Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2018
    Andrew Bennett

    Outstanding trip in Finland

    Superb trip! loved every minute of it. The activities, accommadation, food and staff were all excellent. Cannot fault a single part of the trip and would really like to do the whole thing again!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky dog sledding. Amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful, nothing was too much trouble at all. All staff were superb.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are in doubt about the coldness, all clothes were provided and they kept us warm all week. If you needed anything extra you just needed to ask. I am 6 foot 5 and everything fitted me fine.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Joti Dhami

    Finish Wilderness Week - Amazing adventure. Perfect.

    From start to finish this trip was a dream. If you are thinking about booking it - stop thinking and just do it. You will not regret it. The transfers, location, wilderness, activities, staff, comfort, rooms, food, activities, clothing - everything was perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learning new skills and surviving -30! Sleeping in a Quinzee Body rafting Husky sleding!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The staff were wonderful. Really caring and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You really do not need to take any clothes with you other than base layers and a jumper or two jumpers. Something warm to wear in the evenings - pair of jeans. I took the smallest bag and still used very little from it. Good warm sock. I would take a few good jumpers and sturdy shoes for the snow when walking from room to dinner. Saying that my boyfriend took trainors and we still survived. You don't really need much.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was perfect!!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Lisa Colton

    A fantastic trip!

    This review is for the week of 14th-21st January 2018 The whole week was truly amazing. Our hosts Martii and Tiia were fantastic and ensured we had the best holiday possible. Everyone's dietary requirements were taken care of and all of the activities were so much fun. For me the Husky dog sledding was a memory that will last me a lifetime. The Northern Lights made an appearance on the plane ride home which was the perfect end to a fabulous trip. If you want to know about it in more detail please feel free to click on the below link which is a my blog for the week! Enjoy! https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=4016466253369531842#editor/target=post;postID=5310183189617508352;onPublishedMenu=publishedposts;onClosedMenu=publishedposts;postNum=0;src=link

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky Dogs!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martii and Tiia - the best!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't wear a ton of layers if you go Fat Biking! Even I sub zero temperatures you will be boiling!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book this trip!
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Irena Rattray

    A unique and fabulous experience

    We have done several Exodus trekking trips and this caught our eye as an opportunity for a completely new experience and we were not disappointed. I have been raving about this trip to all who will listen ever since I came back. The scenery was beautiful and the environment offered a serene escape from the hustle and bustle of city working life. We got to try some new experiences in a relaxed way with Basecamp Oulanka staff who you could feel safe with and made some like-minded friends within the group. If you enjoy adventure and new experiences, I cannot recommend this trip enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had so many new experiences that it is difficult to pick just one but snowshoeing was so enjoyable and took us to places I have never seen before and that you could not normally access. I have never hugged a tree in my life and would have been sceptical beforehand but snowshoeing deep into the trees and hugging a tree and the absolute complete silence this gave us was truly magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were looked after by the whole team at Basecamp to make our stay comfortable but Teddy was our primary contact and took such good care of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It may sound obvious but it really is so very cold there in winter. You are very well equipped when you get there but if you have bad circulation, I would recommend arthritis gloves and knee high woolen socks - the group were great and rallied around with these things for me when it became apparent that my digits were struggling with the cold and it sorted the issue out splendidly.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Barry Dawkins

    Finnish Wilderness Week

    An absolutely spectacular trip with some of the best scenery ever. Although we did not see the Northern Lights we were not disappointed, nobody can control Mother nature. The activity's, ( included and optional ) were all incredible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment had to be the scenery when we were out dog sledding, I am so glad I can close my eyes and go right back there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders were tops, they go out of their way to accommodate everyone's specific needs, they put in very long days and really enjoy what they do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget to bring your sense of humor with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Working together with other members of the group to build the Quinzze was a great team building exercise.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Craig McArthur

    Unforgettable experience

    Recently returned from the Finnish Wilderness Week, staying at Basecamp Oulanka Jan 14-21st 2018 and it was without doubt one of the best holidays I have ever experienced. Firstly the staff, accomodation, facilities and food at Basecamp Oulanka are out of this world (special shout out to our tour leaders Martti and Tiia who were exceptional). The camp is located in the heart of the forest, surrounded by towering trees and a stones throw away from the lake! The activities included in this tour are also fantastic and truly 'once in a lifetime' (the husky sledding being the stand out). Theres a wide range of optional activities too which are reasonably priced and allow you to experience a new adventure every day!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Husky sledding through a pristine forest!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martti and Tiia were both fantastic, friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating leaders, and both should be extremely proud!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont take too many euros in cash as most (not all) of the optional activities are charged to your room (as are any drinks etc purchased from the bar) and the bill is settled at the end.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Hannah Reese

    The perfect winter escape

    If you're looking to get away from it all in unspoilt scenery, try out different winter activities, and generally have an experience you'll never forget, then book this trip. The location is beautiful, the staff are great, the food was absolutely delicious, and I didn't want to leave!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional snowshoe hike in Riisitunturi National Park was fantastic. The scenery was something I'd never seen, and everything I wanted to see when I imagined Finnish Wilderness. Also the silence in the forest, and exploring on snowshoes with others, or practicing cross country skiing alone. It's a perfect escape bubble from the rest of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teddy/Bjorn was great - very laid back with a great sense of humour. All the staff at Basecamp were knowledgeable and really friendly. The whole place has a relaxed and cosy feel.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it! If you like being outdoors, making new friends, and trying out new activities then you'll have a great time. You don't need any experience of the activities, just be willing to have a go. On a practical note: The afternoons are mostly free so you can be as active as you choose to be - either snowshoeing, cross country skiing, using the sauna and hot tub, or just taking a nap! Evenings were spent playing cards or boardgames, chatting, or reading by the fire. Drinks are available from reception - I recommend the cloudberry liqueur, or the peppermint in some hot chocolate! Optional activities can be quite pricey so do allow for that. You pay for everything on your tab at the end of the week. If you're not a downhill skier or boarder then Ruka doesn't have much to do, but I found the day spa and a nice coffee shop. A few others went snowmobiling. Wifi works in the dining room/reception (most of the time) and you can always use 4G in the rooms if you need to. Bring a spare power pack if you like taking photos on your phone. The cold will drain your battery quicker than at home. Basecamp really do provide everything you need to stay warm, and you don't need to pack much at all. Just a few sets of your own baselayers, hat and buff, and then jeans and jumper for the evening.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Sabina Heywood

    Truly magical experience

    This trip is a fantastic way of exploring northern Finland. The activities throughout the week keep you physically active so it's an ideal holiday for people who enjoy that! It's a beautiful location and the scenery took our breath away on several occasions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the activities included are fantastic but our highlight was actually going on our own 10k snow trek with the snow-shoes. There's lots of information at Basecamp provided. The dogsledding included in the Exodus package was another highlight! We also chose the full day of dogsledding but the included option had better scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bjorn is fab - lots of knowledge and a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a hairdryer if you use one...they have them at Basecamp but you have to keep returning it. Your own base-layers, hat and face buff are useful too. The wifi didn't work at Basecamp but it wasn't a problem for us as we used our 4G.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were slightly worried about being surrounded by kids who were also at Basecamp for their Finnish Family Week...but they did a great job of splitting up the two groups whenever activities were involved. Our meal times were the same but there's a lot of segregation so you don't have to be sitting with children should you not want to. We missed the optional Ruka trip and did our own snow-shoe walk, which was brilliant. Unless you want a ski lesson or try snow-mobile, Ruka is worth a miss.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Annie Beecroft

    A magical wilderness that stays with you long after you have left it behind

    If you want to run away and have an adventure then this is the ideal escape for anyone looking to be part of a small group and experience new things. I am not a fan of the snow but there's not one moment that I would have changed. Prepare to be challenged, Prepare to Laugh and Prepare to be full of glorious memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I paid extra for the Husky Dog sledding optional activity. I feel so blessed to have been able to be part of a fun, small group of people that helped make this day so Magical. The natural beauty of the surroundings felt like you are first people to touch the landscape. This will stay with me forever. We sledged over a lake and it was a pinch my self moment. It was perfectly stunning. If you do this, stop and do a 360 degree look around.The lunch by a open fire that was prepared for kindly by the leader. It tasted great and felt like luxury. The Dogs were well behaved. I didn't expect this day to make me smile as much as it does and it's nearly a year since I visited. The other moment that makes me smile and laugh was tree hugging. A small moment. Fat Biking in Ruka. You hire the bikes and it is a lot of fun!. There was no obvious bike trails in Ruka but that didn't stop the enjoyment and thrill of cycling in the snow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julia is an Angel. She is an outstanding group leader. She has a wonderful kindness and sincerity. She fun and attentive. She is serious. If you were to get lost in the Finnish wilderness then you would want her there by your side as she fills you with ease, excitement and wonder. There's nothing that she wouldn't do for a person in her group. Thanks is a small word but I'm not sure it would have been half as much fun with out her help guidance, enthusiasm and support.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I remember going to the travel agents and said that I'm looking for an adventure. I'd always wanted to go to Finland. I said to the travel agent that, if this Finnish wilderness week accepts a non skier than I will pay the deposit instantly. This holiday was booked once the reply came in that it was OK. It was worth the 20 year wait to visit a small part of Finland. There are times when you need to think about all options. This trip isn't one of them. Cease this wonderful moment because it does honestly stay with you and it becomes a travel highlight The only thing that you need is a passport and some spending money. Be open to the optional activities because the only thing that is difficult and challenging is working out how to spend your freed time and then trying to fit it all in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was a solo traveller. The small group that I was part of was a joy and a privilege to be part of. If I spent time on my own then it was simply by choice. I just remember laughing with them during that whole week. This started the moment that I got on the plane from the UK. The food was wonderful, the cocktails fun!!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Heidi Dempsey

    Fab Trip -Just Book It!

    The trip was recommended to me by previous travel buddies and lived up to all expectations. The scenery is beautiful, the accommodation great and very warm and the equipment provided is superb. Although you try lots of activities there is plenty of time to chill out and you aren't expected to be up too early so definitely a holiday to recharge the batteries. There is lots of food and always tea, coffee and squash on the table if you are chilling in the lodge.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many! But seeing the Northern Lights appear above the trees as we did the nighttime snowshoe walk in the forest was totally amazing. I also really loved the dog sledding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sonja was brilliant. Very knowledgable, fun and nothing was too much trouble. All the staff at base camp were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is lots to do but also plenty of down time so time to chill. The optional activities are expensive but definitely worth choosing some. I have never been skiing so had a shared ski lesson in Ruka which was definitely worth the money. If you don't want to spend too much there are walks and fat bikes too. Make use of the sauna and hot tub and do roll in the snow after jumping out the sauna it's not that bad. Also pack very light you really don't need much for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A brilliant trip and very much recommended.
Call us on 020 8772 3936