Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

40 Reviews

  • Reviewed May 2022

    Amazing experience not great for vegetarians

    What an amazing place! Every excursion was amazing. The iconic views and the history. The guide was lovely and very helpful. The accommodation looked very nice and service was great but the hotels need some work done (in the hotel in Aswan i was locked in my bathroom for over 30 minutes before they were able to get me out). Food in all accommodation was limited especially for vegetarians IF anything is provided at all. Even food that is described as vegetarian contained meat and the staff would lie to your face even when you are pointing at the chicken chunks floating in the soup they will insist its just vegetables. Every day was a struggle to get vegetarian food. It always seemed to contain chicken or ham. So i was having the same conversation every day. And it was just me. There were 4 vegetarians in the group and we all had to the same problem. Even on the flight home. Unlike other Exodus trips i have been on we were left to our own devices for the evening meals. I still don't feel that i experienced Egyptian food. The cruise was everything you'd imagine it to be. The scenery is amazing, the colours so vivid. The entertainment on the boat was a bit hit or miss but again the staff were falling over themselves to help you. Despite the issues with food at meal times i would highly recommend this trip. The guide was very knowledgeable and the scenery and history mind blowing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We arrived at night and so saw little of the landscape. But that first morning in Egypt when I opened the curtains in my room and saw the pyramids was just stunning. It really set the mood and tone for the whole trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was a lovely woman. She looked after us and was full of information about the history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be careful if you are vegetarian or have dietary requirements. I foolishly thought being in a Muslim country with their own dietary requirements meant they would understand my limitations. I was wrong. Everyday was a struggle to get vegetarian meals. A cheese toastie contained beef. The 'vegetable' soup was just a sieved version of the chicken soup. The vegetarian breakfast boxes provided when you have an early start contained ham sandwiches. Even on the plane on the way home i was given a fish dish despite my boarding pass stating id booked a lacto-vegetarian meal. There was 4 vegetarians in our group and we all had the same problem.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    May was very hot! If sensitive to the heat go earlier in the year. Lots of walking and early starts.
  • Reviewed March 2022

    The way to see Egypt in a week

    Finally, after originally booking when the pandemic wasn't even a thing, we made it to Egypt in February 2022! This is a fabulous, slightly whirlwind, trip covering all the iconic sights in Egypt.....we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were lucky to have a lovely group who gelled well from the start and an excellent leader who kept us all organised and informed of what we were seeing. This is a leisurely trip when you get to where you are going, ie no hills to climb/no long slogs to places/plenty of time to wander around at your own pace/time "off" while sailing along the Nile BUT there are a lot of very early starts which cannot be helped as flights need to be caught and sights need to be seen before the sun gets up/places get too busy, and the cruise boat needs to keep to a sailing schedule. The hotels were clean and of a good standard and the cruise boat Esmerelda was clean and comfortable with friendly staff, a good selection of buffet food, and a lovely sun-deck which, surprisingly, didn't get too busy. We were in Egypt during their half-term so that made things a little busier as Egyptian families were taking advantage of their holiday time, there didn't seem to be many tourists from other countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the pyramids poking up on the horizon from the hotel balcony actually made me quite emotional....I think a mix of finally, finally being able to travel again and it being a long-held dream to go to Egypt (and maybe a touch of not much sleep!). We'd gone to bed at about midnight (the group flight arrives in the evening and it takes a while to exit the airport) and just by chance I checked the view as the sun rose the next morning. And Abu Simbel is just awe-inspiring but then so are all of the other temples and things you get to see and do on this trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrew was an excellent leader. He was very organised and very knowledgeable on all things Egyptian. He also had a great sense of humour......the Egyptians invented EVERYTHING.....and made sure everyone was aware of how to deal with the aspects of the trip that we weren't accustomed to such as the hawkers and needing small change for the toilets. He guided us around the temples giving us details of the where/why/when, building up a picture of the history of Egypt as we went south. He gave us ample time to wander around once he'd given us our bearings. We will remember his "Habibis, this way" for a long time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went in early February which we found ideal weather-wise. Fleeces were needed in the early mornings until the sun came into its own at about 10am and then the temperatures were in the low to mid 20's. Although sunny in Aswan, the constant wind took the temperature down quite considerably. We took mainly UK£ with us and changed some up at the airport (the exchange rate is fixed in Egypt so you don't get ripped off), we also took some US$ left over from a previous holiday. We paid for excursions in ££/US$/credit card. When working out expenses for the trip, factor-in paying for the optional excursions as otherwise you'll miss out on seeing things such as Abu Simbel.....well worth doing, don't be put off by the time it takes to get there. We did every excursion apart from the monastery and the light shows but others in the group said the light show at Philae was very good. The Nubian village trip was cancelled due to the water level being too low for the boats to negotiate the river so we had a morning off while in Aswan so we went for lunch at the Old Cataract Hotel. I would recommend to do this if possible as it's just a 5 minute walk down the road from the Basma Hotel..... obviously a slightly pricey lunch as you're paying for the view/history but a good way to finish of the holiday (and there's no dress code at lunch so don't worry if you've only got jeans to wear). The Nubian museum opposite the Basma Hotel is also worth a visit, you can spend anywhere from 30mins to 1.5 hrs there and can pop in on the way back from your fancy lunch. The new Egyptian museum isn't open yet (expected Nov 2022 but factor in Egyptian time!) but King Tut's mask is still in the old museum. The new museum looks spectacular from the outside (it's opposite the hotel in Cairo) so it would have been great to have gone there.....c'est la vie!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip, if you're considering a weeks holiday in Egypt then this is the way to do it. We felt safe while in Egypt and had an armed security guard with us at all times in Cairo. Security is tight in hotels and museums. We wore masks in indoor settings as covid rules were still in force and also we felt it was better to wear a mask anywhere crowded such as in the tombs in the Valley of the Kings. We had to show our covid passes on numerous occasions in the airports so make sure you have them on your phone or printed out. Don't worry about the early starts, you can sleep when you get home!
  • Reviewed February 2022

    Nile Cruise - Premium December 2021

    A fantastic journey for anyone wishing to immerse themselves into the ancient Egyptian culture.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were really fortunate to have a tour guide who explained very clearly the itinerary for tour on the first morning. The tour & excursions are full-on with lots of sites to visit and information to absorb. Sayed is an excellent tour guide and should be voted as the best tour leader for Exodus for his professionalism. Many thank Q’s to Sayed who made our journey a wonderfully interesting experience, full of knowledge & fun times from dawn to dusk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The accommodation, food and service on the tour was excellent, really pleased about that, as you need to replace calories and rest your head after long days exploring & absorbing.
  • Reviewed December 2021

    Great Trip

    Overall a great experience and we packed a lot into the holiday. Our leader, Andrew, was excellent and we were fortunate to have a great group of people on our trip. Points to note for future travellers are that day one (Saturday) is all travel. The 2.00pm flight from the UK means that you arrive at the hotel about midnight (local time) then pack a full day in Cairo on the Sunday, leaving at 4.00am (2.00am UK time) on the Monday to fly to Luxor. So at that point everyone was pretty tired. The boat trip (on the Esmerelda) was excellent all round. Really relaxing. The Basma hotel in Aswan for the last two days was a bit disappointing. I would rate it a three star. Not what was billed, but it didn't spoil the holiday. Again for future travellers, it's easy to get your visa at the airport and there are frequent stops at ATM's to get Egyptian pounds if required. In summary, a great trip with particular thanks to Andrew our leader, and to the great group of people we were with. Suggested areas for improvement for Exodus would be the Cairo logistics and flights, and the hotel in Aswan. Otherwise it was a great itinerary and a great experience
  • Reviewed February 2020

    Amazing experience

    From start to finish, I cannot fault this trip. The temples and Ancient Egyptian remains speak for themselves and are stunning. I had no idea that they were so well preserved. But the trip was made especially enjoyable by our super efficient and friendly guide, Sayed. His commentary covered both ancient and modern Egypt, and I have been reading books about Egypt ever since!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sun going down, while sailing down the Nile is quite magical. In the valley of the kings, being able to explore with very few other tourists, brought home the splendour of the tombs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed managed all the logistics to perfection, and at the same time shared his passion for Egyptology. He struck exactly the right balance between serious, informative guide and being friendly and approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cost of the optional trips does mount up - but most are really great experiences - so I would advise factoring them into the overall cost of the holiday before you go.
  • Reviewed January 2020
    Linda Pearce

    Unforgettable

    The week exceeded my expectations. I had thought a week would give me just a glimpse of Egypt but there was so much more.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing alone in the tomb of Rameses V and VI (kv9) surrounded by huge walls and pillars covered with pristine hieroglyphics of such vibrant colors it took your breath away. It is well worth the extra EP 100 to go inside.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot praise Tefa highly enough. His organization, empathy, knowledge of Egyptology and attention to every detail of our experience was exceptional. Extra unscheduled mini trips were arranged in free time for anyone who mentioned something they would like to do. Health issues were dealt with including pushing a wheelchair round a temple! Tefa really made sure we all had a wonderful experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When I read the trip notes I was concerned about how the extra trips fitted in with the basic plan. My concerns were unfounded. It is all very well arranged. I would say.... do as much as possible.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The four nights on the boat make a good base for the visits to temples and tombs. Without the continuity of the boat it could have felt very hectic.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Andrew Davies

    Outstanding Experience

    Too many superlatives. Exceeded expectations in so many ways. The archaeology the food and comfort and Sayed our fantastic guide with a lovely group of fellow travellers. Bucket list well and truly ticked for Egypt.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving early at the market in Aswan with a real local insight into life. Stumbling in on a coptic Christian festival at the monastery. Hanging on to a camel for dear life! The felucca trip. Aswan was the best bit for me. Watching river life on the Nile and the friendly people waving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sayed was outstanding. He was incredibly well organised and genuinely kind and so enthusiastic about the sites and his country. We loved hearing him bring both ancient and modern Egypt to life. He was inspiring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the excursions. They are undersold in the trip notes and at the monestary at Aswan and the tombs of the workers we were privileged to be the only tourists in sight. Leave any shopping for Aswan where the people are more relaxed and give less hassle. Take binoculars for the amazing bird life. Very early starts but a price worth paying to see the sites with fewer people around.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Joe Doucet

    Outstanding trip

    This was a full packed trip , informative trip led by Mohammed Tefa whose in depth knowledge, and leadership style made the trip a wonderful experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Abu Simbel
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Kate Stevenson

    Unforgettable

    An unforgettable trip, I read as much as could on Egypt, its history, this tour - and was still blown away by so much about the place and this Exodus trip. A very busy nine days, but still plenty of time in the afternoons to recharge. Can't believe what we packed in to such a small amount of time. Very well organised, and absolutely adored our guide Tefa; and particularly pleased with the dynamics of the group I travelled with. Thoroughly enjoyable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Valley of the Kings. Having an idea of what it would be like, and still not really being ready for the scale of the landscape, the tombs, the timeline and history. Seeing Tutankhamum's mummy just centimetres away was truly humbling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tefa was an absolute legend. Organised, generous, thoughtful, cheeky, funny, and very knowledgable. The guy was built for this job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read read read the trip notes and other reviews. They are honest and helpful. Found trip notes on money and costs helpful for working out what you'd need for extra excursions and in particular photography passes if you want to take photos or video at some of these amazing locations. Was helpful to work out tips too. As many have said, there will be early mornings, and the place is seriously hot (hence the need to get out and about early), but your afternoons are largely free, and by the time you're waiting for sunset by the pool, you're remembering the mindblowing sites you saw more than the alarm, the sweaty seats, or the late-night call to prayer keeping you awake (we were there during Ramadan). This is a travel experience, more than a holiday, but it's one I'll never forget.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Margaret Madgwick

    A glimpse of Ancient Egypt.

    Visits to the Pyramids & Sphinx , Luxor, Edfu, Kom Ombo Temples, Valley of the Kings and Abu Simbel. Cruise down the Nile river.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole tour was special. Visiting the sites of Ancient Egypt. None to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader 'Tefa' was brilliant. His knowledge as a guide was superb. He was reliable, patient and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot in may/june 46c. plus so my advise would be to go at a cooler time if possible. Keep well covered up. Have upset tummy medication with you just in case. Take at least suncream 50. Its easy to change your money when you are there rather than before you go. Have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Understand that tourists are targeted to buy from the locals so you will be hassled, please don't mind or be offended as they need to make a living. Say 'no thank you' if you don't want to buy.