Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Georgina Mackintosh

    Fantastic experience

    This trip exceeded my expectations. It was exceptional in pretty much every aspect. The variety and quantity of animals we saw were exceptional - thanks to our brilliant guide, the locations we camped in and the high quality of local guides and trackers. The back up team made wild camping an amazingly comfortable experience - putting up and dismantling our tents, transporting all our luggage and producing the most delicious and satisfying meals from an open fire and the ' magic' kitchen in the back up vehicle. The long distance travel in the open sided safari truck was a bit of a trial at times but all part of the the Botswana experience and outweighed by the arrival at a beautiful location to camp.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many, but the Okavango Delta and Moremi stand out in terms of places and animals but the simplicity of the whole wild camping experience, with no wi-fi, no 'modern' amenities and rising at sunrise and going to bed after sunset was the most wonderful antidote to the mania of our lives. Truly magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngande's experience, knowledge and organisation were exceptional - and he is a really nice guy too! He was good humoured, sensitive to individuals needs and made us feel very safe - especially when up close to the animals!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want an adventure that removes you totally from the stresses of modern life this is an ideal trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only criticism I have is that I really didn't like the hard sales talk we had on activities available on arrival at Victoria Falls. After a very long day's travelling it was the last thing we wanted! !
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Ann Stobbs

    Wildlife & wilderness of Botswana

    It was such a memorable adventure - seeing cheetahs, leopards and wild dogs, not forgetting elephants who seemed to like wandering around our camp at night ! The wild camping made it possible to be part of their world which was a real privilege. The camp staff were excellent and I just loved Botswana. All together one of the best holidays I have been on .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing cheetahs ,leopards, wild dogs, and all the other animals- Having elephants wandering around our camp... The okovango- Beating a hasty retreat from a rather cross elephant - Discovering I like birds - Space light & warmth of Botswana

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a scarf - the long drives got a bit windy - def take binoculars- It says there are ATM s at Victoria Falls which is correct but not one had any money in them so take small dollar notes (Not a big deal but don't rely on them) Otherwise the trip notes are comprehensive ..

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a minor thing about being met on the group flight. We were not clear whether we were being met at JBURG as well as Maun- just needs making it a bit clearer that you won't be met at the transit but at Maun.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    wendy pomfrett

    what an adventure

    I am absolutely not a camping person so this holiday was a challenge for me but the lack of luxury was well worth the up close and personal experience with the wild life. Our leader, Anton, and his amazingly efficient and friendly crew worked miracles under difficult conditions to make our lives as comfortable as possible. The food was varied and plentiful - quite remarkable given that most of it was cooked on an open fire. If you want to really see Africa, forego the comfort of the lodges and do it this way!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment when a pride of lions appeared from the bush and marched single file past our vehicle. The whole delta experience in the first few days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional and knowledgeable. He had excellent leadership skills which meant that the whole team worked efficiently and were at all times upbeat and happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is wild Africa - do not expect comfort so every little thing - a bush shower, a cold drink - will be a bonus. There is necessarily quite a lot of free time in the baking middle of the day so take a pack of cards or a travel game......and LOTS of wet wipes The vehicle is perfect for watching wild life but, if you are in any way incapacitated, it is not easy to get into it. Also be prepared for a long and very windy drive one day for which the vehicle is not best suited so take a scarf or buff to cover your mouth.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday is a real adventure. It is not easy to sleep at night as the bush is noisy and very hot but all this is worth it for the amazing wild life on your doorstep -and sometimes in your camp!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Adrian Fingleton

    Wonderful trip but not for the faint-hearted

    My wife and I did the trip in the latter part of September 2018, and Anthony was our guide. We had a great group of 12 - we all gelled well and sort of 'looked out' for one another. Which is important when you are spending all day every day with each other. Our crew (Anthony + 3 companions) were very engaging, kind, helpful (re 'what was that bird' and more) and generally kept the show on the road. We saw amazing wildlife pretty much everywhere we went. The food was really excellent - and surprisingly varied. Having said that - the 'warning' - you spend 13 days on the road. Many of them are true wild camping. No running water, hole-in-the-ground toilets. It's hot and dusty. Sometimes at night animals wander thru the camp. You think twice before going to the loo (but you do, eventually and inevitably, go)... And it's enormous fun - great experiences, great company, great photo opportunities, and nature in the raw. But you will come back tired. It's part of the deal...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several highlights - the mokoro trip into the Okavango delta, swimming in the river, the game walks on foot there, the flight (optional) we took over the delta. And then, beyond that, the opportunities to see Leopard, Wild Dogs (several times) and the Chobe wetlands by (optional) boat tour.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He (Anthony) was great. Patient, effective, great at spotting animals, looked after everyone, kept the crew moving and generally nothing he could not fix. Excellent group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just bring the stuff you are told to - like a head torch (essential), power banks, spare camera batteries, old clothes, shampoo, etc - you will be roughing it, so anything that makes your life a bit easier is worth having. Flip flops are good too. There are just a few days with very long drives, so you just grit your teeth and bear it. Other days are not too challenging. Bring some added salts like Dioralyte - you will sweat a lot so you need to keep replenishing fluid levels.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One thing that we found a bit difficult was getting in and out of the 12 man open sided truck that was our home for 13 days. There are footholds for getting in and out, but it can be tricky. And if you have long legs, the front row is a bit problematic because you cant slide your legs under the seat in front. But it is a great platform for viewing game and everyone manages to get a photo in the end :-)
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Andrew Allman

    Beautiful Botswana

    I have just come back from trip and must say it was one of most enjoyable experiences of my life. On the way back home, I reflected that there were 9 absolutely awe inspiring moments on the trip: - watching two cheetahs hunt and kill an impala - our guide Kenny finding leopards on 3 different occasions and watching these beautiful creatures wandering about - elephants everywhere - watching a pride of lions on several occasions which included cubs - the fantastic night sky especially on the salt plains - rafting the Victoria falls - being punted along on the oakavango delta - the boat trip in the chobe National Park - the guides and people who supported us in the delta Our guide Kenny was absolutely first rate and guided us both to animals but also around the towns and villages of Botswana. He showed great patience with a group of novice safari holiday makers and displayed incredible knowledge on the flora and fauna of the area. Melo our cook was equally as good. How he managed to cook lasagne, fish and chips and bread on an open fire is beyond me. We had a great group and the camaraderie around the open fire and in the truck will remain with me for a long time. Derek and Deniro supported our group brilliantly and made sure our campsite was set up before our arrival every day. If you are thinking of going on this trip, I would advise: - read itinerary in detail as it will help outline your expectations re food, distance to travel and accommodation - prepare for some tough travel and properly wild camping. When wild camping, we had animals around and through the camp every night after we had gone to bed. We had 4 nights in a row with no running water, wi fi or electricity. Toilets when wild camping are long drop bush toilets. You will need to take power packs and battery back ups. - the roads in the national parks and remote areas are not surfaced and progress is slow and can be uncomfortable - only two nights are spent in lodges and this was a lower quality lodge in Zimbabwe. This is a camping trip. Having said that if you love animals and the outdoor life, this is a holiday I would recommend highly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending 2 hours watching 2 cheetahs stalk and successfully hunt an impala. Watching them both take off at full speed was breath taking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kenny is an excellent tour leader. He looked after our daily holiday needs (food, accommodation etc) with maximum efficiency and minimum fuss. His guiding was first rate and he found the animals we wanted to see and others we had not heard of.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like going to remote beautiful places to see wildlife and can put up or enjoy wild camping, this is a holiday for you. Please remember that you will not be near a shop for most of trip and conditions in bush are harsh. Therefore make sure you have right kit for trip ( robust head torch, spare batteries, first aid kit, decent walking shoes etc)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an excellent trip however please book on lodge trip if you require luxury or pampering. Only hostel we stayed in was very very basic. It would have been nice to stay in a 3/4 star lodge one or two nights in trip. Also, you will be in close quarters with group for 15 days, so dynamic of group could impact enjoyment of trip
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Pauline Gallagher

    Wonderful wild camping

    Fantastic holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Okavango Delta

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Anthony was an excellent group leader. John, Chief & Mello were also first class supporters.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring Bananagram !
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Edward Bird

    Wildlife galore.

    This was our 4th trip to Southern Africa (all camping) and our second wild camping trip. The wild camping was great fun, you get to stay in some remote spots with no barriers between you and the wildlife. The guide (Moses) and his team were excellent. Botswana is a thinly populated country and very calm, people are very friendly - a real joy to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife, as we got to see Lions, a Leopard (out in the open too, not hiding in a tree or undergrowth), Cheetahs, an African Wild Dog pack and even a glimpse of the elusive Serval. Elephants, hippos crocs, etc etc.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Moses was first class, knowledgeable, humourous and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, the transport (and I must admit this seems to be the norm for Botswana) was an open Toyota Landcruiser with 12 seats for viewing game. It's fine for viewing game etc. but quite hard travelling at speed on tar roads when you get blasted by the wind. The flexible sides of the truck can be lowered to ease the blast but then it is too hot! Please be aware of this.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Les West

    Best Ever Wildlife Safari!

    Ivan Pinto has given an excellent account of our trip so I have little to add.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our elephant encounters were thrilling but I was so pleased that Moses allowed us to spend quite a lot of time just sitting and watching a family of lions interacting with one another - magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - as acknowledged and described by Ivan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ladies, in particular, if you're worried about needing to go for a wee during the night (when trips to the bushy-bushy are not recommended for obvious reasons!) take an old ice cream container with you. Mine had a lid so doubled up as a useful bedside table!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Ivan Pinto

    Nature Unspoilt!

    Botswana is the size of France but with just 2million people and an enlightened approach to conservation resulting in an unspoilt environment which benefits both local people and wildlife. Driver/guide Moses ably supported by chef Johnny and staff Ronny and Derek looked after all the needs of our group of seven with patience and good humour. Johnny provided fantastic food including freshly baked bread, cottage pie and fish & chips! The Okavango delta camp provided our first brush with elephants at close quarters as two bull elephants approached to within a few feet when we were on a walking safari with Moses and the local guides. Moses was the epitome of calmness as he gently shoed them away. We were still buzzing when a couple of hours later sitting back at the camp by a small pond another two elephants decided to have a ruckus and one chased the other straight through the pond to within a feet of us again. It was only the start of the trip and it was going to be hard for Moses to maintain that kind of experience for the rest of the holiday. But he excelled himself delivering honey badgers on two separate occasions, leopard, lions galore including one at an elephant kill not to mention the usual suspects- giraffes, zebra, buffalo, wildebeest together with various deer and antelopes. Botswana is a birders paradise even in its winter (we were there in June/July) and we saw a wide variety of eagles and smaller birds. Wild camping was a great experience with people comparing what animals they heard the previous night both in the surrounding area and in camp. We had leopard and hyena visit overnight! The only negatives related to our second night at the Audi camp, Maun when both electricity (needed to recharge camera batteries) and water were out when we arrived early evening. While the electric was eventually restored the water was not until we were leaving the following morning and the toilets were in a truly disgusting state. Also we arrived at Victoria Fall Rest Chalets to find our cabins had been given to others and we had to camp, again the toilet block was poor. One bright spot was the Nata camp site which was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our first full day at the Okavango Delta camp with the two close encounters with elephants (described above) was hard to beat. However, spotting a leopard as we rounded a corner on the road and hearing a male lion roar next to its elephant kill ran it close as did another elephant experience on the Chobe river cruise when an elephant in the water approached us while pulling up weeds, washing and chewing on them all within touching distance. Then there were the honey badgers including one in broad daylight and then ……... you get the idea!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Moses was a superb guide, a safe driver and never seemed to stop working, whether it was helping put up/take down tents or digging the bushy-bushy. He was very patient with the various demands made of him- a little forward or a little back (sometimes at the same time!) as people vied to get the best angles for photographs!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's been said before, in winter (June/July) it gets very cold especially in the open vehicle when travelling in the mornings or evenings. Take wind-proof jackets, warm clothes and even gloves. Opportunities to recharge camera batteries are limited especially in the second week so make sure you take spares to last at least four days and top-up the charge whenever possible. We were a group of seven so space on the vehicle was not an issue, however with a full or near full compliment of 12 space would be very limited especially if some people carry a large amount of camera equipment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it! It's a real adventure, you just don't know what nature will throw at you next. The wild camping was comfortable and the food excellent and plentiful. We did the flights over the Okavango and Victoria Falls as well as the Chobe River cruise and I would recommend them. We didn't go on the Zambezi River cruise but the group members that did had negative comments regarding it mainly because it was more of a booze cruise with some raucous clientele which spoilt the game viewing.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Mo Framptom

    What to do soon

    This was a trip of a life time in so many ways. It was a retirement present and a chance to prove we could still do it. It was a chance to see so many animals and different environments and to see a wonderful country determined to benefit from It's wildlife while protecting this precious resource. We were guided on the adventure by N'gand who was so knowledgeable and happy to share his love of the wild and his country. Melo, the cook, fed us amazing meals, whether in a layby on route or on an open fire in the bush, we were stuffed with fresh bread and tasty food. Timon and Derek just quietly work on our creature comforts putting up and striking tents, digging the "bushy bushy" and making sure that we were safe and left nothing behind except warm memories. We did games walks and drives and mokoro rides. We saw all the animals on our lists and more besides. Even the " its just a bird" traveller began to appreciate the diversity out there. There were changes of plan, 2 punctures, one dead rear axle and so much late rain that the salt pans were lakes but all was dealt with so we hardly noticed with Nata being a good substitute, even if meeting other not so well behaved groups reminded us that bird watching needs quiet. It is a trip in the wild with dangers that we are not used to and we had total trust in our team that they would make it the best they could but keep us safe. The Falls are impressive and Zimbabwe provides time to recharge batteries (ours and cameras) as well as washing clothes.The group pulled together well, loading this arthritic pensioner in and out of the bus. We will keep in touch to share amazing photos and memories of this wonderful trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too difficult to say. Drifting on the mokoro trip through the reeds, The polers singing round the campfire. The welcome of the people. Going to sleep in a tent with lion roaring in the distance.. Walking thro the bush. All of it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N'Gandi was a brilliant leader who was always polite and firm while encouraging us in the right way. He has an encyclopaedic knowledge of all the animals and birds, an interest in people and respect for the countryside. He explained local customs and sensitivities as well as making sure all park rules were obeyed and that we took away only good memories. He was quietly always checking for our safety.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack less, bags get heavy and getting sleeping bags back into full cases each night is impossible. One wind proof top was all I needed, fleece was unused. Also only used trainers, boots were surplus luggage. Charging packs for cameras essential if like me you take thousands of photos. Our scarves were borrowed by those on windy hot seats!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do It!
Call us on 020 8772 3936