Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

73 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Eleanor Mole

    Cycling in Albania

    This was a really great cycling holiday. The moutain scenery was amazing and hardly anyone around except the odd cattle and motorist here and there. Food and accommodation were all excellent and guides were very professional, friendly and helpful. Great bikes with front suspension. Road a little bit bumpy in places but on the whole fine for cycling. Great tour leader, trainee tour leader and driver.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling upto the trout farm. A long steep climb but all in the shade and amazing smell of the pine cones. The exhilarating downhills on the bike. We had a great group and we all got on really well. Scenery every day was amazing and very tranquil. Thermal spring visit was great - water was lovely and warm. The coffee on some of our stops was amazing. Lovely food including fish, grilled vegetables, greek yoghurt, sea food risotto, seafood linguine and chips. Wine very nice in some places and very cheap too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brillant - organised everything and gave us maps, told us what was coming up next on each cycling day. Took care of all the coffee stops and restaurant ordering and everything else. Really friendly and gave us history lesson. Our leader Erlis was really well supported by Ouni (trainee leader) and Tani (driver) so we were really lucky. They also both did a great job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have a bit of fitness behind you as the climbs are steep and long in places. Take some aqua shoes as beaches and theral spring have a fair amout of pebbles. Take care on the downhills as they are very steep and windy in places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Best holiday ever - book it now!
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Filippo Salmina

    Nice but not perfect

    I did enjoy the cycling in those desolated monutain regions, with practically no traffic in company of our joung enthusiastic guides, as well as the way along the coast, with lot of ondulation. The hotels at the coast were nice, although concerning the meals there was room for improvement. It would have been nice to dine a couple of time in a restaurant instead of staying always at the hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I did enjoy the cycling in those desolated monutain regions, with practically no traffic in company of our joung enthusiastic guides.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very helpful enthusiastic young guides.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels at the coast were nice, although concerning the meals there was room for improvement. It would have been nice to dine a couple of time in a restaurant instead of staying always at the hotel.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Nigel Metcalfe

    Just book it

    This tour of Albania was incredible from the contrast in scenery between mountains and coast and our expert organisation from our guides, Erlis and Oni.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On day 7 the ride towards Vlorë and the spectacular climb over the breathtaking Llogara Pass.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erlis and Oni were both amazing. Great personalities, well organised, courteous and always smiling. Their history knowledge of Albania during its troubled times was also top notch.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t hesitate just book the trip. Albania is such a beautiful country, away from over commercialisation. Great friendly people, lovely, healthy and wholesome food (all locally sourced). Don’t be off put by the climbs in the mountains as the bikes have a high gear ratio and there is always the minibus as an alternative option. The age group of our trip varied between 35 to 71 years. You must book this trip before the big tour companies get into Albania

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I never knew much about Albania before this trip as the country was always a bit of a guarded secret with the old communist rule. Erlis and Oni our guides did a fantastic job of the trip and I would give it a 10 out of 10. Thank you Exodus and we’ll done Erlis and Oni
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Tony Chau

    What a nice surprise!

    This is our 10th Exodus cycling trip and because we were both very busy in the summer, we didn't have a lot of time preparing and read up about the trip. We knew next to nothing about Albania and just managed to read the trip notes once so that we know how many days to pack for and that was it. The trip turns out to be a great pleasant surprise. We thought Albania will have poor infrastructure with lots of pot holes (like Cuba or Romania) but the back roads that we rode on were great. Most of the cars are Mercedes (surprisingly) and the hotels were great European standard (most have good fast WiFI except in the mountains). The food and drinks are cheap (even with the £ being so low because of Brexit) and the old city of Gjirokaster and Butrint were amazing. The quality of cycling is also very good. There are quite a few climbs (especially the one on the last day) but we are never in a rush and with our keen leader encouragement, we managed most of them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had mountains / lakes / coastal scenery; great cycling with nice climbs and descents; UNESCO sites; swim in the Med. or a modern pool and even natural thermos pools + fresh cheap food and beer. Just about perfect!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erlis was our leader and since he did the trip more than 40 times, he knows everything there is to know. The organisation is amazing and we never have to wait for anything (coffee stop, water, food, sites, hotel check in....). Everything is time to perfection and he explains the routes (with the best maps including the profiles) everyday so that we know exactly what to expect before hand. He always brief us and ensure that we are safe. The whole group felt that we were being extremely well looked after and the food was always fresh local produce which is great (and the prices are very reasonable compare to UK!).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I didn't prepare for the trip but it would be more enjoyable if I did a bit more cycling before hand. A nice saddle is a good idea as the climbs can be long. Also, do try to spend (or exchange) your LEK before the airport since the banks/money exchange at the airport may be closed (may be it is open at the arrival hall but we were too lazy to go and find it). We had 6000 LEK left and had to buy a few bottles of expensive wines at the duty free (not a bad thing :) ) to spent it all!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just book this trip :)
  • Reviewed June 2019
    John Wallace

    A wonderful country - but an indifferent leader

    The journey, the country, the route, the accommodation, the food and drink - all faultless. However, one relies very much on the tour leader to provide insights, explanations and observations of their native country, in order to bring that country to life and bring greater richness to the experience than mere observation, as a visiting stranger, can rovide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling amidst spectacular scenery redolent of Middle Earth in a time of innocence.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Poor. He did what he had to and no more. He kept a distance from the group, erecting an impenetrable wall comprising his mobile phone and an attitude that clearly communicated that it would be best for us if we didn't trouble him by talking to him more than absolutely necessary. He had no contact with me throughout the trip, and I felt too intimidated to dare to ask him any of the many questions I had about his wonderful country. I have been on many other Exodus trips on which the leader become a friend, adviser, support and encouragement - and all-around hero.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure that they get an Albania guide who truly loves their job - most of the Exodus guides I've encountered have given their hearts and souls to the execution of their duties.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I hope the gentleman in question can be persuaded to give more time to his paying guests and less time to his mobile phone.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Helen Clark

    Amazing Albania

    So many 'oh wow' moments as I was riding through Albania. Beautiful country to cycle through with the first half of the trip more rural, snow capped mountains, lakes, gorges, warm friendly locals giving you a wave as you them passed by, through to the second half of the trip being more coastal, spectacular views of the Albanian Riviera across to Corfu, pretty coastal towns and the stunning blues of the Mediterranean Sea. Albania is definitely not flat but each day was different and equally enjoyable. The quality of the food was a real delight - delicious!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the last and most challenging day and enjoying the camaraderie of the group. We had lots of fun and laughs! Really enjoyed the afternoon at the hot springs as well, incredible setting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erlis and Tani were both exceptional. Very supportive, knowledgeable, helpful and above all fantastic at their job! Very impressed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! But get in some training before you go, ideally a few hills so you are saddle ready.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Henri Kennedy

    Thanks for a fantastic trip

    I loved every minute of this adventure. Albania is somewhere I've not been to before, nor had any of my friends, and it did not disappoint. It is a beautiful country with welcoming people and cycling is the best way to see it. It's as yet unspoilt by too much modern development and is like stepping back in time but in a good way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sense of achievement of cycling up the ascents and the beautiful views all the way up and from the top.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erlis (Rizvanolli) was a phenomenal leader. He had the perfect balance of being caring and being chilled. I think he is one of life's genuinely really lovely human beings. What an asset he is to Exodus and a fantastic ambassador for his country which he clearly loves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I took my own pedals and cleats which I think in hindsight was a mistake. The bikes provided aren't road bikes, they're hybrid bikes by necessity and I fund my chain sometimes came off unexpectedly, so its a bit dangerous when you're clipped in as you could fall before you can release your feet. I changed the pedals back to clipless after a bit and found this a much better and safer arrangement. Also take layers as it can get chilly as you climb. Take a few energy gels or bars as I got a bit hungry.
  • Reviewed May 2019

    Amazing Adventure

    This trip more than satisfied my curiosity and interest in Albania. We cycled in lots of different regions facing different countries and seeing Albania in all its beauty. Each day offered a different type of ride, the scenery forever changing and the views always spectacular and breath-taking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing just how beautiful Albania is on so many levels. I felt honoured to have been able to get a glimpse of a country that has just opened its doors to the outside world. Everything from my perspective looked unspoilt and natural. People were really friendly and cheered us on along our journey.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erlis was an amazing group leader and had a lot of work to do making sure we were all OK. I loved the way he spent time explaining things and helped me to understand the history of Albania from his own perspective and how it had affected his upbringing. Both him and our driver were really supportive and helpful at all times making sure we were OK, had enough to drink and kept us entertained especially when we or rather I struggled up some of those continuous hills that never seemed to end.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go as soon as you get the opportunity. Make sure you have a good pair(s) of shorts as you will be in the saddle for a long time. I brought a pair for each day of cycling and was happy they were well padded as I really needed them to be for the sake of my sanity!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was lovely and varied. I don't eat meat or fish but found that each meal we ate was cooked differently and there was not a lack of variety. Lots of meals were shared so we all just dug in and ate what we wanted from what was on offer. The plates kept coming out laden with tasty dishes. The chips I think were the best I have tasted even better than our UK ones!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Nick A

    Fantastic

    A fabulous trip that surprised us from day one. Great food, wonderful people and fantastic scenery. Albania was the winner and we will all recommend going there as soon as you can.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding the pass on the last day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erlis(the leader) and Tani(driver) were fabulous, taking care of every detail for us before we even knew it had to be taken care of. They even managed a complete bike change one night for one member of the group without them noticing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go now. Don't hesitate.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Sarah Wichman

    Best Ever

    Every part of this trip was wonderful, from the people, to the rides, to the organization, to the food, etc. I loved it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to choose one, but maybe getting to the top of that looong climb on the last day. I also really appreciated the history and cultural info that Erlis imparted to us throughout the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Erlis was an amazing group leader! I had put in place a lot of structures that made our trip as easy and smooth as it could have been. He shared a lot of history and cultural information that really enhanced our travels and understanding of Albania. He was kind and patient and funny, and the trip would not have been as incredible without him at the helm. Tani, our driver/mechanic/snack procurer/hydrator was also an integral part of the group. He was incredibly thoughtful and accommodating, and anticipated needs we didn't even know we'd have.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this trip! The trip notes and packing list covered everything very thoroughly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip was very well run, and truly excellent. I cannot say enough about how great Erlis and Tani are - they really made this trip this wonderful. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who can handle some challenging cycling.