Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2017
    Helena Gray

    miss

    A really wonderful experience all round! A very well organised trip with each day being totally different. Brilliant walking, amazing scenery, really yummy food, lovely welcoming locals, and a wonderful group of people-drivers, camp team, guide and of course, fellow travellers- to share it all with!thanks exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    From walking along narrow hillside trails through barley terraces and wild flowers, to eating sumptuous picnic feasts next to trickling streams or high rocky peaks, or stargazing under the clear dome of the milky way, dancing by bonfire light to traditional music, or being welcomed into village schools and local lady Fatima's house for tea...I think the whole trip was pretty inspirational really!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Hamid was brilliant-very thoughtul and a real character!Full of energy and local knowledge, with a very funny sense of humour, and lots of patience, we were always well looked after throughout the trip and trusted him completely. I think its safe to say that our trip wouldn't have been the same without him!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    make sure you have a really good sleeping bag as it does get very chilly at night! Take the opportunity for a hammam, totally amazing! Other than that, put your heart into it and embrace all the wonderful people and experiences the trip has to offer, its worth it!
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Ruth Lund

    UNDISCOVERED ANTI ATLAS

    This was the second trip my husband and I have done with Exodus and we will go on more. We had a ball.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip in itself was an inspiration. We loved the remoteness of the region, the beauty of the geography and the way the trek was organised.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I felt we were extremely lucky to have Hassan, a Moroccan as our group leader. I think he showed us an insider's view of Morocco that we may have got from a non-Moroccan guide. He was kind and thoughtful and I had complete trust in him. He was very good at setting the pace with the group. He left me with a very good impression of Moroccan men and their respect for women and all people in general.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Morocco can be bitterly cold in winter. A good quality sleeping bag is an absolute must.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip. I felt it was extremely good value and Morocco is a very interesting country to visit. Exodus is a great company to travel with and it is our experience that it attracts a wide range of interesting fellow travellers.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Diana Maynard

    Relaxed walking off the beaten track

    The key really is in the name of this trip - having already done Mt Toubkal and the High Atlas a few years before, I was curious how different it would be. The answer is it's very similar, but without the altitude and people. Any people at all in fact, other than local villagers. It's also a lot easier - much less ascent and easier days

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There wasn't really an inspirational moment, but we had some fabulous sunsets and sunrises from camp, and lying in bed looking out of my tent at nothing but wilderness is the reason I do these kind of trips. Pretty good views from on top of Jebel Aklim also - well worth the climb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I've met Hasan before on the Toubkal trip, and while he is never the most sociable of guides, I've come to admire his no-nonsense approach to trekking. While he stays in the background, it doesn't mean he's not constantly watching and ensuring safety, and when problems occurred, he sorted them quietly and efficiently. His approach lies in teaching people how to be responsible for themselves in the mountains, which is a lot more instructive (and safer longterm) than the mollycoddling approach that some guides take. He also has a wicked sense of humour and will happily chat away as long as you initiate the conversation.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great introduction to trekking and wild camping for those new to it, or as an easy relaxing trip for those more experienced. Truly off the beaten track. Don't expect much from the "hotels" (don't expect mod cons like hot water or working light bulbs). But at the end of the trip, the hammam experience is definitely a must (and the only way to get properly clean if there's no hot water in the hotel!). Take plenty of warm clothes (even during the day, you can be in tshirt one minute and 5 layers the next) including good warm hat and gloves. For winter take the warmest sleeping bag and down jacket you can, it can get well below zero at night. Food is excellent and very plentiful, but take a few cereal bars or other snacks, as some of the days can be long and lunch may not be till well into the afternoon.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended as either an introduction to trekking and wild camping, or as a relaxing trip for the more experienced, with fabulous scenery and plenty of peace and quiet.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Richard Broughton

    Trekking in the Anti Atlas

    Great trek to find some winter sunshine through remote mountains. We did not see any other tourists for 5 days only our group and the local villagers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having tea in the centuries old house in the tiny village of cats.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent and dealt with problems as they arose very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Perhaps spend another day in Agadir on your own just to enjoy the modern site side resort promenade and beach on your own. Once in the Anti Atlas there is little civilisation and no opportunity to wash. When it did rain one day we stayed in a local gite, but in the more remote areas be prepared to become and stay wet.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Andrew Kelly

    undiscovered atlas

    really enjoyed the trip, well managed, well structured. not lucky with the weather but that didn't affect my enjoyment

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    watching the group leader and team playing songs around the fire. Simple enjoyment but we all loved it

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent, very engaging, great personality

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    pack properly ! I under assessed how cold it could be, and didn't bring enough clothes. Luckily, my kind fellow travellers helped me out
  • Reviewed February 2016
    Rebecca Ross

    Undiscovered Atlas

    Excellent trip if you can stand cold and frost at night! Beautiful scenery, great food and brilliant company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing how people survive in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hamid was excellent. He was great fun, wasn't afraid to take the mickey out of us all but kept control with the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In the winter months, take waterproofs and extra warm layers for the evening and night.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Robert Everall

    Morroco Anti Atlas

    Great trip spectacular views

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up to the Coll before the highest mountain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excelant all round could not do enough for us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not to be missed

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a wonderful trip
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Emma Brogden

    Trekking, wild camping and good food at its best

    This is a fantastic trip for anyone seeking long walking days through beautiful scenery, energised by good food and enthusiastic and friendly staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view from the summit was breathtaking - though there was hardly a single place where the view wasn't interesting throughout the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hamid was brilliant... friendly, helpful and enthusiastic and always smiling... even first thing in the morning or when we were tired after a long day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Earplugs - Morocco has a lot of dogs which you can sometimes hear from campsites! Water - the bus which meets you at the end of each day with the tents will carry water in bulk so you don't need to worry about purification tablets, as its easier to buy five litre bottles (the guide arranges this) and decant some into smaller day-bottles each morning for the day's walking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As a female solo traveller for the first time with Exodus I was a little unsure as to what to expect but the group was great and everyone bonded well, the staff were friendly and professional and I didn't feel unsafe or unhappy once - it was a brilliant experience and I cant wait to book the next adventure!
  • Reviewed January 2015
    Liz Murray

    Undiscovered Atlas

    The Anti Atlas Mountains are somewhere to visit if you, like me, have a yearning for real and intoxicating wilderness. The harsh but beautiful terrain in this region, with it's scattered villages clinging like patches of lichen to the unforgiving landscape, brings to mind the Old Testament, and the area is characterised by dramatic valleys, harsh red rock desserts, craggy mountain ridges and distant peaks fading into the desert haze. This is a truly awesome, remote area hike and Exodus and their ground crew in Morocco present it beautifully to their clients. It is a strenuous hike with most days being around 8 hours walking. It's rocky, very rocky indeed, with lots of steep up and downs -walking poles are almost essential. According to our guide it was unseasonably hot for our trek towards the end of October, with most days being over 30 degrees ( one almost 40!) there isn't any shade protection so high factor sunscreen and appropriate light clothing are important. And plenty of water! Our guide was Abdullah, a wonderful, caring gentleman who had grown up in Berber villages. He was very well supported by his crew - cook, camp and mule men. Meals were nothing short of spectacular and each day we'd arrive into to our lunch camp to find an amazing spread of hot and cold dishes, salads and fresh fruit. I was the only one in our group of 16 to fall ill with a stomach bug but I'm absolutely certain it had nothing to do with the quality of the food. ( on that note, make sure you have more than enough tissues, toilet paper etc to get you through a couple of days 'on the run' just in case!!). Camping gear was good quality and I was thrilled to see thick foam mattresses in our tents. Being classed a wild camp, there were no toilet facilities other than our toilet tent - which was the discussion of much humorous laughter almost daily. Water for washing is also scarce (a bowl at the end if each day) so bring plenty of wet wipes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say, there were so many highlights. I loved communicating with the women in the villages we walked through, mostly by charades and showing them photos of my family. Be respectful if the fact they do not want their photo taken and just enjoy their company. The afternoon the children in a village we walked through just before making camp on its perimeter intentionally led me in the wrong direction, getting me temporarily lost. It was a good humoured bit if fun on their part (including the boys who produced chooks legs/feet to shake hands) and I was happy to play along. Listening to the laughter, drumming and music throughout the first night - only to find out the next morning it was a wedding celebration in a village in the next valley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was amazing, very communicative, caring, sensitive and totally on top of everything.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sunscreen, protective clothing from the elements (strong, hot sun in our case), a sarong to pop over your shorts when walking through the very remote villages, walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really do think there should be more than one guide for 16 hikers on this trip. The terrain is quite treacherous in places and should there be an emergency a second staff member would be very handy. And I'd like Exodus to consider posting trekking bags to clients who live outside of the UK. Other hiking companies based in the UK do and it's a nice touch -especially if this is your first Exodus hike. There is actually an Exodus agency in Australia so it would be a simple matter to post a bundle out and distribute from there.
  • Reviewed January 2015
    Brandon Skinner

    Alone in the Anti-Atlas Mountains

    After stepping off on our trek in Irhem, we saw few sights of civilization until reaching the end point five days later. The only exception was a couple oases and small rural hamlets we passed through. There's nobody else hiking out here! The Anti-Atlas Mountains are vast and stunning. The guide and his team was great. The camp cook kept us well fed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the third day of our trek, we hit some pretty rough weather, very windy. To avoid being caught overnight in a storm, we altered our route and hiked to a small nearby hamlet where the group leader had a contact. The man and his family welcomed us to spend that night in a large room of their home. It was truly kind of them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was great. Throughout the trip, he showed nothing but a wealth of knowledge and good judgement. A true professional with over a decade of experience on the trail. His team (cooks, mule man) was also great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Hiking boots with good ankle support is a must for this trek. Most of the hiking is not done on established roads or trails. Our trek was in the winter. Conditions range. It could go from warm and clear to cold and very windy in a few hours. Bring a well-rated sleeping bag. Bring warm layers.
Call us on 020 8772 3936