chance. He was inspirational in finding the best places over and above what formed the tour and he looked after our every need. Thank you Justin, you are amazing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    S Africa can be hot and cold in 1 day. Take cool and warm clothes. Take the extra tours offered as they make the travel experience very rounded. Especially, do not miss the 2nd Game Drive on day 2. You see spectacular wildlife close up, and finish after dark with a great meal in a wonderful location. The 'township' (now called 'community') tour, gave us an insight into part of S Africa 2018 that we could not have experienced elsewhere

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A superbly well organised tour, thanks to all at Exodus, and especially to our group leader, Justin Barr. We are still talking about it all 2 weeks later! A magical experience!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Barbara Broomfield

    Brilliant!

    Excellent trip. Plenty of time at each destination to enjoy surroundings. Some early mornings but nothing too extreme. Accommodation good and very comfortable beds . Food amazing especially if you are a meat eater!! Highlights of the trip were Table Mountain, Hermanus for the whale watching and anything that included the dramatic coast. Cape Town was a fab city of contrasts and climate. Our guide Justin was incredible, his knowledge and passion for his country were humbling. We came away with a truly great experience/understanding of South Africa. Oh and it is very cheap!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hermanus whale watching. We did the organised boat trip which was great with a total remover 20 whales surrounding the boat. However the morning after there were 5 whales in the bay at breakfast frollicking in the water which was spectacular. I managed to get many photos of the classic whale tail.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin can't be rated highly enough. Nothing was too much trouble (not that we were any trouble!). Big smile all the time to the vast knowledge from history, politics, geology, flora and fauna. He was great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. You wont be disappointed.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Kathryn Smith

    Enjoyed every minute!

    The itinerary for this trip gives a good variety of activities at a reasonably relaxed pace. We stayed in each accommodation for a minimum of 2 nights which meant there wasn't too much packing/unpacking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The land-based whale watching was incredible. I honestly could not believe how close to shore the whales would be. The game drives were also amazing and I loved the cheeky little penguins on Boulders Beach. The botanical gardens at Kirstenbosch are worth a visit too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Justin was fab. His knowledge of the country, history, animals, birds etc was excellent and he brought it all to life by sharing details of his family life and growing up in South Africa. Justins passion and enthusiasm for his country was infectious. Watch out for his wicked sense of humour!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Think about doing some of the additional activities. I did the additional game drive that was offered - very reasonable cost, we saw lots of animals and had a delicious meal included. The kayaking at Tsitsikamma was hard work but fun.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Sue & Derek Brundish

    One of our best holidays ever

    The linear nature of the journey, flying into Port Elizabeth and out of Cape Town rather than in and out of Cape Town added outward time but importantly ruled out back-tracking which would have added travelling time unproductively and would have been boring. We were blessed with an exceptional tour leader (more later) and felt we enjoyed all events to the maximum possible with the best sub-contractors available. Long journeys were broken down into manageable chunks by inserting small stops and this allowed the driver recovery time and also added interest for the party. We were taken 'beneath the surface' on this trip with this leader and that added so much to our comprehension and enjoyment. The tour was well-paced with never less than two nights in one place so you did not feel you were 'living out of a suitcase' which would possibly have led to exhaustion, both physical and mental.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For both of us, the Langa township tour. The Democratic Alliance here in Cape Province (unlike the ANC in other parts of SA) is making a real difference to the lives of all the people starting from the bottom up with structured layers of building which provides incentive. We were impressed (nay, humbled) by the way people of all colours seem to be pulling together to advance the lot of all after the dreadful years of apartheid. Using two individual hand-picked locals found by our tour guide rather than just going to a tour sub-contractor again allowed us to get ' beneath the surface'. The passion they all showed was truly heartening and the lack of resentment, often commented on, was (again) humbling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Read the comments already given. In addition, Justin said he was 24 hours on duty for us. He had a chest infection needing medication but he didn't allow that to get him down or detract from his level of care to us. What more can we say? One in a million.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If Justin is your leader, listen carefully to all his advice e.g. 'Do not go on the Waterfall Trail in Tsitsikamma, it is too dangerous'. Be sensible - we aborted the Suspension Bridge walk in that park as we felt under-fit and too 'frail' to complete it - Take personal responsibility and don't end up embarrassing your Tour Leader. Go to South Africa with an open mind and this trip and this leader will open your eyes . We have had so much comment (starting with the taxi driver home from Heathrow) that 'You're one of the very few people who have come home with a positive view of South Africa; most people think it dangerous and going smartly downhill'. No preconceptions, please - If you go looking for the negative, you'll certainly find it in the poverty and the history; the future looks bright for SA to us provided the Democratic Alliance wins and the ANC go to the wall. There is enormous potential in this berautiful land and in the people.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Something which might be made clearer in the pre-information: Evening meals were our own responsibility but venues were pre-selected and booked by our Tour Leader to ensure no time wastage, quality and an overall experience. Lunches were much freer and we always had our own head and perhaps a little guidance now and then. A sensitive balance.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Kirrane

    Cape Town and the Garden Route

    A highly enjoyable tour of the beautiful Garden Route in South Africa culminating in the cosmopolitan hub of Cape Town bestraddled by the breathtaking vistas of Table Mountain, Lions Head. A wonderful adventure where game animals such as lions, rhinos, elephants, buffalos, warthogs, girraffes, zebras etc as well as ostritches, whales and penguins can be seen up close and personal and where beautiful forests, gorges, mountains, waterfalls, deserts, caves can be seen in all their glory. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who may be interested in visiting South Africa as this tour is so diverse and varied and gives the "adventurer" a stunning glimpse of this beautiful Rainbow nation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the varied wildlife of the game reserves, ostriches, whales and penguins up close in their natural habitats. Also had the opportunity of mingling with local South Africans in non tourist areas as well as meeting inhabitants of the Langa township. The group leader also gave a stirring recount of the history, culture and traditions of South Africa which helped to put to bed my own misconceptions of the country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was amazing from his organisation skills in organising in advance the activities, meals and accommodation to his vast and deep knowledge of South Africa. The group leader also helped to make the group feel at ease through his easy going , patient and pleasant demeanour and was very obliging when small issues arose with his ability to resolve them quickly being remarkable. I would embark on his other tours that he leads in the future.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this adventure, you will not regret it. Listen to the group leader as he knows so much and is available to help when required.
Call us on 020 8772 3936