Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2018
    Lesley Berry

    Undiscovered Atlas

    I have been on many similar trekking trips but this was the first time that I travelled with Exodus. I did not quite know what to expect compared to other companies but from start to finish the holiday was well organised and thoroughly enjoyable partially due to Exodus but mainly due to the leader, Mohammed and his support team. We were plagued with truly abysmal weather for the first half of the week: sub zero temperatures for much of the day and gales ( which are,apparently, very rare!! ). My tent broke in the middle of the first night requiring an emergency decamp to the mess tent and then collapsed together with about 50% of the other tents, the mess tent and the toilet tent ( which blew away down into the valley ), on the second. Strangly, though, these experiences added to the bonding within what was a truly great group rather than detracting from it. I will admit that this may be a peculiarly British tendency!! The cimb to the top of Jebel Aklim in bright but arctic conditions was truly inspirational and the night that followed in the teacher's house in Tagara ( Mohammed opted for this as an alternative to a third night of camping to allow us more than three hours sleep!! ) a humbling revelation. For the second half of the holiday the weather reverted to more normal conditions for the time of year, we actually were able to strip down to less than three layers for the first time and continued in this vein to the end. The scenery throughout was tremendous. The walking well paced and interesting although as previous reviewers have stated VERY VERY ROUGH and the group amazing: Totally FABULOUS!!! (will stop here as I have run out of superlatives!! )

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Jebel Aklim in arctic conditions ( sub -20C ) and the realisation that this is about as cold as I have ever experienced and this is Morocco!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Throughout all of the drama Mohammed remained at all times calm and in control and he organised alternative accomodation at the teacher's house in Tagara when he sensed that we had had enough. His knowledge of Berber culture and history and the passion with which he conveyed it to us was inspirational and throughout the trekking the pace he set was just right based upon the individual abilities within the group and the timescale of the walk. A truly excellent leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not rely on your expectations of the weather in Morocco as it can get VER, VERY COLD ( and windy but that's another matter altogether ) The terrain is often ( seemingly ) pathless, rocky and very rough so boots are ABSOLUTELY essential and if your idea of a toilet is not a hole in the ground containing someone elses human excrement then this is probably not the holiday for you!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great experience. Put your first world lifestyle on hold for a week and give it a go!!
  • Reviewed January 2018
    John Heathcote

    Good trip

    Met my expectations - 5 + a bit days fairly challenging walking in desert mountain scenery. Food on trek (lunch and dinner) was exceptionally good by any standard - almost a let-down to eat in a posh restaurant at the end! Francophone countries never understand breakfast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say - all days on trek were good. The penultimate day on trek is probably best - the greatest variety of scenery since it includes villages with enough water to have greenery, and the pools for a dip at the end of the day. There's not much running water to see on this trip, or even vegetation in winter.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed managed the group and the team well. Everything went like clock-work. Of necessity he spoke at least 4 languages (his native Berber, Arabic, French and English) and it was occasionally necessary to make sure that he had understood questions. Having understood the question correctly, there was no problem with the answer. Some of the walking is effectively trackless and therefore the group has to stay together. He set a comfortable pace that everyone could keep, without being frustrating to the stronger members of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The paths are generally very rocky and stony, much more so than mountain areas of the UK. No mud though! Walking along a wadi bottom is much like walking on a shingle beach, hard on the ankles and legs. The trip delivered the coup de grace to my well-worn boots. As a group we were surprised by how cold it was at night at the start of the trip - winter at 1700 m! I was glad that I had a thermal liner and long johns, as well as my 4-season sleeping bag. My tent-mate had a hired sleeping bag which was a bit thin. Mattresses are provided and were adequate for me on the stony camp sites. A karrimat would not have been enough. (Big) bottled water was provided and there was no need to sterilise water.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You'll need to have some spare room in your bag if you want to buy a djellaba.
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Kevin Beards

    Undiscovered Atlas

    What a wonderful way to spend the Christmas break!-Beautiful scenery, great walking, a great group of fellow travellers, blue skies and wall to wall sunshine! My 4th trip with Exodus, and once again they came up with the goods! !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being served chips one evening!! Seriously though, the whole experience was inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Muhammed was a great leader, but also felt part of the group. Top man and a credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go in winter-the daytime temperature was just about right-I suspect it would be too hot later in the year for this kind of activity. Take warm clothes and 4 season sleeping bag for the evenings though-it gets cold!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you love your creature comforts this trip is probably not for you. If you don't mind roughing it a bit,don't hesitate to book- you'll love it!!
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Jayne Griffith

    Trekking in the Anti-Atlas mountains

    An absolutely amazing trekking holiday! This was my first holiday with Exodus and have booked another one as a result!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loving the holiday/adventure so much, wondering why I hadn't done this before!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was fabulous! He led the group in a non- dominating manner, answering any questions with incredible knowledge and understanding of everything. He was friendly and very good company and everything he did seemed to go ahead seamlessly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have a good, down 4-season sleeping bag as it gets really cold at night. We had frost on the first one!! If gluten intolerant (as I am) take lots of carbohydrate snacks as rice was the only carbohydrate I could eat.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everything was superbly organised - the tents being erected and dismantled, the food served (in the middle of nowhere) was fabulous, the bus driver was there when needed, everyone involved seemed to be in the right place at the right time throughout the week. The cook, the helpers, the donkey men and of course, Mohammed, were just amazing. A week in my life that I shall hold dear. Can't wait for my next trekking trip already!!! Many, many thanks.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Helena Gray

    miss

    A really wonderful experience all round! A very well organised trip with each day being totally different. Brilliant walking, amazing scenery, really yummy food, lovely welcoming locals, and a wonderful group of people-drivers, camp team, guide and of course, fellow travellers- to share it all with!thanks exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    From walking along narrow hillside trails through barley terraces and wild flowers, to eating sumptuous picnic feasts next to trickling streams or high rocky peaks, or stargazing under the clear dome of the milky way, dancing by bonfire light to traditional music, or being welcomed into village schools and local lady Fatima's house for tea...I think the whole trip was pretty inspirational really!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Hamid was brilliant-very thoughtul and a real character!Full of energy and local knowledge, with a very funny sense of humour, and lots of patience, we were always well looked after throughout the trip and trusted him completely. I think its safe to say that our trip wouldn't have been the same without him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    make sure you have a really good sleeping bag as it does get very chilly at night! Take the opportunity for a hammam, totally amazing! Other than that, put your heart into it and embrace all the wonderful people and experiences the trip has to offer, its worth it!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ruth Lund

    UNDISCOVERED ANTI ATLAS

    This was the second trip my husband and I have done with Exodus and we will go on more. We had a ball.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip in itself was an inspiration. We loved the remoteness of the region, the beauty of the geography and the way the trek was organised.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I felt we were extremely lucky to have Hassan, a Moroccan as our group leader. I think he showed us an insider's view of Morocco that we may have got from a non-Moroccan guide. He was kind and thoughtful and I had complete trust in him. He was very good at setting the pace with the group. He left me with a very good impression of Moroccan men and their respect for women and all people in general.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Morocco can be bitterly cold in winter. A good quality sleeping bag is an absolute must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip. I felt it was extremely good value and Morocco is a very interesting country to visit. Exodus is a great company to travel with and it is our experience that it attracts a wide range of interesting fellow travellers.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Diana Maynard

    Relaxed walking off the beaten track

    The key really is in the name of this trip - having already done Mt Toubkal and the High Atlas a few years before, I was curious how different it would be. The answer is it's very similar, but without the altitude and people. Any people at all in fact, other than local villagers. It's also a lot easier - much less ascent and easier days

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There wasn't really an inspirational moment, but we had some fabulous sunsets and sunrises from camp, and lying in bed looking out of my tent at nothing but wilderness is the reason I do these kind of trips. Pretty good views from on top of Jebel Aklim also - well worth the climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I've met Hasan before on the Toubkal trip, and while he is never the most sociable of guides, I've come to admire his no-nonsense approach to trekking. While he stays in the background, it doesn't mean he's not constantly watching and ensuring safety, and when problems occurred, he sorted them quietly and efficiently. His approach lies in teaching people how to be responsible for themselves in the mountains, which is a lot more instructive (and safer longterm) than the mollycoddling approach that some guides take. He also has a wicked sense of humour and will happily chat away as long as you initiate the conversation.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great introduction to trekking and wild camping for those new to it, or as an easy relaxing trip for those more experienced. Truly off the beaten track. Don't expect much from the "hotels" (don't expect mod cons like hot water or working light bulbs). But at the end of the trip, the hammam experience is definitely a must (and the only way to get properly clean if there's no hot water in the hotel!). Take plenty of warm clothes (even during the day, you can be in tshirt one minute and 5 layers the next) including good warm hat and gloves. For winter take the warmest sleeping bag and down jacket you can, it can get well below zero at night. Food is excellent and very plentiful, but take a few cereal bars or other snacks, as some of the days can be long and lunch may not be till well into the afternoon.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended as either an introduction to trekking and wild camping, or as a relaxing trip for the more experienced, with fabulous scenery and plenty of peace and quiet.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Richard Broughton

    Trekking in the Anti Atlas

    Great trek to find some winter sunshine through remote mountains. We did not see any other tourists for 5 days only our group and the local villagers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having tea in the centuries old house in the tiny village of cats.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent and dealt with problems as they arose very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Perhaps spend another day in Agadir on your own just to enjoy the modern site side resort promenade and beach on your own. Once in the Anti Atlas there is little civilisation and no opportunity to wash. When it did rain one day we stayed in a local gite, but in the more remote areas be prepared to become and stay wet.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Andrew Kelly

    undiscovered atlas

    really enjoyed the trip, well managed, well structured. not lucky with the weather but that didn't affect my enjoyment

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    watching the group leader and team playing songs around the fire. Simple enjoyment but we all loved it

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent, very engaging, great personality

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    pack properly ! I under assessed how cold it could be, and didn't bring enough clothes. Luckily, my kind fellow travellers helped me out
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Rebecca Ross

    Undiscovered Atlas

    Excellent trip if you can stand cold and frost at night! Beautiful scenery, great food and brilliant company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing how people survive in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hamid was excellent. He was great fun, wasn't afraid to take the mickey out of us all but kept control with the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In the winter months, take waterproofs and extra warm layers for the evening and night.
Call us on 020 8772 3936