Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018

    Wonderful first experience of walking holidays!

    Really enjoyed this trip, our guide, Liz, was excellent, the walks were well planned and we were able to explore this beautiful region, the Garfagnana area, which we had not visited before. The agriturismo experience was another first for us, our hosts were warm and welcoming and the food and home-produced wine was plentiful and tasty, it was a lovely environment. We were lucky to be with a very friendly group of fellow walkers which added to the experience and we have arrived home feeling very refreshed and keen to book another Exodus trip in the near future. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys walking and beautiful countryside.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved it all!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was very enthusiastic and planned our days well, taking into account weather conditions and everyone’s needs. She was very attentive to each person on the trip and the holiday would not have been the same without her.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this trip!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    John Walsh

    Walking in Tuscany

    This was an excellent tour. The accommodation was delightful and all the people there were charming and so accommodating. The guide - Sara Bull - was superb and the walking was enjoyable and in places spectacular without being too arduous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the rock arch on Monte Ferato. Stunning. And this was a walk that was not in the original itinerary. We went there because the weather was not good enough for Monte Sumbra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull is one of the best group leaders I have come across. Extremely knowledgeable, very well organised, very aware of the needs and capabilities of her clients and good company. She took great care to ensure that everyone knew what was going on, managed all their end of tour travel (surely not within her scope to buy tickets and provide tourist information to those going on to other places) and took care to ensure that my wife (who was not walking with us) had all the information she needed. We had a minor accident on one of the walks and Sara handled the situation very competently and professionally. Excellent all round.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My one reservation was the selection of the restaurant for the meal we were taken to in Castelnuovo. While some of the dishes were very good and, as advertised, constituted a good main course, others under the same heading (eg gnocchi, eggs with truffle) were very small and uninteresting. I did well, but I know that several others in the group were disappointed (and hungry!). I can't help feeling that the town must have better to offer.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Andrew Simpson

    Garfagnana heaven

    Agritourismo in Braccicorti is fantastic. Wonderful walks and great home cooking and Sara is the best guide in Italy. Sara looks after you and knows everything about the local area.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the highest peak in Tuscany through the snow at the top. Wonderful views and lovely team spirit in our group. relaxed by the pool at Braccicorti on our return before another lovely home cooked supper in the farmhouse.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull is fantastic. She is so thoughtful and makes wonderful home made flapjack and muffins to keep you going however steep the climb. She puts herself out to make the most of your transfer days so we had a lovely half day in Castel Nuovo before returning to Pisa airport to fly home. Her dog Elvis came on most of our walks and keeps an eye on us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it now!! It is fantastic.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I cannot wait to do another trip.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Stephen Hall

    Great walking in Tuscany

    Lovely scenery. Good walks that were varied. They included rough mountain paths and atmospheric meanders through woodland.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just enjoyed the whole lot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very able and competent. Put safety first throughout. Informative and willing to share knowledge and experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are equipped for various weather conditions. Read trip notes and take notice of advice. They are excellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the week. Good accommodation, walks, group of fellow walkers and a place I would like to re-visit.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Stephen Hall

    Great walking in Tuscany

    Lovely scenery. Good walks that were varied. They included rough mountain paths and atmospheric meanders through woodland.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just enjoyed the whole lot.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very able and competent. Put safety first throughout. Informative and willing to share knowledge and experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are equipped for various weather conditions. Read trip notes and take notice of advice. They are excellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the week. Good accommodation, walks, group of fellow walkers and a place I would like to re-visit.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Ann Lydiard

    Fantastic week in the mountains

    I have just got back from a fantastic week in Tuscany. This has been one of the best holidays I have ever had. The walks were fantastic and all achievable with a reasonable level of fitness. The accommodation was lovely, comfortable rooms with use of a lounge (where there was tea and coffee available any time) and quite room for relaxing and reading. The food was wonderful, home cooked with all the ingrediants sourced locally. The family and staff were very welcoming and made us all feel at home. The best part of the holiday for me was our guide Sara, who was brilliant. She had a fantastic in-depth knowledge of the area, made sure every person in our group was well looked after, even on our free day. This was my first exodus holiday and despite being nervous as I was going on my own, soon made friends and am now looking at booking my next trip already! An amazing holiday which I highly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing all the walks with supportive encouragement from our guide Sara and my fellow group members.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic and an inspiration. Sara was great at getting to know everyone in the group and ensured we had a great holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book this holiday now! You won't regret it.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Paul Jefferies

    Walking in Tuscany

    This is the third Exodus holiday that we have been on and the best one by a long way. The walks in stunning scenery were varied and interesting and are do-able with a good level of basic fitness. The farmhouse was warm and cosy with excellent home cooked food, we are vegetarians and had no worries or disappointments with the food. What made this holiday exceptional and one we will never forget was the leader, Sara. Her enthusiasm and positivity for looking after "her clients" shone through in every thing she did; for example buying rail tickets and arranging taxis made all the difference. Out on the mountains, Sara's knowledge of the terrain and love for the area was infectious. To top it all, the company of Sara's wonderful dog Elvis, trotting alongside us, made this an unforgettable holiday. If you are thinking about booking this holiday, just do it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The autumnal colours and scenery seen from the top of Monte Prado.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Ian Lochhead

    Walking in Tuscany

    An absolutely fantastic week staying in a lovely Tuscan farmhouse with delicious home-cooked food. The walks were all very different but each was superb in it's own way with breathtaking scenery. The local family who run the accommodation were all extremely friendly and welcoming people. Our guide Sara Bull was exceptional(see below) and we were lucky to experience almost an entire week of lovely warm/hot sunshine. Our group bonded straight away and this contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the holiday. The dog Elvis who accompanies the group on every walk is the fittest, friendliest & most loveable dog I've met.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire trip was inspirational in view of the stunning scenery of the Garfagnana region however the highlight would probably be summiting one of the highest peaks in the region, Monte Sumbra, on a beautiful warm day with perfect visibility. The views from the top were simply breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Where to begin when describing Sara Bull! I first did this trip 9 years ago and Sara was also the guide then and was outstanding-nothing has changed in that time. Sara is everything you would want in a guide-friendly, sociable, vastly experienced & knowledgeable, organised, attentive and basically great fun to be with. She contributed massively to my enjoyment of the holiday. Sara quite obviously loves her job and goes the extra few miles to make sure every person has the best possible week's holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weather conditions. Although we were lucky to experience brilliant weather most of the week the weather can change very quickly in the region-rain jackets and sunscreen required! Also-make sure you're fitness is at a good level. The main advice would be if you are thinking about booking this holiday then definitely do it-you will not regret it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my 10th trip with Exodus and I can't recommend this company highly enough. It is great to head off on a holiday like this knowing that everything is being taken care of for you allowing you to relax and enjoy the trip. Our group consisted of 3 couples and 5 solo travellers(including myself) however everyone got on very well together right from the start and there were many laughs along the way.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Ana Redondo

    A holiday I will remember for years to come

    This was my first trip with Exodus and I have to admit my experience during the booking wasn’t the best to start with. It was rather slow and inefficient, but I have sent Exodus some comments on this and I am sure they will take them on board. Also I spoke to other members of the group that have done many trips with Exodus and they have not experienced any problems, so I am inclined to think this was just a one off. But that’s all the ‘bad over’ and truly the only niggling point. Other than that, I can honestly say it was one of the best holidays I have ever had. I’ll try and break my feedback down but I’ll start with the guide in case you get tired of reading: 1. The guide - before I went I was surprised and bit intrigued by how many people mentioned this lady called ‘Sara’ and how lovely she was. I don’t think any of us can make justice in writing to who she really is. She is a phenomenal professional, a bundle of enthusiasm and energy and a tremendous human being. One of the most inspiring people I have ever met. And her dog ‘Elvis’ is a legend you have to meet! With all my respect to Exodus and whatever they do in the office, 90% of your trip experience is the guide. They have the ability to make or break a trip and I can only say, this lady made for all of us a memorable trip that I am sure we will remember for years to come. 2. Experience required - being new to this, I wasn’t sure if the information was exaggerated in terms of fitness or not. Reading back, I think it was spot on, so read carefully the description. Yes there are some climbs that get you a bit out of breath, but all in all it is a manageable pace and Sara was awesome at managing the pace and breaks. Also pay attention to the equipment you need, it was also spot on. For example don’t think trainers and jeans will do, because they will not. 3. Accommodation - not flashy or luxurious in the traditional sense, but really warm, cosy, welcoming. In all honestly, I wouldn’t change a thing. To me this place “is” luxury, not fancy hotels with useless toiletries but that’s personal opinion. The family is lovely, the setting is incredible and I’d rather stay here than anywhere else. The food was great and plentiful. So, perfect really. 4. The area and walking – a hidden gem of incredible beauty. Some of the views really take your breath away. Still not very developed in terms of tourism which makes it truly special. On the day off most of us went to Lucca and it really is worth a visit. The trip in general has a really good balance between seeing small villages/cities and different walks. All in all, if you have any doubts about this trip, book it. Go and I seriously doubt you’ll regret it. Sorry for the lengthy of the review, but hopefully it will help.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I am sorry but there were so many I couldn't chose a single one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not enough words to describe Sara, read the summary.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Karen McGowan

    A truly wonderful holiday!

    This trip exceeded my expectations on all levels. The walks were varied, the scenery was stunning and our guide Liz was fabulous. We were a group of 12 people (3 couples, 3 single women, a mother & daughter and a single man) and got on well, looked out for each other and laughed a lot. The accommodation was beautiful and the hospitality and food provided at the family run agriturismo, couldn't be faltered. It was an added bonus having the swimming pool on hand for a quick cool-down in the evening or to swim a few laps before breakfast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains and the people we met but the whole trip was inspirational in many ways.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was amazing, professional, fun, friendly and very knowledgeable about the local area. Despite different paces and fitness levels in the group, Liz ensured we walked as a group, whilst also managing individual needs. Liz went out of her way to accommodate us on many occasions, by making detours to go to a chemist, transporting some to Lucca on the non-walking day and then driving some of us to our next stop when the holiday ended. I cannot praise Liz enough and I'm considereing a similar holiday she recommended, for next year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My husband and I found the walks to be at the upper end of moderate, possibly due to the heatwave we encountered whilst there and recommend that people add electrolyte sachets to their drinking water, which we found prevented de-hydration and stiffness in the legs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend this holiday to anyone considering it. Also, listen to your guide as they know what they're talking about and make sure you use electrolyte sachets in your water, when walking.
Call us on 020 8772 3936