Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Emma Dart

    Fantastic Trip

    Plenty of uphills in this Atlas Descent!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being immersed in the hugely diverse scenery which changed daily from red rock sandstone to barren mountains to lush palm oases to alpine meadow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jon was excellent; unflappable, organised, hardworking, always going the extra mile, down to earth, approachable, knowledgeable and spending time with each member of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went on the trip in February and were glad of our layers, thermals and waterproofs!! It rained some days and the temperature felt near zero at some of the higher altitudes. Some of the sections were muddy and some of the descents / ascents were fairly technical, some parts were similar to red graded UK trails. The bikes all seemed to be tubeless and were very well maintained. None of the group had a puncture so we wouldn't have bothered bringing spare inner tubes in hindsight. We did bring bags with platypus type bladders but in hindsight bottles are better because you can then leave your bag in the jeep.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try to visit the souk in Agadir, sights / sounds / smells were amazing. Also don't miss the walk to the Cascades in Immouzer.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ania Sroka

    Atlas Descent

    A fantastic way of getting to know Morocco from a saddle. The holiday was far better than anticipated and has reignited my sense of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Retracing routes that in some cases have been used for years. Feeling the support of everyone both guides, drivers and fellow holiday goers. Feeling part of a great team. Feeling included regardless of ability or age.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu was wonderful and I loved the fact that he was sooooooo patient and answered most of my very curious questions with enthusiasm. John was such a support both on and off the bike. Both guides filled the holiday with fun and laughs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have a solid pair of cycling shorts that can withstand all sorts of cycling both on and off road. Some people used buffs to cover their faces especially on the off road downhill sections as it could get quite dusty. Be prepared to get a couple of bruises preferably on the bike.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved the holiday and the atmosphere was great. I thought that we would all be spread out and never see each other because we all had different abilities. As it happened, everyone was supportive of everyone else which made the holiday for me.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Sarah Walker

    Great trip with stunning mountain views

    A great mountain biking trip, nothing too technical but loads of fun ups and downs. The scenery is just epic, huge mountains as far as you can see. Combined with blue skies and great guiding a perfect new year start!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The variety of inspiring scenery we cycled through - all in the middle of nowhere. And amazing stars at night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget to change money back before you go through passport control on your way home.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Keith Hunt

    atlas descent

    Great trip Challenging off road cycling with great scenery. Pretty basic accommodation much of the time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fantastic scenery in the Atlas mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Radu was excellent. Always thinking ahead,He had great attention to detail and understanding of the preferences of the individual group members.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is very cold in the mountains so bring enough warm clothes - the sort of things you'd wear cycling on a winters day in the UK.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Robert Oakeshott

    Morocco in the sun

    Good mixture of cycling - predominantly off road on double width tracks, some smooth, some not so much. A little bit of fun single track from time to time. Average may be descent, but a good bit of climbing in there too for those of us who enjoy it. Lots of long stretches of cycling between stops to make sure everyone is going the right way. Lots of great views over the landscape.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cross country stretch back towards Tafraoute crossing river beds with hardly any sign of the old piste to be found.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz is a really good leader - second to none at making sure everyone knows what the plan is. Both Liz and our second leader Jon did a tireless job keeping the bikes in order.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come with electrolyte tablets or similar: it may be hot. Come soon before someone tarmacs a piste you would rather they had left alone.
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Jacquelyn Newman

    Great biking on the Atlas Descent

    The Atlas descent is all 'ups'. Up the heart rate, up the adrenaline and up the enjoyment. A technical mountain bike trip with rocky ascents and descents, some fast switch back trails and lots of interesting undulations. Exodus have not wimped out by reducing the the risk factors, this is proper mountain biking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Highlights for were the fast long descents through valleys and gorges, having to stay totally focused as well as managing some of the rockier ascents. I was totally in awe of those who completed the 10k climb on day 2 with a strong headwind (I opted for the support vehicle).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Having been on many group trips around the world, I have to say that Rad was the best tour leader I have ever experienced. He was so cheerful and skilful - he made the job look easy, which I know it isn't.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get some mileage in before the trip and practice those technical skills on rocky ground! I also took a gel seat cover (along with the padded shorts) made a huge difference on the last couple of days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes provided were excellent, 29ers with tubeless tyres - no punctures all week!
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Richard Relf

    Atlas Decent in November

    My third cycling trip with Exodus in Morocco, this MMA trip was to some of the same regions as the MMI road trip last year - this time with near-perfect weather and conditions - to experience the villages, rocks, people, rocks, food, rocks, and stunning views of the region and sand, cacti and rocks. The title of the trip is not the entire story; there is a little climbing to do, and although Strava with a phone is prone to exaggeration, it recorded 5km of ascent over the six days. The trip marks out the difference between Jebel Sahro's "Off Road" and this trip's "Mountain Biking". I suspect it requires a similar level of fitness but prepare for, learn and enjoy more technical riding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was the good following the not-so-good. Having bounced onto a rock (did I mention there are a few there?) on a decent on the third day I wisely, I think, and for the first time on any trip, took a ride in the support vehicle to the next village. The inspirational moment was, having ridden down the remainder of the trail, found myself, with others in the group, sporting one of those unstoppable grins that you get after skiing down a fast long snowy piste.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Tirelessly maintaining bikes; fixing punctures in flesh and egos and tyres (is there no alternative to conventional pneumatic tyres on this punishing terrain?) and always giving guidance and advice about the next section of dried-up riverbed to be ridden. Liz often gave the opportunity to push a bit harder and was disappointed, I think, that none in the group - even the resident triathlete - was prepared to get up the extra hour and a half earlier to climb the 600m to the start of the day's ride!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When it gets technical and/or steep and/or there's a sheer drop then do concentrate, but otherwise, don't forget to look around and enjoy both the views and just being there - it's too easy to focus down to the track ahead. None of the group took their own bike. The 29" wheel Genesis hardtails have seen a lot of trail but are well maintained- the advantage being that the bike is well maintained for you and don't have to take any spares. I'd recommend taking SPD equivalents and shoes, though in one or two runs with near shear drops you might want to unclip. . I booked an extra couple of nights stay in the Hotel that Exodus use in Agadir. It's very cheap and in my case, still included the airport transfer. With the weather as it was (unbroken sun, 24degC late November) I should have stayed the week! If you're into cycling ;-) you can hire bikes locally (see the hotel notice board) and cycle up into the local hills, or to the bars and restaurants in the marina.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Beer available every night - but rather perhaps double the price in Imouzzer - you're on holiday: who cares! Thinking of buying a rug? You'll have the opportunity, so pack accordingly if you want to carry it home and measure up before you leave home. I bought and carried a small rug in my suitcase; chuffed with it. Know the Euro - Dirham exchange rate and bargain hard and keep smiling! Wifi every night except Thursday (!horror!)
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Anonymous

    Atlas Descent - excellent

    This trip has something for everybody, Everyday offers something different. Breath taking views for photos, no shortage of donkeys, cattle and local shepherds, friendly locals, you'll pass through some beautiful villages, for those who like a few hills there are a few sneaky challenging climbs, the most amazing descents I personally have every enjoyed, Tagines, Kebabs and no shortage of beer. By the time you've finished you'll be glad to dive straight into the ocean at Agadir on your return. Totally recommended, you won't regret it - Great Value for Money !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Breath taking views on the final day for the Atlas descent, with far off views of the sea as we travelled through the lush green trees in the mountains tops as we cycled down 40kms along the mountain trails. Fabulous and memorable !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader of the group was excellent, good fun and well organised. Always working hard to make sure your bike was in top working order. He looked after us throughout the entire trip and worked with great energy and enthusiasm every day . He talked us through each part of the route, gave me some excellent tips to improve my cycling technique. Regular stops and snack breaks. Any problems with hotels, food etc he sorted out in a flash. Had a real and genuine passion for cycling which made everything some much fun. Brilliant cyclist !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be think about SPD pedals if you aren't that familiar with mountain biking, at least for the first few days if you need to get familiar with the bike. Bring plenty of fresh cycling gear and keep the evening gear to just a few items, but include a fleece or jumper. It can get a bit chilly sometimes so bring a gillet or very thin jacket, but things quickly warm up quickly so plenty of strong sun cream. Personally I didn't need a camelback as there were plenty of stops for water and snack breaks, don't forget your water bottle. I brought a small saddle bag to carry a few items with me. You'll need a combination of decent- ish level of fitness without having to be a fitness fanatic, be comfortable on a bike, have head for heights and sometimes you might need be open to a few challenges as you tackle a few rocky parts of the decent. If you have a small camera, that you can slide in your pocket then bring that. If you are a starva fan then don't forget your mobile phone, and a plastic cover or bag for protection. Gloves are essential. Don't be afraid to bring the lycra although not always recommended in a few areas. Seems more hassle than its worth to bring your own bike, the Genesis Bikes were great. Decent Helmet, if you are like me you might fall off and its better to be safe. If like me, you are a road cyclist and are in two minds about a mountain bike holiday I would say don't hesitate. There are plenty of hills were you can leave the mountain bikers behind as well as certain stretches covered by road. The mountain biking will improve your bike handling skills, as well as improve your fitness as you power your way up some challenging rocky up hill climbs. Its all worth if for the stunning descent !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was in two minds before booking - looking back now, I don't know why it was a truly memorable and thoroughly enjoyable trip.
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Raymond hall

    Atlas descent

    A great trip through stunning mountainous morocco

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day was brilliant with amazing descent from up high down to the beach

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was good fun, very patient, good at punctures and ridiculously healthy (overtaking everyone on the hills and making it look easy)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is very tough and there is not a great deal of free time so be prepared, make sure your fit enough and it's probably best if you have a bit of off road experience (I never and it took a bit of getting used too)
  • Reviewed February 2015
    Clive Smith

    Moroccan Fun

    First trip to Morocco - third with Exodus - This trip was one of the best I've been on - compares to any place on the planet for beauty - rocky trails superb and challenging - great hotels and great group - Liz was the best guide I've ever had (in 30 years of trips) - I'd do this trip again and again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Descending through the villages - riding past the smiling people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic - best ever

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come and do it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it !
Call us on 020 8772 3936