Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Joanne Hunt

    A varied trip of wildlife, cities, and food!

    This was a highly enjoyable trip covering a wide range of different experiences. The first few days in Borneo were particularly excellent at Sepilok and Kinabatangan. We were lucky enough to see a wild orang-utan, a gibbon and proboscis monkeys. KL was also a highlight - particularly enjoyed the food tour and a (optional) trip to the PETRONAS towers. The food markets at night were also a great experience. A relaxing couple of days on Langkawi was (once we got there!) a really nice end to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the wildlife / Borneo section of the trip (and perhaps wished I had chosen a trip with more wildlife)!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both tour leaders were excellent. Aldrin was friendly and organised and an all-round excellent tour leader. Similarly, Jeremy was helpful, enthusiastic and took us to some varied restaurants/eating places!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If the ferry crossing continues to be part of the trip - beware! The Lonely Planet guide warns that the crossing is particularly rough at certain times of year (Jul-Oct) and can be a vomit inducing experience. They are not wrong. I am never sea sick, but on our crossing almost everyone on board was sick. Be prepared!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall I really enjoyed this trip. I'm not quite convinced the travel across to Kinabalu was worth the journey. I quite enjoyed the tea plantation stay but the botanical walk was slightly underwhelming. Similarly, the city tour in KL was a bit underwhelming. We spent several hours at the Pewter factory (including a stop for lunch) which was a bit tedious. Would rather have spend more time at Batu Caves. Touring the city in a small minibus where it was difficult to see out of the windows was also slightly frustrating.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    David Parker

    feedback

    Good main guides who knew their stuff. Reasonable accommodation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See all types of monkeys and animals in the wild/boat trips

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leaders both were excellent and went out of their way to help and support and organised everything even when not part of inclusive package - both brilliant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect nice hot showers anywhere until KL

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No real need for separate guide in KL on food tour and especially not two of them, the girl did nothing really. You arrive at Tea place after long drive, you then drive 45 min to national park, for 30 min walk around garden and then 30 min walk in jungle. Drive back another 45 min. Next day do tea tasting, factory tour and then drive to KL, on the way you pass the park - this is silly. Do the tea tasting and factory tour when arrive at Long House, then on way to KL do park. Saves 1.5 hrs in transport on previous day. We had big bus for part, then small busses for rest. For long runs e.g. from Tea house other group had a big bus, suggest use big busses far more comfortable and keeps group together when 15 small buses not that comfortable. Frangipani hotel is nice but tired, you suggest it as an alternative and thus imply recommendation of it. I would be careful of that as whilst it was okay fans in restaurant did not work, no net out for safe swimming area, tiles missing in swimming pool, fountain not working in pool etc just felt tired/tatty. In Malaysia Jeremy even on non inclusive nights organised things - GREAT, worked really well but noticed we all had a beer, he had a juice when offered he had a beer. Implies to me they are not given an allowance to have a beer with us, sorry give them a kitty to spend on drink so they can enjoy a drink with the rest of us. At 2.5k x 15 there is enough margin there to give him £100 for drinks with us. Maybe i did not read carefully enough, but certainly I did not realise the number and thus added total cost of optional extras. I think a good summary per day could be produced of optional extras and their cost so that if you do everything, and most people did then you can see what the total extra amount of money is you will need. I missed the advice if it was there to bring binos, really feel to get the best out of this trip you need binos if you are interested in wildlife.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Lesley Silcock

    Fun trip to Malaysia

    Our family thoroughly enjoyed this varied trip. The first week in Borneo was great for seeing wildlife. We were lucky to watch a herd of pygmy elephants on and in the river and a wild orangutan make his nest for the night. The cities were fun and the food was good. The food tour of KL was particularly good. Relaxing by the pool and beach at the end was a a good way to finish

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing wild orangutans

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both were excellent. They were fun, organised and knowlegable. Jeremy seemed to have boundless energy and took us to so many different types of restaurants for evening meals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear a jumper and trousers for the train, it's cold. Try not to take too much luggage - with a ferry, a train, a plane and lots of minibuses, you have to move your bag a lot. Most of the time we all wore shorts. You will need long trousers or smarter wear for the roof top cocktail bars. In religious places any extra clothing was provided. Take binoculars for the wildlife. Extra layer at night needed in longhouse, it was colder at night than anywhere else and only a small cotton cover provided. Take an umbrella for downpours in cities. If you like to make drinks in your room all places had a kettle but not all provided tea bags/ coffee. Insect repellent is required but insects are not as bad as other places we have been. Do take up the offer of wellies and leech socks in the rainforest, leeches did try to get us!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip and we enjoyed it, just a couple of niggles- some of the trip note travelling times are quite inaccurate. Minibuses in West Malaysia cramped and difficult to see out of.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Diane Elford

    A bit of everything

    This is a trip of two halves - the first week the focus on the flora and fauna of Borneo and the second week the multicultural nature of Malaysia in the cities on the Peninsula. I enjoyed the variety of the trip and also the chance to try out the different types of Malaysian cuisine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In Borneo, seeing an orangutan in the wild and a heard of Pigmy elephants from a boat on the Kinabatangan River. We had seen a number of the animals in the sanctuary's and rehab centre in Sepilok but very special to see them in their own habitat. On the Peninsula I really enjoyed exploring Malacca and all the steet art and the food tour in KL was great fun

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two group leaders, one for Borneo and one for the Peninsula, Johmin (J) and Jeremy respectively. Both were well organised and easy to get along with and had good knowledge of their country as well as a good senses of humour. This is the first time on a trip I have had 2 tour leaders but due to the varied nature of the trip it worked very well in this case

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would recommend taking a sheet sleeping bag and lots of deet for the longhouse as the blankets provided are very short. I took mine and felt quite cosy and protected from the bugs! take binoculars for the wild life - monkeys climb quite high up trees! take light comfortable clothing for the humid weather
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Nick Rushworth

    2 holidays in one

    A great holiday or rather two in one. The first week was getting close to nature - basic accommodation but that's what you need if you want wildlife on your doorstep. The second week was a good mix of different cities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing truly wild Orangutan that had never been in in a sanctuary as we cruised from out river lodge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best ever - great sense of humour, totally committed to making our holiday truly memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Think twice before you sign up - we loved it but one of our trip didn't like the idea of bugs and "roughing it" in slightly lower standard accommodation near the nature parks. If you want to get close to nature expect nature to get close to you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One change I would make to the itinerary - our free half day in KL was a Monday which is the day most museums close. Perhaps change the itinerary slightly and have the free time on Sunday afternoon.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Pauline McGeevor

    Exceptional!

    I initially booked this trip on a bit of a whim... I'd always fancied seeing the Orangutan's and had been looking online for various trips. This itinerary stuck out a mile - the promise of nature, culture and vibrant cities instantly sucked me in. Just prior to booking I called the Exodus team to ask if anyone else had booked to travel alone, this would be my first holiday of this kind by myself; so needless to say I was a bit apprehensive. After the team confirmed there were other solo travellers, I bit the bullet and I'm so glad I did. The leisurely nature of this trip was perfect, not only did we visit key sites in all locations but the time we had to ourselves provided the opportune moments to explore areas further.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I absolutely loved the Orangutan visit and the river in Borneo. We visited so many places though so it's really hard to pin down inspirational moments - I had so many in every place we visited.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The exodus leaders were brilliant. Highly organised, sociable and kept us all engaged throughout. Their knowledge was tremendous and they really did go out of their way to ensure the group were well catered for. We also had a few additional people lead tours for us - the river boat, night walks and the food tour in KL. I found them all to be professional and fantastically enthusiastic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're considering a solo holiday, especially if you haven't done this before - just go for it! It's the best thing I've done! This trip is IDEAL for all age groups - the variety of nature, city and country life, lively night life and quiet group meals, jungle walks, river cruises and beaches, is just the start. Malaysia is truly stunning!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Vicki Delany

    Three vacations in one

    This trip was excellent. For those wanting variety, it was three trips in one. The jungles and wildlife of Borneo, the culture and history of Melaka and George Town, and the beachs and swimming pools of Langkawi to finish it off.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing an organgutang in the wild!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Aldrin did a super job. He was efficient and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of the Borneo section. If basic jungle lodges and rain and mud are not your thing, this might not be the trip for you. The accomodation is sparse and the food limited and plain on the Borneo section.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Tracy Dean White

    A great 2 week adventure in Malaysia

    I truly enjoyed the 2 weeks that I spent in Malaysia, on Borneo at the beginning and on the Malay peninsula at the end. Accommodation was of a high quality with the possible exception being the long house for 1 night in Borneo. There were separate guides in the 2 halves of Malaysia, and both were simply excellent: Aldrin in Borneo and Ant on the peninsula. The trip was mostly at a leisurely pace which is what I like, and there was an ample amount of free time on some days, and that includes 1 total free day at the end on the island of Langkawi. This trip is a new one, and I think it's excellent. I highly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was great to be with the orangutans at Sepilok.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Aldrin and Ant were excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring lots of sun screen! I found mosquito bug bites to be a relatively minor almost non existent issue, but other people might have different experiences.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was excellent everywhere we went.
Call us on 020 8772 3936