Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Barry Thompson

    Portugal Cycling Tour

    Lucky that we had a late Oct ride with 25 C temperatures. Great guides and well working bikes. The mostly flat terrain was pleasant and interesting. The meals were excellent, like a gastronomic tour!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The really steep hill to the Obidos castle on the last day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    J.P. was organized, kind, thoughtful and considerate of all guests. A little more historical/cultural information would have been nice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a couple of high bridges that persons with height issues (me) may want to get a van ride across.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were fine and the many Atlantic beaches were interesting. Lots of stops for excellent coffee!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mike Howard

    A Brilliant Week in Portugal with Great People

    Who could ever have imagined just how fantastic a week long experience cycling (plus laughing, drinking,eating, talking and laughing a bit more) from Porto towards Lisbon would turn out as a new group assembled , on time (in house story), in Porto on Saturday September 22. For me - well I had one of the great experiences of my life and I could say the same for my wife , Ali. There was a sense of apprehension at the initial meeting but most of that pretty quickly dissolved as we went on our tour of Porto (on foot) and then to our first dinner. We quickly realised we had a great team - and to make a great team we had to have great leadership. That we did in Jaoa ( Zoom Zoom) and Oscar - absolutely brilliant and more on them later. The tour was everything ("more or less" - there is a story there) we could have hoped for - scenic even breath-taking at times, a huge variety of different landscapes from coast to farmland to colourful villages and picturesque lakes and seaside towns, mainly very good surfaces but nothing un-expected, great accommodation, great camaraderie and ultimately friendships and very good equipment. The tour was, as advised, mainly flat with a couple of good challenging short hills which did take a good bit of energy. If you have reasonable fitness (e-bikes are always available if you want) and enjoy the benefits of good exercise, connecting with new acquaintances and being blown away with scenery this is a "bucket-list" trip for you. And, to finish in the castled town of Obidos (yes, with a bit of final climb - 200-300 metres - "more or less eh Jaoa") was a wonderful experience as was the time to enjoy that fantastic city of Lisbon when we arrived there by bus for our final day. We will never forget our week long cycling experience on Portugal for all the very best reasons!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Impossible to mention just one. Everyday was inspirational! From getting back onto the bike each morning, to eating the best Portuguese tarts, breath-taking views, finishing "the road to hell" - not that bad really - just 15km of straight road at the end of the day, the first Super Bock of the day and the evening dinner - there was something to savor all the time. For me there were 3 key inspirational features. We had great weather throughout so that helped but also helped enjoy some spectacular views. None more so than ascending the short,steep hill before Figueira da Foz and the beautiful views across and city and coastline far below. There was inspiration everyday in the form of our tour leaders who tended to our every need at any time and always wore great smiles. There was inspiration in the way the team bonded together-16 people from 4 different countries and one more little one for me - the wonderful way the whole team gave me a birthday i will never forget!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jaoa ( Zoom Zoom) and Oscar were/are the very best. Capable, experienced, gracious, on top of everything ,hospitable, caring and understanding. Hard to get all the right words to describe all attributes. These guys were at the core of why our tour was so good. We may not have been the fastest group but we never missed an opportunity to enjoy every possible experience and our leaders allowed that to happen. Always in control - they are the epitome of what great tour guides should be - and always with a smile!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend a little time on a bike before you arrive in Porto for training - just helps you to enjoy the tour a bit more. It is not that it is difficult - it is just getting back on the saddle 5 days in a row!! Hopefully you can get a group like ours and hopefully you can have Jaoa and Oscar as leaders

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd do it again. Hi to all the team of the September 22 2019 tour.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    J KEYSE

    Porto to Lisbon 22/9

    We had an excellent cycling holiday with great leaders and a very sociable group of fellow travellers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our favourite aspects of the trip were: • Good cycling with relaxing stops at many cafes to enjoy coffee and pasteis de nata • Comfortable hotels • Great choice of restaurants with excellent fish • Very friendly locals wherever we went • Spectacular coastline, especially the huge waves at Nazaré • Great weather (if maybe a little too hot!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was João (JP) and assistant guide was Oscar. We can’t compliment them highly enough for the tireless work that they put in to make sure everyone had a great time. They coped with all adversities thrown at them, including making sure everyone stayed hydrated in very hot weather, rescuing people with punctures, coping with a broken down ferry, travellers who couldn’t decide what they wanted to do (!), all with smiles on their faces.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We really enjoyed having an extra night in Porto, which allowed us to see more of the city. Don’t underestimate the undulations, there are some!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Stephen Bond

    Porto to Lisbon Cycling Tour

    My wife & I have joined cycling tours in Italy, Croatia & USA & unfortunately the Exodus Tour rates very poorly against the other tour companies We have been used to excellent guides, well rated itineraries & plenty of free time upon arrival each day...none of this was achieved with the Exodus tour The guides were very pleasant but out of their depth with regards to understanding the customers needs

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nil

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guides were pleasant but inexperienced

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try another tour company if taking this route

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus are at the top end of pricing but deliver a very low end product
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Anne Neary

    Scenic and peaceful with wonderful food

    Great ride. Most is on mostly flat, well maintained, paved bike paths, with little riding on roads. Going in late October meant that when we were on roads they were almost traffic-free and the lovely coastal villages and beaches en route were tourist-free. This summer Portugal experienced many forest fires and a day of cycling through charred forests was unavoidable. It was interesting to see, first-hand, the unfortunate devastation that we had all read about in the news. Regeneration will begin quickly, I'm sure. Marco was an excellent guide and we were fortunate to learn a lot as a result of his excellent knowledge of the history of Portugal. The picnic lunches were a highlight, the group was great and I had a wonderful holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful sea views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good guide that spent a lot of time each night assessing the route and alternative options given the local fire situation. On one day, a fire was still burning on the route and he arranged a train ride to Coimbra for a day walking the town and transportation to the next day's destination.. An unanticipated obstacle in the tour but handled well. He also arranged wonderful places for dinners each nice with good variety to experience the local dishes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Easy ride and rated a 2 probably due to an off-road climb one day which is walkable if necessary and undulating terrain on the last day. It may be too relaxing a holiday for eager riders, but allows you to enjoy the countryside and chat your fellow cyclists.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Carlo b

    Porto to Lisbon Atlantic Ride - MEO (Sep/17)

    This was my 7th cycling trip and biking was a great way to see this region of Portugal. The route is mostly flat with the occasional steep but short hill.. The views while cycling along the coast were beautiful. Our cycling group was a lot of fun and the pace was perfect such that we enjoyed a relaxing time at coffee stops (always near a beach) and got into the next town/city in time to explore a bit. The weather was perfect for cycling and we had no rain on the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many memorable moments on the trip but some of them were: 1) the many beautiful views of the beaches and Atlantic Ocean, 2) Porto, 3) Portuguese pastries, 4) the food in Porto, 5) Port wine with tonic on ice - refreshing!, 6) the seafood, 7) tapas-style dinner at the "Wine Bar" in Figuera da Foz, 8) Obidos, 9) the coffee breaks: excellent espresso and pastries, 10) Portuguese pastries (delicious), 11) coffee break in Nazare.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pedro was a gracious and knowledgeable guide and very attentive to the needs of the group. He always provided excellent recommendations for dinner. He was very organized and kept the group together despite different cycling abilities. And, Jaun, our support-van driver, was also knowledgeable and provided delicious picnic lunches.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrive in Porto a couple of days early to explore this picturesque city - it is easily walkable and has excellent food. But make restaurant reservations ahead of time though. Make sure you are comfortable with riding a bike because you will have to share the road with cars on parts of the journey.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a thoroughly enjoyable bike trip and the views were often stunning.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Jenny Dando

    Porto to lisbon

    This was our 6th cycling trip and one of the best,we usually do moderate but this time did leisurely to moderate,thought it might be to easy but there was a couple of challenging hills,hotels were very good,trindade hotel in Porto advertised a rooftop bar but there wasn't one,another hotel had a rooftop bar but was closed for the season bit early I thought. Our guide Pedro and our driver jaun were excellent nothing was too much trouble ,super trip .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Scenery and beaches

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant we all loved him .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ride a couple of hills before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take warm tops for early morning and evenings if going after last week in September.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Gina Eckersley

    Porto to Lisbon Ride (Premium)

    A fantastic week riding through beautiful coastal scenery, with fantastic accommodation and excellent food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights on this trip! I loved the Port tasting on the first day - it was a fantastic opportunity for the group and the leader to get to know one another and taste some delicious wine! The cycling was glorious, the first 4 days were easy and then the final day was a little more difficult (but this just meant that eventually cycling in to the walled town of Obidos was all the better!!) I love the bespoke cycling paths that are used on the first few days of this trip - it's great to see a country that puts so much emphasis on safe and enjoyable cycling. The accommodation was also a real highlight - each night's stay was individual and quirky - it felt like it was properly hand picked to reflect the area. The food was brilliant - there is so much of it! There was an abundance of fish/seafood and meat - really delicious. I found myself eating far more than I was burning in calories but I got the opportunity to try a different Portuguese dessert each evening - bliss! I also really enjoyed the Fado dinner on the final night - it was a perfect end to the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco was excellent. He was obviously passionate about cycling and Portugal, and this really shone through every time he spoke to the group. I felt there was not a subject he did not know something about! The whole trip ran very smoothly, supported by the driver and Mechanic Joao.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of sun cream! The final day of cycling is more difficult than the rest so don't be lulled into a false sense of security when you are riding on the flat for 4 days! Just before Obidos the scenery becomes more undulating which is really nice to have a change, but means that the cycling day is longer. However, the van is really helpful for those that need it and there was plenty of time for regrouping (and a long lunch!) on that day. It's useful to read up a little on Lisbon before the final day as it is a free day, so nothing in particular was planned. It's a great walking city and there is a good network of public transport so it's easy to get around. If you have time, add an extra day in Porto - it's well worth it!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really recommend this trip - it's a leisurely, enjoyable, scenic ride which showcases a country which I feel is really underrated. And you can really indulge in the Portuguese puddings!!
Call us on 020 8772 3936