Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2019
    Liliana Zlate

    Amazing trip

    I wanted to do something like this for a while but didn't get the chance. Going on this trip was amazing and now I am grateful I was able to do it. Everyone was very nice, the porters were amazing(the chef even made a birthday cake for me), Beto and Mel really good and even though I struggled a bit on the second day the trip was just perfect.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being just a few meters away from reaching the Dead Woman pass and having my group cheering up for me. I was the slowest one in the group and reached the pass about an hour after the first person there. I later found out that Beto(our guide) asked them if they want to wait for me and they all said yes. Having an amazing group makes the trip a lot more memorable

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Beto was amazing. He looked after us very well, took us to (mostly) nice restaurants, had a lot of knowledge about what we are doing and knew all our names from the first day. He helped me so much and I was able to finish my trek. Mel our back guide was such a warm and kind person, she knew exactly what we needed and helped us with all the little things and thanks to her most of us now have llama selfies 😊

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Like most people say, everyone can finish the Inca trail but... Do yourself a favour and do some excercise before you start. Altitude sickness is real but so is lack of fitness. Just so you get an idea: I'm 35, work in a hospital and I'm over 90kg and finished but I did struggle going up, down was way easier for me.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please Exodus do something about the hotel. The first 2 nights we were given ground floor rooms, looking up to a corridor, very loud and no privacy.the last 2 nights after we complained we got roos on upper floors with better views and decor. There are many hotels in Cusco and I'm sure we could have had a nicer view than cleaning trolleys. That was the let down of the holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Chinthika Piyasena

    Exceeded expectations

    Well organised, brilliant guide and unbelievable porterage team.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The work of the porters was humbling and I liked the effort made by the guides for us to get to know them better.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Friendly. Very knowledgeable. Diligent. Caring - went out of his way to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walk is more strenuous than the rating on the website of 3/10.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like the website to highlight better the options to extend the trip. It is tucked away in the middle of the trip notes and missed when making booking and planning the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Don West

    Hiking the Inca Trail

    Very challenging four day hike to Machu Picchu. The hike itself was absolutely beautiful, with incredible views all along the way. Our guides, Julio Santos (lead) and Josval were excellent. Julio was full of interesting facts at every site we were to stop at along the way, and Jos was more than willing to help may our experience a memorable one. The porters, the head chef and his assistant were outstanding. Their professionalism, and extreme efforts were appreciated by all. The food was incredible! A great experience I would recommend doing the hike to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire hike. Day three campsite above the clouds, with a beautifully preserved ruin below. Touring Machu Picchu.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julio Santos was a fantastic lead guide. To lead fourteen individuals on a four day hike through the mountains is no easy task. There are so many different logistics that he has to address from start to finish. He did an outstanding job with it all, and was never too busy to answer any questions I had along the way. He did it all with a smile, and positive attitude. Thanks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get in climbing shape, acclimate with a day or two of walking in Cusco (Diamox also helped me- I live 22 feet above sea level), and travel light.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my second trip with Exodus (Cycling In Greece last May being my first). Both were wonderful experiences. Exodus made my planning very easy, and stress free for both trips. I did book my own flights coming from the U.S.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Stephen Wall

    Andes

    Challenging but an experience of treking in remote, dramatic landscape aay from the 21st century!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Descending into a steep sided valley with views of Mount Veronica

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helpful and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a rough trek at high altitude

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The support of the porters and chef was superb
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Tim Marshall

    Try the Moonstone trek!

    Booked trip late, so the Inca Trail itself was sold out. This didn't bother me, as the Moonstone trek sounded great - and it was. Loved the fantastic scenery, the pre-Inca and Inca structures, the glimpses of Andean village life, the excellent food, and the peace and quiet of the trek. Rest of trip was great, too - good itinerary, excellent organisation. Cuzco is a wonderful city to explore. Really enjoyed optional Sacred Valley day trip. Machu Picchu did not disappoint, either (and I have found the odd big-name sight disappointing in the past). Overall, hard to fault this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the trek from start to finish. Beautiful on third day of trek to see glaciers high up, then regular mountains, then the Sacred Valley down below, all at same time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mike (main tour leader) was great - very knowledgeable, and proactive in responding to people's needs and requests. Henry (Moonstone trek leader) was a quieter character, but had the necessary skills to lead us competently.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get as fit as you can to enjoy the walking more. Altitude can affect anyone, even if it has not affected you previously, so be prepared to feel out of sorts or have a headache. At the same time, don't worry overly about it - the guides are good at monitoring people's wellbeing, and know what to do.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the Moonstone trek, you miss out on the classic view of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate high above, where 'The Inca Trail' ends. But the Moonstone trek is a far less visited Inca trail, and you still get a full tour of Machu Picchu. If doing the Moonstone trek, you might want to check how many are in the group, as the groups are apparently smaller for this than the classic Inca Trail. We had four trekkers, which was fine, but a smaller group than that might feel a little odd.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Sarah Fordham

    An amazing experience

    This was one of the toughest challenges I have put my body through but was so worth it. I had an amazing time and the trip was so well organised. I am in love with Peru now and already thinking about when I can go back.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was incredible to make it to the top of dead woman's pass. It was a tough day but it was an amazing sense of achievement when we were at the top looking down. And of course the first view of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate is breath taking and made it all worth while.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ollie was so knowledgeable and really made the trip special. I think the whole group learnt a lot and he bought the culture and history to life for us. He was able to answer all of our questions and he is clearly passionate about what he does. He was also patient when we were physically struggling and needed to rest a lot, and was full of good advice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that you acclimatise as much as possible in Cusco and also make sure that you have decent equipment as you will be relying on it for the days you are hiking. Learn a few Spanish phrases so you can at least introduce yourself to the porters, I had to rely on others in the group and the group leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The porters were amazing! They were all very kind, despite the language barrier, and looked after us all very well. The food was some of the best that I had while I was away.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Peter Hadsley-Chaplin

    Inca Trail - Exodus rating: Excellent!

    I couldn't praise the Exodus team more highly for helping to provide me with one of the holidays of a lifetime!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Entering the Sun Gate and seeing the City of Machu Picchu below me for the first, with the stunning mountain backdrop. The photos simply don't do justice to the real thing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Holger ('Ollie') was absolutely top rate. He was patient, kind and considerate as well as exceptionally well informed, not just about Inca, and pre-Inca, history but also about the wonderful flora and fauna that we encountered along the Trail.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for very cold nights in your tent (in December). Whilst at times beautifully warm and sunny during the day, the temperature got to 5 or 6 degrees at night so wearing a couple of layers of clothes, plus a liner inside my sleeping bag, kept me snug and warm. For the fair-skinned, wear a hat with a suitably wide brim as the sun could be quite fierce at times during the day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be sure to travel with Exodus - from the team in the UK office (especially Alec Worthy and Treherne Francis) to the team in Cuzco, plus our wonderful porters, our fantastic chef and, last but not least, our brilliant guide, Holger, everyone couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a fabulous, and memorable, trip!
  • Reviewed November 2018

    Superb

    Fantastic atmosphere, brilliant guide, porters and support team. Just wish it was longer!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, day three on the trail was the best, as we moved into the forest and the soaked up the atmosphere, including many Inca ruins previously unknown to me. And of course, arriving at the Sun Gate and looking down on Machu Picchu, just as the late afternoon sun lit it up, almost devoid of day trippers!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Frank was incredible. He was inspirational in getting us to gel as a team and ensure we all helped each other to get through the tougher sections. His knowledge of Inca and current local culture was encyclopaedic and he was so funny! He was also something of a talented photographer with all our cameras (is there a camera he doesn’t know how to operate better than we do?). It’s hard to imagine anyone better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some of our party struggled a bit and sadly one (plus her husband) had to drop out through altitude sickness. Though that can affect even the fittest, it’s fair to say that this is quite a tough trek (most of us felt it could be rated a bit higher than the grade 3 “moderate” rating). To enjoy it fully, make sure you do plenty of training on hills or similar - it is almost constantly up and down and often steep steps. Those who had trained by walking on the flat found it difficult.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you bring spare batteries or a charging pack for your phone / camera. Some of us had exhausted our batteries before reaching The Sun Gate. It was also very cold at night after days 2 and 3, so make sure your sleeping bag is properly 4 seasons and you also bring thermals. Finally, the 7kg baggage limit on the Inca Trail is strictly applied, so plan carefully what you need to take on the trail and weigh it before you set off (surplus stuff can be left at the hotel). A slightly bigger day pack, to enable you to pack things that would take your baggage over the 7kg limit, would give some flexibility.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Daivd Richardson

    Breathtaking trek to the Inca Capital of Machu Picchu

    The Inca trail, organised by Exodus, was a thrill ride from beginning to end. I was so impressed with the organisation of the trip. We were looked after so well that I didn't have to think about how I was going to get around, or where my next meal would come from. The two guides were a constant source of fascinating facts, and helped keep the group motivaated. The group of Porters were superhuman. The camp site was stripped down as we left. They marched (And sometimes ran) past us during the trek. And always had the camp ready when we arrived. If this wasn't impressive enough, the meals were already in the process of being prepared. The food provided by the chef were delicious. Hadn't expected to be eating such great food. Fish, meat and chicken were the evening meals. Also popcorn was provided as an after trek snack. So impressed I would recommend this trek to anyone. And if this is how Exodus organise their trips, I will definitely use them again!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the Sun Gste and looking down on Machu Picchu for the first time. Utterly breathtakingly!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was a font of knowledge. He was always full of energy and enthusiasm. He was also very good rumoured, which fitted in with our all-british group perfectly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book with Exodus, and don't worry about a thing. Take your time on the trek. It's not a race. The second day is a big asscent, and you don't want to rush it. If you start to feel the effects of altitude, you should take a break and slow down. Many of us had mild headaches, and a few had digestive upsets. But don't be put off by this. It's all manageable, and the trek leaders are used to dealing with it.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Lyn Williams

    Magnificent Moonstone Trek

    Magnificent trek - wild and unspoilt countryside. Better than doing the main Inca trail I'd say as you are not simply climbing millions of steps, nor do you have to stay on camp sites with forty other tented pitches. You're likely to see only your group (only two women in ours), the guide, chef and horsemen / porters who all work to make your trip safe, comfortable and enjoyable. When it was really cold, they even gave us hot water bottles at night and had a gas heater for the dining tent. Absolutely amazing time - really got away from it all an challenged myself with the altitude, terrain and weather conditions. Everything I could want from an adventure holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of a summit - around 14,500 - 15,000 feet. Not bad for a girl who's afraid of heights!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant - Lennin Tuppa. What a star for keeping us safe and comfortable, challenging us, but also making us laugh.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take layers, a sunhat and a wooly hat - you may go through hot sun, strong wind, snow, hail - all in a few hours in the Andes. Also walking poles are the best investment I made for this trip. Collapsible ones are really useful to put in your case too. Take factor 50 sunblock for use in the mountains. A rubber bath plug is also a good idea - hotels never seem to provide a plug even when there is a bath.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel Warari is AWFUL!! Exodus please stop using it. The noise from restaurant events (next door) and karaoke club (over the road) go on until 4.30am some nights. This is horrendous before and after trek. It is also cold, dark and has concrete floors - noisey when clients leave early morning with cases and has glass panels above bedroom doors, so again, when people leave, your room lights up like sunrise when the automatic corridor lights turn on. I stayed one extra night at Hotel Rumi Punku which is in the old, cobbled town streets and it was great.
Call us on 020 8772 3936