Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Helen de Wolf

    A fabulous week!

    A fantastic combination of a very friendly group, wonderful guide and the culinary delights of Chalet Chamonix. Quite a jackpot! We enjoyed it all and the mountains and breathtaking views lived up to all expectations. We also benefited from a tremendous work out each day for legs more accustomed to the flat lands of The Netherlands! It was a great experience. The unassuming superstars of Chalet Chamonix are Sarah and Rich whose hospitality and delicious food exceeded our expectations; I think they must set a new culinary standard for Exodus trips! The teatime cakes and international cuisine at dinner created a welcome and unexpected element to the trip which was quite a talking point. Our group had quite a discussion about the activity grading of this trip, most felt that parts of it felt more strenuous than the indicated 'Moderate 3' might suggest. However, you do feel like you have had a very full and enjoyable week at the end.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are many on this trip! The day in Italy was a good contrast to the higher walks on the French side; wonderful wild flowers everywhere and delicious hot chocolate and ice cream.... The trip up to the Aiguille du Midi on the free day is really worth doing; it's impressive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark is great! A real, no-nonsense, mountain man with huge experience. Our group included those with different levels of experience, including a fell runner, but I felt he made us all feel comfortable, also ensuring we knew the programme for the day, so we could enjoy the holiday as part of a group.... I feel I learned a lot about the area too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, read the trip notes carefully and then read them again! You do need to be fit and have some hill walking experience (and gear) to enjoy this trip properly. The trip is listed 'Moderate 3' but it is certainly more demanding, because of the ascents and descents, than other trips we have experienced at this level. However, we enjoyed it very much. The views and landscape are worth all the effort.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Karen OBrien

    Trip Review

    A thoroughly enjoyable trip with expert guidance walking in the Mont Blanc region. Comfortable accommodation in Chamonix, within easy walking distance from town centre. Gourmet, three course dinners also provided with breakfast and picnic lunches

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in the French alps in summer, with breathtaking views during the walks and from the chalet.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was friendly, professional and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I assumed I would be one of the oldest people participating in this walk at 61 and was delighted to find that fellow participants were of a similar age and similar interests.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip to fellow travellers
  • Reviewed July 2018
    David Goff

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    A good introduction to walking in the Chamonix region

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The high walks looking down into the Chamonix valley and the lower level walk in the Aosta valley. wonderful colours with wild flowers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very safe and looked after the group well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should have walking experience in mountains and be able to manage fairly steep climbs. Small amounts of via ferrata but always plenty of good chains/ropes to hold on to. Important to have reasonable fitness for the uphill. Some days involve climbs of 1000m. Sturdy walking boots required. Walking poles not essential but may help on the downhill sections.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    john woolgrove

    Wonderful trip

    Organisation of trip excellent. Stayed in Chalet Chocolat, comfortable, what made our stay was out hosts Zoe and Ben who ran the chalet efficiently and were great fun. The catering was gourmet standard with fabulous cakes every day. Our guide Mark has lived in the area for 10 years, he was a superb guide and had many interesting stories. The terrain was quite tough for us in our 60's but very enjoyable with world-beating views. We enjoyed sharing the chalet with a good crowd.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent and great fun

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit and you'll enjoy it even more
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Brenda Mosedale

    Mont Blanc Highlights- Chalet Chamonix

    I wasn't sure about a holiday in the mountains. I enjoy walking and thought I'd be up for the challenge. I wasn't disappointed. Most of the week we were in Chamonix we had warm sunshine, which simply made the mountains more spectacular. Chalet Chamonix was comfortable as a base and the food, including the cakes on our return from walking, little short of amazing. It was interesting to have 2 hosts at the chalet who both looked after us for the week as well as driving us to where we needed to be so that our guide could lead us up the mountain paths.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I couldn't point to just one - the views from the highest points of our walks were great - with the exception of the one day when the cloud came down on us. One of the most troubling aspects was to see just how quickly the level of the huge glacier above Chamonix was going down as the ice melted.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was quiet and efficient, always ready with information when asked and engaging with each of the group on the topics that most interested them. The hosts were welcoming and ready to make our stay both comfortable and fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It helps to take seriously the advice to be as fit as you can be and get used to walking both uphill and downhill. Walking poles really do help. If you can print boarding pass and baggage tag for your return through Geneva airport it will make things much quicker and less stressful!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Carolyn Scott

    Great walks, great food, great company

    Recently returned from an amazing walking holiday in the stunning area surrounding Mont Blanc. A lovely break away in the fresh mountain air with great hospitality & food, staying in a comfortable chalet in Chamonix.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What could be better than having toiled uphill for a couple of hours or so, than sitting eating a delicious packed lunch, & feeling like you really earned it! And enjoying glorious, mountain views stretching in all directions. A 'feel good' factor moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb hospitality, well informed on all aspects of the locality, good entertaining company & fabulous cooking

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go prepared to enjoy!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Sally Nichols

    Amazing trails, Fab food & Great company

    This trip went far beyond my expectations. The walking was great, through lush wooded hills and fields full of the most beautiful wild flowers. The weather was mixed with one day completely washed out, although not spoilt as we still enjoyed the variety of walking even when soaked! What stood apart was the food - Sarah and Richard were the best hosts I have yet encountered - and I have traveled for over 25 years. The themed menus, quality and presentation of meals was second to none. The freshly baked daily cakes were so good to come back to after a challenging day in the mountains too. My only problem was leaving enough room for dinner each evening.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming across the beautiful 'Chalet la Floria' halfway up one of our later walks in the week (I won't spoil the surprise to tell you which walk). Its multi-coloured umbrellas against the starkness of Mont Blanc and the brilliant blue sky behind it were magical. And the coffee/loo stop was very welcome too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shaun was knowledgeable and a calm and steady guide that kept us all happy - whether we were racing ahead or lagging behind - we walked as a group and enjoyed the trip so much more because of it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Request Chalet Chamonix to experience the best cuisine in the mountains, with Sarah and Richard. The boot room didn't always dry out boots after heavy rain so take some plastic bags to put over your socks to keep you walking in comfort (this worked well for me for two days). The fan in each room was great at creating white noise to drown out your snoring room-share!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it - you won't regret this trip if you enjoy walking. Our party ranged in age from 40s, 50s to mid-60s and all had a great time.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Tania Rahman

    The hills are really alive...

    Mont Blanc was really the star of the trip. I loved the way we were put together in the Chalet (Chocolat) and led by Pete our group leader. Zoe and Ben also put every possible effort to look after us well. Most of all I met such wonderful and inspirational people in the group. I will be staying in touch with some and never forget the rest.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lunch time on the first hiking day. I stood on the hill and the mountains opened up to me. It was honestly like the film, “The Sound of Music!” Used to London air conditioning and urban air. Being on these hills, I felt I could breathe properly away from pollution. As a child I read Heidi and matched my imagination so well. The scenery was what I had read about in my geography lessons as a child. This included the glacier cut landscapes and the rivers in the valleys.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pete was obviously very experienced, educated and professional. To add to this he was always genuinely thoughtful about our welfare and safety. He was extremely kind, caring, and sensitive to our individual needs. I was rather anxious about this hiking trip. He certainly helped me increase my confidence in my abilities and next time go into something like this I’ll be more confident in my own abilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you read the advice, especially in the trip notes before going and make sure you don’t rush your preparation in the last minute. I would advise you to make sure you take all the suggested clothing/equipment as stated as it’s very helpful to have it as such. It includes the ear plugs as chalets are not especially sound proof. I went straight from work to travelling there and it’s always good to have some time to unwind and rest before and after. I found it a bit of a mental adjustment from inner city urban London. That way is the best way to appreciate the holiday the most.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There may doubts in your head about your abilities and for most people this will help their confidence.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Paul West

    Great Experiance

    Great Walking without being over stretched phyically Amazing Views Great Chalet Hosts Super Guide Great Company

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group leader Frank had a great knowledge of the area. He was also very informative about much of the flora and fauna. He kept the group together well, managing the pace to ensure that all got the best out of thier days afoot. Stops for a breather and take in the scenary were regular but not so many as to impact on the joy of each hike. His commitment showed when he was spotted in the mountains doing a recci for one of the week's later walks on his day off. Top marks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks were not over strenuous , though did involve a long climb and decent each day. One does not need to be super fit to enjoy this holiday. However best suited to those who are regular walkers or from a sporting background. Best pub for a post walk drink is the Little Boxes bar, just 400m or so from the Chalet Chamonix

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our chalet hosts, Sarah and Richard were outstanding. Sarah provided some of the best food we have ever tasted (She deserves an award!) Richard was always on hand in the back ground with a smile doing all those jobs that a host needs to do. Thier knowlegde of Chamonix and the area was considerable and very useful and thieir obvious love of the Great Outdoors shone through. The rooms were spotless and the view of Mont Blanc from the Chalet could not have been better.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Susannah Dax

    MontBlanc

    Fabulous Alpine walking trip. Base camp at a nice chalet, communal style. 13 people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This trip is Inspirational and inspiring. At every turn there is another view or another peak of snow capped mountains towering above. Sensational, majestic and solid. After 1000 metres of climbing it’s also pretty nice when the track evens out and suddenly one realises one is ‘on top of the world’!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pete was brilliant. Understood the group, our hiking abilities and our personalities and catered for all individually and collectively. He was risk averse, informative, fun and responsible at all times

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reminder that this is an ‘alpine’ trip do do expect to climb mountains. Bring a small case only, as I saw many struggling with heavy bags everywhere. Bring good quality hiking socks and well worn in shoes or boots and high quality specialised blister dressings just in case

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Not for the faint hearted or those susceptible to vertigo, but if you are a reasonable hiker with endurance it’s very doable and so worth it.
Call us on 020 8772 3936