Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

257 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Benjamin Vassallo

    Excellent and professional experience.

    To whom it may concern, I am incredibly thankful for the experience I had while I was away on my trip. Zohi and Ben were nothing but professional meanwhile keeping a light hearted friendly attitude throughout the time away. Their food was exceptional. I was expecting something alot less and what was delivered was nothing short of an incredible dining experience. If I knew I was getting them again I would not hesitate for a second booking another holiday with Exodus. To second on that Shaun the hiking guide was professional and made hiking incredible and informative. We learnt so much from him as a group from the surrounding area. The staff is by far your best asset and will encourage people to come back again and again im sure. Regards

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking through the dense forest on a new track as the normal route was closed. The forest and views were absolute breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shaun the treking guide as mentioned in the summary was amazing and look forward to seeing him again on another trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stay open minded and maybe do a little walking before heading on over
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Eriza San Miguel

    Perfect!

    This trip was just perfect. The daily walks were sublime and breathtaking. Zohi and Ben really looked after us well. They are a magnificent duo that are not only great at what they do, they also enjoy it. The chalet was clean and had everything we needed. The food is gourmet and uses fresh ingredients. Both Zohi and Ben are super friendly. Not only do you get to eat delicious food, the conversations were also fun and genuine. Our guide John is a master at his profession. He plans what’s best for the group and monitors our walking pace regularly. He is very knowledgeable on not only the hills and mountains surrounding the Chamonix valley but also all the popular hikes around the world. John provides training on the best way to walk (slow and steady) and he’ll also throw in lessons on different types of coniferous trees for free. The walks and Chamonix itself is already a sublime combination. Throwing Zohi, Ben and John into the mix is certainly what made our trip perfect. My friends and I already agreed we’d do this trip again in a few years time. Here’s hoping the trio will still be there (fingers and toes crossed).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The alpine scenery is incredibly magical

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John is a great leader - he is masterful at his trade. He looks after the group and is very easy to get along with. He is incredibly knowledgeable. In the many tours I’ve done, he is a stand out group leader - a rare find.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some challenging parts, so train harder than you think. The rating scale of moderate translates to a rating of 4-5 in Australia. Bring waterproof shoes in case it rains/snows.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zohi, Ben and John - thank you for giving us a wonderful experience. As a group we felt extremely lucky to have been led and looked after by yourselves. It’s definitely what made the trip perfect! Thank you 😊
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Jeremy Matthews

    Magnifique!

    Exodus,Chalet Chocolat,Ben,Zohi,Shaun,Mark and Kate-thank you so much for a truly magical experience in the French,Swiss and Italian Alps. The list of superlatives to describe this experience is long but magnificent,extraordinary,stupendous,colossal,transformational and gourmet all spring to mind. The day begins with fresh croissants,pain au chocolat,strong coffee,cereal,yoghurt and fruits to fortify for a day of exertion as we wandered and took in the various delights of the Chamonix Valley in the very capable hands of guide Shaun. The steep,snow-tipped peaks,hanging glaciers,lakes,forest,ancient village houses,cows with bells,flowers,mountain cafes and wildlife are a very bewitching and intoxicating combination,we all felt like we were in a scene from The Sound of Music or Heidi.Our baguette,cheese and ham packed lunch was eaten in a scenic location with jaw-dropping views,our legs were tired and sore by the time we'd descended back to the chalet for a freshly-baked cake (thanks Zohi!) then into the jacuzzi for a well-deserved soak before a beer or wine and some gourmet dinner and dessert treats prepared lovingly by Ben and Zohi.Each day was different and stimulating,the local town of Chamonix was very attractive with its fine restaurants,quality shops and museums and inspiring alpine back-drop. We've all left a piece of our hearts in Chamonix and many of us will surely return there for another active alpine holiday. Merci bien Chamonix- à bientôt!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Italian side of the Mont Blanc Massif,raw nature.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very competent,thoughtful and knowledgeable. Thanks Shaun!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Embrace the experience,prepare your body beforehand.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One trip to Chamonix is not enough,come back to ski,do different walks and learn to rock and ice-climb.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Amanda Grogan

    INCREDIBLE HIKING EXPERIENCE

    The trip was fantastic! I felt very welcomed and at home from the moment we stepped in the chalet and were greeted by Zohi and Ben. An absolutely beautiful property with a very cosy and communal feel, a great way to bond with your new travel friends. The meals made with love by Zohi and Ben were phenomenal! A great variety for breakfast and lunch paired with 3 courses for dinner - each night was completely unique, delicious and fun. I had some dietary requirements and never felt like this was difficult for Zohi - she made me feel included and provided just as high level and delicious alternatives. Zohi and Ben were so warm and welcoming and became instant friends with the group! They set the tone of the chalet and helped the team bond and enjoy their time at "home". The meals they provided were so varied, colourful, amazing - and themed to the days events which was a really special touch. It wouldn't have been the same without seeing them each day and sharing our days experiences. A beautiful highlight of Mont Blanc with completely different trips and scenery each day, which was very special. Great pacing, good times of day to start and end hikes. It was so magical to see so many different parts of the valley/alps and It was some of the most beautiful scenery I’ve ever seen. Our hiking guide Shaun was incredibly passionate and knowledgeable - he was very professional and always ensured our comfort and safety as well as challenging us and teaching us about the area. Shaun was a fountain of knowledge about the area and hiking. He was always professional and on-time. His organisation and time-lines were always spot on as well as his "walkie talkies" (what we affectionately nicknamed his updates for the next days hikes) which were very accurate and prepared us for the next day. I would recommend this trip over and over and over, and can’t wait to travel with Exodus again. Ensure you read the trip notes as they are very accurate and prepare you well for the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing a hike made me really proud of myself and inspired to get fitter and incorporate more hiking in my daily life and travel Standing on top of Aiguille du Midi cable car and seeing Mont Blanc, the valley and Chamonix and all the places we had hiked
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Paul Ruddell

    Majestic Mont Blanc

    Where do I begin - this trip is absolutely stellar. Chalet Chocolat is in a great location, and the Spa with mountain and glacier views always tops off an amazing day hiking. Shaun, our expert for the area was extremely knowledgeable about the geography and could easily amend walks to suit our groups needs. Zohi and Ben were amazing Chalet Hosts, cooked the most amazing food to make sure we earned each day of walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Any time I ate Zohi's food - made me want to stay for longer, hike more and come back to an amazing 3 course dinner!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Expert in the area, able to amend itinerary based on weather and ability of the group - would recommend Shaun to anyone!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd say you need to be a keen social hiker to really enjoy this trip. If you hike in your normal weeks/months, you'll be fine, but don't expect it to be a walk in the park.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Helen Rolton

    Highlights of Mont Blanc Highlights

    The activity level is Grade 3 but the experience level is off the scale; a complete holiday experience. Hiking in the most amazing scenery then returning to an authentic French chalet is the perfect option in this area. Our Chalet hosts, Ben & Zohi, were the ‘icing on the cake’, ensuring a stressfree holiday. Zohi’s cakes were something to look forward to at the end of each day’s hiking and the three course evening meals, matched with local wines, were the perfect end to each day. The only way this week could’ve been better was if a week was 14 days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view from the top each day!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    James Tozer

    Best of the Best

    Such an amazing trip! I wasn't entirely sure of what to expect but the team were amazing. Zohi and Ben catered to our needs with incredible food. The three course dinners were to die for! They also made the chalet feel so homely and welcoming. So many laughs were had! .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in the mountains and looking at the views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Shaun, was a lot of fun, very knowledgeable and patient with all of the questions (and there were many!). He did an incredible job at balancing the needs of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you read all the trip notes and know what you need. All of the information is there for you.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Michelle Barrett

    Best experience ever!

    From start to finish this trip was AMAZING. The Chalet hosted by Ben and Zohi was so welcoming. I wasn’t sure what to expect when the itinerary said “home cooked meals”... Well, what an absolute treat. A cake after every day, and a 3 course meal which was the most amazing meals each and every day. Sean guiding us each day on the mountain made me feel very confident and comfortable!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every hike! MAking it to the top of each hike and the view ...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared with your fitness, good gear, comfortable boots, enough layers to be warm in the morning, and it gets warm at the top! Of course depends on the time of year you do the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was such a great experience. It has inspired me to hike more. I can’t wait for my next exodus trip.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Liz Hobson

    On top of the world

    My first Exodus trip but won't be the last. A great trip with a really good, flexible guide who helped make it an extremely memorable trip. The hosts in Chalet Chocolat were full of warmth and charm that added to the adventure, Zohi's cooking was amazing, dinners and cakes just fabulous. The walking was a great pace, hard enough to earn the cake but not too hard to cause injury. The scenery is breathtaking and a great way to get to know the area and fellow hikers. Chamonix is a fabulous French town to spend time in. The whole trip just left me feeling on top of the world!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit on day 3, stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, adaptable to conditions and knew what we were capable of, nobody was pushed too hard

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get put of the normal holiday routine, you won't regret it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic hosts that really added to the holiday
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Adam Wilson

    Walks, Cakes and Japes

    My first Exodus trip for a while this trip was like slipping into a comfortable pair of slippers. The holiday ran like clock work and I could focus on walking, relaxing and getting know my fellow hikers. The pace was exactly what I needed challenging enough to feel like I'd earned the delicious food, but not so taxing I had an existential crisis.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding mountains. The trip over the border to Italy was a particular highlight of good weather, a stunning walk and finishing in a picture post card Alpine town

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emma our erstwhile guide was great. A perfect blend of supportive, encouraging and hilarious. Like all the best guides I came away with more than a few tips as well as a wealth of knowledge about the local flaure and fauna. I wouldn't hesitate to sign up to any trip she was leading.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I thought this trip was well run and had a polished itinerary. I'd take some clothes with an elastic waistband if you are partial to a slice of cake! There are some great restaurants in Chamonix on the off day. The local Savoie wine (mainly white) and Mont Blanc beer are also worth seeking out.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A word for the accomodation and catering - delectable. I'm a self confessed food obsessive and the thought of a chalet had me slightly nervous. Putting in mind 17 year old chalet hosts with 3 dishes on hard rotation. I couldn't have been more wrong. Zohi with the able assistance of Ben cranked out delicious 3 course meals and patisserie worthy cakes from a domestic kitchen. I ate better on this trip that I have in posh hotels. The only downside was I didn't come back the svelte tanned alpine Adonis I'd hoped for.