Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Annabel Ions

    Walking and cultural experience in Sri Lanka

    This was a wonderful trip with an excellent guide Neelanka made this an amazing trip His English and knowledge of nature and local culture was very good His efficiency in allocating room keys was one of the best - very important after a long drive We did not need to touch our luggage from exiting the airport to arriving back Our strap broke and within half an hour it was repaired!!!! Water was freely available from large containers that we could fill our reusable bottles or containers and complimentary Sigiriya and the Lion Rock Fortress was an amazing visit Unfortunately we did not get to the summit of Adams Peak due to the masses of mainly local people. However I did feel the experience was something like I have experienced before with family carrying the frail and old, babies being carried and some only in flip flops or barefeet Leech socks used and needed

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lion Rock Fotress Adams Peak despite not getting to the summit Horton plains Lunch in a local restaurant and then in a local house

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neelanka is an excellent guide and one of the best we have had the opportunity to meet and have guide us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leech socks Some long distances in varied transport if not a good traveller (not us) Be prepared to be sociable with other members of the group (this reall applies to all guided trips) Some compromise needed at times

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No think I have said it all!!!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Anne Rogers

    A fantastic experience with a first class leader and exciting experiences

    A first class holiday experience with all the hall marks we have come to love from Exodus holidays. An efficient engaged leader with a real love of his country and ability to show us so many insights into the nuances of Sri Lanka..... even though the weather was changeable we had a fantastic trip made up of interesting walks, wild life and getting to know the local culture and people of the highlands.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Adams peak with lots of wonderful other Sri Lankans felt very privileged to have this experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good professional well informed and engaged with the group he was warm and friendly and couldn't do enough for us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leech socks a must! do it .....
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Anne Rogers

    A fantastic experience with a first class leader and exciting experiences

    A first class holiday experience with all the hall marks we have come to love from Exodus holidays. An efficient engaged leader with a real love of his country and ability to show us so many insights into the nuances of Sri Lanka..... even though the weather was changeable we had a fantastic trip made up of interesting walks, wild life and getting to know the local culture and people of the highlands.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Adams peak with lots of wonderful other Sri Lankans felt very privileged to have this experience

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good professional well informed and engaged with the group he was warm and friendly and couldn't do enough for us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leech socks a must! do it .....
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Karen Carrington

    Sri Lanka Walking Tour

    This was an amazing tour. It was very well organised. The walking was good. The countryside and people were fantastic and the guide himself was very personable and knowledgeable. It was totally enjoyable. I would recommend going up Adam's peak on a Monday-Thursday evening to avoid the crowds, but that is the only thing I would have changed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything was good

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was born for a job of this type - friendly, funny and knowledgeable
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Chris Burden

    Highlands of Sri Lanka

    Sri Lanka is a very beatiful island with loads of natural and cultural highlights, The tour is descrfibed as walking and treking. If you read the detailed notes it's fair to say that, yes there are walks, but nothing that I would describe as treking. The walks are comparatively gentle; the jungle walks a bit like Lakeland walks underfoot - but in forest. The climb up Adam's Peak certainly got the heart pumping, although with the crowds of pilgrims all around there were plkenty of enforced spots where you rested. There was a lot of travel time in vehicles. All as described in the trip details -

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sigiriya was magnificent, beautiful, and unique in my experience. Well worth the well-protected stairs up the rock face to the top. The Adam's Peak pilgrimage to see the Buddha's footprint and sunrise from the summit was a great experience, being a fierce stairway climb shared with grannies who could scarcely move from one step to another, and younger aduklts carrying their babes in arms. Not your usual climb to a summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neelaka, our group leader was excellent, as were his team. Neelaka had a great knowledge, particularly re wildlife. H ekpetr us well informed always with great charm and humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Look carefully at the details. But I'm glad we didn't. Coach tours are not usually our thing - but this one was excellent.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Margaret Curran

    Varied and interesting trip

    Well organised tour and great tour leader and with plenty of activities and reasonable accommodation. Offers lovely scenery and some challenging hikes, recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hike up Adam's Peak

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you're fit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The train journey would be better and more enjoyable with a seat!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Felicity Brown

    Truly an incredible country

    The trip was extremely well organised! The day walks were challenging but beautiful and climbing Adams Peak is a must! Our leader Ruwan was exceptional. He really helped us connect with the locals and showed us the culture of Sri Lankan villages. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who is curious to see what Sri Lanka has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To see how people can live a life so happily with so little. Sri Lanka peoplewere incredibly kind and generous to us throughout and really made you feel safe and welcomed into their home.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely faultless. Ruwan went above and beyond for all of us and gave our group such a unique look into Sri Lanka. Outstanding! He is a true asset to your company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for leeches in the knuckles mountain range. Although there isn’t much to fear. Try to be as open minded as possible! Try everything! Probably not a good country to choose if you don’t like a bit of spice in your food!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Graham Ritchie

    Great trip!

    A thoroughly enjoyable and well planned trip. Our guide Sujan was great. Hotels of good standard. Good bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the devotion of old people climbing Adam's Peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, very amusing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear socks on temple visits to avoid burnt feet. Leeches are a problem, wear leech socks (£20) or poly bags inside your boots (free).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Camping was disappointing (and I do a lot of camping). I would have liked to have included Anuradhapura and Polonnawura and instead miss out on the day spent hanging around a (wet) tea planter's bungalow after the Adams Peak climb. We were in Galle during the Buddhist New Year and museums/churches were closed.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Nicolo Tassoni

    Highlands of Sri Lanka walking tour

    Two weeks walking tour in Sri Lank. through cultural hotspots, mountain ranges, tea plantations, national parks. An excellent programme for a first discovery of the Country, its traditions, its people and its wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the trekkings in the Knuckles Ranges, but found extremely interessing as well the atmosphere of the Temple of the Tooth in Candy and the train journey from Ella to Badulla. Most pleasant place to stroll and relax definitely Galle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujeewa, our team leader has been truly excellent: very knowledgeable on subjects as different as Wildlife, history, traditional handicrafting. He has also been extremely nice to all of us, attentionate and helpful as well as an excellent organiser.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a very good tour for thos who want to discover a wide range of aspects of Sri Lanka. Walking is an integral part of the trip but not overwelming on other activities such as cultural visits etc.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Andrew and Anne Bowden

    Highlands of Sri Lanka

    Good walking and sight seeing and experience of Sri Lanka. Adequate/good hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the leopard in Yala national park. Staying in tea plantation bungalow. Walk to Ella Rock and Little Adams Peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan- very knowledgeable, friendly, calm and experienced. Could pronounce place names slower please and clearer and talk about only one day at a time to avoid confusion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take socks for hot temple courtyards, ear plugs for occasional noisy air conditioning. Beware of hot spicy food, including salad and soup, test everything before you eat. But the curried meat is often mild, the heat is in the sauce.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Adams Peak was so crowded as to be dangerous. The top half was inaccessible owing to numbers of people. NKAR should have known this. A big disappointment. 2.5 hours in jeep on Knuckles with sideways seats and no seat belts, being thrown about on a road that was barely servicable was not a good experience. Why change hotels in Kandy - unnecessary. Why go to a hotel in Colombo when we did not see the town? Stay near airport? Walking round Kandy lake horrid and polluted when beside road. Only temple side of lake is enjoyable. Horton Plains disappointing-crowded with noisy people and so no wildlife. Rethink!
Call us on 020 8772 3936