Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Karen Morrow

    A beautiful place!

    This was a lovely trip! The 'Picos De Europa' area in northern Spain is vast but little known and there are very few tourists compared with elsewhere in Spain. It is surprisingly 'Alpine' in feel, with beautiful with high, pointed mountains, interspersed with some lovely, flowery meadows. Goats, wild horses and light-brown cows with big bells wander around everywhere. We very much enjoyed walking in this area, with our friendly, competent leader, Nacho. The lovely, family-run hotel is simple but comfortable and very friendly - nothing is too much trouble. The home-cooked food - a choice of three main courses daily - is surprisingly good and the lunch 'rolls' were MASSIVE with lots of filling! Any fairly fit walker would love this trip and I would highly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The panoramic views from the very top of the highest mountains (considerably higher than any in the U.K!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was quiet but had a real sense of humour and was a good leader. He had a thorough knowledge of the area. He walks everywhere with a big, black brolly to prevent the sun from getting to him, which seemed a good idea considering the VERY high temperatures we had for the first couple of days!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were lucky with almost all dry weather but it can change fast so I would advise anyone to take good waterproofs and plenty of sunscreen, plus a sun-hat too! A walking pole (or two) is very helpful on this kind of terrain. The gin and tonics in the hotel were very large, quite cheap and delicious....!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This area should be better known. It is quite idyllic
  • Reviewed August 2018

    Paradise in Asturias

    Having never heard of the Picos, but liking the pictures, I was pleasantly surprised at the grandeur of the mountains. A stunning location, you won't go hungry nor will you be disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day of the trip, being rewarded with a fabulous scramble to the last summit of the trip and by far the best views. We stood looking into the distance where the clouds were, and stood above the cloudline marvelling at the spectacle greeting us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho is an interesting guide whose sense of humour seemed to grow as the week went on. He was kind, gentle and seemed to know how to treat everyone from very early on, understanding of people's needs, especially when you are unwell. He's fantastic at topiary creations (!) and has many uses for an umbrella. Knowledge of fauna was excellent, flora not so, my only E.B.I. of the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If it's going to be warm, bring some rehydration/electrolyte powders/tablets. Nacho, i'm sure, has shares in Aquarius and mineral salts!! Be prepared for mud on one of the days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel Torreceredo is in a fabulous setting, with a well stocked bar and delicious food. The staff are incredibly friendly. Take their advice when they offer it, they knew best about almost everything with their decades of experience!!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Angela Hague

    Mountains, woodland, meadows

    I was surprised how green "Green Spain" is. On landing I thought it looked more like Austria, and this resemblance persisted. It had been rainy before we went and the woodland paths were quite muddy. There are brown cows with cow bells (very docile) and a lot of goats (very friendly). Our week was hot and humid so on the last day we set off at 8am instead of the normal 9am. The area is very peaceful, but there are few way-marked trails so it was useful to have a guide. On the free day we chose to go to the coast. The beach at Poo (yes it is called Poo) is stunning - lovely soft golden sand and restaurants overlooking the beach. We were less impressed with Llanes - it is OK and the icecreams from the van the group are picked up at are superb (and huge! - save room for one) but given how nice the beach at Poo is we would probably spend more time there if it is a nice day. The hotel has a nice garden to sit out in with stunning views of the mountains (sometimes hidden in mist, sometimes clear against blue sky). The hotel staff are very organised. The bar is a nice place to hang out after walks or before dinner. The food is very tasty. There is a small appetiser, a soup, a main and a pudding. Our only thought to improve this would be more vegetables with some of the main courses (e.g. the pork is the best ever - it is so tender - but it was served up with just one carrot along with Dauphinoise potatoes). Cutting out the appetisers would save a lot of work serving and washing up for what is a small thing. The beef curry bomb was very popular with the group - highly recommended! The prawn curry was a bit too fancy with a couple of whole prawns and my husband would have preferred a proper big bowl of prawn curry and rice rather than have to mess about dissecting his dinner. The hake with little clams on the last day was excellent. Every meal was very tasty and well cooked.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The peaks and views have to be the highlight for me, and being above the clouds is always lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was kind and gentle, and I enjoyed his sense of humour. He was very patient and made sure everyone had a good time. He was a good coach when it came to learning some basic scrambling on the last day, and all the tougher bits were optional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack insect repellent and Anthisan, or similar. Some of our group got bitten by horseflies because of the humidity. You might want to take an umbrella to use as a sunshade - our guide Nacho used one most days. Nacho recommended "Aquarius" - a rehydration drink I had not heard of before. it is very refreshing.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Beth Goldenberg

    Truly a wonderful adventure

    Everything about this trip went beyond my expectations. Our thoughtful and knowledgeable guide Nacho was a delight! The other members of my group (there were 15 of us) were lots of fun and we felt like family by the last day. The scenery was spectacular and the hikes were challenging but not over the top. I cannot say enough positive things about this trip except it was rather hot and humid while we were there and ceiling fans in the rooms would have been a welcome addition. The hotel overall was comfortable, convenient location and the meals were incredible! Don’t hesitate to book this trip if you want to see Spain off the beaten path.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Communion with the cows! Listening to those cowbells was so incredibly peaceful and centering.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was fabulous. I have a knee problem so was not able to make the more challenging ascents and he was very thoughtful and never made me feel uneasy or embarrassed. Exodus is very lucky to have him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go in the summer, it is pretty hot and there is no air conditioning in the hotel. Be prepared to sweat a bit at night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful introduction to Spain and I can’t wait to return for some more adventures,
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Olive McEntagart

    Excellent walking !

    The walks were lovely and the scenery very varied. The hotel is comfortable and serves great food : ) you'll never go hungry. V well organised and the tour guide was great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the amazing views of all the mountains and looking down on clouds!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, really organised. All the walks were at a good pace. Couldn't have done more - really nice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Possibly only to bring poles for extra stability when walking. The hotel provide an excellent lunch with lots of snacks so no need to bring any extra snacks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant trip in a beautiful part of Spain.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    christine Grove

    Book it.

    The tour is brilliant, book it. The hotel is lovely, all the staff were very helpful and owners not only speak English but were Leaders themselves so they know all about the walks and the area. The hotel food was excellent and there is a drying room, and washing line, so you can wash/dry clothes and boots. My room had a bath and a shower, heaven after a long days walk. Magnificent views from the South facing pretty garden terrace ( and the bar and restaurant) and drinks very reasonably priced. Guide , excellent, knew the mountains very well, even when covered with snow! Very reassuring. Long walks but very quiet, we hardly saw anyone each day, which was lovely (apart from Carres Gorge - take a hat as no shade) we were well off the main “highway” fantastic views every step. And no hidden costs as a full breakfast, packed lunch provided and a 3 course evening meal.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    fun
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Liza Walker

    Mountain Loveliness!

    Fabulous, well-planned walks through amazing landscapes. Your feet may feel a little well-used by the end of the week but it is SO worth it! At the end of May, we had fantastic weather, beautiful wild flowers and wild life in plenty - so many birds! The hotel is really well located with great views, lovely views, delicious food and nice beer - and only minutes from the village, which has outdoor clothing, cafes and souvenirs. I really can't recommend this week highly enough!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many moments to mention.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was excellent - well informed, interesting, patient and good humoured.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    At the end of May, it may rain, or be cloudy and misty - it's pot luck. I was very lucky! I'm pretty fit but hadn't done much ascent recently and all the walks were within my capability, with some folk opting for easier sections when available.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Nicola Matthew

    A wonderful walking holiday in Spain.

    What a wonderful trip to the Picos in Spain. Hotel and food was excellent. Our guides (Nacho and Jairo) were brilliant. I couldn't fault anything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it! Possibly not some of the muddy conditions, but otherwise everything!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Joanna Marsh

    Walking the Picos de Europa

    Just returned from a fabulous week in the mountains in Northern Spain. We had 5 exciting walks up to 2000m with optional scrambling to the peak on our last walk. Suited us (mum and 16 year old son) brilliantly for Half term. Wonderful guide, fellow walkers, hotel etc. It was a really relaxing way to holiday as there was zero stress (nothing to organise) but physical challenge each day. The canoeing on the free day was a rest from walking, however 15km of upper body workout.....and lots of fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazing scenery, getting to know fellow travellers, physical challenge and sharing all of this with my youngest son on his 16th birthday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great. Nacho is an experienced guide and was able to judge our group and lead us for the week, seeming to know what each person would require from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do plenty of walking to prepare for the holiday. Being fit enough means you will enjoy the walks more. We went in October which was end of season. I suspect the walks might be very hot in the height of summer so consider whether you can cope with exertion in heat.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mary-Ann Preston

    Picos de Europa, Spain

    A wonderful week walking in the stunning Picos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being away from all the noise, polution and demands of daily life, and being able to enjoy such beautiful landscapes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was really lovely. Very personable, relaxed and friendly, and knowledgable about the area and it's history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy your escape, the exercise and the views.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Apart from the wonderful walking, our hotel, Torrecerreno, was a really great place with a very relaxed atmosphere - comfortable simple accommodation with plentiful and delicious food and such friendly staff.
Call us on 020 8772 3936