Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018

    Delivered as advertised, enhanced by the weather and autumnal colours. Excellent.

    A holiday that very much delivered as per the trip notes, with the varied hikes only being enhanced by the great weather and autumnal colours in the forests. A well established trip with a very experienced group leader and a good bunch of fellow travellers. For me, staying in one location is a plus, with only short minibus journeys required to reach the start point for each hike. And that one location was a lovely, relaxing one. The hikes themselves were of the activity level expected and challenging enough for the group. The rewards were great - generally involving walking through colourful beech or chestnut forests before reaching ridges and peaks with stunning views. Few other hikers were seen throughout the week. The hikes on days 3 and 7 stood out for me. All of the group visited Lucca on the "free day", which was a good choice, with plenty to explore for a good few hours. The trip also introduced me to the life of those living in the area, including exploring towns and villages. As would be expected, there are plenty of churches and other religious features.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick out one inspirational moment. It was more about the collective week and the varied experiences. But as noted previously, the hikes on days 3 and 7 were delightful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Clearly very experienced and able to handle any apparent eventuality (not that we really had any of significance). Worth noting that (due to EU driving regulations, I think) she was with us for four of the six whole days, plus the two travel days. She lead on all of the mountain hikes, and did so very well. For me, she did dwell too much on what she'd done over the years for the trip and for previous travellers rather than let us judge her on first hand knowledge. Maybe some like to hear this, but it was not for me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You might be able to come up with an "essentials equipment" list more appropriate than the one provided. Towel and swimming things are only necessary if you intend to swim in the pool, and that it's open. I happily wore hiking shoes, not boots, and walking poles certainly near essential for many of us of a certain age. You most likely will need to carry 2 litres of water on some hikes. Visiting Lucca does seem like the obvious choice for the free day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Could more be made of day 8? There are plenty of hours between leaving the farmhouse at 9:30 and checking in for the group flight at approx 16:00. Our group were taken into Castelnuovo di Garfagnana for a few hours, but it doesn't offer a great deal. Perhaps direct to Pisa would be more worthwhile.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Mark Booty

    Excellent trip

    It was a fantastic trip with some relay amazing walks and views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountains the open space and the views are breath taking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The views the open space

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend this trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    it was perfect
  • Reviewed September 2018

    A Truly Fabulous Walking Holiday

    This was a fabulous trip from start to finish. Beautiful and diverse scenery, great walking, great weather, and a great guide (Sara Bull). The grounds and views from the farmhouse at Braccicorti are stunning and it really is a great escape from the normality of everyday life. It was lovely to be able to relax in the pool after a day's walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the ridge walks and scrambling so my favourite walking days were Monday when we did Dead Mans Belly and the Valley of Hell, Tuesday when we did Monte Tambura and Thursday when we did Monte Prado and Monte Cusna. Essentially I loved it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara is an excellent guide, she goes above and beyond, although I think we were quite an easy going undemanding group. She's very knowledgeable about the local area, history and culture, and is a lovely person, really easy to talk to and get along with. She also does a lot of other high altitude treks so if you're interested in other trips it's worth picking her brains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If like me, you're not a fan of a continental style breakfast, bring some snack bars. You may also want to bring ear plugs for the night in the refugio. And remember to bring your swimwear for the pool.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Simply brilliant trip all round and I'd recommend it.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sarah B

    'Happiness from small things'

    ' 'Happiness from small things' is what we want to give our guests; peace and tranquillity from our countryside, and company with which to discover the secrets and beautiful areas of Garfagnana' so says the Agriturismo Braccicorti website - and this trip provided just that. I was a little apprehensive initially, never having done an Exodus trip before and because my own level of fitness wasn’t what it had been and should have been. Yet, those apprehensions dissipated when I met the group and discovered Tuscany. Great company in my trekking companions and leader, and kind hospitality from the family – an enjoyable and memorable break overall (despite the pain in my knees!).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just stopping and taking in the breathtaking and spectacular scenery of the region, whilst walking or relaxing at the farmhouse. (and finding out that one member of our group had scaled Everest - three times!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz excelled at every level. In addition to being immensely knowledgeable and organised, she was incredibly industrious, understanding, caring, funny, helpful - and very, very patient! It was very evident that she was passionate about the region, the walking/activity and her role. I cannot believe she eats cake! A worthy runner up for the Tour Leader Awards in 2014 (check out the Exodus website!) – but very much a winner in 2018 ;-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ignore any apprehensions and go for it! Take mossie repellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As others have commented - perhaps the trip could be extended to ten days? Or offer some dates for a ten days.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sheila Parker

    Great Holiday and Superb Walking

    A great holiday with excellent walks which were enjoyable as well as being physically quite demanding. Liz, our guide for the week, made the holiday extra special as she was a superb leader who always went the 'extra mile' to please everyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 2 day trip to the hut was a fantastic part of the holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was excellent. She was knowledgeable about the area and always got the best out of group with her support. She had a great personality and was never bossy as some leaders can be. Her own level of fitness was an inspiration.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food in the Braccicorti was a little disappointing. Breakfasts were good and it was helpful to be able to make your own packed lunch from the ingredients provided although there was room for improvement with some of these items eg the bread and the packet cakes. Dinners could have been better eg salad was usually just a bowl of chopped lettuce, pasta was quite bland and the meat was disappointing. The red wine was however much appreciated.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Jonathan Dorward

    Walking in Tuscany

    What a fantastic trip,the weather,the acomadation,the scenery,Trek Leader & her Dog ( Elvis ) only one word to describe it. BEAUTIFUL !!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it !!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was Excellent, she was very informative she was a damn good cook ( cakes ) very knowledgable. Helped us in any way she could,Hat's off to her fantastic.OBE,MBE She deserves a bloody Medal ! Never let this Women leave Exodus ! Everything that she recommended was spot on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If Sara Bull is the Trek Leader go for it you won't be disappointed. Tuscany is Beautiful. We went to Pisa a day early before the trip started and it is well worth a visit. On our day off we went to the ancient walled town of Luca which was again well worth seeing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One week was not enough.a 10 day Trip would be nice ?
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Kaz Owczarek

    Some people might be misled in thinking this is a walk in the park, before booking, it should be entitled trekking in the mountains of Tuscany

    A brilliant experience and can't wait to go on the next one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having walked up a mountain, with sweat pouring out of me, breathing deeply, with the sun beating down on us, to get to the top of the mountain, to see the views in the distance below and the mountains in the distance across makes it all worth while. This happened everyday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was the female version of Gear Grylls, though she didn't have us drinking our urine! She is very knowledgeable about the Region, the language, and health and safety in trekking. She has trekked in jungles of Africa, South America, to name but a few. She is a trained medic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have never done any trekking, prepare well, to get the most out of this exhilarating experience. Go for walks starting 6 weeks before travel building up to 10 miles the week before, to harden up your feet and to get your feet used to wearing boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More emphasis should be made on the need for Isotonic refreshments to keep you energised with the correct minerals for all day trekking
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Kaz Owczarek

    Some people might be misled in thinking this is a walk in the park, before booking, it should be entitled trekking in the mountains of Tuscany

    A brilliant experience and can't wait to go on the next one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having walked up a mountain, with sweat pouring out of me, breathing deeply, with the sun beating down on us, to get to the top of the mountain, to see the views in the distance below and the mountains in the distance across makes it all worth while. This happened everyday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was the female version of Gear Grylls, though she didn't have us drinking our urine! She is very knowledgeable about the Region, the language, and health and safety in trekking. She has trekked in jungles of Africa, South America, to name but a few. She is a trained medic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have never done any trekking, prepare well, to get the most out of this exhilarating experience. Go for walks starting 6 weeks before travel building up to 10 miles the week before, to harden up your feet and to get your feet used to wearing boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More emphasis should be made on the need for Isotonic refreshments to keep you energised with the correct minerals for all day trekking
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Kaz Owczarek

    Some people might be misled in thinking this is a walk in the park, before booking, it should be entitled trekking in the mountains of Tuscany

    A brilliant experience and can't wait to go on the next one.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having walked up a mountain, with sweat pouring out of me, breathing deeply, with the sun beating down on us, to get to the top of the mountain, to see the views in the distance below and the mountains in the distance across makes it all worth while. This happened everyday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was the female version of Gear Grylls, though she didn't have us drinking our urine! She is very knowledgeable about the Region, the language, and health and safety in trekking. She has trekked in jungles of Africa, South America, to name but a few. She is a trained medic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have never done any trekking, prepare well, to get the most out of this exhilarating experience. Go for walks starting 6 weeks before travel building up to 10 miles the week before, to harden up your feet and to get your feet used to wearing boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More emphasis should be made on the need for Isotonic refreshments to keep you energised with the correct minerals for all day trekking
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Irina Tseyref

    Walking in Tuscany

    This was one of the best trip I ever had! Beautiful scenery, friendly people, great home cooking, but most importantly - our incredible guide Sara. She was taking care of us like of her own family always paying attention to every small detail. Thank you!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing mount Sumbra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best guide ever
Call us on 020 8772 3936