Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Nigel Bradshaw

    Wet & wild!

    This is an extraordinary trip even if the Northern Lights are not visible, there is nowhere else so accessible that has such a fascinating and diverse landscape. The people are lovely and the food top quality. It is an expensive country however, additional food and drink and souvenirs are pricey.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking on the glacier in crampons, ice axe and helmet and descending into its crevasses among 2000 year old ice was an amazing experience. The final morning was very well planned, starting out below ground in a lava tube then being taken straight to the Blue Lagoon prior to catching the flight home. Don't be put off by thinking that the Blue Lagoon is a tacky tourist trap - it's not, it's an amazing and relaxing end to the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Orri was an exceptional leader, friendly, helpful and approachable, nothing was too much trouble for him. He kept us entertained with his stories of Icelandic history and folklore during the longer road sections.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plentry of layers and good quality warm and waterproof clothing, The weather is going to be both cold and wet and can change rapidly, if you are prepared for that then you will enjoy the trip all the more.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The northern lights may not make an appearance whilst there and some activities may be cancelled at short notice and another substituted due to the raw nature of the place, that is part of its appeal for me, keep an open mind and enjoy the experience.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Rebecca Cope

    Fantastic trip to Iceland

    We had a fantastic trip to Iceland. A lot was fit into the few days that we were there but the itinerary was just right. There was quite a lot of driving but it was worth it to see all of the sights that we did and our group leader entertained us with tales of Iceland throughout the journey. I am already planning my next trip to Iceland to explore the country further!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The glacier hike and the caving were my highlights. I'd also heard mixed reviews about the blue lagoon but I also loved this as it is so unique to Iceland.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Orri was a fantastic leader. Very warm and friendly and kept us entertained throughout. We couldn't fault him and he helped to make it a memorable trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of layers! I'd also recommend spending at least one additional night in Reykjavik. It's a great place to spend time and is small enough to see plenty in one or two days. There isn't much spare time in the itinerary if you don't book additional nights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weather was very mixed whilst we were there from bright sunshine to snow. We only got to see the Northern lights very faintly on one of the evenings though due to lack of activity and cloud cover but it didn't matter. I would highly recommend.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Robert Butler

    Iceland and it's rugged nature

    Yet again Exodus has given us a wonderful tour of a part of this great planet. Iceland has a great deal to offer for those that want to see a raw part of the world; from Glaciers to bathing in hot springs, to volcanoes and lava tubes. It is an easy trip to do if you have a low level of fitness but still want to cave or walk a glacier. As always, the choice of guide could not be faulted, he was fun and entertaining but went about everything in a professional way. Sadly we did not see the northern lights but nature is not always on demand, however this did not detract from a wonderful tour of the sights and sounds of Iceland. Well done Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Gullfoss falls absolutely fantastic sight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Orri Sigurjonsson was outstanding as our leader and guide. He expertly explained the safety of walking on glaciers with crampons, and the wearing of caving equipment. Also when the van broke down with a puncture he organised a replacement coach to get us back to our hotel and in the night went back to fix the van with a mechanic, appearing bright and cheerful in the morning to continue our tour. Whilst travelling he told wonder stories of Trolls and Elves who live in the rocks of Iceland. Well done Orri.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a trip where you will see and hear about Iceland and it's history and it's wonderful rugged beauty of various landscapes.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Anthony Forrester

    Fantastic Iceland Break

    Although we were unable to see the Northern Lights due to the overcast conditions this did not detract from the fact that this was a real Icelandic experience that we thoroughly enjoyed. Excellent program of things do and see let by Orri our very enthusiastic, knowledgeable and friendly guide. His knowledge of Icelandic history and Icelandic tales added to the enjoyment of the trip. The variety of the program and timings meant that we had lots to do and see avoiding more busy times of the popular locations. The hotel Laki which we stayed in for two nights was especially nice and well located.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day that we did the glacier walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Orri was excellent and just made the trip all the more enjoyable. As above his knowledge and how he put that across was both entertaining and informative. He also kept a close eye on everyone to make sure that they were comfortable with the activities and enjoying themselves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry too much about seeing the Northern Lights as there is so much more to see and do on this trip. They are just a bonus. Both the glacier walk and the cave walk provide experiences that you will not be likely to try again.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was nice that we were in a small group of sixteen and that everyone got on well. Obviously there will always be differences on how much time people feel should be spent on each of the visits / activities.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Lesley Butler

    A wonderful trip

    Although we weren't lucky enough to see the Northern Lights, we saw so many great things that it didn't really matter.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The glacier walk was amazing; once I got over the thought that I wasn't going to slip on the ice (the crampons keep you on your feet), it was wonderful. Not to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Orri Sigurjonsson was a wonderful guide. He drove the minibus, guided us round southern Iceland, told us about the culture, history and people of the country with great knowledge, told us fairy tales of the trolls and dragons as well as feeding us chocolate, biscuits and crisps. He was funny and informative at the same time, an all-time good guy and he really made the trip special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry that you'll feel disappointed if you don't see the lights, I'm sure you won't, there is so much else to see and do, especially if you've got a good guide with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I always say that it's a sign of a good guide and company if something goes wrong (in our case the minibus had a problem with one of the wheels) and it's sorted out quickly and efficiently. It was on our way back at the end of the day, thankfully, that the problem occurred. Orri not only arranged for another bus to take us back to the hotel, but while we were waiting kept us regaled with stories of trolls, which kept us amused and happy. He arrived back, smiling as usual, several hours later, having got the minibus fixed ready for the next day.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ian Jones

    Iceland Northern Lights

    We only had very limited views of the northern lights and the weather was not kind with much wet weather and grey skies. There was a lot of travelling as described in the trip notes. Waterfalls and other scenery was impressive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Blue Lagoon was much better than expected. Another highlight was the museum at Eyjatjallajokull explaining the 2010 volcanic eruption. Gullfoss was very impressive as was the Jokulsarton glacial lagoon and the associated ice on the beach.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kristian was a very enthusiastic leader who did all he could to find northern lights and explain the history and culture of Iceland. His enthusiasm for his country was clear.He made sure we were safe at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of warm clothes and waterproofs
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Chris Ronaldson

    Iceland - Northern Lights

    An excellent trip with great activities and a full schedule. From start to finish you hardly stop, that being said you see some amazing sights and really geta a feel for Iceland and its culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The northern lights - they looked simply amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was great, he interacted with us and shared his knowledge and experaince in a proffesional manner. He had a great sense of humour which really helped make the trip experiance so great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack lots of layers and good quality water proofs! Also a good pair of walking boots are a must for some of the locations!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great trip, well organised and carried out. Wel done Exodus!!
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Linda Dodd

    Amazing Iceland in an amazing trip!

    A lot was packed into 4 fun-filled days taking in stunning scenery. Travelling on a comfortable bus, our brilliant guide Ibi made sure we got to take in Iceland and its history through our many stops.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many fantastic moments in this trip, though walking through the divide at Thingvellir National Park and taking in the view was spectacular. The Blue Lagoon was the perfect way to end the trip with new found friends.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibi really helped to make this trip with an informative and friendly style. I felt complete safe under her guidance at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to take lots of photographs and bring one will a long exposure and a tripod if you hope to shoot the northern lights. Alongside that, thermals are recommended as the wind can be icy. Good waterproofs including over-trousers are essential, especially at the falls if the weather is bad. Also try and take a walk into Reykjavik at some point so you don't miss out.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was an amazing trip. I'd wanted to see dramatic Iceland and we got to see so many aspects of it packed into such a short trip.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Karen Walker

    Iceland Northern Lights

    Excellent trip - great group (aged 37-60, 50:50 male:female) and excellent guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The icebergs floating on the lake and the sea, with the clear blue sky behind. White Russian Cocktails in Bar Lebowski's, Reykjavik. I was surprised at how barren then landscape is - it's worth seeing. We did see the Northern lights (not the best but they were there). At Hotel Laki you can book a wake-up call if they appear!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ingibjorg (Ibi) was excellent. She is also a Ranger at the national park so very knowledgeable and she led us on the Glacier and in the Caves. She even provided hot flasks of drinks and snacks in the bus to help with the biting cold wind!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the biting wind - take warm layers - thermal leggings, a balaclava, ski gloves. Waterproofs (jacket & trousers) are a must to keep out the wind and also you walk behind one of the waterfalls. Take walking boots for the crampons on the Glacier and also to keep out the cold. Book an extra day to see Reykjavik - there are free local walking tours - it's easy to get around and not very big but worth the effort.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Compared to some other travel companies this trip may look expensive, but everything except 2 dinners is included. Admission to places and food is very expensive (c£20-£25 for a main meal), so when comparing make sure you add in everything.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Margaret Newland

    iceland 4 nighttrip

    good varied program

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing the northern lights on a beautiful clear night and then viewing a photo of same to really see the colours.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibi was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    make sure you have warm, windproof clothes

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I had expected better accommodation for the price of the holiday. Hotel Laki was very basic. Our group had the worst rooms. Should have had 3 course meals included in the price
Call us on 020 8772 3936