Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dave Collins

    Great walks - outstanding chalet team

    We got lucky with the weather and had 5 great walks showing off the stunning scenery in the Mont Blanc region. Chamonix itself is a beautiful town. Don't miss the craft brewery and definitely do the parapenting!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every time we looked up and saw another aspect of Mont Blanc and its glaciers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marks knowledge of the region and his obvious passion for the outdoors made each walk more than just a scenery fest. Great sense of humour too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cable car to the Aguille Du Midi is an absolute must but listen to the advice from Rich about pre-booking. Apart from the craft beer, the food at the brewery is pretty good, cheap and plentiful - worth a try on your free day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Chalet hosts Rich and Sarah - what else is left to say of this amazing team except to agree with everything previously written here. Thank you both for some amazing meals and your seemingly endless patience.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Brigitte Hease

    Fantastic Mont Blanc Highlights.

    One of our most memorable holidays. We were lucky to have fantastic weather (mountain weather can be unpredictable), and we enjoyed the usual mix of friendly and interesting people that we've come to expect on Exodus holidays. When not enjoying spectacular alpine views on the walks, Chamonix provided ample opportunities to do some shopping, experience local bars, just a stroll away from Chamonix Chalet where we could read a book in the garden with views of Mont Blanc, whilst relaxing in the hot tub and wait for a fabulous dinner prepared by our hosts Sara and Richard. This holiday provided the perfect mix of beautiful walks, fantastic food and great company. We highly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the Alps with fabulous views of the mountains and glaciers. Our chalet hosts' warm welcome and fabulous food as well as our mountain guide's professionalism.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our walking leader Mark was excellent, giving a brief explanation of the next days walk before dinner. He provided regular opportunities for rest and photo breaks whilst sharing his knowledge of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not very sporty, it is useful to do some training to strengthen your knee muscles. Most people found the descents harder than the ascents ! Don't expect to loose any weight during this trip as you fully enjoy the fabulous food provided by Sarah!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sara and Rich who run the chalet are amazing. The 3 course evening dinners prepared by Sarah, a qualified chef, are of top restaurant standards, and Rich bakes a cake everyday for afternoon tea. Their dedication and enthusiasm have made this holiday special.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Janet Shepherd

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    This was our first trip with Exodus and it definitely won't be our last. We knew the location was going to be outstanding, but the service from our initial phone call to book the trip, right through to the staff in resort was faultless. Our chalet hosts at Chalet Chamonix, Rich and Sarah, quite simply were phenomenal. Their knowledge and service was second to none and I just can't speak highly enough about the food. No basic comfort food here! It was like dining out at a fabulous restaurant every night! Our mountain guide Peter was a true gent, who in his understated manner, shared his incredible knowledge of the area and ensured our safety and enjoyment was paramount at all times. I'm already looking forward to browsing through the brochure and finding our next adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The awesome scenery just blew us away!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Peter, was inspirational. One of those true gents that you look up to and respect. He was knowledgeable about the area but it was his mountain experience that filled us with confidence and made us feel that we couldn't be in safer hands. Throw in his mischievous sense of him out and we had the perfect combination for some great days in the mountains.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Alison Houlker

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    This trip is definitely one not to be missed! The scenery and walks are breathtakingly beautiful and the Chamonix the perfect setting. The chalet was a real haven to come back to each night with home made cakes and a stunning three course meal which would not be out of place at any top restaurant. The chalet hosts, Richard and Sarah, were outstanding. Sarah's passion and love for hosting were a joy to behold and the positive, upbeat attitude of them both really helped to make our group feel at home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing everyone in the group, despite different abilities, successfully conquer each walk and to be able to celebrate these individual achievements.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Nick, was very knowledgeable and knew the area very well. I enjoyed learning about the local wildlife, flora and fauna as we went along our walks. Nick was also very good at respecting the groups different abilities and gave just the right amount of encouragement to help everyone get through the challenges of each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and bring appropriate clothing. Despite being graded as moderate the walks involve quite steep ascents so be prepared tough sections however once conquered the views are beyond your wildest dreams and well worth the effort.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    christley jones

    cricket

    Thank-you both for the welcome, and the a 'la carte food, and afternoon tea.... and the creative foods to try. sarah has a passion for cooking... thank-you also for getting the red wine out of my top. rich and sarah.. work beautiful together.. making everyone's holiday a pleasure... both very helpful.. the chalet was lovely with great views of mount blanc.. hope u guys make chalet leader's... have a fab time in Everest....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    everything

    What did you think of your group leader?

    both , friendly.... and welcoming...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    to taste sarah a'la carte, ... home cooking... afternoon..cake and tea

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    . best of luck in becoming the chalet leaders...
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Zoe Diamond

    All round excellent!

    The Mont Blanc highlights trip is a real treat! The chalet is quaint and comfortable, especially when you have Rich and Sarah as hosts. The meals are exquisite, and each made with love which you can taste in Sarah's food. The walks are all certainly 'highlights', choosing the best parts of Chamonix snd Mont Blanc to experience in the short stay. I would highly recommend this tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking to the top of Lac Blanc on a clear, warm sunny day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Nick was excellent. He knew the area back to front and was friendly and fun to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear in your hiking shoes before you otherwise you will get blisters! Weather can be unpredictable so make sure you bring waterproof clothing, although you are bound to have mostly rain-free days in Summer.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Maurice Naftal

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    An overall wonderful experience with magnificent scenery and food for such a reasonably priced tour. The walking was a bit harder than the moderate rating given to it The accommodation although basic chalet style was adequate but was more than made up for by the charm and efficiency of our hosts, Sara and Rich. The gourmet evening meals provided by Sara were consistently amazing. I would highly recommend the tour based on Sara and Rich being your hosts at the chalet.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moments, and totally unexpected based on the tour price, were the variety, gourmet quality and deliciousness of the evening meals provided by Sara. She is an absolute star! I must also add that the amazing scenery ran a very close second. Every vista is a picture postcard.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I thought that our tour leader was probably the weakest part of the tour even though he was a very nice and friendly person and tried his best. He appeared inexperienced in the role even though he seemed to know the area we were walking in. His communication skills were lacking and us such did not convey the type of walks we would be doing each day very well. He seemed to keep changing his mind on various aspects of each walk. as they progressed. When I fell behind on the long downhill sections due to knee soreness he did not come back to see how I was progressing even though the group did wait for me further down.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even though it has a moderate rating I would suggest more training beforehand. Also, if someone has knee issues it would be best to avoid this trip due to the very long downhill sections of about 2.5 to 3 hours at the end of every day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having been on other walks with different companies around the world the one issue that concerned me that there was only one guide for 13 people of different ages and walking abilities. On all the the other tours there have been 2 guides so that one would always bring up the rear and look after the slower walkers. I realize this would add to the cost but would provide for a safer experience especially for older walkers. Finally do everything you can to keep Sara and Rich at Exodus as they are worth 5 stars themselves,
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Melissa Goodwin

    Stunning views. Fabulous food

    We had a wonderful 5 days walking parts of the TMB with exodus. Our guide Mark was extremely experienced and knowledgeable. As a slower walker I found some aspects of the walks a little bit challenging but Mark was accommodating and encouraging as were other members of the group. Back at the chalet our wonderful hosts Sarah and Rich made our stay most comfortable. Sarah is a brilliant chef and her 3 course dinners were up there with the best restaurants we've been to.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's just too hard to decide. The views are outstanding but the flowers were delightful too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Terrific. Knowledgeable and experienced (and amazingly fit).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training (there us a recommended training guide) as better fitness will make your walk more enjoyable. And be prepared for some long up and down hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our chalet hosts deserve a special recommendation. They provided a wonderful atmosphere off the track and helped enormously to build a cohesive group.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Malcolm Adamson

    Mont Blanc High Lights

    Really enjoyed this trip ,lots of good point's - here's a few Firstly we had brilliant weather the whole week so we did all the walks and saw all the sights in glorious sunshine. Secondly the chalet and our hosts were superb ,the food was delicious and plentiful all week. Thirdly our walk leader was very capable and gave a sense of security and safety throughout the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably achieving all the walks without too many aches and pains .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As previously stated he was very capable and made sure the group were safe at all times. He explained the routes/plan on an evening for the next day so we all knew what was ahead of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Early October when i went was pretty quiet in Chamonix on a night but this was compensated for by having great weather during the day which i've heard is not unusual.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great weeks walking holiday - want to go on another Alp's based trip next year now.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Marie Mccracken

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    I did this trip during the last week in September and the weather was great every day. A well organised trip and everything went to schedule. Comfortable chalet and excellent meals in the evening.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday had its highlight. The Aiguille de Midi on our rest day was spectacular and the hot chocolate and ice cream in Italy were delicious.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mark obviously knew the hills like the back of his hand. we kept a good pace each day, had great views and got plenty of information about the areas we were in.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are used to walking the hills in the Lake District then you will be fine with this trip. Don't forget your swimsuit/trunks for the hot tub.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus trip but it won't be my last.
Call us on 0208 772 3936