Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Renze Zhang

    Excellent trip

    This is one of our best hiking trips, like our previous trips in the world best trails - Patagonia, Swiss VAT, Alaska, etc. The mountains are beautiful, the hiking is challenging while enjoyable, the facilities are good, even weather is wonderful - five sunny days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The third day in Col de Voza area. On the trail, viewing the high peaks up to the sky, glaciers straight down to the valley. The fifth day on the Italian side. Hugh mountains with many glaciers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul is a great leader, with full experience and knowledge of the areas. He keeps the hiking pace good for the group. He makes the whole trip enjoyable and unforgettable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a well arranged plan, covering some of the most beautiful sites with good logistic accommodations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hiking in the first two days are more challenging than the last three day. It can be helpful if put some of the easier hiking in the first days,
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Amanda Stevenson

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    For anyone who enjoys photographing and viewing spectacular landscapes and enjoys shorter walking days and excellent food and drink, the highlight trip ticks all boxes. The whole trip was extremely well organised with all transport being provided and a free bus pass being available for travelling on public transport. The walks cover a variety of terrains and there are some steep ascents and descents but well worth it for the views. The pace was very comfortable and allowed plenty of photo opportunities and drink stops. The whole pace of the tour is very relaxed with a 9am set off time and a 4 pm finish. This was unlike any other trek I'd been on and the added bonus was cake and tea waiting for you at the chalet on the return and the choice of finishing the day in the hot tub. This helped the group bond together quickly and the chalet accommodation is perfect with a communal dining area and vegging out area where free tea and coffee was made available. The location of the chalet was perfect. Chaminox centre is a 10 min walk away and there is plenty of choice should you wish to eat or drink out. Likewise, for the free day, there is plenty to choose from (depending whether or not you go out of season) and we had no problem in filling the free day. Both the tour guide and Sarah and Rich (the chalet hosts) were on hand to provide details of what to do and how to go about arranging this. Big thanks to Sarah and Rich who really did go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. Sarah's cooking is excellent and each night there was a 3 course meal waiting for us which had a specific theme. The home made cake at the end of each walk was also welcome and delicious. The daily picnics were a treat as you were able to choose what you wanted to take and the selection was always healthy and freshly made. They really do a fantastic job and are very approachable, helpful and friendly. They were excellent at recommending places to eat and drink whilst in Chamonix and organised the booking of our paragliding sessions for the free day so we knew exactly where we needed to be and when. Much appreciated guys! So, I would definitely recommend this holiday to anyone who is looking for a more relaxed walking holiday, with a later start time and earlier finish time than the usual trekking holiday. The pace was comfortable, there are some challenging walks due to the terrain and the steepness of some of the climbs but the pace is comfortable and there is plenty of opportunity to stop and take in the sights. Apart from the free day and a few beers there is little else to spend your money on so it is not expensive unless you decide to eat out or shop in Chamonix. Fab holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My friend and I decided to go paragliding on our free day. Rich organised this for us and we had a fantastic day. Bit scary but, if you're going to jump off a mountain, why not do it in Chamonix!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shaun was very knowledgeable and kept a comfortable pace for the group. There was plenty of time for photos and drink stops. The itinerary for the following day was discussed the previous night so this gave plenty of time to ask any questions and prepare for the next day - even down to the weather forecast which was very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack waterproofs in case the weather turns. Walking poles are handy for the steep descents. Don't bother to take any swiss currency - the only time you may need it is in the airport and euro's are acceptable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The walks were very impressive but the icing on the cake was the chalet and hosts - Sarah and Rich. I'd never been on a walking holiday where the catering had been given such importance. From the very well organised breakfast to the selection of packed lunch items to the 3 course evening meal - everything was tasty, well presented and delicious. It made meal times something to look forward to. On previous treks I'd been used to rice and noodles and tinned meat so this was so very different and a nice refreshing change. They do a fabulous job and this topped the holiday off.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Steve M

    Good challenging walks and excellent meals

    We were lucky to have a week of sun, so had excellent views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding peaks and glaciers, everywhere we went. Walks were a good distance each day, with some challenging parts, but moderated by second-breakfast and first & second lunch stops... And our evening highlight was always dinner at Chalet Chocolat where Zohi and Ben served up beautifully presented, restaurant quality food every day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views every day were superb, and so much more rewarding after a challenging climb to get to see them. Tandem-parasailing, on our day off, from the top of the first l'Aguille du Midi cable car was an unmissable experience too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny planned and led the walks well - clearly has a lot of knowledge and experience in the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you're fit enough for hiking all day, day after day.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Martin Clementson

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    The Chalet & Food prepared by the staff was out of this world, it was very comfortable other than the form mattresses. The Walk Guide was very knowledgeable & friendly; & the walks were of right difficulty but could been slightly longer on a few days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to Lac Blanc & looking back over Mont Blanc. Also Paragliding on a free day, its amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very Good, very friendly & Knowledgeable. He Felt like a member of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No other than enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Saltiel

    A great experience

    I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the trip and was so impressed with how well we were looked after. All the travel arrangements went smoothly, the chalet was great and the food superb (thanks Zohi & Ben) and our guide Sally was brilliant. I'll definitely recommend Exodus to my friends and I'm already thinking of another trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery in Italy. and the biscuits and coffee at the Bonatti Refuge

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sally was excellent. Really helpful and knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy it. Worth getting moderately fit and used to rough hill walking so you'll take it all in your stride
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Susan Ressler

    Wonderful Mont Blanc Hikes

    Challenging hikes (for me) of about 8-10 miles per day to either summits or saddles that are part of the Mont Blanc classic circuit. We were blessed with excellent weather and terrific views of Mont Blanc, the glaciers, and the adjacent peaks. This trip fulfilled a lifelong dream of hiking in the French Alps. Great terrain, great guide, and great comrades to enjoy this spectacular place. The Chamonix Chalet was wonderful too, but I was a little challenged in terms of food because I am gluten free and also avoid red meat. I would have liked more cheese choices rather than heavy beet and bean salads for lunch, but the dinners were gourmet! A few times we were a bit rushed to make trains and avoid a long wait at the Mont Blanc Tunnel. This is definitely not a leisurely trip -- we were constantly on the go, but it was worth it. Overall, great trip! Thank you Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think hiking in Italy was very special, because the terrain and views were quite different than on the French side. I enjoyed the two summits the most, but each hike was different and the variety gave this trip a special flavor.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Paul, was superb. He is an arborist and is so knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. Plus, he made sure we were all able to navigate the occasional difficult passage. He took good care of everyone and has a great sense of humor. Very congenial and wonderful guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is the second Exodus trip rated "3" that I've done, the first being the Picos of Europa. In both cases, I think a "3" level trip can be quite challenging. Just be sure to train and do regular hikes before you go. Anyone who is fit and used to mountain hiking will be able to complete the tour, but the more you prepare the more you will enjoy it.!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Mats Liliedahl

    Chalet Chocolat - home for a week

    A great trip in all aspects! With the stunning scenery all around in every direction, and our very capable guide Sally safely guiding us up and down the sometimes challenging hills on our daily walks around Mont Blanc, days were full and tiring but also fun and energizing. Our wonderful chalet hosts Zohi and Ben took such wonderful care of us, spoiling us with gourmet meals every evening - and delicious cake after returning from our walks! Really enjoyed the homey feel to the stay as well as the great group of friendly walkers from three continents. Highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first view of Mont Blanc when the clouds cleared and we saw the peak for the first time on the hike by Lac Blanc. The Val Ferret on the Italian side was lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sally did a great job leading the walks, making sure we're all doing ok and keeping a good pace. She's also got great knowledge of the flora and fauna in the area. Zohi and Ben were great as chalet hosts.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trails are sometimes quite steep and challenging and with some tricky parts to navigate. The distances are not huge but the trail was sometimes a bit tougher than I expected with the 'Moderate' rating. Good hiking boots and walking poles advised.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Saltiel

    A great experience

    I had never been on an organised walking trip before but I really enjoyed the experience. Travel, food and accommodation were excellent. Our guide was really helpful, knowledgeable and safety-conscious and the scenery was mind-blowing. The days were all set at a level that was fine for the standard of difficulty Exodus had set. All in all a memorable experience that I'd recommend. I'm already thinking of my next Exodus trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through alpine meadows above Val Ferret, full of flowers and crickets, and being amazed by the walls of rock and ice across the valley.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really good: very conscientious, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Not really, just enjoy it.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Frances Beuvink

    Mont Blanc Highlights tour is brilliant for moderate level trekkers

    Never been on an Exodus Travels tour before but after a fantastic week on the Mont Blanc Highlights tour I couldn’t be happier. The scenery was breath-taking, the daily treks were challenging enough and greatly increased my fitness, and the people I met in our group were great. The chalet accommodation was really good. And the food & three course dinners each night were outstanding. Can’t wait for my next adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being up high & close to snowy topped Mont Blanc, with big blue skies, grassy meadows, fresh alpine air all around. Every day was exquisite.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shaun, our group leader, was outstanding. Calm, professional, security conscious, friendly & personable - and super fit! Such a nice man too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Start off with a moderate level trek if you are moderately fit. It will challenge you enough, yet leave you wanting more. A great way to feel when you pack up to go home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus Travels made it so easy. I had never done this kind of thing before and now I don’t know why I waited so long. Definitely booking with them again!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Vall Lee

    Fantastic 10 Star holiday.

    The hosts of Chalet Chocolat, Ben and Zoe, were great. Very welcoming and the food would easily sit alongside anything a top chef would produce in a Michelin restaurant. Plenty to eat all the time, especially home cooked cakes by Zoe. The chalet is just like home from home which is what you want after a days hiking, nice and relaxing. We could not fault this holiday and it was probably one of the best we have had and we've had quite a few.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just hiking so high up! Our leader Jim would point to somewhere near a mountain peak and say, that's where we will be having coffee this afternoon and you would think, NO WAY, its not possible to walk up there - but you did. Verrrrry inspirational. Our approach to hiking in the UK has changed dramatically following our holiday with Exodus, it has broaden our horizons.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Jim, was fantastic and fun. He was ever mindful of how each member of the group was faring. He made every walk enjoyable and achievable. All the walks were, although taxing, wonderful. Both my husband and I, both young [we think] 69 year olds achieved far more than we thought we would and never felt better. Jim really knows his stuff, you felt safe in his hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a spare pair of walking boots or walking trainers. Going can get tough. If you damage any of your footwear you can get boots repaired in the centre of Chamonix so no problem really. Exodus covered everything you will need in their literature so no further advice really necessary. Just be prepared that moderate standard is quite tough going but don't be put off - we did it and so can you. Your leader will get you through.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Only that if there is a group booking of close friends of more than 6 people it could take longer for the whole party to gel.
Call us on 020 8772 3936