Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Brian Brasier

    Excellent trip..

    A very enjoyable trip thanks to a great guide (Lena), a very friendly group ,a very professional driver, a well planned itinerary &,good weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Palmse Manor and the Distillery accommodation . The Onion Villages on the shores of the Lake. Guild Hall in Tallinn

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lena was outstanding. She was knowledgeable about the three countries and was a very good communicator. We appreciated the way she shared some of the story of her own family in the changing situation of Lithuania. She selected good places for lunches and dinners. She took great care of the slower riders (us ) and ensured that we didn't take wrong turns and get lost.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training so that you can ride 50 km on fairly flat country without discomfort. Take the right sort of gear - lycra makes life much easier on the saddle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would have liked more time in Riga but understand that it's hard to cover everything. The accommodation was very satisfactory throughout.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Brian Brasier

    Excellent trip..

    We had a very enjoyable cycle through the Baltic States form Tallinn to Vilnius. We left on August 28 and finished on September 9th. Our guide Lena was excellent, the group were all friendly and our driver was highly professional. We were blessed with fine weather and we thought that the Grading of 2 was spot on.We would have liked more time in Riga.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The time spent at Palmse at the Manor house grounds. The Onion Villages on the side of the lake were also notable. The Guild Hall in Tallinn .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lena was outstanding - could not have done more for us all. She was knowledgeable and was able to communicate the stories of the three countries very well.We appreciated the way she was prepared over the trip to share elements of her family story. Always thoughtful and took great care of the tail end riders - us ! She selected very good places for lunches and dinners.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared - do some training beforehand and have the appropriate gear - lycra pants make the ride more comfortable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend this trip to cyclists of a range of abilities.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jacqui Cottom

    Cycling the Baltics

    If you like flat cycling and to see three countries and three capital cities in 11 days, this is for you. The weather was colder than expected and much of this was down to the strong headwinds. Much of the cycling is in forests so the scenery isn't as varied as other trips we have done. There are some lovely, old villages to cycle through as well as the 40 mile long sand spit and a few lakes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the bird ringing at the Vente Cape and being able to hold one then release it after the ringing took place. So cute! Eating smoked fish for lunch on the Curonian sand spit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius was a great guide who was friendly, personable and great fun to be with. He was knowledgeable and passionate about his country (Lithuania) and also Estonia and Latvia.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take layers and wrap up warm. There are strong headwinds a lot of the time that makes the cycling more difficult, even though it is only classed as a leisurely/moderate. Most of the terrain is flat with greater undulations on the final day. We all got bitten during the daytime in Estonia in the forests so take bug spray and use it!!! Some of the bus transfers are long, especially the one to Vilnius so be prepared and take a book! Spend an extra day in Tallinn. You won't regret it. It was the best of the three capitals and so pretty. In the summer period, there are free tours of the city of Tallinn which start at the Tourist office and are well worth going on. We did the Medieval Tour which is delivered by actors and was the BEST city tour we have ever been on! Half a day in Villnius is enough to see the majority of the city and you get this on the last day of the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Interesting history in all three countries. Ask your guide to take you to The Hill of Crosses in Lithuania. Impressive.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Steve Martin

    Quality product - loved the History, Culture, Food, and scenery

    I chose the itinerary as it was rated a 2 for physical exertion. (not too many hills) It was quite different from 3 other European bike tours I have completed in that most of the country side is either heavily forested or agricultural. Not a lot of villages in close proximity. Exodus has done a great job designing the itinerary to get you into the most interesting scenic areas, the 3 capital cities that have stunning "old city quarters, some beautiful national park regions I each country. The variety of accommodations made it memorable, and the food in all 3 countries is outstanding for freshness of taste and the artistic presentation of meals. All in I thoroughly enjoyed the 11 days experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Thoroughly enjoyed the 3 capital cities Tallinn, Riga, Vilnius. Learning the history of the region over the past 100 years with the brutal occupation by the Germans and the Russians.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon was outstanding. If you are lucky to have him as your guide, enjoy every moment of him. He is from Lithuania and is impassioned about the Baltic Region its history, culture and people. He entertained us with his musical skill and singing voice. Added in many personal experiences, took us to great restaurants and gave us 3 hour bike city tours in Riga and Vilnius.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hope for some good weather - we had the best average 25c each day
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Marnie Mitchell

    Excellent guide and very good itinerary

    The riding was great. The leader knowledgeable and inspirational. Accommodations were pretty basic - not much charm there.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was inspirational to learn of the passion of the Baltic peoples to retain their recently won freedom. There’s a lot of pride and beauty in these countries.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Simon knows the history of the countries and also knows the terrain we were covering. He had a lot of great stories. Was fun to spend time with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There isn’t much time on the trip to explore independently in the cities visited. If you’d like to do that, book extra time before and after the trip. Also, unless Exodus adds another guide, be prepared to ride independently much of the time.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Bergljót Baldursdóttir

    Almost excellent trip

    I have just finished the wonderful Exodus cycle trip crossing the three Baltic Countries Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. First rate trip made extra special by our wonderful guide Lina Duseviciene who shared with us her family´s history and their and her own experience of the Soviet era. This brought us closer to the people of these countries while we cycled through the beautiful forest and scenery. Not to forget our driver Edvardus who entertained us with music while driving between locations. I would like to mention that the hotel we stayed in in Tallin had a really bad or no air-conditioning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our guide Lina Duseviciene´s told us her family´s history. In Kolkja villagers where selling their onions -
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Brian Morris

    Cycling in the Baltics

    After very careful consideration I have decided that this was a trip which I would not recommend to a friend. However, there were many good things that we experienced and I am glad I went on it - but there serious deficiencies that need to be addressed by Exodus. Positives- excellent guide and driver, wonderful cities and great company. Negatives - some poor hotels with faults that were unacceptable ( smelly rooms from shower drains, poor food in overcrowded breakfast rooms, lack of air con and noisy locations if open windows. Long sections of monotonous roads/ paths through forests ( e.g. Cycling along the Curonian Spit without being able to see the sea!!) Rather heavy bikes that were not the advertised 21 speed ones.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We very much enjoyed the bonhomie of our group and the cities of Riga, Tartu and Vilnius were amazing. Where we saw the sea (!) it was beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lukas was excellent! He did everything and more that a guide should do! He joined in with our jokes and was a mine of information - and nothing was too much trouble. Our driver Vladamir was efficient and helpful ( and a good driver)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take insect repellent! If possible take your own bike It can be very hot - be prepared - and vice versa. Don't wash clothes in the Palmse Hotel - whites turn orange!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels need to be experienced by someone from the Exodus team - clearly the comments about the individual hotels that you can find on the net should alert them to the problems that our group experienced.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Brian for his feedback, whilst we are pleased that he enjoyed aspects of his holiday, we regret that he was disappointed with his stay at some of the properties. Our local manager has spoken with the hotels’ managers and asked them to review the rooms and services they provide to our clients to ensure they are in line with our expectations. We will also be looking into sending a member of staff on this trip in the near future, as well as keeping a very close eye on future feedback regarding these properties; if we receive further similar concerns, we will certainly reconsider whether or not we continue to use these hotels.

    Natasha Black - Product Manager for the Baltics

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mark Stapleton

    Cycling the Baltic States

    A really outstanding Exodus cycle trip, aided by the most marvellous European summer. Great group of fellow cyclists, excellent choice of hotels and really beautiful forest cycleways. Tour leader Lina and driver Andre added significantly to the overall experience. We have been on a few Exodus trips and as always we were very well looked after. The cycling was fairly straight forward and relatively easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So, so many! Hearing Lina’s family history put so much of the trip into perspective. We had the delightful combination of beautiful rides, the sharing of stories and the incredible history of the proud peoples of the Baltic States.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely sensational! Lina was the best tour guide we have ever had, and that is saying something. Caring, considerate, always looking out for opportunities to improve our experience, there was never a time when she was anything other than a delight to be with. Her willingness to share her story put everything into perspective. Faultless! For goodness sake give her more work, she is a wonderful ambassador for Exodus. I do have to add that your choice of tour guides on all of the trips we have done gives significant credit to Exodus as an organisation. We always look at Exodus tours before considering other travel companies.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are even reasonably fit, do this cycle tour. A really wonderful way to see and hear about the incredible Baltic States.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A really wonderful holiday in all respects. Keep up the excellent work and consider paying Lina a significant bonus, she is wonderful!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mark Stapleton

    Cycling the Baltic States

    A really outstanding Exodus cycle trip, aided by the most marvellous European summer. Great group of fellow cyclists, excellent choice of hotels and really beautiful forest cycleways. Tour leader Lina and driver Andre added significantly to the overall experience. We have been on a few Exodus trips and as always we were very well looked after. The cycling was fairly straight forward and relatively easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So, so many! Hearing Lina’s family history put so much of the trip into perspective. We had the delightful combination of beautiful rides, the sharing of stories and the incredible history of the proud peoples of the Baltic States.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely sensational! Lina was the best tour guide we have ever had, and that is saying something. Caring, considerate, always looking out for opportunities to improve our experience, there was never a time when she was anything other than a delight to be with. Her willingness to share her story put everything into perspective. Faultless! For goodness sake give her more work, she is a wonderful ambassador for Exodus. I do have to add that your choice of tour guides on all of the trips we have done gives significant credit to Exodus as an organisation. We always look at Exodus tours before considering other travel companies.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are even reasonably fit, do this cycle tour. A really wonderful way to see and hear about the incredible Baltic States.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A really wonderful holiday in all respects. Keep up the excellent work and consider paying Lina a significant bonus, she is wonderful!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Anne Holmes

    A great holiday

    My first cycling trip couldn't have gone better, a great group of people, an excellent leader and luck with the weather. There is a good mixture of cycling and tourism although the itinerary is full so there isn't a lot of free time or opportunity for stopping en route.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I liked the undulations of the day around Trakkai as knew I would get lost and didnt have to save any energy for other rides! Enjoyed seeing how fast I could go. Really enjoyed the beauty of Palmse. The day at Jurmala was good as we had free time and loved the dachas.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lina was excellent, organised but friendly. Her sharing of her personal experiences of life in Lithuania brought the whole trip alive. She has an extensive factual knowledge of the Baltic and found some great places for us to eat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If I had known that a cycle pannier was provided, I wouldn't have brought a cycling rucksack. Water was also provided so a single water bottle was fine. The trip notes said that there should be time to look round Tallinn but the Exodus flights were an evening arrival. Some of the group arrived a day earlier to see the city which was a good idea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A 5 hour stop over in Riga was too long, there was an earlier flight connection. Paper maps are hard to use when you are cycling in a lot of pine forest, could there be an option to give us GPX routes as well. This would have really helped anyone getting lost. I do not wish my name to be used.
Call us on 020 8772 3936