Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Paul Jefferies

    Walking in Tuscany

    This is the third Exodus holiday that we have been on and the best one by a long way. The walks in stunning scenery were varied and interesting and are do-able with a good level of basic fitness. The farmhouse was warm and cosy with excellent home cooked food, we are vegetarians and had no worries or disappointments with the food. What made this holiday exceptional and one we will never forget was the leader, Sara. Her enthusiasm and positivity for looking after "her clients" shone through in every thing she did; for example buying rail tickets and arranging taxis made all the difference. Out on the mountains, Sara's knowledge of the terrain and love for the area was infectious. To top it all, the company of Sara's wonderful dog Elvis, trotting alongside us, made this an unforgettable holiday. If you are thinking about booking this holiday, just do it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The autumnal colours and scenery seen from the top of Monte Prado.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Ian Lochhead

    Walking in Tuscany

    An absolutely fantastic week staying in a lovely Tuscan farmhouse with delicious home-cooked food. The walks were all very different but each was superb in it's own way with breathtaking scenery. The local family who run the accommodation were all extremely friendly and welcoming people. Our guide Sara Bull was exceptional(see below) and we were lucky to experience almost an entire week of lovely warm/hot sunshine. Our group bonded straight away and this contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the holiday. The dog Elvis who accompanies the group on every walk is the fittest, friendliest & most loveable dog I've met.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire trip was inspirational in view of the stunning scenery of the Garfagnana region however the highlight would probably be summiting one of the highest peaks in the region, Monte Sumbra, on a beautiful warm day with perfect visibility. The views from the top were simply breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Where to begin when describing Sara Bull! I first did this trip 9 years ago and Sara was also the guide then and was outstanding-nothing has changed in that time. Sara is everything you would want in a guide-friendly, sociable, vastly experienced & knowledgeable, organised, attentive and basically great fun to be with. She contributed massively to my enjoyment of the holiday. Sara quite obviously loves her job and goes the extra few miles to make sure every person has the best possible week's holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weather conditions. Although we were lucky to experience brilliant weather most of the week the weather can change very quickly in the region-rain jackets and sunscreen required! Also-make sure you're fitness is at a good level. The main advice would be if you are thinking about booking this holiday then definitely do it-you will not regret it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my 10th trip with Exodus and I can't recommend this company highly enough. It is great to head off on a holiday like this knowing that everything is being taken care of for you allowing you to relax and enjoy the trip. Our group consisted of 3 couples and 5 solo travellers(including myself) however everyone got on very well together right from the start and there were many laughs along the way.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Ana Redondo

    A holiday I will remember for years to come

    This was my first trip with Exodus and I have to admit my experience during the booking wasn’t the best to start with. It was rather slow and inefficient, but I have sent Exodus some comments on this and I am sure they will take them on board. Also I spoke to other members of the group that have done many trips with Exodus and they have not experienced any problems, so I am inclined to think this was just a one off. But that’s all the ‘bad over’ and truly the only niggling point. Other than that, I can honestly say it was one of the best holidays I have ever had. I’ll try and break my feedback down but I’ll start with the guide in case you get tired of reading: 1. The guide - before I went I was surprised and bit intrigued by how many people mentioned this lady called ‘Sara’ and how lovely she was. I don’t think any of us can make justice in writing to who she really is. She is a phenomenal professional, a bundle of enthusiasm and energy and a tremendous human being. One of the most inspiring people I have ever met. And her dog ‘Elvis’ is a legend you have to meet! With all my respect to Exodus and whatever they do in the office, 90% of your trip experience is the guide. They have the ability to make or break a trip and I can only say, this lady made for all of us a memorable trip that I am sure we will remember for years to come. 2. Experience required - being new to this, I wasn’t sure if the information was exaggerated in terms of fitness or not. Reading back, I think it was spot on, so read carefully the description. Yes there are some climbs that get you a bit out of breath, but all in all it is a manageable pace and Sara was awesome at managing the pace and breaks. Also pay attention to the equipment you need, it was also spot on. For example don’t think trainers and jeans will do, because they will not. 3. Accommodation - not flashy or luxurious in the traditional sense, but really warm, cosy, welcoming. In all honestly, I wouldn’t change a thing. To me this place “is” luxury, not fancy hotels with useless toiletries but that’s personal opinion. The family is lovely, the setting is incredible and I’d rather stay here than anywhere else. The food was great and plentiful. So, perfect really. 4. The area and walking – a hidden gem of incredible beauty. Some of the views really take your breath away. Still not very developed in terms of tourism which makes it truly special. On the day off most of us went to Lucca and it really is worth a visit. The trip in general has a really good balance between seeing small villages/cities and different walks. All in all, if you have any doubts about this trip, book it. Go and I seriously doubt you’ll regret it. Sorry for the lengthy of the review, but hopefully it will help.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I am sorry but there were so many I couldn't chose a single one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not enough words to describe Sara, read the summary.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Karen McGowan

    A truly wonderful holiday!

    This trip exceeded my expectations on all levels. The walks were varied, the scenery was stunning and our guide Liz was fabulous. We were a group of 12 people (3 couples, 3 single women, a mother & daughter and a single man) and got on well, looked out for each other and laughed a lot. The accommodation was beautiful and the hospitality and food provided at the family run agriturismo, couldn't be faltered. It was an added bonus having the swimming pool on hand for a quick cool-down in the evening or to swim a few laps before breakfast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains and the people we met but the whole trip was inspirational in many ways.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was amazing, professional, fun, friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area. Despite different paces and fitness levels in the group, Liz ensured we walked as a group, whilst also managing individual needs. Liz went out of her way to accommodate us on many occasions, by making detours to go to a chemist, transporting some to Lucca on the non-walking day and then driving some of us to our next stop when the holiday ended. I cannot praise Liz enough and I'm considereing a similar holiday she recommended, for next year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My husband and I found the walks to be at the upper end of moderate, possibly due to the heatwave we encountered whilst there and recommend that people add electrolyte sachets to their drinking water, which we found prevented de-hydration and stiffness in the legs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend this holiday to anyone considering it. Also, listen to your guide as they know what they're talking about and make sure you use electrolyte sachets in your water, when walking.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Wendy Wheeler

    Fantastic Grade 5 version

    We were surprised and really pleased to discover this trip also came in a grade 5 version (once per month?). Everything about this trip was great - the walking terrain, the views, the lovely group, the fantastic leader (who happens to be quite the blister-blasting nurse too), Pierre-Luigi, who was great when I got a little nervous (unnecessarily but it seemed justified at the time!) and of course, Elvis the dog. And the farmhouse was so much lovelier than I anticipated, having an evening dip in the pool after a long day of hiking was heaven to me. Everyone in the group except me was a fussy eater in one way or another (if you are reading this, I mean it in the nicest possible way!), but it did not faze Braccicorti, all the food was lovely, and the wine they make was rather nice too...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were definitely inspirational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was excellent, probably the best I've met - she knows loads about the area, and Braccicorti and really cares about them too; she always looked out for all of us; kept us informed; was fun and interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use the pool! And do whatever Sara tells you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its a really well put together, enjoyable trip in a beautiful location
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Sue Melling

    Walking in Tuscany

    I highly recommend this walking holiday staying at the agrotouristic family-run home of Braccicorti in the beautiful Garfagnana valley. Each of the five walks are unique and the scenery magnificent though the view from Pania di Corfino was a little obscured due to the weather. However, this was more than compensated for by the stunning views from the walks in the Apuane National Park to Monte Sumbra, along part of the Appenine ridge to Monte Prado and the walk to Campocatino and San Viviano's Hermitage. The walk in the valley led by a local guide, Pierre Luigi, was great too as Pierre informed us of the history and farming of the area. But what made this trip truly fantastic and extraordinary was the sensitive and thoughtful leadership of our guide, Sara, accompanied by Elvis her dog. Sara is extremely knowledgable, informative, experienced, inspirational and has a way of communicating that is enthralling and humourous. She worked tirelessly to ensure all in the group were well catered for and throughly enjoyed their experience. Thanks to Sara I had a truly wonderful time with plenty of laughs and new friendships made. Thank you Sara and Elvis! and all the family at Braccicorti.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from meeting and spending time with Sara and Elvis and the group members, I absolutely loved the walk in the Appenino Tosco-Emiliano National Park along the Crinali ridge to Monte Prado. The flowers, the scents, the views, the wildlife - all were sensational and all enjoyed in great company.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing! Sara is a real asset to Exodus Travels and if I had any say in it I would definitely vote her 'Guide of the Year'.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice to potential travellers is to book now!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Yuko Welch

    Walking in Tuscany

    Wonderful trip. It was very well organised and planed. We are looked after by the leader and accommodation's team very well.Wonderful location and great walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was a very clear day. Fantastic view from the top of Monte Prado. We could see the line of mountain range all the way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She is very efficient, informative, and good communicator as well as funny and humourous. Her information for the rest day is excellent, too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you learn a few Italian words, your trip would be more fun. Because you are going to the real Tuscany mountain village, not a big tourist place.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had a wonderful trip. We were so lucky that almost all days are sunny. We had a thunder storm for about one hour but it was like a "spice of the trip". We were also very lucky to have nice bunch of people and great leader and her team. And most of all, for me, to walk with Elvis (dog) is fantastic. I felt relax and so much fun. I would love to come back in Autumn. The colour of the leaves must be beautiful.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Steve Braysher

    Tuscany: The trip of high points

    What a fantastic week! Stunning scenery, a great variety of walks, a lovely place to stay, good food and tremendous company. Oh, and the weather put on a big smile for us too (apart from the last day) and possibly the best guide in the business. It really would be difficult to think of a way of beating it. Monte Prado and Monte Sumbra were good to 'bag' but walking some of the ridges and through the beautiful forests added a different dimension as did exploring some of the local settlements on the valley day. The Golden Eagles on the first day, Alpine Choughs on the second and the Fire Salamander later in the week were pretty good too. What brought it all together was the way the group gelled, good banter, a few 'wind ups', people looking out for each other and a very relaxed atmosphere, a perfect combination for a great trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one thing. The overall experience of the mountains, the group and our guide made the whole package an inspirational experience - that sounds a bit over the top but it is how it was on this trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceptional and brilliant. Sara Bull is undoubtedly the best guide I have met. Her huge experience of and passion for mountains, adventure, the local area and people together with her enthusiastic sharing of these with the group added considerably to what was provided by the natural environment of the Garfagnana region, and the team at Braccicorti. She made time for everybody and did far more for us than could or should be reasonably expected of any group leader. Her assistant, Elvis the dog, was also a star. Whilst on the hill she adjusted things to cater for the needs of both the group as a whole and individuals at the same time. When faced with decisions forced by changing weather conditions she was decisive but also took time to explain her decisions. Knowing that Sara was guiding would be a significant factor in deciding on the next trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Our group was great and everybody was more than capable of completing the walks but do look carefully at the trip notes about distances and terrain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of those trips where everything came together in near perfect alignment, which means that it is now the benchmark by which subsequent trips will be judged and they are going to have to go some to come out on top. A huge thank you to everybody involved.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Katherine Evans

    Hill Walking in Tuscany

    I had never been on an organised holiday before and I really enjoyed myself. The other people on the trip were great fun and we really gelled as a group. I got to see some fabulous scenery and villages around Tuscany, which I would I have missed had I travelled under my own steam. The food and the accommodation were also first class. I thoroughly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I have quite a severe fear of heights but with the robust good sense of Sarah the guide, and the warmth and good humour of other people on the trip, I managed to scramble to the top of one of the highest peaks in the Garfagnana, and it felt really empowering.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sarah Bull the guide (and her canine assistant, the inimitable Elvis) were amazing. Sarah is so knowledgeable about the Garfagnana and an extremely experienced walker/climber/international adventuress. I felt privileged to have met her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book something with Exodus. I would be astonished if you did not enjoy it.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Lavinia Mainds

    Walking in Tuscany

    This is our 3rd walking & trekking trip with Exodus and what a fabulous trip it was. Staying in the beautiful family run Braccicorti Lodge, drinking their home made Grappa and chatting and laughing together as a group. We were 4 couples and 3 singles and everyone enjoyed each other's company. Some were faster than others but our guide ensured we operated as a group. My husband would have liked another week sitting by the swimming pool.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is hard to pick out one inspirational moment but getting to the top of the hills each day felt great every time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull was absolutely fabulous. Her knowledge and passion for the local area was a joy to behold. She looked after us quite beautifully, making sure the walks were carefully paced, that we were properly equipped and topping up our energy levels with biscuits and sweeties she carried in her Mary Poppins bag. We would definitely look to be guided by her again and another couple were on their 3rd trip guided by Sara. I'm sure it was Sara that ensured the English passion for cups of tea was catered for in Braccicorti.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes carefully - this is Northern Tuscany and hilly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish I could book another trip immediately.
Call us on 020 8772 3936