Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

47 Reviews

  • Reviewed May 2022

    Great walking, excellent refreshment, star guide!

    Gillian and I had a great week enjoying the walking, spectacular views, brilliant wild flowers and varied wines (both Prosecco and some very good local red wines) in the beautiful Prosecco Hills and Pre-Alps, led by the enthusiastic and ebullient Vania de Paoli. It was hotter than expected for the second half of May, making some of the unshaded uphill sections quite taxing, but Vania timed the breaks to ensure that everyone in our varied and convivial group was able (literally!) to take the walks in their stride. A very good way to get back into the swing of foreign holidays after two difficult years.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final day's walk in the Pre-Alps, starting at over 1000 metres, combined great views with wild narcissi, asfodel, orchids and many other spring flowers, in more comfortable temperatures than earlier in the week because of the altitude. And Vania topped it off by producing two bottles of Prosecco at the highest point! Outside the main programme, Vania also organised a wine and food tasting menu for us at the restaurant a few metres from the Hotel. Four courses and five red wines, all made within 15 km of the hotel and two of them particularly good, for Eur40 per head - exceptional value!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Nothing was too much trouble for Vania - and she was great fun with it!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring walking poles and make sure you know how to use them. The walks are not particularly long but they merit the Leisurely/Moderate grading because there is significant ascent and descent, some of it sustained and on steep and rather loose paths.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our third trip with Exodus and we certainly hope to do another one.
  • Perfect trip

    Good food and wine all week, and great walking, what more can you ask for?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was good to learn more about the different types of prosecco.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania is an excellent tour leader - you are safe in her hands, and will have a great time!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip. Don't eat much for lunch at the airport on the way out, you will get a generous dinner in the evening! (and that theme continues all week really …). I did use mossie repellant (just the natural citronella stuff), and I didn’t get bitten, so would recommend. Would also recommend walking poles most days, as there are some steep up/down sections on all but one of the walks. I walked to San Gallo church on the “free” day, which I would recommend for a great view. If using Google maps, aim for the nearby locanda (La Candola) rather than the church, then it wont lead you down a non-existant path! Church is just after that on the same road.
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Great itinerary

    If you like wine and some ‘up and down’ walking this is the trip for you. Away from crowds and brilliantly organised. Even better if you get the Vania and Sandra combo!
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Predictive tech

    Technology needs to do what it is told.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    You will see my review from the other day below is grammatically incorrect. The group leader section starts with Variously obviously..... This is totally wrong. I typed Vania who was our leader. It is Vania, Vania, Vania not Variously. Word obviously decided it didn't like Vania and made something up. With all the money I have given Microsoft a refund is obviously due.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania is a star. Never met Variously.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Rant over
  • Reviewed May 2022

    Prosecco Hills

    Not too heavy, not too light. Like the wines.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Final walk provided excellent views of the hills, but every day gave something different. The free day we went to Venice, with all help necessary for the journey from Vania and Sandra (driver)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Various obviously loves what she does and her enthusiasm shows.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was very hot for our trip in May toping 30 on one day. Be aware and have suitable clothing for the conditions. Be prepared for some steep uphill too.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Eve Murdock

    Another great trip with Exodus

    This trip exceeded my expectations in terms of the standard of walks, places we visited and fabulous companions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved all the walking but the most inspirational was the trip to Treviso. The city was very clean fascinating and interesting. I loved the walled centre and the great guide who showed us around with lots of enthusiasm. In addition, the food stop near the fish market provided delicious lunch and tiramisu.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What can I say about Vania that hasn’t already been said! I chose this trip because I wanted to travel with Vania again having previously walked the Amalfi coast with a group led by her in March 2018. She is a delightful, professional, friendly and calm person with a great sense of humour, and I joked with her that she was our Mummy and we were her chicks following closely behind. Nothing seemed to phase her and she always had a smile for everyone. She is a credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take insect repellent, even in October, as the little blighters can inflict nasty bites.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Shân Spencer

    Excellent holiday

    We had a very enjoyable holiday walking in the Prosecco hills with Vania who was an excellent guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose one moment - we enjoyed the whole trip . There was a varied itinerary with spectacular scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania de Proli was excellent . She had very good local knowledge , was very well organised and looked after the group in a very thoughtful manner throughout the week making sure everyone was comfortable with the walks

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing further . I would thoroughly recommend the holiday
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Rachel Garnett

    Prosecco Hills

    This was our second Exodus walking holiday, having walked in the Amalfi last year. We had a fabulous week exploring an area completely new to us. The Prosecco Hills are truly beautiful - rolling hills backed by the Pre Alps and the Dolomites - stunning! Our group was made up of a great bunch of people who were a lot of fun to spend the week with. A highlight was finding out that Vania was going to be our leader for the week, having first met her in the Amalfi when she was training there. Vania is a lovely leader - thoughtful, fun and was aware of everyone's needs at all times - during the walks, in the restaurants when ordering food etc. Naturally, prosecco featured strongly during the week and we almost felt like experts by the end of the week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspirational moments during our trip - the walk on the last day to Mt Cesen was stunning, as was the beautiful restaurant on the final night. The walk through the vineyards on a very hot day and then finding a prosecco vending machine at our lovely lunch stop was both fun and welcome! Tasting tiramisu in Treviso was a treat. Visiting the family vineyard was great and informative and having the opportunity to revisit Venice on our free day was fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was an excellent group leader. She was knowledgeable, easy going, caring, smiling and patient - lovely to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take layers - although for 6 out of the 7 days we had lovely, warm weather, one day we had rain and thunder so options clothes-wise are essential. In our opinion, this level of walking is not hard-core. There are some strenuous parts, so you can feel challenged at times, but there are also plenty of breaks, so as long as you are reasonably fit you should be absolutely fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate to book! If you love the beautiful outdoors and enjoy other people's company, you are bound to have a great time with other like-minded people.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sarah Davey

    Prosecco Hills

    Vania was the most amazing guide by providing us with the most amazing walks, tailored to everyone's needs. She went above and beyond what was expected of her even on her day and week off afterwards. The only reason I didn't give excellent was because the hotel let you down. With it closing for refurbishment, a lot of facilities were not available like the restaurant and the rooms were shabby and some items were not working. IE. The safe and shower in my room.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She is the best. Warm, kind, thoughtful, very social, accommodating, and goes beyond the call if duty. I went specifically on this trip, that week to walk again with Vania. I walked with her in Amalfi last year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose a trip with Vania.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sarah Davey

    Prosecco Hills

    Vania was the most amazing guide by providing us with the most amazing walks, tailored to everyone's needs. She went above and beyond what was expected of her even on her day and week off afterwards. The only reason I didn't give excellent was because the hotel let you down. With it closing for refurbishment, a lot of facilities were not available like the restaurant and the rooms were shabby and some items were not working. IE. The safe and shower in my room.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She is the best. Warm, kind, thoughtful, very social, accommodating, and goes beyond the call if duty. I went specifically on this trip, that week to walk again with Vania. I walked with her in Amalfi last year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose a trip with Vania.