Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

81 Reviews

  • Reviewed January 2022

    Stunning views and a great hotel

    This trip had great progression from an easy first couple of days which was good for total beginners to get a feel for snowshoeing, building up to some longer but very rewarding days climbing some 2000+m peaks. Much to my delight, these last few days were much more like winter mountaineering but in snowshoes, rather than a tramp in the snow (as the first couple of days was). The hotel was also a great place to relax with wonderful sauna, pool and gym, and the most amazing food ever.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning views from the summits!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was an exceptional leader - calm and methodical, with a great ability to "herd cats" and manage the quite disparate range of fitness and abilities in our group, as well as to come up with alternative plans as required. She imparted useful tips constantly, and broke the days up well with frequent short breaks. She was also super friendly and sociable, and worked extremely hard making sure everyone was OK and everything went to plan. Nothing was too much trouble for her to organise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pocket Rocket will get you up any hill and will become your drug of choice! (Stock up in any local supermarket.). You will really benefit from good hill fitness on this trip. Take a ziplock bag to dinner (the amount of food is massive, but it's so good - I often took my leftovers for my packed lunch the next day.) You may prefer to take your own walking poles if you have them, especially if they fold down, so you can pack them away when not needed. Also, take good winter mountain boots if you have them rather than lightweight ones (I wished I'd taken my B2 boots).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I went cross country skiing on the free day and would highly recommend it. There's a crosscountry ski school at Villabassa station - just behind the hotel - and trails run directly from there. We had an hour's lesson and then spent the rest of the day on our own.
  • Reviewed January 2022

    Far Exceeded expectation

    This was my first Exodus trip and I was delighted with the experience. The beautiful, cosy, alpine Hotel Adler was fabulous. The food was outstanding and plentiful, 5 course suppers, a great, varied selection for breakfast and a well considered wine list. Each of the 5 walking days started with an 8.30 am pick up by minibus to various destinations. The walks were stunning. Apparently the moderate level it was graded was at times the very upper end of moderate. A big shout out to the very experienced, patient and caring Jenny, our guide. She went above and beyond to consider the different needs of our group of 9. Having never trekked before I was delighted with my achievement, which I certainly would not have managed without the invaluable tips and gentle encouragement from Jenny. I felt the standard of the hotel, the excellent food/service and the great itinerary of treks made this an amazing good value trip. Oh and very importantly for me , the comfy beds and a lovely deep bath with plenty of hot water really sold it to me after a tiring day
  • Reviewed March 2020

    Walking in a winter wonderland

    This trip is a great way to get to know a corner of the Dolomites in the winter. The walks take you through wonderful scenery, often with no other people around. Walking up peaks in the fresh snow is a great feeling, especially when you get to the top!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    -

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was not only a great leader, but also great company. Her love for the mountains shines through all the time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are at a decent level of fitness. Some experience of walking up and down mountains (not necessarily in the snow) is essential.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Lucy Hockenhull

    Extraordinary landscapes and fabulous snowshoeing.

    Loved the snowshoeing. Each of the walks held interest and the challenges increased as the week progressed. We enjoyed the opportunity to sled down from Taistner Alm near Lutterkopf. Hotel Adler is wonderful with a lovely spa, fabulous 4 course dinners, picnic packed lunches and extensive breakfast buffet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every walk was unique and had its own appeal, but we especially enjoyed Monte Piano as the weather and views were superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Jenny had extensive mountaineering experience but was new to this area and trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Anyone with reasonable fitness can enjoy the walks but you really do need to be pretty fit to make the most of this trip.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    bruce robinson

    A Wonderful Week

    Great weather. Fresh snow plus lots of sunshine. Magnificent scenery, the Dolomites are really special both in winter and summer. Comfortable hotel with good facilities and friendly, helpful staff. Tasty interesting dinners with a very good wine list to choose from. A friendly, interesting group of fellow "snowshoeers" What really made the trip special was our guide Sara. She is everything you would wish for in a guide and I can only endorse all the other glowing mentions she receives in reviews.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day was as memorable as the previous one. By the very nature of the week, the days are similar in that one is walking in the moutains through the snow but yet each is different with constantly changing vistas and challenges under foot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As mentioned above, Sara was deserving of all the superlatives that she receives in these reviews. Kind, caring, considerate, knowledgeable, reliable, interesting, funny, the list goes on! Thanks Sara.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. You do need a reasonable degree of fitness but previous use of snowshoes is not a prerequisite.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Karen Barnett

    snowshoeing in the dolomites

    A fabulous adventure. Challenging but beautiful and rewarding with undoubtedly the BEST guide in charge! We had fun, explored, felt nurtured and cared for. The hotel was gorgeous and the spa facilities were the perfect antidote to all of the hard work! As was the wonderful cuisine. A warm and friendly staff made us all feel very welcome. Take crampons....icy walking can be very tiresome if too little snow for the snowshoes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ridge walk....beautiful virgin snow and astonishing views....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous....went way beyond to ensure everyone felt comfortable and had everything to ensure they enjoyed their trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take crampons!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just...Do It!!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Linda Scott

    An impressive holiday on all counts

    What an experience. A week of varied routes; a forest trail amongst snow laden trees - like a Narnia snowscene, mountain ascents with beautiful scenery along the way, impressive mountain ranges, breathtaking lakes, stunning mountain huts . . . A fabulous family run hotel with warm and friendly staff, elegant rooms, comfortable beds and a deep bath with copious amounts of hot water. Immense breakfast choice, fabulous food and wine, cosy bar and snug and a relaxing wellness centre.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being sat on the top of snow covered Monte Piana on a beautiful blue sky day, surrounded by impressive mountains and feeling on top of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can’t speak highly enough of our group leader Sara Bull. She was fun, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and supportive to all clients. Nothing was too much trouble. Sara was very organised, hard working and safety conscious. Her love of nature and the environment was clearly evident and her enthusiasm was infectious. Sara helped make our experience of the Dolomites very special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I think everything is covered in the trip notes really. I would just emphasise the need for sunscreen and recommend a water hydration system in your rucksack rather than phaffing about with bottles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you fancy experimenting with cross country skiing on your free day you are in the best place to experience it.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Amanda Stevenson

    First time snowshoeing

    I'd never actually heard of snowshoeing before so thought I'd give myself a change from my usual hiking/trekking holidays and was so glad I did. The scenery, food, location and walks were fantastic. I thought snowshoes would take a bit of getting used to but you soon master the technique and are able to walk through the most amazing trails. It was a fantastic week, helped by the weather, and a change to the usual walking holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day's planned walk took you through the most spectacular landscapes. We were blessed with good walking weather which enhanced the experience. Scaling the top of the mountains gained you a great sense of achievement, especially the ones which were quite steep and took some effort. You were rewarded with the most fabulous views at the top and Sara, our tour guide, always ensured there was enough time for photo opportunities and to catch your breath!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull was so full of energy, enthusiasm and her love of the mountains was obvious. She was a wealth of knowledge and her guidance on using our shoes was clear and helpful. Sara made the whole experience so enjoyable and was always on hand for guidance and advice. It seem't that nothing was too much trouble and she's so much fun to be around. She kept the group together and made sure that every day ran smoothly. She's a great tour leader and so committed to her job. I was amazed that she ran a foot clinic each morning prior to the walk to address any issues the group were experiencing as a result of the walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are aware of potential foot problems that may occur through wearing snowshoes. I didn't experience any discomfort but a few of the group suffered blisters and rubbing sores. Sara's advice was to soak your feet in surgical spirit prior to joining the trip to harden the feet up. Some feet were really sore and this could really have spoilt the holiday experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel Adler is a great base. The hotel is friendly and very well equipped. The menu and food choices were delicious. The food is of a very high quality. The breakfast and lunch selection are extensive which all adds to the quality of the holiday. I certainly didn't come back having lost weight! With the spectacular walks, the location of the hotel and the hotel facilities and, of course, the excellent tour guide, this is certainly a memorable holiday experience.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alison Roberts

    Fantastic holiday. We really enjoyed snowshoeing which allows you to walk on fresh deep snow and to highish altitudes . The Dolomites are very beatific and our guide Sara has a lot of geographical and historical knowledge. the Hitel Adler is excellent.

    Highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole week was most enjoyable, active during the day and very good company with the rest of the group in the evening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara , our group leader was friendly, well organised and an excellent guide .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a rucksack that has straps to attach snow shoes ( already suggested but I didn't) to and possibly some mini crampons that can fit over walking boots . There were times when we walked and carried our snow shoes . The tracks were a bit icy in places.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Dave Wynne

    Snow Shoeing in the Dolomites

    Another great Exodus holiday. Nice hotel Great routes and scenery with a variety of Winter conditions ranging from blue skies and glorious sunshine to romantic fluttery snow falls in magical forests to wild full-on winter conditions of wind and heavy snow.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lutterkopf for the wind and snow on a broad ridge. Monte Piana for the glorious sunshine and views coupled with the fascinating history of the site from world war 1. Bruckele to Rossalm for the magic of climbing through the silence of a remote valley after heavy snow with trees coated in snow and hearing the distant roar of avalanches in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding! A great guide in the form of Sara Bull, knowledgeable, good fun, encouraging and safety focussed but allowing the team to move freely and not corralling the group into a bunched single file route marching group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes. You are in for a treat!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastic holiday. Thanks to Exodus for great work in setting this up and solving any problems we had. Thanks to Sara Bull, our guide, for making the holiday into something very special. This holiday will live a long time in our memories.