Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    stella thompson

    Cross Country Skiing at Kvitavatn, Norway

    This is an amazing place to learn to ski and to ski. The Fjellstue is friendly and has a great atmosphere and is perfectly set up for you to ski from your door, out into the wilderness. There is an excellent network of tracks, but the leaders offer mainly off track and with great skill and knowledge will take you away into the remote rolling hills, among the trees and above the tree line, offering fantastic guiding and tuition. I would have given up cross country skiing probably if I hadn't come here as the support and leadership is second to none. Perfect for both beginners and for those with experience and skills. I have been back for many years, as have many others who come here.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Doing two routes with Ilse that she had never done with groups for many years.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders are superb

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have never skied before go for a beginners group. Work on your basic fitness before you go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Gold star
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Helen Flint

    Kvitavatn - Cross Country Skiing

    This trip had everything I was looking for, fantastic location with a 360degree mountain panorama, classic Norwegian lodge accommodation, healthy yet plentiful food and great leaders. The leaders were effective at developing our skills, in a fun way, yet appreciating we are on holiday. Once our skills were developed we were taken to some fantastic off the beaten track locations. I have never had so many 'wow' moments and taken to lunch spots to die for! The 'apres' ski was varied too, a combination of informative talks, films, a fun quiz and slide show of the weeks pics. Fantastic trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to a high point up a frozen waterfall and having the most amazing, unspoilt views and no one else in sight!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. Helpful, knowledgeable, patient, informative, caring, effective.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a range of clothing because it can either be really warm or really cold. Take a thermos Flask - hot drinks are essential. You don't need to take a lunch box as plastic bags and cling film are made available.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would really recommend this trip if you have never done cross country skiing before.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Melanie Gibbs

    The Best Holiday Ever!

    A great way for a complete beginner to experience cross country skiing and make lots of progress in a short time. We were tutored for nearly 6 hours on each of 6 days so even a complete novice and scaredy-cat, like me, was able to have enough skill to safely negotiate different types of terrain within a couple of days. You WILL fall over, which is fun in the soft snow (although sometimes hard to get back up from) but does hurt a bit on the hard, prepared tracks. The scenery was fantastic, I never felt cold because we were active, and the company was incredibly friendly and supportive. We were with our group (14) for meals, warm up/down exercises and in the evening but we divided into 2 (ability) groups to ski, which worked well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved all of it, from first learning to snowplough through playing on the sparkling, crisp, virgin snow on the lake to touring and seeing the beautiful views from the higher terrain. Picking up speed on the prepared tracks and successfully cornering for the first time as well as traversing down through deep snow were thrilling (even though I am not a speed nor thrill seeker and would dread downhill skiing).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary and Ilse were completely dedicated to making our holiday the best it could be. I was very impressed with the amount of attention we each received and their skill in coaxing the nervous as well as challenging the talented, so that everyone got the most from the experience. They were very professional, knowledgeable and great fun to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    What are you waiting for? Just do it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Kvitavatn Felljstoge is very efficiently and well run, comfortable but not luxurious. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food was very good quality homecooking and plentiful. There will definitely be something you like and can eat on the menu and you will not go hungry!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Victoria Harris

    Wild and wonderful

    Just back from an amazing way to spend New Year. I was slightly hesitant that skiing may not be my thing but it's so accessible to get involved even for the complete novice. What great fun...I've never fallen over so many times and my knees are still bruised but it was worth it! The lodge and the couple running it were so hospitable, the facilities simple Scandi 'hygge' and there was nothing more pleasant than a hot sauna to warm up in at the end of a day in the cold. As a veggie, I was also pleased with the care and attention to providing protein rich options for dinner - the food was hearty and wholesome.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As an absolute beginner, staying upright on a small slope was an amazing feat. Snowshoeing up to the top of the plateau and seeing the wilderness for miles around Spending New Year in the snowy wilds and with such great people!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Illse and Mary were really great at coaching us in less than favourable conditions and keeping the options open to all abilities and inclinations for activity. They also provide evening 'entertainment'..but I will keep the content a surprise!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take the advice of others and pack a bottle or buy supplies in the duty free at Oslo when you land. Drinks are available at the Lodge with high Norwegian tax added! I packed way too much, inside the lodge is super warm and cosy so a t-shirt is fine. Cosy boots useful for traversing between lodge and sleeping hut as are some sort of mini-crampon overshoe as it can be an ice-rink out there! Bring an extra towel you can use in the sauna...bikini's too if you don't fancy going native. A flask and sit mat are essential but you can borrow one if you forget them. Extra snacks are good to pack for when you need a burst of energy out on trail Hiking clothes are perfect unless you're extra sensitive to cold. I just wore merino long johns with trousers over the top and a couple of merino base layers, a wind proof top and a lightweight hard shell.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't deliberate - if you like snow, then this is for you! :)
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Tania Banotti

    Cross county skiing in Norway

    Kvitavaatn is a great location. Frozen lakes, forest the mountains and the Hardanger plateau right in front of the lodge where I stayed were beautiful..

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probabaly day 3 when I thought I had finally cracked the whole cross country skiing lark. I hadn't but it was fun trying.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary our English guide was endlessly patient. Learning cross country skiing is bloody hard and frustrating at times!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring slippers as the Norwegians ALWAYS take off their shoes when they enter the lodge from outside so it's preferable to wandering about in your socks. Bring wax earplus because you share a room with 3 other people and there can be snorers amongst the group....
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Nick Ball

    Late season skiiing - Kvitavatn

    This being my first holiday in Scandinavia, not having skied for a few years and booked at the last minute I had some trepidation over what to expect. What I got was a very enjoyable holiday, great cross country skiing routes both on and off piste and great group and tour leader to share it with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a few days struggling with cross country skis it started to come together and get more enjoyable - the views down over Ryukan and from the higher points on the skiing routes were stunning. Also great were the off-piste routes weaving in and out of the trees in the deep snow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary was superb - very patient and great instructor. The slide show of photos taken throughout the week on the last day was very interesting!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cross country skis are a different animal to downhill skis and more tricky to master - I spent the Monday and Tuesday falling over a lot and trying to re-acquaint myself with skills I thought I already had on downhill skis such as snowplough turns and traversing an incline. Level 2 on cross country skis with no previous experience is doable but hard work for the first few days although it did did start to come together after that. Also as mentioned in other reviews do buy wine or beer at the huge duty-free on arrivals at Oslo airport as it costs more at the lodge. Bear in mind you cannot drink your own alcohol in communal areas - only stuff you have bought at reception which at the time was cans of Tuborg, cans of a sweet Norwegian cider, a few local beers and various wine bottles between 200-300 Kroner.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I went fairly late in the season (mid March) and it was starting to get a bit slushy and icy on some of the popular routes - there was some fresh snow during the week but mainly on the last day (typical!). Hours of sunlight is not a problem as most people will want to finish for the day by mid afternoon and head to the sauna and tea and coffee (available all day). There is a rest day with options to do downhill skiing (the Gaustablikk ski centre is next to the lodge) but given the icy conditions our group gave it a miss and most opted to go on some of the shorter cross country skiing trails around the lake or take the bus into Ryukan to look around.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Paola Cassotti

    Picture perfect

    Excellent cross country holiday with so many different routes to choose every day, on the tracks and off. We had amazing weather and looking back at pictures, I still can't believe I was there. Plenty of good food and good company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing off piste on untouched snow and reaching high spots with breathtaking views. Simply amazing. Every day I thought it could not get better but it did! Thinking already to return next year!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Learned a lot in a week from both leaders. Different teaching styles but both Ilse and Mary clearly have a passion for what they do every day. Contagious!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Follow trip notes. I had everything with me and I was glad! Drinks are not that more expensive and in a week I spent very little as all else is included.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Shared accommodation is charming but can feel crowded.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Alexander Dalton

    first time skiing of any type

    first time skiing of any sort so everything was new to me! Enjoyed it immensely [apart from the classic 'third day 'when everything ached and nothing worked!!] By the end of the week the last 3 days comprised quite a lot of of track skiing and suddenly I was managing to stay upright, turn and stop going down hill! The enjoyment was enhanced by the generally superb weather, mainly clear blue skies and sunshine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fourth day [Thursday] everything suddenly started to come together. On Wednesday night I had gone to bed fully expecting to be hardly able to move certain parts of my body on Thurs am, but not only were there no real aches, when we got going I actually felt like I was starting to cross country ski!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Ilse and Mary were supportive, instructive and very helpfull.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Anne Moody

    Off track ski ing in Kvitavatn

    We had a fantastic week of brilliant sunshine. We were largely off track ski ing and the area is wild and beautiful. Once off track we rarely saw another skier. We saw more animal than human tracks. We warmed up outside every morning to the amusement of the locals and then stretched in the evening before taking a sauna.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of the 'Eagle's Nipple' on skis.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mary and Ilse were fantastic. Experienced knowledgable and patient they couldn't do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even if you have never been on skis if you are reasonably fir you will be off track skinning in a couple of days.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Anna Stone

    Great holiday

    Fantastic holiday - lovely hostel (the nightly sauna I am still missing), outstanding instruction/leaders, and a great group of people

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ilse's instruction

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both were excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! A few hints for packing though: the flight times are great, but the day of the trip out means no planned lunch break - so take something with you (though you can pick stuff up at oslo airport). DO pack gaiters, a sit mat, a thermos (even if you don't want a tea or coffee when you are out skiing, a warm drink goes down well). You really don't need much cash - the hostel takes cards now, and you can run a tab.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food is great and plentiful at the hostel. The daily stretching sessions, and then sauna visits were great, and beneficial, at the end of the day.
Call us on 020 8772 3936