Spring Fling - Save £100 on Selected Italy Trips booked by 25th April. Click here to see Terms & Conditions.

Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Karen Lim

    Absolutely wonderful - totally recommend!

    This trip really did offer a lot - rainforest, cloud forest, canopy, beaches, waterfalls, hot springs, lots and lots of birdlife, wildlife, hot weather, cool weather, sun, rain. Costa Rica is a land of contrasts and diversity! It was one of the best holidays I have ever had.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many memorable moments - seeing the resplendent quetzals, the monkeys, the hummingbirds, the sloths, the macaws, swimming in the waterfall, the hot springs. Learning to distinguish the calls of various birds (particularly the black-faced solitaire, aka the squeaky door bird).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I've joined the Johnny Villalobos fan club - excellent guide and great guy, passionate about birdlife, wildlife, his country and the environment. It isn't surprising he was named Leader of the year 2017. A special mention to our very able driver Frank who kept our minibus clean and shiny.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring binoculars, a camera with a good zoom lens, suncream and effective mosquito repellent. No need for hiking boots, waterproof walking shoes/trainers will do. Shorts most of the time, trousers for the colder areas. Two swimming costumes (the first one may not dry in time).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Costa Rica is becoming a very popular holiday destination, so go before it gets overrun! Pura vida!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Kathryn Gregg

    Extremely Memorable Trip

    This trip exceeded our expectations in every respect. We had a fantastic holiday with a small group of like-minded people and every day we saw something special thanks to our excellent guide, Berny. Our transport and driver were also first class. Each destination was unique. The accommodation overall was excellent, especially the remote forest lodges where you really feel part of the wildlife experience. The food included was also very good, as were the optional restaurants we visited as a group with the guide when dinner wasn't included. No-one wanted to miss anything and everyone got along so well, which is always a bonus. We were very lucky with the weather and only got wet twice. We only took two of the optional (extra cost) excursions - the suspension bridges and the night hike, both at Monteverde and both very good. Berny obviously enjoyed showing us the diverse flora and fauna at each destination as he included additional walks and hikes almost every day, even if we only had an hour or so free and only one or two wanted to go while others stayed behind at the resort and relaxed. We spotted the elusive sun bittern at Tortuguero at the start of the trip and a pair of rare nesting quetzal at the end of the trip at Savegre - really exciting as we were searching for them and so special when we found them and saw them flying in and out of the nest. Really too many memorable moments to mention, but if you enjoy viewing wildlife, birds, plants and flowers without the walking being too strenuous then this is the trip for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The excitement of searching for, and finding, the quetzals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Berny was excellent, so enthusiastic, knowldgeable and proud of his country and birthplace.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No need to take heavy or expensive waterproofs if you're travelling during the 'dry' season. Shorts and a cheap poncho/light showerproof jacket will suffice as the temperature is quite warm and the showers brief. It did get a bit chilly high up in the mountains - Monteverde and Savegre - but a sweater/light fleece did the job. Also, don't forget to take a pair of lighter sandals/swimming shoes, especially if you're planning on spending time around one of the many available swimming pools. Most walks required light closed-toe walking boots, but there are a few walks where a pair of open-toed trekking sandals will do.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Peter Gornall

    A very happy traveller

    Although on paper it might look as if we were in a bus a lot, every moment was worth it for the variety of terrain and wildlife we saw, and the people we met. The wildlife was stunning, made more so through the expertise of our guide, the Tortuguera boat pilot, and the bus driver too. The accommodation was invariably clean and well looked after. The only concern was Manuel Antonio park, which is highly commercialised. We queued for a hour from just after 7 am to get in, and there was (in contrast to all the other parks) close to mayhem inside. I suspect that mangrove wildlife is not as happy as it should be there. The coffee farm and the over-canopy walkways were well worth the money. The visit to a dairy farm was very good too, and the farming ladies did so much to make us welcome. The National Museum in San Jose is excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swallow-tail Kite starting out and rising on a thermal. Being watched by a caiman The spider monkey adventuring in the dining hall in Tortuguera

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent guy - (Meyer Jiminez). He was very considerate and helpful; he knew how to rearrange a timetable when we had been held up by first road works and then an accident, and we still fulfilled the programme for the day. He is a considerable bird expert, and has a good knowledge of trees, geology, economics, ecology, farming and all sorts. I'd say we were very lucky to have him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy!! Be aware of the range of temperatures from coastal heat to mountain cool Someone on our party was able to get Colons from a Travelex office in a large Tesco. Colons work a bit better than dollars, though you are not going to be badly out-of-pocket with them.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Joan Littleton

    Trip of a lifetime

    From beginning to end this trip never ceased to enthrall me. The organisation was spot on. The accommodation was first class. From the cloud rainforest to the hot and humid jungle we saw so much wildlife it was awe-inspiring. Our guide led us through this Wonderland with amazing knowledge and enthusiasm. I have travelled to many parts of the world but never been so inspired. What a wonderful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Zip wiring Hanging bridges Swimming under waterfall Early morning boat in Tortogerou

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Glenda Araya was wonderful She told us so much about her country and showed us flora and fauna with such humour and knowledge and enthusiasm

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for hot and cold. Such variation in temperature

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go there!
  • Reviewed March 2019

    Pura Vida!

    I have been wanting to visit Costa Rica for a number of years and it didn’t disappoint. What an amazing and diverse country, so many different landscapes and microclimates in such a small country. If you are interested in wildlif and birds then this is the trip for you - I tried to make a note of everything we saw and I still only captured about half of it! You stay in every place for 2 nights which is great as you have time to relax and explore each place. All the lodges and hotels are in great locations and of good quality. Some of the best wildlife spotting was in the beautiful grounds of the lodges - you could just sit outside your room and wait for it to come to you! Driving distances are not too great and there are plenty of opportunities to stop and enjoy your surroundings- some of the roads are very uneven so you do get a good massage but our fantastic driver, Carlos did his best to keep this to minimum. I shared the experience with a great group which made the trip even better, you had plenty of time to do things together or take time out and do your own thing if you wanted.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s very difficult to pick out one moment - seeing my first sloth in Tortuguero, seeing the sunrise on a deserted Caribbean beach, zip lining through stunning cloud forest in Monteverde, being woken by howler monkeys doing what they do best, swimming in the Pacific Ocean, enjoying the amazing surroundings of Esquinas Lodge, becoming blasé about hummingbirds after seeing so many, listening to coyotes howling in Savegre or enjoying happy hour!! Make the most of every moment as it’s over far too quickly and you’re back to reality.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I chose this trip in March as it was being led by Jonny Villalobos, tour leader of the year 2017, as I’d read so much fantastic feedback about him and I can honestly say it’s all true. His knowledge of and passion for his country and it’s wildlife just shines out of him and it’s utterly infectious. He was so attentive to our groups needs, we had a number of vegetarians, vegans, gluten free and dairy intolerant in our group and he made sure there was always something for them to eat. He added extra walks and wildlife spotting opportunities if you wanted them or he gave you time to just unwind in your beautiful surroundings. March is probably the peak time to go but Jonny was brilliant at getting us away from the crowds which were really only evident in Manual Antonio national park, which you don’t want to miss as the beaches are stunning here. Jonny is a brilliant ambassador for Costa Rica and for Exodus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weather conditions - ensure you have a good poncho or waterproof as the only thing I can guarantee is you will need it at least once!! Dry bags are also very useful to keep your camera and other essentials dry. Avoid this trip if you don’t like early mornings - I stayed on UK time so was up early most days to enjoy the sights and sounds of Costa Rica which were at the best in the early mornings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it- Costa Rica is a very diverse country with so much to offer - no 2 days are the same. Pura Vida!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tim McGrath

    Wuc

    Fantastic trip helped by very knowledgeable and helpful guide + driver

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Birds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. He did have to go over things more than once but only because certain people preferred to talk rather then listen

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately we had a really unpleasant single woman who found time to complain about everything. She was always late (even missed cab to airport), complained about her room, the guide, other tourists and that she had to pay a single supplement. She couldn’t have read the tour notes because she expected something more cultural, had on bins or waterproofs.She upset most of the group on numerous occasions, other tourists, Costa Ricans and especially our poor guide.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tim McGrath

    Wuc

    Fantastic trip helped by very knowledgeable and helpful guide + driver

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Birds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. He did have to go over things more than once but only because certain people preferred to talk rather then listen

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately we had a really unpleasant single woman who found time to complain about everything. She was always late (even missed cab to airport), complained about her room, the guide, other tourists and that she had to pay a single supplement. She couldn’t have read the tour notes because she expected something more cultural, had on bins or waterproofs.She upset most of the group on numerous occasions, other tourists, Costa Ricans and especially our poor guide.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ann Ford

    Excellent

    As someone who wasn’t bothered about our trip to Costa Rica I can honestly say I have fallen in love with this country and it’s people. The trip with Exodus was so good. The guides, the activities and accommodation was first class. I would recommend this trip and Exodus to everyone. Fabulous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Quetzel .. I have fallen in love with bird watching.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant. Helpful, inspirational and an all round wonderful guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was just a wonderful trip, cannot thank Exodus and Camino travel enough.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Jenny Brown

    Costa Rica for variety

    This 2-week trip took us to several geographically different regions ; volcano, tropical rain forest, beach and cloud Forrest. All had their individual climate and wildlife. We travelled with our guide and driver in a comfortable air-conditioned coach, staying in each location for 2 nights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. Seeing sloths moving around in the treetops in Tortuguero NP , and seeing a sleeping toucan through the telescope of our night-walk guide. 2. The rough Caribbean Sea and the power of the waves

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was excellent. He is also a bird-watching guide and was able to identify everything we saw. He was able to answer questions on other topics too. He was very careful about looking after the 2 people who needed to eat gluten-free meals for medical reasons. His English was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for extreme climate. It is unbearably hot in the southern rain forest and you have to realise that doing anything, even walking, is exhausting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was great to be able to drink the tap water. Food is delicious. Toilet paper has to be discarded in a bin, not down the pan.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Harriet Woodcock

    Everyday a highlight

    We'd wanted to go to Costa Rica for some time and this holiday did not disappoint. In two weeks we saw amazing things on the coast, in the mountains, in the jungle and in the cloud forest. Our guide, Katia, was extremely knowledgeable and was excellent at spotting wildlife and explaining all about it. Indeed all the drivers and guides we encountered on the journey were excellent and also good at spotting wildlife. The accommodation was good all round including some great jungle lodges. We really felt that we 'discovered costa rica' and were really impressed with the whole holiday and the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to pick the most inspirational moment of the trip as there were so many of them. Esquina lodge was special. It was a small lodge in the jungle and everywhere you looked there was wildlife. The afternoon we arrived we had a fantastic thunderstorm so we got to truly experience the rainforest. At night the jungle came alive with the sound of frogs and other wildlife. But we also were captivated by the sloths in the cloud forest, the monkeys at Manuel Antonio, the humming birds everywhere ( who knew there were so many varieties?), colourful toucans at Tortuguero, and of course the quetzal in Savegre Lodge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Katia was so knowledgable about the wildlife and very patient with those of us who aren't natural 'birders' . She also gave us a great insight into the country with lots of information and stories to bring the history and politics to life. She was very personable and one of the best guides I've had on a holiday like this. A big shout out to Juan Jose our driver who was also good at spotting bird and kept the bus immaculately clean and tidy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a fab holiday with lots of opportunities to spot wildlife so book it now! The walks are undemanding compared to what we are used to doing, they use made paths or boardwalks and can easily be done in approach shoes or trainers. There are some steps and inclines and some of our companions found sticks useful but we didn't feel we needed them. All the lodges are designed to keep out bugs and beasties but occasionally some creep in (you are in the forest/jungle after all) so check your room before you go to sleep! The hotel staff are on hand to extract any unwanted creatures. Do try the coffee, it's excellent everywhere- non of this instant coffee stuff. There's lots of nice fish to eat fresh from the sea. You have to eat gallopinto at least once - I got quite addicted to it and will be cooking it at home. Only one downside and that was San Jose Airport. We waited three hours to get through customs on the way in so be prepared for a wait. We were told the average is around two hours.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a fab, fab, holiday. I truly have discovered Costa Rica
Call us on 020 8772 3936