Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2017
    Nicholas Kemp

    Magical Jordan

    Go to Jordan- many people expressed concerns when I mentioned my up coming trip, I can confirm my experience was full of warm friendly welcoming people and at no time did it feel unsafe. The Wai Rum was stunning and gave me a sense on peace that I have not found else where. The trek was well planned and at time's informative with our guide providing useful information and a tale or too. My companions were diverse from all backgrounds and experiences, and wonderful company as we explored the desert. Walking on sand at times was challenging and the firm patches were welcomed when they returned. The distances quoted on the itenery were short on some days that might catch a few people out if 20-23k is no your idea of fun. I really enjoyed the scramble to the rock bridge but I don't think the trip note's captured the heights involved which will catch out the average walker.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Wadi Rum and the wild camping is an experience of a lifetime Petra was everything I had hoped for

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was informative and helpful and had tales to tell round the fire at night

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Brilliant experience and I recommend a hike through the desert, walking on sand is challenging as is the scrambling for beginners
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Andy Nash

    A desert adventure

    A great trek in stunning desert scenery, followed by the amazing ruins of Petra.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to pick a single moment but the relaxed tranquility of desert evenings around the campfire, with the stars shining brightly above, was very special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Zuhair was excellent: knowledgeable, thoughtful and entertaining.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring warm layers to sleep in as the desert is cold at night.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Margaret Naughtin

    Petra and Wadi Rum trek

    The trek was just what we expected - spectacular scenery, nutrious food and good company! Our guide Zuhair was knowledgeable and fun all the time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb to the Burdat(?) rock bridge - fantastic rock scrambling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    knowledgeable, considerate,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    prepare for sand walking!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the equipment used needs an upgrade - better tents, sleeping bags and more blankets
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Timothy Lewis

    Sand and rocks

    It was only after my first few steps into the desert that I remembered how much I dislike walking on soft, moveable sand, but I guess that is to be expected in the desert! The chef worked miracles to produce huge portions of tasty food, seemingly out of nothing. The downside at the camp sites (for three nights) was the lack of a mess tent and somewhere to sit comfortably (we sat on cushions in a square around the fire, with no back support), and the toilet facilities: ladies to the left, gents to the right, dig your own hole and cover it up with sand. Ironically the longest day of the whole trek was the tour of Petra (20km). This is a hugely impressive place, tombs and houses hewn out of the solid rock and approached through a narrow canyon. We were taken past/into all the main sites, then returned by way of the High Place of Sacrifice, from which you get a stunning view of the whole site, but the downside was being constantly hassled by people trying to sell you things, and having to leap out of the way of passing pony and trap combinations, and passing camels. The hotels in Amman and Petra were fine, although it would have been good to know that the one in Amman was 'dry'

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight of the trek for me was the two hour scramble to the rock bridge near the top of Jebel Burdah (which the trip notes had implied was a brief scramble at the end to get to the bridge), returning the same way. Seeing and hearing about various aspects of Lawrence of Arabia's life was very interesting too. And the Turkish bath in Petra/Wadi Moussa is highly recommended!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We trekked for 50km in a strange, lunar landscape, with a very knowledgeable and entertaining guide, Zuhair Alzou'bi, who was a fantastic story teller, a great skill to have when you are sitting found the camp fire at night with nothing else to do. I have nominated him as tour leader of the year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't go if you don't like sand! Personally I much prefer mountains, but the trip was a last minute replacement for a trek through the Simien mountains in Ethiopia and I'm glad I did it for the experience of the desert it gave me
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Alison Cabrelli

    Alison

    The guide Zuhair was so very knowledgeable and open about Jordan its history,people and culture so the trip was mosr enjoyable thanks to his input.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking and camping in the desert and the ancient city Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb. Careful of and attentive to his charges' needs and capabilities. Nothing was too much trouble for Zuhair, our enjoyment of all Jordan had to offer was his objective.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the long bus journey to the Seven Pillars of Wisdom and the return journey Petra to Amman.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was my second choice( the first Ethiopia had to be cancelled ...state of emergency ) but I am so glad I didn't miss it !
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Sian Hayward

    An amazing trek in beautiful scenery.

    This was a trip arranged at very short notice as my trip to the Simien Mountains in Ethiopia was cancelled. I viewed it as a consolation prize but it turned out to be the exact opposite. The desert scenery was stunning, the walking was pitched at the right level and the itinerary was superb. The icing on the cake was that the whole group was lovely.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the desert scenery. I was expecting sand.... but I got beautiful imposing sandstone mountains and rocks which looked strangely like melting chocolate in places. So, the most inspirational part of the trip for me was the day spent scrambling up the hills to a rock bridge where a bit of a climb enabled me to stand on the bridge to make the most of the views. I also slept outside with amazing clear sky's full of stars.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was superb. Very knowledgable about the history and culture of Jordan but also had an amazing ability to check out how the group were feeling. He made the trip run very smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You may wish to take a little more money than the trip notes advise. All meals were usually less than 15 dinars, but with snacks and tips I spent £150 altogether. Not a lot for a week away, but if I had wanted to buy presents (I didn't) I could have been left short of cash. Be aware that debit or credit cards are not widely used at all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Two things to look out for - 1. I hate animals at any tourist sites as they are rarely well treated. This was evident in the desert with the camels having sores around straps and fixings and with one camel having barbed wire around it's neck. The same went for the horses at Petra who were worked too hard. If you're an animal lover you will need to look away sometimes. I know the culture is different to the British way of life, but informing local people that you won't use the service unless they treat the animals well may eventually have an impact. 2. The desert was covered in litter and plastic bottles. Jordan may not have a recycling policy but tour companies may wish to collect obvious litter at the camps in order to make it more comfortable for people as well as protecting the environment.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Graham Tully

    Petra Wadi Rum Trek

    A great intruduction to the Wadi Rum Region of Jordan with the added bonus of visiting Petra.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in the desert and Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really nice guy , strugelled a bit with being assertive with his team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wild camping is exactly that - wild ; not glamping. So if you need running water and bathroom facilities this trip is not for you. On the other hand if you enjoy stepping out under the stars , book your place.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    New tents are needed and the scouting out of camp sites ahead of the group arriving would be beneficial. One camp was in a sorry state , foul smelling garbage and broken glass .
  • Reviewed April 2016
    JIll Marquis

    Amazing - I loved the desert

    What an experience - trekking in the desert is like nothing I have ever done before. I loved the space, the quiet and the rhythm of the actual walking. The stars at night were unbelievable. The food for us veggies was excellent and really varied and tasty. I felt that I had grown by this whole experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved it all - but the actual walking in the desert was really the highlight for me - I didn't want to leave the desert on day five! Burdah Bridge was fun ( when I had struggled to get to the top). Petra is huge and awe-inspiring.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a very knowledgeable group leader who was passionate about his country. At Petra he was an excellent guide with all the historical facts at his fingertips. He also had a wicked sense of humour at times!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a large hat, suntan lotion, walking trousers with legs that can unzip, a good camera, numerous changes of clothes and a sense of adventure.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Julia Dolan

    What a great trip

    This was such a brilliant trip and exceeded my expectations. We had perfect weather with blue skies and sunshine but it wasn't too hot for trekking. The desert scenery is simply stunning and takes your breath away - it really is spectacular. Petra is amazing but for me trekking in the desert and sleeping out under the stars was the highlight.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I've got so many highlights from this trip. Sleeping out under the stars (who needs a tent) and getting up early to watch the sunrise was so much fun and I loved sitting around the campfire of an evening. Spending 4 days and nights in the desert is just an amazing experience and i really enjoyed every minute of it. The 800 step climb up to the monastery at Petra is well worth it for the views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Zohair, was very passionate about his country, its people and culture and this came through in all his stories. He was a good leader and even treated us to a guided tour around Little Petra even though this wasn't part of the itinerary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    They've underestimated what you need for tips and meals and things so I'd take more money with you than what's been recommended - or you can use the ATMs at the airport or at Petra. A visit to the cave bar in Petra is well worth it - try the local Petra beer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Petra by night event is overpriced for what it is.
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Jonathan Bergwerk

    Great place, wrong time of year

    Petra is fantastic. A must see and awe inspiring sight. Wadi Rum at the end of May was too hot. It was in the high 30s and low 40s which meant we had to spend hours resting in the shade and much of the walking felt like a route march at times - something to be endured and survived rather than enjoyed. People were exhausted. No other tour company was trekking at the end of May. So go, but go earlier in the year.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was experienced and personable. He worked hard. Very individualistic. He told stories rather than was a typical tour guide. He was very pushy when it came to asking for tips for the driver and beduins

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The prices quoted in the Exodus material are misleading. You are taken to places to eat which are a lot more expensive than we expected. Think £20 for a basic lunch. Also the tips are more like a tax than being voluntary. The culture is such that they expect a tip regardless of the level of service. It got quite unpleasant when some people didn't feel this was appropriate. The total tips expected was about £60. The desert camping is very basic. No washing water is provided. The camps are well used so with the lack of toilet facilities there are is considerable mess which takes away from the enjoyment of the experience. I think having 1 or 2 nights in the desert would have been sufficient. Four nights was a slog. The walking we did each day varied considerably and did not follow the notes. Its worthwhile walking around the back of Petra on the way back rather than going in and out the same way.
Call us on 0208 772 3936