Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Wanda Howick

    Sicily in a week

    My husband and I had a fabulous trip to Sicily - a place I knew I would adore and I was not wrong. In 8 days you can only scrape the surface of this wonderful island but this round trip was a great way to see what it can offer. It was a perfect introduction to somewhere we will return to many times.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The aching beauty of Eriche, Noto and Cefalu.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco was a charming leader, efficient, informative with a dark sense of humour. And he was extremely good company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is an element of walking every day so if you are infirm this may not be the trip for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have been good to have been given a map of Sicily at the beginning of the week so we had a sense of where we were going. Please do not ever use Hotel Europa in Palermo again. Other than this notable blip however the accommodation on the trip was amazing.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Kara Brown

    Sicily in a week !

    Overall an excellent trip. This covers the main sites round the island. As it is the largest island in the Mediterranean there is quite a lot of ground to cover so it is quite a busy tour. However it was worth it to see the contrasts of this lovely island which combined with the lovely food made a great holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wine tasting on the first day was really excellent and a good way at the start of the tour to get to know your fellow travellers. The sites of the island were stunning. Selinunte was not overcrowded with tourists so was particularly lovely to walk around, with its stunning setting overlooking the sea. The town of Erice also had stunning views and was lovely to wander the quite streets of the town.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco was excellent. He provided us all with a book at the start of the tour and with a map of each town as we visited them. I have done many Exodus trips and have never had a guide so organised with such maps, highlighting the points of interest. Phillipe was our trusty driver who was also excellent and we all felt safe with his driving.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would say that the coastal walk was more challenging than the walk on Mt Etna. I wore good walking boots for both although could have got away with walking shoes for the Mt Etna walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall a great trip with excellent guide and good hotels. The only downside was the hotel in Palermo which was a bit “Faulty Towers”. Two sets of people in our group had to change room and my Mum (who was on the holiday with me) had to put out a spark from an electrical socket. i Suggest the Exodus seriously look at changing the hotel for the two nights in Palermo.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Brian Helsdon

    Great Trip

    This was an excellent well planned tour. I found the pace busy but not overly strenuos or hectic. You have plenty of variety, Mt Etna seaside towns and harbours, quaint old towns as well as the ancient sites. What made this trip so good was the guide, Vanessa,, who often went the extra mile to help the group, and the group itself, 15 very different people who got on well. We stayed on for 4 nights after the end of the tour for rest and relaxation near Taormina and this was certainly the right decision. Taormina itself is very crowded and touristy with the side streets and the public gardens offering a welcome relief. Palermo was the best big city with plenty of character.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The drive up to the hilltop village of Erice plus the stay at the farmhouse.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vanessa was one of the best, if not the best, tour leader I have travelled with. She had excellent English having lived in Dublin for eight years. She was extremely well informed and organised. She often went out of her way to help the group or individuals. For example we had independently booked a hotel at the end of the tour. Not only did she drop us off but checked the booking before we arrived and arranged for hotel staff to meet us at the end of the drive to the hotel. She was always cheerful and fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be be prepared for some long bus journeys and quite a busy pace. Don’t worry overmuch about the walks. Our group managed both walks without any issues but good walking shows are essential for the Etna walk. Consider staying on after the tour but not at the tour hotel.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    martin spiers

    Treasures of Sicily

    Well balanced holiday with a good guide as well as good local guides who had more detailed knowledge of the sites. Plenty of variety in the other activities,

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Straits of Messina AND the meal cooked at the AGRITURISMO hotel in Busseto Palizzolo.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was pleasant, engaged, efficient and knowledgable about his homeland
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Rebecca Midvidy

    Classic Sicily

    Wonderful trip. Varied, good hotels and the best trip leader. Francesca is kind, knowledgable, helpful. Probably would have prefered 2 less cities to visit. This would have made the trip a better pace and give us a chance to savour each place.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Valley of temples.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Super as mentioned above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Jen S

    Great trip, fabulous gelato

    This was a great, moderately-paced trip. There's lots to do, but plenty of free time to just sit in a café and watch the world go by... or if you like to keep moving, just grab an espresso and slip around the next corner to see what's there... This was a pleasant balance of old Greek and Roman sites, free time in pretty towns and villages full of twisting alleys and stunning churches, a couple of light walks, and amazing Sicilian food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had several hours to explore the beautiful town of Ortiga. It was a microcosm of the trip as a whole... after admiring the ruined temple in the main square, scoring an aranchine (Sicilian fried rice dumpling) and a cake for lunch, I spent hours exploring every tiny alleyway, my camera ever-ready, stopping off for gelato whenever I needed fuelling up...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Francesca was bubbly and enthusiastic, and brought the group together.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Deborah Hughes

    Sicily is a varied and wonderful place to,visit

    A fast and busy trip that delivered an amazing taste of Sicily. Every site was different and spectacular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every place was inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Milena was fantastic. She was informative, organised and caring. She truely made this trip a wonderful experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack lightly as you need to get your case in the back of a mini bus and live out of a suitcase. Do not look at any photos before you go so that when you arrive at each site you will be amazed.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Valerie Berry

    The magic of Sicily

    A great trip and although quite a fast pace there was plenty of time to enjoy the towns, ruins and magnificent scenery. The food and wine was of course splendid wherever we went our wonderful guide Mileena was there with her extremely helpful maps of every town and ruin visited. There is something in this trip for everyone. If you can't walk far there is always a cafe with a lovely outlook to sit at, on the other hand if you want to walk and climb steps for wonderful views, then you can do that too

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting some of the towns really early in the morning where there was just me and the street cleaner around. it was so atmospheric to have an espresso in the Duomo square without the hordes of tourists which would appear later. The Sicilian food specialities were wonderful too

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mileena was exceptional. Nothing was ever too much trouble. She was so enthusiastic and the maps she gave us at every stop must have taken her hours to highlight but they were so useful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take comfortable walking shoes with you and plenty of sunscreen

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was lovely to have a few surprises such as the chocolate and wine tastings.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Nigel Day

    A rush!

    An enjoyable trip taking in most of the 'must see' places in Sicily: a great overview of the island. One niggle, though, is that because of the scale of the place the whole trip seemed too rushed: lots of time in the coach, and not quite enough time at various locations to give them justice. If you can afford the time (and higher cost), the newly-introduced 'Sicily Grand Tour' would be a better bet, but if you are prepared for the pace of this tour the 'Treasures of Sicily' does live up to its name.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stunning mosaics at Monreale. The views of Etna were great (except when the scirocco brought in the Sahara sand).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Salvo was very knowledgeable, and helpful. he also made sure there were plenty of loo stops - important given the length of some of the coach trips!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider carefully your aims for the trip (see my summary), but then enjoy yourself. Make sure that you have plenty of cash to pay for meals, souvenirs and tips, as you can't rely on credit or debit cards being accepted. If you need more cash, most places have ATMs. When paying by credit/debit card or withdrawing cash at an ATM, you will sometimes be offered the opportunity to pay in your home currency - as a rule, though, this will involve a poor exchange rate and a fee, so you are probably best advised to reject this option and hope your card issuer is more generous. Leave room for the gelati and sorbets (granita)! You will walk them off. As always with such tours, be prepared for some minor disappointments - for example, our tour of the Zingaro Nature Reserve was called off due to the fire risk caused by a scirocco blowing through, and the "elaborate Byzantine mosaics" at Cefalu Cathedral were hidden whilst the building was undergoing some renovation. However, there is so much else to see that such disappointments are unlikely to detract significantly from your holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A note to Exodus: given the time pressure at some of the locations, it would have been better to have local guides at more of them, rather than just handing out a photocopied map with instructions to meet back in, say, 2 hours. The walking involved was more of a stroll than a ramble, so I would class this as a leisurely tour rather than leisurely/moderate. However, if the weather had been hotter, my views might have changed.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Susan Wiltshire

    Treasures of Sicily

    A very busy week spent travelling to a considerable number of places. Not much time to see anywhere properly but a good overview of the island. A lot of time spent in the coach.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking on Etna was an interesting and inspirational part of the trip - if you enjoy views and volcanoes!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader did not interact with the group and carried out his duties without humour, fun or enjoyment. This was the most disappointing aspect of the week, as having travelled with Exodus before, I have had far better group leaders who can make the holiday wonderful, exciting and longing for more. We had two other tour guides for a short period of time who were knowledgeable and interesting. Vanessa was particularly helpful on our last day helping us with travel arrangements and being a real group leader even diverting the coach to see some extra sites on the way to the airport. What a difference had she been our group leader for the week!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not take any extra items unless you really need them. Pack so you can find items easily without unpacking your suitcase each night. Bags of items of clothing are a good idea. Some people used poles when walking on Etna. Take them if you feel more comfortable using them on steep slopes - up and down. Take shoes to wear for swimming in the National Park as the beach is made up of large stones.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sicily is a beautiful island full of wonderful buildings and history. It warrants a longer holiday with time to linger.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We were sorry to hear that Susan was disappointed with aspects of her tour’s leadership as her tour leader usually receives very good feedback; we are in contact with Susan directly in this regard and our local manager has also followed up on her concerns with her tour leader. 

     

    Marta Marinelli - Product Manager for Sicily

Call us on 020 8772 3936