Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Vicky Cuddy

    Sri Lanka a must

    Exodus lived up to expectations .Using local guides ,making sure our money went into local community,giving us an individual holiday. The guide was on duty 24hours a day and had great local knowledge so we got to know about the country. We visited local families and site of interest while having a good days cycling with little bus transport unless required by someone. It was a good balance of seeing and experiencing Sri Lanka while cycling.The up grade of hotels made this a true holiday rather than an adventure holiday. Best trip yet and hard to know what to book next !!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing how hard local families worked and how welcoming they were of us .Children ran out to greet us and were keen to interact with us. We did not feel we were intruding as they seemed keen for us to have a positive experience of their country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing, can not praise him enough. So organised,fun and went out of his way to make the trip work for everyone in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure you are okay on rough sandy back roads and sweating!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Loved this trip and did not want it to end. Very good for non meat and fish eaters.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Ginny Birrell

    A must do trip

    This was a trip which had everything. Cycling, personal challenges, culture, wildlife, curry, a beautiful country and the best guide ever ... guaranteed. We were lucky with our group. 8 couples who got on very well. But without a doubt having Suresh as our leader made the trip even more special.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There is already a lot written about "the big climb". Without a doubt going up 2000m in one day was hard. But with a reasonable degree of fitness it is achievable and even enjoyable. Hills are very psychological but if you focus on the journey rather than the destination you will get there. I loved the day and was blown away by the beauty of Nuwara Eliya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were so lucky to have Suresh as our leader. We have done a few exodus bike trips before but never has anyone gone the extra mile like Suresh did. His sense of humour was fantastic. His wit and comic timing were impeccable. His catch phrases are now a part of our vocabulary. He was very professional and this was evident when dealing with a nasty cycling injury after a crash.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is amazing. Do it. Dont fret about the big hill, enjoy the journey. Look around and not just at the tarmac in front of you. Have belief (and jelly babies in your pocket for that extra boost over the last few kilometres)
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Barbara Kinner

    Cycling the backroads of Sri Lanka sMhes

    This was an excellent trip and it did require a fair amount of fitness to get up some of the hills. It combined some fabulous outings on our rest days. The safari was memorable because we saw the leopard, the bear AND the elephants. We also saw and were quite close to two whales frolicking in the ocean. The Sri Lankan people were so warm and welcoming. We felt like Tour de France riders coming through the rural villages as the kids all came out to wish us 'hi' and 'bye'. Accommodation was very good and it's wise to remember you are visiting a third world country. Traffic was courteous and the bedlam was very organised!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were a fantastic group supported by a fantastic crew. Help and encouragement got the slower ones up the hills. Pace was set so those at the back didn't feel like they were holding everyone up at the front.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was amazing. He was well known throughout the route and we were accommodated and well looked after everywhere. His knowledge about his country was impressive. On our last but one evening we went to market, picked our fish and prawns and the hotel put on a fantastic buffet with BBQ'd fish and lots of local curried dishes and salads. Fantastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Mosquitos weren't the problem we thought they might be but pack the deet just in case. A buff is a good item to pack as it keeps the sun off the back of your neck and boy...was it hot. Make sure your good on the hills and remember for each one you get up you have to get down which rests the butt and legs! Money was no problem changing and we had a mixture of dollars and Sterling . It's a long flight. We upgraded and it wasn't alarmingly expensive. Charging equipment wasn't a problem just make sure you have the correct adaptors. There are 3 to choose from.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was so brilliantly amazing. The Sri Lankan's were so warm and welcoming. We did have rain but it was warm and sometimes welcomed. But no mudguards meant quite a lot of dirt came up onto your cycling kit. Washing kit wasn't a problem but humidity meant drying was sometimes slow. Small price to pay for such an amazing adventure.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Jonathan Richards

    Sri Lanka cycling

    This was an excellent trip, basically from the the central mountainous area down to the coast including 6 of the 8 UNESCO world heritage sites, a safari and Whale watching. Surish the guide is excellent and has great local knowledge. Some similarities to the Kerala trip, but not as chaotic as India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whale watching - we saw 2 Blue Whales right by boat (season starts late Oct) Lush landsacpe Lovely food

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He is excellent -knowledgeable, thoughtful & entertaining

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel late Oct onwards for Whale watching There are a couple of tough days, but vehicle support is on hand There are a lot of wild dogs, I understand there have never been any incidents, but having said that I was pleased I got a Rabies jab as well. Take some antispetic hand wash - stomach issues were not really a big issue The Premier trip has a lot more swimming pools
  • Reviewed August 2016
    David Bell

    Cycling the backroads of Sri lanka

    Just back from a very good 2 weeks in Sri Lanka. Hotels and food were very good and Suresh and his team went to great lengths to make it a great holiday for everyone. Bikes were good and any mechanical problems were fixed by the mechanics. I had hoped to see more wildlife and I expected to be on back roads all the time as the main roads were very busy. The trip might be improved by use of a trailer to carry bikes then more main roads could be avoided.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The evening visit to Kataragama pilgrim site was a special moment as was seeing elephants in Yala National Park. Climbing to Nuwara Eliya was the best cycling moment although the last few cycling days were the best for birds and wildlife. Being on the top of Sigiria Rock was the best view. In fact most days had something special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh worked hard behind the scenes to make every day special for the group. He was always arranging great places to eat or tea stops on the route, and if anyone was not happy about something he did all he could to put it right. Suresh is a credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling was not as hard as I expected as many sections were flat. However, long days in the sun and temperatures of 30 degrees plus make for tiring days. The fitter you are the more you will enjoy it, especially the climbing day to Nuwara Eliya. High factor suncream, insect repellent, rehydration sachets are all essential. I was happy with my saddle but several of the group brought their own saddle and pedals. There were many tea and fruit stops and water bottle filling opportunities. There are no panniers on the bikes but you can leave a rucksack in the bus. I took a bar bag for my camera.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sri Lanka is a fascinating country and the people are very friendly. Definitely worth a visit, and with a leader like Suresh you are sure to have a great time.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Martina Lecky

    Beautiful island - best seen on a bike seat

    It was a fantastic trip with the right balance of exercise, wildlife, culture and relaxation ( which was needed after several 6am starts!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wildlife safari; it was wonderful to see the elephants and my first near sighting of a leopard ( we at least saw it move through the trees).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. He is an ambassador for Exodus and Sri Lanka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train for the hills!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An unforgettable two weeks!
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Peter Howard

    Cycle Sri Lanka

    We went for our honeymoon and had an amazing time and were really well looked after. It only rained once - which was not quite what BBC weather told us - which was that it was going to be raining every day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the cycles along really quiet roads were great and seeing a lot of wildlife. We saw a water lizard eating a rat snake and lots of kingfishers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh did a great job - such as if someone asked for a diet coke and the restaurant didn't have one he'd go and see if he could scout one out and also making sure we had lots of interesting tea stops which gave us a chance to try lots of different tasty treats

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't get dollars out as you can just chance sterling at the airport or use a debit card to take money out. Maybe take some wine as it seemed quite overpriced there. Try the cocktails and enjoy curry for breakfast. Look at maybe taking bar ends if you're used to them as the handles get quite slippy in the heat
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Helen Stalker

    Tour de Sri Lanka

    From a cycling perspective, this trip has its challenging moments - 55 miles of largely uphill cycling on one day - but it felt a very satisfying achievement. You will cycle through some stunning scenery - by rivers, lakes, rice paddies and terraces, the sea; and weave your way through busy roads on occasion with buses, cars, motorbikes, tuk tuks, other bikes, pedestrians and stray dogs that seem to want to cross the road just as you reach them. But you will feel like a local! Fantastic trip. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably cycling downhill through the hill country, past hill terraces and rice paddies - truly stunning. After all the hard work cycling up the 'big hill' previously, the speed with which we descended made it all worthwhile. And the friendliness of local people as you passed them was delightful - from shouting "come on, come on" to kids trying to high-five you as you passed!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was outstanding. Always calm, responsive and anticipated our needs beautifully. He has a great sense of humour and that wonderful Sri Lankan cheerfulness. And the rest of the support team were great too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's worth training a bit to make the most of the trip as there are some long days and difficult parts. Keep well hydrated and it's worth taking electrolytes too. I totally lost my appetite after the 'big hill' as I had sweated so much and drank a lot of water such that my salt levels were too low. The electrolytes quickly sorted me out again.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For anyone that loves cycling, this is a great trip.
  • Reviewed March 2015
    William John Wallace

    COCONUTS, BANANAS - AND THE BEST BUILDERS' TEA EVER!

    As with all Exodus bicycle trips, this one took us down roads that revealed Sri Lanka at local village and countryside level, where the road in front of us was a rich and varied conduit for all human life - from banana and coconut sellers to wayside pop-up cafes that served fresh coconut milk straight from the coconut; from temples rarely visited by anyone to emerald-green vistas and blue distant hills that forever beckoned us onward. This trip connected us directly to the heart of Sri Lanka - a heart that was generous as it was welcoming!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A small, unremarkable, yet hugely enriching few monutes spent at a family tea-shop by the road. Made from platted palm leaves and serving the most delicious Ceylon tea, it was looked after by mother, while little boy played; father carved wood for a scarcely existent passing tourist trade; brother and grandfather helped out. There was a sense of calm, contentment and peaceful welcome that was a balm to the soul after a busy morning on the road. We all sat quietly, for once setting aside our customary chat and banter in favour of the cool green quiet the surrounded us. That's the kind of moment when an Exodus holiday came alive and found its way into the heart.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh became our guardian, parent, elder brother, fixer, proactive thinker-ahead, kindly gift-giver, laughing joke-teller (of truly awful jokes - the worse they were, the better they were!). Oh, and he was a genius cook, iron-man cyclist, fund of endless knowledge, source of traditional wisdom - totally devoted to his professional calling, a hero amongst men, and an epic ambassador for Exodus!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes: stop what you're doing right now - and book this trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes. Didn't you hear me? I said: stop what you're doing right now and book this trip!
Call us on 020 8772 3936