Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Annette Jones

    Mont Blanc

    The tour was extremely well organized. Our safety was considered in planning where we went based on weather and conditions. We ate the most delicious food including our to go lunches. The meals where also themed towards regions we hiked in for that day. I even celebrated a birthday while on this tour and the trip leaders made a nice fuss of me and prepared me a cake and sang me "Happy Birthday." It was a wonderful trip to the Alps. Thank you for the wonderful memories

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mountain views on our hikes were breath taking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sarah and Richard were wonderful chalet leaders and more than deserve the leaders award!!! Marc, our hiking guide was good too but it required me to tell him what style of encouragement I respond well to, as I am afraid of heights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If your afraid of heights this trip is still worth trying as I am and saw a beautiful part of the world. Very grateful of the opportunity
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Sarah Bucknill

    Mont Blanc Highlights Sept 2017

    An excellent holiday which delivered fantastic views of the mountains. We travelled in the middle of September and the week began with some unseasonably cold weather which resulted in one day walking in the snow. It was not too demanding but be prepared for cold weather. The second half of the week was much warmer and the variety of weather made the trip even more interesting as the snow was beautiful but we were also able to enjoy very sunny days. The Chalet Chamonix was very comfortable and the meals provided by Sarah and Rich were absolutely outstanding, the best we have had.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wonderful views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding mountains shared with a great group of people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was very flexible with the itinerary and changed the order in which we did some walks in order to take advantage of lifts being open/closed and the weather. She was extremely knowledgeable and gave very useful advice on equipment and where to purchase it if required. She was also very helpful on techniques for ascending and descending to preserve knees etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This holiday was graded a 3 but one or two bits were quite challenging and it is important to be reasonably fit.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    David Hunter

    Fantastic Mount Blanc

    My sister and I had an absolutely fantastic week. The chalet was located right in the middle of Chamonix and the cooking provided by Sarah and Rich was to die for. The hot tub in the garden at the end of the day with stunning mountain views was great too. The tea and cake around 4 o'clock at the end of a day's walking was always something to look forward to! We had really good walking with our guide Jenny who was really first class. The scenery is truly amazing and the walk in Italy for a day will live with me for a long time to come. We saw glaciers and lakes, walked down rickety ladders and over little himalayan like bridges. I have been wanting to do this week's walking for nearly 10 year and it exceeded my expectations Thanks Mark

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think walking for a day in Italy with the spectacular views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    jenny was brilliant

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A couple of our group were a bit slow and I think the walking was more than they expected. People should make sure they can walk for 5-6 hours at a reasonable pace Maybe in a large group (14 persons) there should be another guide at the back who can take people on a reduced slower route if necessary. One person in our group was recovering from a broke ankle - I ask you!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just had a great time
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Matt Ormiston

    Mont Blanc Hihglights - Trip of a lifetime

    as avid followers of the Tour du France for all the scenery shots, we hooked on the idea of this trip when the 2016 tour went through Chamonix and a helicopter fly over of Mont Blanc was part of the coverage. We started to look for a reputable company that had local representation in Australia and we came across Exodus. Having never travelled to this part of the world and unsure what to expect the agents answered our many questions and for those they couldn't they organised a conference call with their UK office, who later sent photos of some of the areas I had queries on. This level of customer service convinced me Exodus was the right company for us and it turned out to be a good decision we had a great time, the Chalet was beautiful, food great and the company even better

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After a steep climb up to the Aiguillette des Houches to stand on the top and look across to Mont Blanc and the Les Bossons Glacier was truly inspiring. All our training had paid off and to be in this amazing part of the world was such a blessing and achievement. It made us hungry to explore more and further immerse us in this special place

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a great group leader, very relaxed but always got us where we needed to be safely and on time. Paul was very personable and eager to learn from us as we were from him. There was never a sense of rush and you felt that you could just enjoy the moment, the place and the activity without feeling like you were being moved along or curtailed in your ability to adventure Paul loves botany and geology and enjoyed sharing his knowledge with us. if he couldn't answer a question he would search out a answer and usually came back the next day with a response. Paul had probably done this walk many times but very gifted in making it feel like his first with us, adding to the awe and amazement for all of us first timers

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare as much as you can, ask lots of questions and make sure you are reasonably fit so that you can enjoy the experience without being breathless of feeling like you need to keep up. everyone got along really well and the pace worked out at a nice average such that no one was finding themselves breathless. Don't count yourself out on age, we had people from 30 to 70 and all made it through the days walking with a smile and sense of achievement.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our hosts Sarah and Rich were wonderful, we had beautiful 3 course meals with a different theme every night. They were a wealth of local knowledge and helped us with many other walking options and alternative activities for our free days and the extra days we stayed. Coming from Australia this is a big trip with a big anticipation and it was met in this experience. We look fondly back at our time and the friends we made and would happily do it all again If you'd like to read more on our journey you can go to - www.hikingfaith.com or watch our daily highlight clips at - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCnbSjAymlxmYDlMQH6-er9Q?view_as=subscriber
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Pam Douglass

    Mont Blanc Highlites

    hiking was wonderful and loved every moment - even the hard parts

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday hiking was inspirational for me

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jim our guide was good but Sarah and Rich were our hosts at the chalet and they made our trip. Sarah was always full of stories and her dinner meals were fabulous

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring snacks as most of us felt that breakfast and lunches were not that great. Something hot for breakfast would have been nice and some fresh fruit - not days old fruit for lunches. It would be better if they could provide clean towels throughout the week - we had them all week. No place to wash or dry clothes - we were lucky we had room 4 so we had the balcony so we could dry clothes as hiking clothes needed to be washed out daily.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    see above - great trip I would recommend but a few improvements as mentioned would be great
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dave Collins

    Great walks - outstanding chalet team

    We got lucky with the weather and had 5 great walks showing off the stunning scenery in the Mont Blanc region. Chamonix itself is a beautiful town. Don't miss the craft brewery and definitely do the parapenting!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every time we looked up and saw another aspect of Mont Blanc and its glaciers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marks knowledge of the region and his obvious passion for the outdoors made each walk more than just a scenery fest. Great sense of humour too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cable car to the Aguille Du Midi is an absolute must but listen to the advice from Rich about pre-booking. Apart from the craft beer, the food at the brewery is pretty good, cheap and plentiful - worth a try on your free day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Chalet hosts Rich and Sarah - what else is left to say of this amazing team except to agree with everything previously written here. Thank you both for some amazing meals and your seemingly endless patience.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Brigitte Hease

    Fantastic Mont Blanc Highlights.

    One of our most memorable holidays. We were lucky to have fantastic weather (mountain weather can be unpredictable), and we enjoyed the usual mix of friendly and interesting people that we've come to expect on Exodus holidays. When not enjoying spectacular alpine views on the walks, Chamonix provided ample opportunities to do some shopping, experience local bars, just a stroll away from Chamonix Chalet where we could read a book in the garden with views of Mont Blanc, whilst relaxing in the hot tub and wait for a fabulous dinner prepared by our hosts Sara and Richard. This holiday provided the perfect mix of beautiful walks, fantastic food and great company. We highly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the Alps with fabulous views of the mountains and glaciers. Our chalet hosts' warm welcome and fabulous food as well as our mountain guide's professionalism.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our walking leader Mark was excellent, giving a brief explanation of the next days walk before dinner. He provided regular opportunities for rest and photo breaks whilst sharing his knowledge of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not very sporty, it is useful to do some training to strengthen your knee muscles. Most people found the descents harder than the ascents ! Don't expect to loose any weight during this trip as you fully enjoy the fabulous food provided by Sarah!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sara and Rich who run the chalet are amazing. The 3 course evening dinners prepared by Sarah, a qualified chef, are of top restaurant standards, and Rich bakes a cake everyday for afternoon tea. Their dedication and enthusiasm have made this holiday special.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Janet Shepherd

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    This was our first trip with Exodus and it definitely won't be our last. We knew the location was going to be outstanding, but the service from our initial phone call to book the trip, right through to the staff in resort was faultless. Our chalet hosts at Chalet Chamonix, Rich and Sarah, quite simply were phenomenal. Their knowledge and service was second to none and I just can't speak highly enough about the food. No basic comfort food here! It was like dining out at a fabulous restaurant every night! Our mountain guide Peter was a true gent, who in his understated manner, shared his incredible knowledge of the area and ensured our safety and enjoyment was paramount at all times. I'm already looking forward to browsing through the brochure and finding our next adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The awesome scenery just blew us away!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Peter, was inspirational. One of those true gents that you look up to and respect. He was knowledgeable about the area but it was his mountain experience that filled us with confidence and made us feel that we couldn't be in safer hands. Throw in his mischievous sense of him out and we had the perfect combination for some great days in the mountains.
  • Reviewed August 2017
    Alison Houlker

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    This trip is definitely one not to be missed! The scenery and walks are breathtakingly beautiful and the Chamonix the perfect setting. The chalet was a real haven to come back to each night with home made cakes and a stunning three course meal which would not be out of place at any top restaurant. The chalet hosts, Richard and Sarah, were outstanding. Sarah's passion and love for hosting were a joy to behold and the positive, upbeat attitude of them both really helped to make our group feel at home.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing everyone in the group, despite different abilities, successfully conquer each walk and to be able to celebrate these individual achievements.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Nick, was very knowledgeable and knew the area very well. I enjoyed learning about the local wildlife, flora and fauna as we went along our walks. Nick was also very good at respecting the groups different abilities and gave just the right amount of encouragement to help everyone get through the challenges of each day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and bring appropriate clothing. Despite being graded as moderate the walks involve quite steep ascents so be prepared tough sections however once conquered the views are beyond your wildest dreams and well worth the effort.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    christley jones

    cricket

    Thank-you both for the welcome, and the a 'la carte food, and afternoon tea.... and the creative foods to try. sarah has a passion for cooking... thank-you also for getting the red wine out of my top. rich and sarah.. work beautiful together.. making everyone's holiday a pleasure... both very helpful.. the chalet was lovely with great views of mount blanc.. hope u guys make chalet leader's... have a fab time in Everest....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    everything

    What did you think of your group leader?

    both , friendly.... and welcoming...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    to taste sarah a'la carte, ... home cooking... afternoon..cake and tea

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    . best of luck in becoming the chalet leaders...
Call us on 0208 772 3936