Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Joanna Marsh

    Walking the Picos de Europa

    Just returned from a fabulous week in the mountains in Northern Spain. We had 5 exciting walks up to 2000m with optional scrambling to the peak on our last walk. Suited us (mum and 16 year old son) brilliantly for Half term. Wonderful guide, fellow walkers, hotel etc. It was a really relaxing way to holiday as there was zero stress (nothing to organise) but physical challenge each day. The canoeing on the free day was a rest from walking, however 15km of upper body workout.....and lots of fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Amazing scenery, getting to know fellow travellers, physical challenge and sharing all of this with my youngest son on his 16th birthday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great. Nacho is an experienced guide and was able to judge our group and lead us for the week, seeming to know what each person would require from him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do plenty of walking to prepare for the holiday. Being fit enough means you will enjoy the walks more. We went in October which was end of season. I suspect the walks might be very hot in the height of summer so consider whether you can cope with exertion in heat.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mary-Ann Preston

    Picos de Europa, Spain

    A wonderful week walking in the stunning Picos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being away from all the noise, polution and demands of daily life, and being able to enjoy such beautiful landscapes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was really lovely. Very personable, relaxed and friendly, and knowledgable about the area and it's history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy your escape, the exercise and the views.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Apart from the wonderful walking, our hotel, Torrecerreno, was a really great place with a very relaxed atmosphere - comfortable simple accommodation with plentiful and delicious food and such friendly staff.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    wendy clarke

    excellent first experience

    My first exodus holiday was fantastic.The picos were simply beautiful, the hotel was great, the company (my fellow travellers) were great fun and my experience was much, much better than I had anticipated. If you are nervous of travelling alone ,like I was, then dont be. It is well worth pushing yourself out of your comfort zone. Go enjoy!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming down from Mancondui peak, walking through a beautiful alpine meadow, the trail blazers were well ahead and the chatty ones well behind and I had ten minutes of peaceful blissful solitude just to.......be.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What can I say? Alvaro is one in a million. A really nice guy whose passion and knowledge shines through. The holiday would not have been the same without him.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Tiggy Sawbridge

    Picos de Europa

    An excellent holiday with a lovely group in beautiful surroundings, and a very friendly hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro is an exceptional leader and he clearly knows the area inside out. He was also able to predict the weather with extraordinary accuracy and I'm surprised he hasn't been headhunted by the Spanish Meteorological Agency! Alvaro was also very encouraging and we all enjoyed his mischievous sense of humour: 'if I return with 80% of you, it's not perfect, but it's not bad...'

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather is unpredictable so if you're wondering what to pack, bring everything just in case! However, I didn't wear a raincoat or fleece all week.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was superb, plentiful and varied, and the hotel is very good at coping with all dietary requirements. I recommend the coastal walk to Llanes on the day off and you will (hopefully) be rewarded with an ice cream van on arrival. I had the best orange ice lolly ever - it was like freshly squeezed orange juice on a stick. ​
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Stephen Low

    Excellent walks in a stunning location!

    The Picos de Europa is an area of outstanding scenery and has well defined walking paths. Every walk during the holiday had it's own distinct 'feel' and all were excellent! The accommodation was relaxed, staff were friendly and the food was very good. Our group got on very well with each other so everything combined to make this an excellent holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The short scramble to the summit of one of the mountains was fun and the views were awesome!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro was an excellent leader - he had outstanding local knowledge and this was combined with a genuine desire to make sure everyone in the group was comfortable and enjoying themselves. Top marks!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bilboa can be easily reached from the airport by a frequent bus service, so if you have time before or after the trip, it's a nice place to visit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most of the group participated in a coastal walk on the free day which was very nice - I would recommend it!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Oliver Miles

    Walking the Picos de Europa - Challenging week

    This was my first walking holiday and first trip with Exodus. I would highly recommend it to anyone reasonably fit (Challenging week). Accommodation was great and food amazing - lots of options for veggies and good selection at breakfast. All the staff in the hotel are very helpful - for example the owner, Jim, went out of his way to drop two of us in central Bilbao on the day of the return flight, instead of having to kill time at the airport. Other trip members were very sociable and friendly and made it an incredible week. Our guide, Alvaro, was superb - lots of interesting local knowledge about the wildlife and region. He also ensured that the walks avoided crowded times/cloud. The Picos itself is a beautiful region to visit. Day off allowed a trip to the coast, Llanes, which has good restaurants and lovely beach.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view of the Narnjo de Bulnes in the valley in the last day, between Sotres and Tielve.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Judith Beresford

    Great trip, thoroughly recommended

    Exodus for me works on word-of-mouth and recommendations. So mine is, go! It's a fabulous location with moderate-to-challenging walking, spring flora and fauna fascinating, and so unexpected: like a slice of Switzerland. Our guide, Alvaro, is one of the best - Exodus I'm sure should be very sorry to lose him - but there is such a commitment to quality from the hotel that the team will always be a good one. Excellent food, comfortable beds, lashings of hot water... a very homely home base.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many, but I guess Alvaro's love for his home and his understanding o the mountains was pretty inspirational.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Like the previous reviewer, I would definitely do it again! Which, I suppose, is the highest recommendation..
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Lisa Edwards

    I would do it all again...

    This holiday was so much more than I expected. More challenging, more fun, more mountainous! I don't know why but I didn't equate a mountain region with so much ascending. I am a regular hiker and was surprised to find that I could walk for up to two hours uphill and still maintain a conversation. Alvaro the guide was inspiring and motivational, and the group were encouraging and fun to be with. We really bonded over the tough uphills and the shared experiences of the magnificent scenery. I was sad to leave the group at the airport and I think part of me is still in the mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing around ten vultures flying around the top of a mountain - a bird I'd thought would be ugly, but it's actually quite beautiful. Our group had experts in flora and fauna who brought the whole thing to life for me. I learned so much.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro. What can I say? We all thought he was amazing and were sad to hear that he's leaving Exodus in August. He will be a great loss to the team. He was like a sheepdog taking care of his flock, scampering up and down mountains to make sure we were ok. I can still here him say, "slowly as you like!" as we ascended yet another dizzying height. He imparted so much knowledge about the area from history to wildlife and he was just the right amount of encouraging to all of us, individually.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go before mid-May because you'll have cows wearing cowbells outside your bedroom window at 1am (lovely as they are). They go up to higher pastures in mid-May. Have the G&Ts in the hotel bar - the fishbowl glasses and the measures are amazing. Take your own hairdryer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A friend has already booked this holiday off the back of my Facebook and Instagram posts. It's a winner and I would recommend it to anyone who is fit enough to take it on. It was definitely not 'moderate' in my book - I found it challenging. I've had to reassess my idea of my own fitness but I ended the week feeling like a butcher's dog.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Karen Jones

    Splendour in the Picos!

    This trip was amazing - the hotel is great, food incredible (even for non meat eaters), generous hospitality, excellent location. The walks vary, all are magnificent. The area is so untouched by modern life and tourism, it is a real treat for the senses. The location of the hotel is lovely, pretty shops, bars and restaurants - all only about 3-4 minutes away.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was different - from breathtaking high peaks, stunning meadows, dramatic gorges to unspoilt villages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvaro is fabulous and a real credit to Exodus - he is passionate about his homeland, willing to share the history, challenges and beauty of the area, he was well aware of everyones ability, considerate and always ready with a smile and encouragement!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate - book the trip!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The evening meals are incredible, always a choice of 3 main courses, tasty soups, delightful desserts and an appetiser to start! This is a real value for money trip...
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Mary Palfreyman

    Totally amazing week spent in the Picos

    The Picos is a fantastic area with wonderful scenery and mountain terrain. To walk in the Picos was a great way to see the area and get up and close to the peaks. The hotel was great with a lovely terrace bar over-looking the valley and peaks and it was a great way to end the day with a beer in hand here (who needs telly). The food at the hotel was amazing and the staff at the hotel went out of their way to ensure that all guests had a memorable experience - I know I did. I am vegetarian and did not struggle at all for food, the hotel caters for vegetarians and there was always a veggie option available - even packed lunches.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cares Gorge - it took my breath away....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alvero was just great, he has a kind, considerate and passionate attitude to everything that he does. He was always there for everyone in the group, from the slowest walker to the fastest walker. He knew the area and plants, animals, birds that lived there and would go into details explaining this.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip, do not hesitate...I had an amazing week and could not find fault in anything. Everything was just perfect.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If I could do this trip again....I wouldn't change a thing :-)
Call us on 020 8772 3936