Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Mandy McEvoy

    Superb walking in Spain with a fantastic guide!

    A fabulous and varied trip, walking the hills of Andalucia and the breathtaking Caminito del Rey. With a free day in the absolutely stunning city of Seville and the knowledge of an expert guide, Michael Newcombe... this trip is a must.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Caminito del Rey.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael Newcombe was the most enthusiastic, knowledgeable and conscientious guide that I’ve ever experienced on an Exodus tour. He has a vast knowledge of the flora, fauna, geology and history of Andalucia. It was a pleasure to walk and listen to his expertise in all fields. On the last day at airport drop off, I had several hours to wait before my flight. Michael helped me to store my luggage in the secure left luggage department and buy return tickets for the metro train into Malaga. He described how to get to the Picasso museum. I had a great few hours instead of a long boring wait! Nothing was too much trouble for Mike... he looked after all of us on the tour, so well! Thank you Mike!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t expect luxurious surroundings at the Cortijo Rosario, it is a very rural, converted farmhouse. The food is plentiful and the place is clean. There are lovely friendly staff and the loyalty bar is well stocked. Evenings are spent here as the walk into the village is long, dark and hilly. The bedrooms are small but adequate. Our shower had plentiful, hot running water but other guests said that their showers had a slow flow and the water was cold. My only moan was that the towels were only changed once in the week. I think twice would have been better. You do get quite dusty and hot walking in Andalucia, sometimes requiring two showers per day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Michael deserves to be voted guide of the year ! He certainly is a star guide who looks after his guests tremendously!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Melanie Byrne

    Worth the wait

    I tried to book this holiday in March 2018, but as there was not a single room available and as I wanted to fly from my local airport and couldn't meet the group transfer in time, I decided on another trip with a competitor of Exodus, but this year the flights meant I arrived in time to meet the group at the airport, and despite my reservations about going in May and it being a bit too warm for walking, the whole group coped with the 27c.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from The Cortijo, the quiet and the walk in the Grazalema park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Having read all the reviews- Michael was the reason why this year I decided I would share a room with someone unknown as no single room available, he absolutely made the trip . Amusing and informative, he looked after us well, and if we needed any information he went out of his way to get it for us. When out walking, Michael made sure we were all well hydrated, had plenty of sun screen on, took regular breaks in the shade of the olive trees and was very keen on us carrying at least 2 litres of water, as we were regularly advised to fill our hats with some and put our hats back on our heads! It really does help to keep you cool.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've not given this a 5, only because the food, while plentiful was just a little bland, a definite lack of fresh salad, onions, garlic, dressings and piquancy. The starters were probably the least imaginative, and for myself too big! The mains including the fish were mostly good,except the chicken vol au vent- not as we understand in the UK, perhaps I'm being a bit picky, just personal taste but then I like cooking.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Lynn Roulstone

    A selection of excellent walks in diverse countryside

    A lovely relaxing week in a charming farmhouse with a pool. The five walks were all very different, and the day 'off' that was spent in Seville was different again. Each walk took you through different aspects of Andalusia, olive groves, holm oak woods, the spectacular caminito del rey. It was difficult to pick a favourite, they all had things to commend them, and the fact that each one featured a bar for a refreshment stop was very welcome. I thought the day in Seville might be long and tiring, but though it was very hot there was enough to do that the time didn't lag, and the lovely gardens of the Alcazar were a good place to relax before the evening's flamenco show. The farmhouse was very comfortable, and the food was good. As a vegetarian I didn't feel I was missing out. All in all one of the best Exodus holidays I've been on.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The flora and fauna. Seeing ibex and coming across a peony in the wild was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael/Miguel was fantastic. He wrote on the board each evening the itinerary for the next day, sot here was no wondering exactly what was happening. He was careful to make sure the walks were carefully paced, with lots of stops in the shade. Michael was very knowledgeable about the area, the history and wildlife and we came away feeling we'd learned far more about the area than we would have if we'd been on our own.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although this is a level two some of the walks do involve gradients and uneven surfaces. Nothing too arduous, but if you haven't done much walking recently maybe a bit of training before you go. The tinto Verano drink (red wine and lemonade) was a very good discovery, ideal drinking after a longish walk in the sun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Although the itinerary seems rather full on, you can opt in and out of any of it. One of the advantages of being based in the same place all week.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Steve Johnson

    Fantastic Holiday!

    The week was wonderful: we had great weather; the comfortable, laid back cortijo is set in an unspoiled Andalucian landscape; our 13 fellow guests were great and amusing company; our guide, Michael, as other reviewers have pointed out was a one of the best we have had on our Exodus trips (highly knowledgeable, caring, supportive and and happy to have a laugh); and the walks were pitched just right. -

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no one outstanding moment. We will remember all of the walks we did with our group (and, of course, the drinks afterwards). Heartfelt thanks to all of you!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael was excellent - the trip would not have been the same without him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of the walks involved descending down scree and if you are worried about your ankles you could consider taking along with you walking boots with some ankle support. Some of our group found walking poles helpful. Seville was hot (around 40 degrees on our day there) and I think most of us struggled to walk around even though it was mid-May. In hindsight I wish I had done a little research on Seville and targeted exactly what I wanted to see and planned the route. The cortijo owners cater for vegetarians and those with sea-food allergies and so you haven't got to worry about anything on that score. I would say that the walks are level 2 walks although there are some steepish ascents which got the old ticker racing a bit. If hills are a bit daunting it might be worth putting a bit of training before the holiday. There is some wildlife to see on the walks (we saw griffin vultures, golden eagles, hoopoes, shrikes, ibex, etc.) and so you might want to consider bring along with you binoculars for a better view.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you enjoy walking in peaceful and unspoiled landscapes with stress-free evenings then this holiday might be for you.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    K Badham

    Great Trip

    Therle was no downside to anything about this trip (apart from 38degree heat in Sevilla!) Our guide, Miguel, was so knowledgeable about every aspect of the area, history, flora and fauna, and the itinerary of walks was varied to suit all tastes. He dealt with minor crises extremely calmly and efficiently, and put up with our teasing etc with patience and as if he hadn't heard it all before! thank you Miguel. The Cortijo on a stunning hilltop with beautiful views across the valley and to the village, was comfortable, the food plentiful and tasty, and all staff friendly and helpful. Our driver was very safe and the vehicle clean and well maintained, The group enjoyed each other's company and all had a great time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Luckhurst

    Lovely experience of rural Spain

    We had a thoroughly enjoyable week on this holiday. The walking is not too strenuous but is varied and picturesque. Our guide, Michael, made this holiday for us. He was so knowledgable and interesting but friendly and cheerful also. He knew so much about the local area & its plants and wildlife. The accommodation is comfortable with plentiful tasty food (although coffee in a local bar in Algámitas was better than at the cortijo! ) We were able to see all the sights of the beautiful city of Seville which was an added bonus. Felt quite privileged to spend some time in an unspoilt area of Spain with a friendly bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We enjoyed the walk along the Caminito del Rey. Stunning views and never really experienced anything like it before ( over such a prolonged distance) Also we were lucky to see the Easter celebrations in progress whilst we visited the first town for our tapas lunch which incidentally was delicious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgable but able to share this in an interesting way. He worked hard to keep the group together on our walks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you would like to experience a part of Spain which is off the ‘tourist track’, give this holiday a try, you won’t be disappointed.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    David Emsley

    Excellent Walking

    A very pleasant week's walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Caminito del Rey

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michael Newcomb helped to make the holiday most enjoyable. As well as being very knowledgeable about Spanish history, culture, and the routes along which he directed us, he had a great sense of humour and worked hard to ensure that all members of the group enjoyed the walking.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Eve Parker

    Wonderful Andalusia

    A peaceful, relaxed walk amongst olive groves, outstanding scenery and quiet, white villages. Based in a cortijo which served superb food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the griffon vultures soaring and enjoying the numerous wild flowers. pleased to see Ibex too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alexis was great for giving us information about the area and what we could expect.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go if you want to discover a peaceful Spain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to Seville was good, especially visiting the Alcazar, and we had a bonus trip to Ronda on our way back as our flight wasn't until late. Again, we had lots of useful tips for the best places to visit and where we'd find the most interesting food.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    James Moodie

    Walk and learn

    An excellent walking holiday in Andalucia with a first class guide who was vey competent. Vast knowledge about the geography and the history of the area and a superb knowledge of the plant / wild life of the area all with a very engaging manner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoyed the different walks in the area.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Engaging, knowledgeable and just the person to make one aware of what is around you, be it wild life, plant life or historical .
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Mary Symes

    andalucian odessey

    As a single traveller I was a bit apprehensive about joining a group for a week's walking. I needn't have worried. My fellow travellers were charming, good company and great walking companions. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. The double rooms with balconies had views - but not mine sadly. The food at the cortijo was plentiful and tasty, the breakfast coffee could be improved though. The walks were the highlight: disturbing dozens of griffin vultures feeding on carrion and watching them take flight; being in the natural landscape beyond the ubiquitous olive groves and not least Miguel, our guide who was just superb the whole time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having a quiet lunch stop perched on a limestone outcrop.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Miguel was very well informed and knowledgeable. He had a good sense of humour and very likeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    March is a good time to go as its not too hot

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I paid a single person supplement but got a single room which was only big enough for a single bed. I wasn't occupying a double room. It had limited view and no balcony. I don't understand therefore, what the single supplement is paying for.