Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Pauline Kaye

    Fabulous trip

    Although I am a little late posting this review as we went in September 2018, I have to say this was a brilliant trip . We had a superb guide in Hassan and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The group bonded well from our first couple of days sightseeing in Marrakesh and then carrying on up into the High Atlas mountains. The Riad was very comfortable and cosy although did get very cold at night and we needed the extra blankets and the little heater provided in the rooms. The view from the room and balcony was superb and the food was excellent . The first two walks were fairly straightforward and the views of the mountains were quite amazing. We did the full 10 hr walk on the last day which was quite strenuous but had very unexpected flash flooding and Hassan did an amazing job getting us all down safely although we were always confident he would.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Views of the mountains, the achievement of completing the long hike and getting to the lake on the last day and being brave enough to participate in the hammam experience which was a little out of my comfort zone but felt great afterwards .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was brilliant . Full of knowledge, answered all the questions and took us to some good places . Very supportive to all grades of walkers

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring waterproofs. we had rain but it didn't spoil anything but we did get wet . Also good boots and poles if you have them

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was always on my husbands bucket list and not mine , but I have to say it was very very enjoyable experience and Morocco was incredible.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Dianne Flath

    Great centre-based walking in the AntiAtlas

    Great introduction to the AntiAtlas region of Morocco, based in a traditional riad with three days walking / trekking - all washed down with lashings of mint tea. All three walks were very different in duration (10, 5 and 17 miles!) and very diverse (considering they all started & finished from the village) but the views were always stunning.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The time spent in the Anti Atlas - the riad was great, the walking was great, the food was copious, there was lashings of mint tea, the hammam experience... difficult to pick a single highlight...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed and Habib were both excellent - really helpful and friendly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just that this is primarily a walking holiday and the paths aren't flat, so there are ascents / descents / some rough terrain. Nothing beyond grade 3 though. Having bimbled along at a very leisurely average pace of 1.5mph for the first two days (partly because the walks were that much shorter but also because the paths were fairly rough in places) we were fairly concerned at the prospect of the 19m hike the final day. Not so much the distance but would it be possible to finish it in daylight? Apart from being "only" about 17miles (according to our GPS watch), the route for the final day was on a much better track so we were averaging 2.5 mph and got back again well before dusk (and that included a very leisurely lunch stop).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just so you're aware - this trip is also an internet detox (while in the village). Could forget about everything happening back home.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Judith Argent

    High Atlas Snow

    A great mix of busy, bustling Marakech and remote mountain village life in Morocco. The village is completely off the beaten track. I believe there was one car in the village and lots of mules.The riad has incredible views, a great place to sit and relax. We arrived when the mountain villages had just received 50cm of fresh crisp snow. The area looked stunning, even if they were not the views we were expecting. The food at the riad was excellent. Similarly the hot picnics freshly cooked on the mountain side with wonderful locally produced ingredients were tasty examples of local Moroccan cuisine and were something I shall never forget. And I have developed a taste for Moroccan mint tea. Very tasty.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The total isolation and quietness of the mountains. No cars, cables or vapour trails from airplanes. And clear starry, starry nights. The hammam bath was a real giggle as well as being cleansing. A real chance to see the fun side of the women in the village.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed was passionate and knowledgeable about Berber life and the mountains. He had a great sense of humour and kept everyone walking in some challenging, snowy conditions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothes for all seasons if travelling outside summer months. Nights were very cold in February but the riad had lots of blankets which we were all very grateful for.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jyoti Nair

    Bliss @ Atlas

    Nice trip, well divided between doing the touristy thing in colorful, bustling Marrakech and walking in the mountains. The difficulty level is somewhere between a 2 and a 3, rocky and uneven paths. Good shoes and walking poles, guys! Die hard walk enthusiasts may find the 3 days of walking not challenging enough. Food was freshly perpared, clean and tasty. The accomodation decent. Showers hot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Navigatibg the rocky paths and making it in time. Albeit last!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was a young group leader, probably not very experienced in leading. Had to be reminded a few times that he needed to be looking out for the last person on the trail rather than trying to be the first one to reach from point A to point B.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and have a good time.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jay Howard

    3 Easy "Day Walks" rather than a "Moderate" walking trip.

    This is quite an easy "walking trip" but I think it's far more suited to those who are looking to walk more than those who are already more seasoned walkers. The pace of activities is well balanced between city tours and days walking in the mountains with (probably) the best local food being served at the Riad.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Marrakesh is (as expected) alive with activity during the day and evening and the views from the high Atlas walks can be spectacular as are the vivid pastel colours of many valleys you'll see on the walking days from the Riad.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was well organised and spent much time to explain the Berber culture in quite a lot of detail to the group over the evening meals in the Riad.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Both the hotel and Riad used on this trip do not have bars so if you enjoy a glass of wine etc with dinner you may need to be self sufficient (and discrete to respect the views of others). The Riad is basic and comfortable but if you're traveling out of the summer period it can be very chilly as the heating is limited so pack some warm clothes for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As with any mountains the weather can go from sunshine to intense rain very quickly so carry your waterproofs/poncho with you on each walk!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jay Howard

    3 Easy "Day Walks" rather than a "Moderate" walking trip.

    The walks on this trip are not really difficult and would be completed very quickly if the group you're with are "weekend walkers" but can take ages if your group do not have the fitness level required!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of the Atlas Mountains when you reach the top of the walks are stunning (if the weather is kind).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy a glass of wine etc with dinner be aware there's no bar in the hotel Exodus use in Marrakesh or the Riad used as a walking base. Whilst the Riad is basic (but nice) it is very cold in the winter months so pack plenty of warm clothes and lots of books to read etc in the evenings when you're hiding under the blankets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a good trip for first those trying out a walking trip for the first time rather than anyone who's already enjoying "moderate" walking trips.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Paul Sullivan

    Atlas Panorama

    Great way to sample the exotic medina in Marrakech and the rich beauty of the High Atlas mountain.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one single thing - just the combination and contrasts of the two components.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wiry and knowledgable, Hassan was a very effective and at times cheeky (:>) leader, very much at home in the hills among the villages and villagers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    more than a good introduction to what Morocco has to offer, this trip is a great to way to sample something of an imperial city and the splendour of the High Atlas. would recommend going a bit close to the main season than we did, as we encountered a few days of very mixed, changeable conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    nothing else :>
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Isabel Sutherland

    Feedback

    Good trip, well organised and followed schedule as planned. Accommodation functional, clean and as described. I'm vegetarian and food could have been better, adding a few pulses to the dishes of a few vegetables would have been easy to do and been helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hussan was excellent - really experienced , polite and helpful. He dealt with a difficult and potentially dangerous situation on the hiking with confidence and skill. Thank you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Respect the mountains - none of our group expected huge storms, torrential rain and flash floods. Be prepared for all weathers

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big thank you to our guide
  • Reviewed October 2018
    bridget johnson

    atlas panorama

    I really enjoyed my visit to Morocco.On our 1st day a few of us visited the Jardin Marjorelle which was just up the road from the hotel. It was lovely and peaceful after our journey to the airport that morning.There is an interesting Berber museum there as well. 2nd day we had a guide who took us to explore Marrakech. Very colourful and interesting. We then travelled to the village on the 3rd day. The next few days were spent at the riad which was basic but fine. The next 3 days we spent trekking. We had wonderful views and we were provided with a delicious picnic each day transported on donkeys.The walking was not that difficult and the pace was leisurely.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think the walk round the village was really interesting. The way of life is simple and everyone seemed happy. I just wonder how much longer it would last but our guide assured us it would remain unchanged.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was very good. He knew all the footpaths and stopped to point out anything of interest. He was also very interesting to talk to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring walking boots with good soles as the paths are rocky. A pole could also be useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As a vegetarian I was a bit worried about food but there was ample vegetarian food. Not as spicy as I would have liked.Also be prepared for long wait at passport control both arriving and departing. Also a wait to get into the airport on departure due to bag checks.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Alice Penfold

    Fantastic trip to the Atlas Mountains!

    The Atlas Panorama trip was just incredible. We had the chance to explore Marrakesh, with a tour guide to take us to the most beautiful sights and guide us around the markets. We then travelled into the mountains and stayed in the most hospitable village home, with wonderful fresh food provided each day, an expert guide and lots of breath-taking views. I definitely would recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the mountains on our longest hike and then swimming in a beautiful lake in the middle of glorious views -magic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was professional, polite and friendly - an absolute gem.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take enough money for tips and extras! And it's a great trip if you like both culture and hiking.
Call us on 020 8772 3936