Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ben Brown

    A Great Time

    I really enjoyed everything about this group hike. This was the challenging version in March 2018...which was a great time to visit with temperatures in the Low 70's F. Everything went off without any problems but that was most likely due to the guide, Michael Newcomb. He is probably the best guide I have ever encountered. Not only is he very personable, he has taken the time to learn a LOT about the area and wildlife. He took the time to interact with all of the members of the group and he paid close attention to the pace to make sure those at the back didn't fall behind too far. He was simply outstanding. The Cortijo (farmhouse) was a really great place to stay. I had the single room and it was clean and comfortable. Note that there were dogs barking during the night but they are on nearby farms so the owners cannot help this. The owners, Joke and Cartouche, were very friendly and helpful as were their staff. I was able to pack lighter because they offered a laundry service that I took advantage of halfway through the trip. The food for the evening meals was fine (not bad) but I had hoped for a bit more Spanish cuisine. Breakfast was fairly light but sufficient. As a side note, Cartouche is also a talented tattooist and he has a small shop on the premises.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip for me was the view from the hike on the first day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was outstanding. The best I have had.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Beelin Baxter

    Unforgettable holiday

    This was a fantastic holiday in many ways. From booking till the day we left to go home, it was all done with great professionalism. The pace was just right and the group size was perfect. Well done Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our highlight was the caminito del Rey.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We couldn't have had a better leader than Michael. He offered us plenty of knowledge, and we had lots of laughs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy 😊

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Cortisol Rosario was lovely. Simple but homely.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alan Gelson

    A most enjoyable trip

    I would unreservedly recommend this trip. Michael Newcomb our guide was brilliant- enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about the land and the landscape and the flora and fauna and especially the trees and birds of the region. Our Hotel was comfortable with a terrace and panoramic views and an inviting well maintained swimming pool and Cartouche and Joke were warm welcoming and friendly. The food was excellent and Doug provided back up and the two resident dogs were a delight. The bed rooms were well sound proofed and very comfortable and the residents' sitting room comfortable and cosy with a log fire in the evenings. The walks were varied and gave us a great feel for the local landscape. Our day in Seville -one of the great European cities was fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the National Park

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was inspirational. His background fitting him ideally for this responsible and educational role. Michael's parents are Spanish but he was brought up in England where he excelled as a sportsman and went on to London University to read History. He possesses a detailed knowledge of the flora and fauna and history of this beautiful country He possesses excellent people skills and throughout did his utmost to insure our safety and enjoyment of this trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Harry Gracey

    You will love this trip

    Our first guided walking holiday (but not our first trip with Exodus) , and our first visit to this part of Spain. A really enjoyable week in rural Andalucia with a good mix of walks in spectacular scenery, great food, company etc. Particular thanks to our outstanding, most knowledgeable and helpful guide Michael, and all the staff at Cortijo Rosario.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots to choose from - plump for completing the Caminito del Rey. Don’t have a great head for heights ! El Chorro Gorge is truly spectular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely superb in every way - a sincere thank you Michael. Eleanor and Harry.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was our first guided walking holiday and the walks are not particularly demanding. Lots of stops for views, things of interest etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Geoff Holmes

    Great first trip with Exodus ( level 4 )

    A great introduction to rural Spain . We had hot sunny weather every day which made the walking days very enjoyable. The Accomodation was excellent too , with all the staff being friendly and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the " Caminito Del Rey " made the trip for Me. The added bonus that we got to walk it with almost no one else in sight ( We were warned that it could be very busy ) was the icing on the cake.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was a great group leader , very knowledgeable on the local area , wildlife and plants. He could not have been more helpful and answered all questions put to Him , or offered to find out the info if He didn't know it. His cheerful disposition really helped the group gel together from day one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    insect repellant required if eating outside in the evenings.......
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mark Weary

    Very peaceful

    This was a very peaceful vacation. Mike, our guide, was great. We had a great week. The hotel had a great food and a great view. The staff was very accommodating and a pleasure to talk with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The group we had was great. After a full day of hiking, it was great to hang out with them for an after hike drink and then again at the hotel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike was great. He was knowledgeable and very sociable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a very relaxing location and vacation. If you are looking for a town to explore and go out in the evenings, this is not it. If you want a place to relax and enjoy the week, this is definitely it.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Christine & Brian Manning

    Sunny Days

    A fantastic time walking in the area around the Cortijo Rosario & beyond. Each walk introduced a different vista into the experience & we saw lots of birds of prey which the leader Michael easily identified. All walks ended with a cooling beer or two which was well received. The accommodation was very good & the meals exceptional.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was different & we enjoyed it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Michael Newcomb was very knowledgeable about the local area with respect to flora, fauna & history & shared this information in an easy manner. He was well organised & catered for all abilities within the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax & enjoy your time in Andalucia.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The owners & staff at the cortijo were all very helpful & nothing was too much trouble for them. Roger was an exceptional chef & his shellfish dishes were delicious. He also was very good at catering for all dietary requirements.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Sharon Nicholls

    Walking in Andalusia

    Well organised. Lovely location. Excellent guide. Great value

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Caminito Del Ray

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Went the extra 10 miles!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Will definitely use Exodus again!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Gail Madeley

    Walking in sunshine with great views, great hospitality and great food

    A week of blistering heat (even hotter than in England) in superb landscapes with great hospitality from the management team who had only taken over Cortijo Rosario towards the end of last year. Varied itinerary with different walks on each day. Food prepared by Roger was delicious and the vegetarian options were envied by the rest of the meat-eating group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing really stands out specifically as all days were great and varied so it would be unfair to choose anything in particular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was great - his enthusiasm and knowledge was excellent and even if Belgium beat England in the group stage of the World Cup this was taken in the spirit of the occasion as the owners of the cortijo were from Belgium, as was the chef who lived up to his promise of sangria if we ate dinner 30 minutes earlier so that the kick off was not missed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would personally like to thank Joke for meeting us at the airport when our flight from Birmingham was delayed and we knew we had missed the group pick up and to Alice at Exodus who kept us updated at all times - luckily I had turned my phone on when we landed and she managed to telephone us while we were waiting for our luggage to let us know that there was someone waiting for us.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Susan Leaford

    Everything that it should have been.

    A week walking in beautiful Andalusia, with a day in Seville as a change. Centre-based, so no packing and unpacking. Springtime, and the flowers were stunning. Walks varied, which was good. And with a likely bunch of fellow travellers, as ever with Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ohhh - Sorry --- I know that the walking was excellent, the flowers stunning, the drives terrific, and the food just marvellous, and Seville's the City of the Season, but for me - even with all of that - the highlight was probably pushing back the bolts on the kitchen door in the morning, and taking my tea out onto the terrace to watch the sun rise, listen to the birds, watch the mists evaporate, and just generally take my peace before the day. And yes, I can feel my cheeks smiling as I type this.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Personable, informative, well organised, and good team skills.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only that there's not vast amounts of down time, so don't bother taking too much in the way of extra books etc.
Call us on 020 8772 3936