Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Janet Milne

    Spectacular limestone scenery

    This was a very interesting walking holiday with spectacular views, wildlife, flora and fauna. The trails took us into some very quiet valleys away from the main tourist routes. The hotel was excellent in terms of service, accomodation and meals. The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Despite being in September, there were still some orchids in flower. We often saw vultures soaring above. The scenery was quite spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Jairo was very knowledgeable of the area and shared with us his passion of the Picos mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As always in mountainous areas be prepared for all weathers! On the rest day we did the coastal walk to Jannes which was very pleasant.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Eleanor Freckleton

    Picos de Europs - Stunning Scenery

    This was a week in the hills that I will never forget! The scenery was absolutely stunning - every day different - and we got marvellous views on all the walks, which were all very enjoyable. Our hotel was a great base - it is billed as the one star hotel with five star views, but I would add to that and say that it also provides five star food and five star hospitality. In addition, the town of Arenas de Cabrales is very nice to wander round, not too big but still a good selection of shops, bars and restaurants. All in all, a great experience and one I would consider repeating in a few years time (I have never had a bad Exodus holiday but this one was particularly enjoyable).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is very hard to pick out a single moment, but the walk on our last day was extra special. I picked a challenging departure (grade 5) and on the last day we did two tops - Mancondiu and San Carlos Peak. As well as feeling good at managing the technical challenge (not that difficult really!), we were above the clouds for a lot of the walk and that made it seem extra special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jairo was a star. He has a fantastic personality and he really helped to foster a good atmosphere within the group. He was a confident leader on the hills and made sure that we were all comfortable with the technicalities of each walk.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was a Level 5 departure - you need a good degree of fitness for the walks, but as long as you have done some preparation beforehand then it is definitely achievable. I would also highly recommend using walking poles - I used them for all the walks apart from the Cares Gorge. Our weather in September was really good the majority of the time, without being unbearably hot. However, given the altitude do expect the occasional shower and be prepared for all eventualities. One of our walks had a long muddy section, not helped by the heavy rain experienced just before we arrived. As noted on another review, if you enjoy lazing on the beach, then if you do the coastal walk I would recommend spending more time on the beach at Poo rather than at Llanes itself (we stopped at Poo for pre-lunch drinks but didn't spend any time on the beach as it was slightly overcast that day). Finally, I added on a few extra days at the end of my holiday to visit Bilbao and then up the coast to San Sebastian. I thoroughly enjoyed my time in both places so would highly recommend these if you want a holiday extension.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I can't recommend this trip highly enough, for me the best walking holiday in Europe that I have done with Exodus so far.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Mike Hackney

    A Fabulous week in the Picos De Europa

    Excellent holiday in a beautiful area for walking. The walks were well organised and gave us a great introduction to the area. Importantly, the accommodation, the staff and particularly the food was outstanding. I thoroughly recommend this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The panoramic views of the Picos from the top of the hills we climbed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alfonso was an excellent group leader. He was well organised, informative and very attentive. He has a great sense of humour and was a significant reason for the great atmosphere amongst the Group

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Very much a trip worth making and a thoroughly enjoyable holiday

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I believe that the standard of the food at the hotel and the leadership of Alfonso were key to the overall enjoyment of this holiday
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Gill Jacobs

    Wonderful holiday

    The Picos are a beautiful part of Spain, lush and green with limestone peaks and very quiet. Apart from on the gorge walk we saw very few people when we were walking. The hotel owners describe the hotel as a one star hotel with five star views and the views certainly are fabulous but I wouldn’t describe the hotel as one star! More as simple, homely and friendly! The food at the hotel was very good. The hotel owners, Jim and Pilar, are very good chefs and spent a great deal of time each day to produce a really tasty 4 course dinner for us which was very welcome at the end of each day. We had a lovely group and a great guide and I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes walking in beautiful scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful scenery and wildlife - vultures, eagles and chamois! Clear, starry skies at the hotel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alfonso was our guide and he was lovely - caring, thoughtful and fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book it!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Steven Adcott

    Picos revisited

    This was our second trip to the Picos de Europa as we enjoyed it so much last time in 2014. It didn't disappoint. The walking is moderate so those with basic fitness will have no problems, you don't return to the hotel exhausted, there is sufficient time to relax with a drink or even wander into the town for a browse before the group dinner. The food in the hotel is really good and the owners, Jim and Pilar are hands on, cooking the food and helping with transportation and are a delight to chat with.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks are designed to be different and the views will blow you away. To see vultures riding the thermals so close is a real treat that when the odd eagle appears it is easy to be blase. We had a full group and 25% had experienced this trip before, which is testimony to how good it is.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alfonso was our leader, who was a stand in as the regular leader was away on a break. it is fair to say he was great. His knowledge of the area and the wildlife was astounding and his English was exemplary. His love of the outdoors and enthusiasm for nature endeared him to the group immediately.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sensible and be prepared for adverse weather. We had a couple of rainy days and it can get a bit chilly when you are high in the mountains. All obvious and common sense really. Hair driers are available to borrow, and don't forget your plug adaptor.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We found the bed in room 203 uncomfortable and the pillows hard but exchanged the pillows, some guys brought their own pillows! A minor niggle but still 10/10
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Clare Cheeseright

    A hidden gem

    These mountains are not well known outside Spain but are well worth a visit. Verdant valleys of trees and meadows give way to dramatic and soaring limestone peaks. There are lots of walks and the views are always worth the effort. Our days were topped off with fabulous dinners created by Jim and his team at the hotel - four courses each night! The hotel was welcoming and quiet but only a few minutes' walk from the town. There was an amazing view from the bar patio of the distant mountains which I never tired of looking at.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several - the views from the top of whichever peak or climb we were doing plus sitting in a meadow or on rocks for lunch and loving the scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was great, friendly and informative. Nachos also took a lot of care to make sure we stopped regularly to have water and rest as the weather was hot. His philosophy of never rushing also helped to make the holiday very chilled.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Asha P

    Walking The Picos De Europa - INCREDIBLE!

    A definitely must- see/do trip! Each day you see the most incredible and breath taking views! Overall it is one of my favourite holidays, thanks to the wonderful tour leader we had, Nacho, and also to the Hotel staff, Jim and Pilar, for giving such a comfortable welcoming experience whilst staying in the hotel......they are extremely kind and warm-hearted people who went the extra mile always to cater for vegetarian meals and providing a comforting atmosphere. Nacho would look after us so exceptionally well that everyday went as nicely as it possibly could and on the days I wasn't as prepared as much as I could be, he always accommodated everything I would have needed and more.....I could not have asked for a better person to lead our group on this trip or a better hotel, as for me it was all perfect!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was an inspirational day! I was speechless with all the views we were able to experience whilst eating our lunch and everyday I was in beautiful surroundings!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do this trip and you will see and feel like you are in another world....that's how it was for me!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to exodus for organising/creating such a trip, and to the Hotel staff for being so warm and welcoming to make our stay with them truly special, and of course thank you to Nacho who made the experience unforgettable!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Nada Abdul

    A refreshing trip

    A very well organized trip and very good value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was breathtaking

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was very professional and friendly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do make sure you understand the level you signed for in the case of a hiking trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus for a lovely vacation.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Karen Morrow

    A beautiful place!

    This was a lovely trip! The 'Picos De Europa' area in northern Spain is vast but little known and there are very few tourists compared with elsewhere in Spain. It is surprisingly 'Alpine' in feel, with beautiful with high, pointed mountains, interspersed with some lovely, flowery meadows. Goats, wild horses and light-brown cows with big bells wander around everywhere. We very much enjoyed walking in this area, with our friendly, competent leader, Nacho. The lovely, family-run hotel is simple but comfortable and very friendly - nothing is too much trouble. The home-cooked food - a choice of three main courses daily - is surprisingly good and the lunch 'rolls' were MASSIVE with lots of filling! Any fairly fit walker would love this trip and I would highly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The panoramic views from the very top of the highest mountains (considerably higher than any in the U.K!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was quiet but had a real sense of humour and was a good leader. He had a thorough knowledge of the area. He walks everywhere with a big, black brolly to prevent the sun from getting to him, which seemed a good idea considering the VERY high temperatures we had for the first couple of days!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were lucky with almost all dry weather but it can change fast so I would advise anyone to take good waterproofs and plenty of sunscreen, plus a sun-hat too! A walking pole (or two) is very helpful on this kind of terrain. The gin and tonics in the hotel were very large, quite cheap and delicious....!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This area should be better known. It is quite idyllic
  • Reviewed August 2018

    Paradise in Asturias

    Having never heard of the Picos, but liking the pictures, I was pleasantly surprised at the grandeur of the mountains. A stunning location, you won't go hungry nor will you be disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day of the trip, being rewarded with a fabulous scramble to the last summit of the trip and by far the best views. We stood looking into the distance where the clouds were, and stood above the cloudline marvelling at the spectacle greeting us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho is an interesting guide whose sense of humour seemed to grow as the week went on. He was kind, gentle and seemed to know how to treat everyone from very early on, understanding of people's needs, especially when you are unwell. He's fantastic at topiary creations (!) and has many uses for an umbrella. Knowledge of fauna was excellent, flora not so, my only E.B.I. of the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If it's going to be warm, bring some rehydration/electrolyte powders/tablets. Nacho, i'm sure, has shares in Aquarius and mineral salts!! Be prepared for mud on one of the days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel Torreceredo is in a fabulous setting, with a well stocked bar and delicious food. The staff are incredibly friendly. Take their advice when they offer it, they knew best about almost everything with their decades of experience!!
Call us on 020 8772 3936